Newly diagnosed and still at the vet

Status
Not open for further replies.
Chris: Great job getting that spreadsheet together! That's exactly what the experts need to see. Keep using the spreadsheet and in a few days (or sooner if you are feeling anxious about it) update your post to ask for input from the cavalry. Julia suggested waiting approximately 5 to 7 days without insulin before deciding whether or not to start Tucker on the Lantus. If you are feeling anxious prior to then or see some alarming numbers, free to ask for intermediate feedback from the experts about how they feel the numbers are trending - and if you need to change the current plan.

As Carl suggested earlier, if a vet will give it to you, you might want to go ahead and get the prescription for Lantus -- but don't pick it up yet. Would be good to have it available for pickup at the pharmacy if it turns out you need it after all. And continue to feed the low carb wet food only (no access to dry). I think that is the plan recommended by the experts earlier today.

PS: I am from West Virginia too (born in Morgantown) though now I live in Gainesville Florida. You are doing a phenomenal job at this!
 
Thanks Sue. He's been eating very well. Almost too much I think. But of course I can't tell for sure since he's off the dry food. He ate that as he wanted all day long.

Thanks Melanie. I will try and get that prescription and have it ready for pick up like you say.
I hope I can sleep through the nite. His BG levels will be on my mind.
I'm putting my trust in the good people on here!
 
Sue, I guess I just have to calm down. I checked the BG at 11PM and it was down a bit to 385.
Thanks everyone for helping me through an emotional day....
 
Chris: You really don't need to lose sleep over this. In fact, since you are giving him no insulin for a couple of days, this is the time to relax as little (though continue to test). In the beginning, almost all cats spike high (mine was in the 500's for more days than I care to remember). Diabetes is a disease that harms your cat slowly. While you want to bring Tucker into regulation as soon as possible, a few days of high numbers is nothing to fret about. The experts feel you need to let Tucker's system clear itself out from all the Humulin and stress of high and low BGs over the last few weeks so they can guide you properly on a starting dose of Lantus, if needed.

I know it's hard not to worry, but seriously, Tucker will be fine. Get some sleep. :)
 
Thanks Melanie. I needed to hear the #s. At least Tucker is eating well.
Poor Sophie, the maine coon, is still growling everytime Tucker is near, and hiding under the bed. She's not been eating as well. She actually comes into the kitchen and if she sees Tucker, turns around and leaves. She has to be hungry! I know she wants her kibble. She's a big girl at 20 pounds.
My kitchen counter is full of different canned foods, like a test kitchen! I mark the cans with a "Y" or "N" depending if the cats like it. I did find out they love the Shrimp!
Well, it's time to call around and check which vet uses Lantus.
 
Did Sophie and Tucker get along fine before his vet stay? Maybe if you pay extra attention to Sophie, she will calm down (maybe she feels Tucker is stealing her thunder..LOL!!). As to feeding Sophie kibble, the collective opinion of the folks here is that she would be much better off eating wet food (any wet food) over the dry, though low carb would be best for her too -- so that she and Tucker should roughly be eating the same thing. Here's a good article from a feline nutrition expert (and veterinarian) explaining why: http://www.catinfo.org/

I am soooo with you on the "test kitchen" with the Y and N. My non-diabetic cat decided yesterday that Fancy Feast is no longer to her liking and wouldn't eat all day -- until I went to PetSmart and got her different food. I solicited input from the folks on this board (see topic "Need your Top 5 Food Recommendations") so those recommendations might help you as well. I might also add that what my princess does not like at 6 am, may seem delicious to her at 10 am -- so you can't judge within the first hour. Sometimes they just aren't hungry (and it isn't necessarily the food). :)
 
The Vet assistant just called and said they have a prescrition for Lantus ready for me!
What type of needle is used? U40 or U 100? She said usually they use U40 for cats...... I want to make sure I get everything I need!
 
U100 for sure, and get the syringes that hold 30 units or less of product. My original vet gave me U100 syringes that held 100 units -- and it was very difficult to dose on the smaller amounts (markings too small to see). Again, just pick up the prescription but don't fill it for now until the experts advise on next steps. Mine are Walgreen's brand .3ML, 31 gauge needle, 5/16" needle length, U-100 syringes for 30 units or less. They're about $16 for 100 (if I am remembering correctly).

:)
 
MAke sure the needles have 1/2 unit markings on it. they may even have a choice of short or long needles. Personally, I prefer the short needles. Ask the pharmacist and double check before you leave.

FYI - Walmart sells the syringes for about $13/box of 100.
 
Just popping in to check on Tucker; looks like you had an interesting day yesterday. I'm glad you decided to wait and see what his numbers look like without insulin for a few days. With that kind of dramatic drop there's not telling what he went through at the the vet.

You definitely want U100 needles (w/ half unit markings) with lantus; in WV you shouldn't need a prescription for the syringes, although last time I went to Walmart they made me fill out some info (like buying sudafed). Same for test strips--you should be able to get them OTC as well, although you may have to ask at the pharmacy.

Good luck with the lantus if you end up needing it. I'll keep an eye out on your thread until you're settled.
 
WOW on yesterday! :shock:
Sounds like you are developing a plan (watch and wait...intervene with lantus if BG's start getting consistently high).

I think someone suggested, but you may want to wait on picking up the lantus until you know for sure your little guy is going to need the insulin. Sounds like the diet change is making a big difference already.

What kind of numbers are you getting today? How is Tucker feeling?

And yes, as Dale implied....Sophie is growling and irritated because Tucker has a new smell on him...THE VET! Kitties don't like the vet. :lol: I have never dealt with 2 cats in the household, so I am not sure if there is anything you can do to help or if they just get over it. Maybe someone else can answer that for you.
 
Tuckers numbers today are: 8AM - 431 , 12 noon - 362, 3PM - 400

He's acting pretty normal, except for using Sophies hiding spaces! She is not amused.... I
His appetite is good. Sleeps a normal amount. Pooped in the litter pan. Peed in the corner of the livingroom.(ugh!)
I have to feed Sophie in a different room since she likes Gravy sensations, and Tucker will push her away from the bowl to get at it.(I don't let him eat that now)
He's really good about getting his ears pricked. Doesn't bother him at all, and even stays in my lap afterwards.
Maybe I'll give Tucker a bath to devetsmell him....NOT!
 
Maybe you could apply a few drops of "Eau de Gravy Sensations" behind Tucker's ears since it is Sophie's favorite. She might like him better then. LOL!! Seriously...you could try what they advise when introducing a new cat to the household -- get a towel and rub Sophie down (to get her scent on the towel), then rub that on Tucker (transferring smells). You could also try treating Sophie when Tucker is in the room - so she associates his presence with something good. Another thing you could try is to play with them both together... like a string type toy that they can both chase. Or...if Sophie likes capnip you could try crushing and rubbing a little of that in Tuckers fur. Never tried that one but who knows??
 
Well geeesh! I did not realize you had a spreadsheet when i asked what kind of numbers Tucker was having! ohmygod_smile
Sorry about that! :?

I'm not sure if anyone has sent you the links to information about Lantus. Here they are, just in case. Might be good to start reading up on how it works, how to handle it, protocol, etc.
New to the Group:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

TIght Regulation Protocol (I think there is information on Start Low/Go slow, too):
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Info, Proper Handling, Storage
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151

Insulin Depot/Storage Shed
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150

Shooting/Handling Low Numbers
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

It's a lot of reading and takes time to digest. But its good to get started on it, if you have not already. :mrgreen:

One other thing, while you are waiting to start the insulin, if numbers are high it would be a good idea to test for ketones. You can get a box of what are called "ketostix" at most pharmacies. You want to try and catch Tucker urinating mid stream.

Maybe once you decide to get the lantus (or even now), start a new post asking for help with any questions you have pertaining the insulin. :mrgreen:

I'm so glad you are here and that Tucker is safe (and happy).
 
Thanks for the reading info. It makes more and more sense everytime I read some of the articles or posts.
I've been brushing both cats with the same comb, hopefully mixing their smells. I can't say they loved each other the past 10 years. It's more like Tucker is in charge, and Sophie just takes it. Tucker likes to be loved and in my lap all the time. Sophie is the independant big girl, occasionally in my lap on her terms. They mostly live seperate lives in the same house... This new attitude from Sophie is interesting.

10PM BG is 405. Goodnight all and thanks for the support.
 
Chris: I see you started your Lantus today at 1 unit! I hope it will go much better than the Humulin for you. Keep an eye on Tucker's numbers and be careful about dosing tomorrow morning if his preshot BG numbers are under 200. Sometimes it takes a while to determine the right dose. You can always post here if you have any questions and the more experienced members will guide you. Good luck!!!
 
You are now at +5, is that correct? If so, his number could still go lower. Hopefully the more experienced members will jump in here to comment, but it seems like you are on track with the gravy. Also, let them advise you about the dose for tomorrow morning, as your starting dose of 1 unit may be too much for Tucker (after his ordeal with the Humulin and low BGs from last week.
 
Have you been reading the other thread from tonight "BJs Rough Start"? He had a similar situation, so there is some good advice on that string as well. But hopefully the more experienced folks will be along shortly to assist.
 
Yes, I saw BJ's Rough Start.....oh boy
I just tested Tucker it's +5.5=76
The spreadsheet is not letting me enter it. Showing error
 
Not sure I understand the +11.5 -- you're saying at 11:30 the BG was 76 and that this is a +5 reading (more or less...that you gave the shot at 6pm). Is that correct? That's good, maybe a result of the gravy.
 
I started a new thread on the Lantus site. "Tucker now on Lantus"
I doing OK with him tonight. Will keep checking his BGs. Thanks.
 
ok doing good here - get another test in 30 minutes and let's see if it continues to rise.

if it doesn't - then 2 teaspoons of gravy and test in 30 minutes

as for the ss - not sure what the problem is, maybe just start a new line with the info and delete the bad line

given the previous hypo situation on humulin, it is very possible that tucker is insulin sensitive and 1 unit may be too much insulin. so depending on his numbers, IF you give insulin on the next time, you may want to give 0.5 units.

either way - post the pre shot number BEFORE shotting tomorrow.
 
Hi Chris,

Just to recap...
You shot Lantus for the first time tonight and gave 1u on a PMPS of 349

At +3 you got a 165
at +4.5 you got a 65 and fed a spoonful of gravy
at +5.5 you got a 76

Is that right, and have you fed any more at any time since shot time?

Carl
 
Hi Carl,
All those were correct. I just did a +6 and it's down again to 47. Just gave some more gravy, a tablespoon full.
He free feeds canned food.
 
OK, so he wants to play that way! With a 47, that means the first little boost didn't hold his numbers up where you want. So giving more gravy was the right thing to do. Can you test again in 20 minutes? If it isn't any or much higher, then more gravy at that time.

Carl
 
Will do. I had to go find him. He actually went to bed, my bed!
This time I gave him a bit more gravy then last time. Will check on the half hour. Thanks
 
Doing great, Chris. Is he doing ok...not getting too full? We want to just use the gravy in case he's running low for a while so we don't get him too full.

Carl and Hillary have given good advice. Test, if his number is below 50, give a tsp of HC gravy, post his number for u s, and then retest 30 min after the gravy.
 
Tuckers +6.5 is 57. Gave him just a bit more gravy.
The SS is not allowing me to make any notes on the far right, like I did before.
 
Good number and good on more gravy. See you in 30 minutes?

RECAP so everyone doesn't have to keep scrolling up and down:

PMPS 349 1u
+3 165
+4.5 65 (tsp gravy)
+5.5 76
+6 47 (tblsp gravy)
+6.5 57 (tsp gravy)
 
Great job Chris and Carl ( thanks for the recap).

Next time you test, if he's still in the 50s or above, let's give him one tsp of low carb food, k?
 
Hi Marjorie,
I free feed him canned food, so he isn't hungry right now (of course). The gravy I use is from Gravy sensations food. I could give him some of that. He loves it!
 
The point about giving him low carb food once he's up is it helps to keep the numbers from coming back down on you.

Numbers resulting from HC gravy/food or karo wear off and may drop after about two hours when the HC wears off. The low carb food will help the numbers stay up as the HC wears off.

However, Tucker earned a dose reduction tonight so he's proven his point...so you just need to get his numbers up. To that end, you can add a tsp of HC gravy to his LC food.
 
PMPS 349 1u
+3 165
+4.5 65 (tsp gravy)
+5.5 76
+6 47 (tblsp gravy)
+6.5 57 (tsp gravy

Now at +7 BG is 64. I gave him some of the meat pieces to eat. So tomorrow you think .5U ?
 
Good!

Normally, we would reduce by .25u. I've seen this kind of drop cycle before with shooting a new insulin. It sometimes will last a couple cycles.

If you want to be conservative and extra safe, I'd say you could shoot .5u tomorrow and see where he goes with it. If he doesn't hold the reduction, you can always take him back up. But you can't get insulin out of a cat once it's in. So it's probably a wise move to take him to .5u and see what he can do.
 
My question is.... I planned on injections at 6AM EST, only about 4 1/2 hrs from now. Even if I give him .5U, isn't that too soon to do it at 6AM?
Tomorrow I have an office meeting at 9AM I can't miss.
 
I would see what he does in the next few hours. These low numbers might result in him bouncing up. If he does, you can shoot the .5u and get a +2 before you leave. If its higher than the PS, he will probably continue up. If its the same or close to PS, he will probably come down. If its much less than the PS, it's probably going to be an active cycle.

What I'd like you to do is post your +11 in the Lantus ISG. Dyana is up early and on line. I'll email her and let her know to check in with you and help you decide what to do.
 
You're welcome.

Chris...please be sure you get two, rising, non HC food influenced numbers before you call it a night on testing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top