Newly Diagnosed Diabetes Ketocidosis

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Jen,

I am testing at home for the last two days. About to do his next test now. I am going to do a full curve on Saturday.

His insulin is slow release, onset 2 hours, max 5 hours, so it won't be until much later I will know if it's too much or too little.

Thank you for taking the time to give me some advice, when i said I was confused and worried, it's not I don't appreciate your advice I am just terrified of doing the wrong thing and harming him.

He is off colour again today. Grouchy and not wanting to be picked up, so it will be interesting to see what his reading is.

Not sure what fructosamine is, will google it.

Thank you x
 
That would be 12 hours since his last insulin dose this morning.

Last night he was 8.0 at this time, this morning 7.0 and tonight 6.1

Is it the insulin is working and keeping him at the right levels?
 
Please do not give him 3 units!

Yes, the insulin is working well! But 6 is a nondiabetic number (108 in us measurements), and you do not want him going lower than 2.2 and since you do not know how low he is going inbetween shots, I would hold off. I honestly think that a big dose reduction is in order, and that you need to consider a cutoff if somewhere around 7...and that is just a guess.

how about testing again in an hour and seeing what happens?
 
kate and lucky said:
Hi again,

great job with the hometesting.
You have an ally in Sally Brighton, she too is UK and using same insulin. It's sounding like PZI but I'm not positive and not an insulin I'm familiar with so you could educate me and others if you have any more info about it (uploading a pic of the box could help)

If peak is around 5 hours that's pretty good and close to Lantus and Levemir.

This is the glucose conversion for mmol to mgdl (for the benefit of Americans/Canadians and me as I'm so used to these numbers now)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/bg-convert.htm

8.0=144 that's still low and a non-diabetic number
6.3=113 a very low number-was this your preshot? Without having a lot of data, you would delay shot and consider giving a reduced dose. Anything under 50 is too close for comfort with hypo.
Doesn't match with the water, that would suggest still excreting a lot of glucose in his urine.

Can you post any numbers you have, when they were taken in relation to shot time and food being given.
I'm unlikely to be on the board tomorrow. Maybe start a new thread and ask for people's thoughts on the numbers you have.

Are you still giving more than 2u twice a day? This may be too high-hard to say without the info requested above.

Reemmber lots of cuches and he'll come back for more pokes+ :mrgreen: treats!

Hi - I can emphathise with where you are at with a newly diagnosed cat, my vet advised only on injection of 2 units a day to begin with, use observations on mood, urination, drinking and eating and then review in a week, no testing. Reading all the information and with high anxiety as to will there be a hypo or hyper event is enough without learning more, I am hoping to start some home testing myself at the weekend when i visit the vets (not with the cat) meanwhile I have been advised here that the insulin I am using will not last 24hrs as suggested and not really understanding all the different types and their benefits, but.....it seems it us unclear whether Insuvet Protamine Zinc is a PZI insulin (I think this is the same one you have?) So for the benefit of those helping us learn I am going to try and add some photos of the packaging of mine.

Good Luck
 

Attachments

  • insulin.jpg
    insulin.jpg
    12.1 KB · Views: 763
  • insulin2.jpg
    insulin2.jpg
    17.7 KB · Views: 765
  • insulin3.jpg
    insulin3.jpg
    13 KB · Views: 629
Angie,

not sure where your up to.
Did you ring the vets today?

All human meters have about a 20% variance. The difference between them and the animal one (if that is indeed one your vet uses) isn't huge either.
What you do, is be consistent with the meter you use (you should do a control test about once a month to check the meter and strips work within the range. This is stated on the side of your strip vial). As long as it is, your fine using that meter.

Do you have any numbers you can post?

What you would do is something like this:

amps (morning pre shot) 300
+2 280
+4 200
+5
+6 (you do them closer together around the time you think the insulin is working it's hardest, so you can work out when nadir/peak is in your cat. On Caninsulin, Luckys was around +4. On Levemir it was almost bang on +6) These numbers and your pre shots will be your guide on dose.

I don't remember you saying kitty has had keytones? Has he? This is important to know. As others have said it means you need to be more careful with your dosing.


I note you say kitty is on and off grouchy. This sounds like swings in his glucose levels. Can make kitty very grouchy and crappy. Same goes for human diabetic. Can't remember if it is yourself whose dad is diabetic? If so ask him.

The insulin builds up in the system, probably why the reduction in numbers.What you can get is symogyi rebound.Too much insulin, bg drops like a bomb. Life saving response of kitty dumps glucose into it's system to raise bg. Next time you test, high bg, 'oh ok this dose is ok' and so the cycle goes on, or worse still, keep increasing the dose. In actual fact what should be doing is reducing it.
Are you still feeding dry or have you changed it?
The spot checks really will help beans advise you and hopefully give you some peace of mind.
The pics from Sally do make it look like PZI-Gonna try and check.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top