? Newly diagnosed and insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Annette Diaz

Member Since 2021
Good Evening,
My name is Annette and my sugar baby is Gustavo. Bare with me please as I really don't post much.

Gustavo was diagnosed on 10/30/2021 and had a BG level of 569, all his other blood tests were normal. I had taken him to his vet because I noticed his back legs seemed to be lazy, he was drinking a lot of water and going to the bathroom a lot. The vet didn't give me much guidance except to change food and give him 2u of Novilin 2xs day. I started doing tons of research (confused the day lights out of me) and found a FB support group that suggested I also sign up here . I am working on creating my big boys spreadsheet and am writing down his numbers until it is done.

I have started home testing in the morning and at night about 45 - 60 minutes after he eats (he gets mad at me...) He and his sister are completely off of kibble and now only eat FF classic pate'. I got them each their own automatic feeder since dad and I work 40+ hours a week. Now that I have figured out the times for their feedings, it is working out perfectly for their small feedings and I feed them their breakfast and dinner when I am home (12 hrs apart).

Now my question: For the last 3 large feedings(2 dinners and breakfast) Gustavo has been between 117 and 152 so I have not given him insulin. I have noticed he is getting a bit more active too. Is it OK not to give him is insulin if his numbers are in the normal range? I don't want harm him if I am doing it wrong.

Thank you in advance for the advice!
Sincerely,
Sugar Fur Baby Love

Any
 
Hi and welcome Annette and Gustavo.
2 units is a lot of insulin to start with. Especially Novolin which is a harsh insulin and not really suitable for cats.
I would reduce the dose down to 1 unit if you are feeding dry food, or 1/2 unit twice a day, if you are feeding a low carb canned food……if the BG is high enough to shoot.

Are you testing before every dose of insulin to make sure it is safe to give the dose? You need to test when he has not eaten for 2 hours so the preshot BG is not food influenced.
Are you feeding him I hour before the dose and waiting for that hour before giving the shot?

Here is an introduction to caninsulin and Novolin insulin HERE

Here is a beginners guide to Novolin insulin HERE

This information will tell you if it is safe to give the dose. If you are unsure, post and ask for help. I would not give any insulin if the BG is under 250 on a human meter at this stage until you gather a lot more data.
What type of meter are you using?.

As well as the meal I hour before each shot, are you giving at least 2 snacks during the first half of each cycle?

What are the 2 large dinners you mention?
If you need help with the spreadsheet ask and I can get someone to help you. We need to see the data to help with dosing.
Keep asking questions
Bron
 
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
 
Hello, I have been testing almost an hour after he eats. I will do my best to try for 2 hours, but this will be hard in the morning. He and his sister get 1/2 - 3/4 can each of 3.5 oz FF and 1/4 can every 3.5 to 4 hrs in their feeder (this works for them since they used to be free grazers). As for his human meter, it is cvs brand.
 
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
Thank you! I'm trying to do the spreadsheet but probably having issues because I am on my tablet. I will try on my computer tomorrow.
 
Hello, I have been testing almost an hour after he eats. I will do my best to try for 2 hours, but this will be hard in the morning. He and his sister get 1/2 - 3/4 can each of 3.5 oz FF and 1/4 can every 3.5 to 4 hrs in their feeder (this works for them since they used to be free grazers). As for his human meter, it is cvs brand.
Ok, so we need to figure out a way you can have a 2 hour window before each preshot test. Otherwise the preshot BG is food influenced and that is not really safe.

Can you tell me your routine in the morning and night where they are fed an hour before you test please?
When you first get up in the morning can you test before feeding, then wait an hour after the food and then give the dose of insulin ?….providing the BG was high enough of course.
 
I get up at 530am for work, they have breakfast at 545am and I leave to work no later than 645am. When I get home from work around 6pm, I feed them dinner. I can work on adjusting their feeder times before breakfast and dinner to give me that 2 hour window before.
 
Annette I'll ask someone to set up your signature and spreadsheet for you, her name is
Bhooma ,she will send you a private message so look for it in your inbox above,she will need some information from you , I dont know if @Bron and Sheba (GA) is still on she lives in Australia and may have gone to bed
@Bandit's Mom
Thank you Bhooma :bighug:
Bhooma Bron has been helping her but might have gone to bed already, if you can read what's been going on that would be helpful
@Annette Diaz

Annette just a reminder please remember what Bron said I'll post it here which I copied
2 units is a lot of insulin to start with. Especially Novolin which is a harsh insulin and not really suitable for cats.
I would reduce the dose down to 1 unit if you are feeding dry food, or 1/2 unit twice a day, if you are feeding a low carb canned food……if the BG is high enough to shoot.

@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
Thank you! I'm trying to do the spreadsheet but probably having issues because I am on my tablet. I will try on my computer tomorrow.
Hi Annette, Welcome to FDMB! :)

I can set up your spreadsheet and signature. Will send you a PM with the details I need. Look for it in the Inbox at the top right corner of this page.
 
Annette I'll ask someone to set up your signature and spreadsheet for you, her name is
Bhooma ,she will send you a private message so look for it in your inbox above,she will need some information from you , I dont know if @Bron and Sheba (GA) is still on she lives in Australia and may have gone to bed
@Bandit's Mom
Thank you Bhooma :bighug:
Bhooma Bron has been helping her but might have gone to bed already, if you can read what's been going on that would be helpful
@Annette Diaz

Annette just a reminder please remember what Bron said I'll post it here which I copied
2 units is a lot of insulin to start with. Especially Novolin which is a harsh insulin and not really suitable for cats.
I would reduce the dose down to 1 unit if you are feeding dry food, or 1/2 unit twice a day, if you are feeding a low carb canned food……if the BG is high enough to shoot.

@Bandit's Mom
Thank you. I did get a message.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top