Newly Diagnosed 4-Year Old Male Cat - Intro Post

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erin Ethan

Member Since 2023
Hi everyone,

First let me say what an amazing resource this forum has been since our cat Ethan was diagnosed last month.

We're still new on the journey, but I have several questions and concerns already with the protocol he's been put on. I will aim to keep this post as high-level intro, and will try to look for related threads before posting specific questions.

We got Ethan (and his brother Elliott) from a local rescue when he was a kitten; he was born a barn cat. We also have a third cat Mavis who's two years older than Ethan and Elliott.

The first sign of anything amiss with Ethan was when he was 2 years old he was diagnosed with stomatitis. His vet based the diagnosis on seeing inflamed gums with no obvious plaque or tartar buildup. This was found during a routine physical exam. Ethan had no signs of pain in his mouth (no issues with appetite, no pawing, dropping food, drooling, etc.). The redness remains localized to his gums. Full mouth extractions were recommended, but we wanted to hold off given he was not showing any symptoms and he was so young (we will do it if its ultimately necessary to control his diabetes).

Ethan was diagnosed with diabetes in December (symptoms were excess thirst, excess urination, weight loss - he was also having soft stools which was initially attributed to a food allergy). He hasn't been significantly overweight in his life (upper end of the normal range as I understand from the vet). His teeth now have very prominent plaque buildup along with the inflamed gums. The vet does not want to try a cleaning as there is "no point".

Ethan was started on 2 units of Lantus insulin given twice daily (he is 4.4kgs) with canned "prescription" diabetic food fed twice daily at insulin time. We are using a Libre2 device to monitor his glucose readings (we're on our third sensor already as the first two crapped out before the two weeks were up- tried calling Abbott but they were less than helpful). After a few days on the 2-unit dose, Ethan's clinical signs disappeared. His blood glucose curve still appeared to be fairly extreme e.g., ranging from 20mmol/l+ down to 3.9mmol/l later in the same day (this was after ~a week and a half of treatment).

After the one-time 3.9 reading, his vet suggested reducing his dose to 1 unit as he could be reverting and might have a hypo episode (we are at home watching him vigilantly). Since reducing to 1 unit doses roughly a week ago, we have seen his thirst and urination symptoms return somewhat. We just started a new Libre sensor yesterday, and in the past nearly 24 hours it looks like he's running flat at 17+ mmol/l to 20 mmol/l.

Ethan is playful and grooming, although throughout his treatment he's become just absolutely ravenous. His vet has recommended he eat 1 and 1/4 to 1 and 1/2 cans per day.

Speaking at a high level, I feel Ethan is on a protocol that might be more dog oriented (2 meals 12 hours apart) and geared for the "typical" scenario of an overweight older cat, instead of his (somewhat) unique situation. Our goal is to do whatever it takes to give him the best chance of reverting, but I'm not feeling confident with his current protocol that he has the best chance of getting there, and I feel like we're running out of time.

Sorry for a semi-venting introductory post... I was a feeling down today with his high readings and just writing this out helped a bit :(.
 
Hi and welcome to the FDMB!

I am not familiar with stomatitis and how it could impact a diabetic feline, but I can tell you that the idea Ethan should only eat twice a day is completely false. This is old and outdated thinking but unfortunately the vast majority of vets still push it and it is even still taught in Vet school. Following this outdated approach, at the direction of my vet, helped push my kitty into the ER vet for diabetic keto-acidosis, he could have died but thankfully made a full recovery!
Then I found the FDMB and I learned that most members feed 3-4 times a day -- yes, two larger meals at insulin shot time but also a couple smaller meals in between. This is actually a lot easier on the feline pancreas and is more akin to how a feline would feed in the wild.

at 4.4 kg Ethan should be eating about 200 calories a day to maintain, if you're feeding the Purina DM Pate it is 191 calories a can, the Savory Selects is 171. So it sounds like he is getting about the right amount of calories. Unregulated diabetic felines cant make use of the food they are eating fully so they are often hungry a lot of the time, by the way.

it does sound like 4U was too much but dropping all the way to 1U was also probably a mistake. There are dosing methods (I followed Tight Regulation) which have dose reductions in .25U increments! I strongly recommend you look into SLGS or TR, set up a tracking spreadsheet and follow the guidance of the experts here at the FDMB. At only 4 years old, I think Ethan would have a fantastic chance at getting well regulated or even better.

-Kyle
 
Last edited:
Thanks so much Kyle for your detailed and thoughtful reply! Very sorry to hear what you went through with your kitty going into keto-acidosis with the 2x daily feeding schedule- that's scary indeed. We feed our other kitties 4 smaller meals a day and I hope it would help Ethan achieve a curve that has fewer extremes. I'll try raising it with his vet (and yes-- he's on the Purina DM pate).

I've started looking into the differences between SLGS and TR on the forum - from what I can tell TR seems to be more responsive to various factors? To me that would seem more similar to what a human diabetic might do...but I'm still learning.

Definitely going to get Ethan's spreadsheet set-up!
 
from what I can tell TR seems to be more responsive to various factors? To me that would seem more similar to what a human diabetic might do...but I'm still learning.

I'll be honest I'm not really sure what you mean by that....

but I can't recommend TR enough. It has super-high success rates and we've got a long list of cats that went into diabetic remission over the history of the FDMB. Well over 500 on Lantus/glargine specifically, including my cat Hendrick. So I'm biased towards it 'cause it worked so well for him!

He is 10 and has been in diabetic remission for 6 months now.
 
That's a great track record and such good news that your cat has been in remission for 6 months! Was your vet supportive of this approach? I suspect I might get some pushback to trying it...

RE: adjusting for different factors- this was just based on what I read so far in the forums, but I just now looked at the pubmed paper too-

"Recent studies in human diabetic patients have shown that patients that have been taught to use a self-adjusted dosing protocol, perform equally well as physician driven adjustments,9 or outperform clinic-driven protocols.10 It was also found that patients that were naive to insulin could effectively implement the dosing algorithm and achieved similar results to patients directed by a physician.11 Similarly, diabetic cat owners participating in the Diabetes-Katzen Forum, adjusted insulin dose based on a dosing protocol, which encompassed daily home monitoring."

Still wrapping my head around the different stages of treatment and the various factors that necessitate a higher or lower dose per Table 1 in the paper.

Intensive Blood Glucose Control is Safe and Effective in Diabetic Cats Using Home Monitoring and Treatment with Glargine - Kirsten Roomp, Jacquie Rand, 2009 (sagepub.com)
 
Hi Erin If you can set up your signature that would be great tap on the blue link
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.


You can read all about lantus here all the yellow stickys especially the 2 dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Do you have the U-100 syringes with half unit markings, since we adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time. Even though the syringes are half units they are easier when you have to say give 1.25 units or 1.75 units etc.
We don't base the dose by the pre shots ,we base them in how low the dose is taking them
The 2 dosing methods will let you know when an increase or decrease is needed
With all the advice from the experienced members here Tyler has been in remission since 1-24-21 ( knock on wood )
He was on lantus also
It took 2 years and 4 months to get him in remission , but he did it :cat:

About the stomatitis , Is the vet going to give any antibiotics, ?
I was reading about it just now
https://www.hillspet.com/cat-care/healthcare/stomatitis-in-cats
Does he have any of the symptoms they listed
Maybe he just needs a good teeth cleaning! Maybe see a specialist that does dentals
Why did the vet say there is no point to clean his teeth
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum.
One of my kitties had very red gums as a kitten … no plaque…but several of her back teeth had budded and they grew another tooth beside the tooth already there.
We took her to a dental specialist and it was advised to remove the teeth. I was pretty horrified at the time but she has done so well. She had 13 or 14 teeth removed and the whole thing settled down and she has no issues now at all. I feed her a home made raw diet ( cut up not ground) and she has no problem eating it at all. This was done at 9 months of age and she is now 6
 
tried calling Abbott but they were less than helpful).
Did you tell them that you had the Libre on a cat? If the future just say you are a caretaker of the user of the Libre. Also be aware that the the min age for a Libre 14 day is 18 years while for the Libre 2 it is 2 years when contacting Abbott.
 
Thanks so much Diane (Tyler) and Bron (Sheba)! Really appreciate the welcome and the info.

@Diane Tyler's Mom thanks for the 'Help Us Help You' info! I thought I had my signature set-up already (still pretty basic - I am going to get the spreadsheet added ASAP today). Let me know if you cannot see it?

RE: Pen...my vet gave me a pen that dials in full units. I was quietly wondering to myself how to get the .25 unit increments but hadn't researched that yet :). If my vet is not supportive or does not carry pens that allow .25 unit increments, could I buy this over the counter?

Noted re: not dosing based on pre-shot BGs. I am only going to proceed once I have a full understanding of how the dosing protocol should work/will ask questions if needed.

RE: Stomatitis...he doesn't have any of the symptoms listed other than the inflamed gums and now plaque buildup (red gums came first, visible plaque came after). Normally stomatitis would be expected worsen over time (eventually it can inflame the whole mouth not just the gums). He's had some weight loss but that only came with the onset of his diabetes symptoms- he has always eaten his food with enthusiasm. I wonder if it is stomatitis (a true autoimmune disease) or 'garden variety' periodontal disease.

Thanks for the suggestion re: a dental specialist. We are in the process of getting a second opinion/possibly a comprehensive dental assessment and cleaning under anaesthesia from another vet that is 'certified feline friendly' and who seems to have a solid dental program. Our vet does not recommend a cleaning as for stomatitis as 'the recommended treatment" is full mouth extractions (I've seen some sources that confirm this thinking - such as What is Feline Stomatitis in Cats? (veterinarydentistry.net)- and some that suggest other options). She says the inflammation and plaque will soon return, it so it will be a wasted effort. I'd like to give a cleaning protocol a try before removing all his teeth- I have been working on getting him to brush and he is moderately receptive.

There is a researched link between feline stomatitis and diabetes (my vet was not aware of this until I shared it with her). Possibly a system-wide inflammatory response.

It feels like a bit of a chicken-egg issue - his teeth might prevent him from getting his BG under control, but at the same time his BG could be, at the very least, exacerbating his 'bad teeth'. His BG also seems to go high after he goes to the vet... a common challenge. Part of me wants to keep him calm as possible while trying to bring his diabetes under control, and part of me wants to get his dental situation sorted out even if it throws his BG out of whack in the short term with all the vet visits...

@Bron and Sheba (GA) - sorry to hear about your kitty's early challenges - it is nice to connect with another pet parent who's been there and who's had a good long-term outcome. My vet also assures me he'd get along great with no teeth (even though it feels so drastic).

Did your kitty with red gums end up developing diabetes longer-term or was she spared? Do you have a post or links about the raw food recipe you follow? Ethan is currently on Purina DM pate but I also would like to *very gradually* switch him and the others over to a raw food (the DM seems to have almost as many carbs as his old Friskies did...) First time he got a small taste of a commercial raw food it he barfed spectacularly minutes after, even though it was mixed with the DM and brought up to room temp. I am going to try warming it to see if that helps.
 
Last edited:
Did you tell them that you had the Libre on a cat? If the future just say you are a caretaker of the user of the Libre. Also be aware that the the min age for a Libre 14 day is 18 years while for the Libre 2 it is 2 years when contacting Abbott.

Ignorantly yes (just in the context of a basic support question- I wasn't even asking for a replacement at that time). I volunteered so proudly that we are using it on our cat and they told me "it is not researched on or approved for use in cats and you should remove it immediately" and refused to answer my question. Despite the fact that there is research on it in the veterinary world, and it was recommended by my vet. I figured since the vet recommended it Abbott wouldn't have any issue...I pay for the product just like every other customer. Now they have my info on file it might be difficult to get any customer service from them in future...
 
That's a great track record and such good news that your cat has been in remission for 6 months! Was your vet supportive of this approach? )


Not initially. I explained the studies, and gave her background on the development of the TR dosing method, how we track on a spreadsheet and look at trends, and she asked lots of questions about how often I test Hendrick's BG, and why.

She countered doing TR with the general approach most vets take which is to get a feline diabetic's BG down into the 100-200 range and consider that success, she said that trying to get the BG lower is too risky.

But after I explained about having a hypo kit on hand, testing pre-shot, testing at 1 or 2 hours post-shot, and then based on those numbers how it drives further testing or a break -- she was floored.

She said she had never ever in all her years (30+) of being a vet seen a diabetic cat owner go to those lengths, except maybe one or two owners of show cats.
 
Not initially. I explained the studies, and gave her background on the development of the TR dosing method, how we track on a spreadsheet and look at trends, and she asked lots of questions about how often I test Hendrick's BG, and why.

She countered doing TR with the general approach most vets take which is to get a feline diabetic's BG down into the 100-200 range and consider that success, she said that trying to get the BG lower is too risky.

But after I explained about having a hypo kit on hand, testing pre-shot, testing at 1 or 2 hours post-shot, and then based on those numbers how it drives further testing or a break -- she was floored.

She said she had never ever in all her years (30+) of being a vet seen a diabetic cat owner go to those lengths, except maybe one or two owners of show cats.

This is really encouraging. I hope I can give my vet the same confidence as you did with yours and we can work together rather than being at odds. We're already at odds on the stomatitis.

I can see why vets would be hesitant - not everyone can devote the time and attention to detail required, and a hypo is not to be messed with. So they aim for something more moderate- less risk but less reward. Demonstrating that you are putting in the research and the work would hopefully alleviate the concern.
 
RE: Pen...my vet gave me a pen that dials in full units. I was quietly wondering to myself how to get the .25 unit increments but hadn't researched that yet :). If my vet is not supportive or does not carry pens that allow .25 unit increments, could I buy this over the counter?
Hi Erin we use U-100 syringes with half unit markings and insert it into the rubber stopper that is on the pen and draw out the insulin.
If you live in the US
You can get the syringes with half unit markings at a Walmart. Their ReliOn Brand syringes of 0.3 cc (30 unit) capacity come with half unit markings. Cost $12.58 for a box of 100
This is what the packaging looks like: either box
They won't say it half unit on the box but the are . open then and look before you leave the store, can't be ordered on line , need to go into the store
:




upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9-jpeg.62508



49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg



Or you can order these
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1316/surecomfort-u100-syringes-half-unit-31g-3-10cc-5-16in-100ct
 
Last edited:
I have never fed raw so I don't know anything about it, but I found this posted by one of our members
Another alternative is a raw diet. You can often find ground lamb or pork at the grocery store or there may be specialty butchers in your area. Other raw diets are commercially available (e.g., Rawz). If you home prepare a raw diet, you can buy a pre-mix that contains all of the necessary supplements to make the diet nutritionally complete. Most of us use FoodFurLife's EZComplete.

I see you tagged @Bron and Sheba (GA) asking about feeding raw, I'm sure she can tell you more about or Sienne
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Here is something else I found
https://catinfo.org/making-cat-food/


The Purina DM wet pate
6% carbs (low carb) and 191 calories per can

I can give you our food chart to look at we like to feed 6% or less
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

Be sure to have these at home for your hypo kit in case you need to bring Ethan's BG up if he ever drops to low



Such as
med and high carb wet food and some honey?


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Grav
20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
 
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB!

Dental issues are always a conundrum. Many vets will refuse to do any dental procedures unless a cat's blood glucose (BG) is well controlled. The problem being that the presence of an inflammation such as gingivitis or stomatitis may be contributing to the higher BG numbers. There's also no guarantee that getting a cat's teeth cleaned or the extractions will be the answer. There are plenty of cats that have all sorts of dental problems that don't develop diabetes.

With regard to syringes, in the US, most pharmacies or mail order sources require a prescription to order syringes. From the testing system you're using, I'm guessing your in Canada. You may be able to go into a pharmacy and get syringes without a prescription. (We need prescriptions for insulin, as well, and we have to pay about 3 - 4 times more.) You will want to find U-100, 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings. Generally, you'll want either a 30 or 31 gauge needle that is either 1/2 or 6/16mm in length.

I believe that Diane copied the information about raw food from one of my posts. Did you have any specific questions?
 
Thanks so much @Sienne and Gabby (GA)!

Its tricky to manage both- I'm hopeful we can get him at least somewhat regulated before undergoing any procedures. He seemed to be making progress on a 2 unit dose, albeit his curve still had extremes (mostly highs, lows were moderate except for the one instance). The 1-unit dose doesn't seem to be making a dent in his BG at all...he's just running along at "HI".

Thanks for the additional details on the syringes! The 6mm length would be ideal. His Lantus pen tips are 4mm and I do find it tricky to avoid fur shots with those. He has some shaved areas from prior sensors so I try to rotate around those (not getting too close to the current sensor). We were able to buy pen tips at the pharmacy without questions, but in hindsight I suppose there is a major difference between buying a pen tip and buying a full syringe!

I would like to educate myself on at-home glucose and ketone testing as a step towards TR. Is there a sticky post on that? The Libre2 has been so wonky and unreliable for us it makes things challenging, given its the only tool we have right now to monitor Ethan.

On the raw food no specific questions yet- I was a bit curious to hear what others do for home cooking since the cost of the commercial would start to add up (ideally we'd give it to our three cats). The supplement seems like a great option to help ensure a nutritionally complete meal.
 
I have never fed raw so I don't know anything about it, but I found this posted by one of our members
Another alternative is a raw diet. You can often find ground lamb or pork at the grocery store or there may be specialty butchers in your area. Other raw diets are commercially available (e.g., Rawz). If you home prepare a raw diet, you can buy a pre-mix that contains all of the necessary supplements to make the diet nutritionally complete. Most of us use FoodFurLife's EZComplete.

I see you tagged @Bron and Sheba (GA) asking about feeding raw, I'm sure she can tell you more about or Sienne
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Here is something else I found
https://catinfo.org/making-cat-food/


The Purina DM wet pate
6% carbs (low carb) and 191 calories per can

I can give you our food chart to look at we like to feed 6% or less
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

Be sure to have these at home for your hypo kit in case you need to bring Ethan's BG up if he ever drops to low



Such as
med and high carb wet food and some honey?


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Grav
20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.

Thanks for this info @Diane Tyler's Mom-- really helpful! I'll take some time to read through the link on making raw food at home - its very detailed!

The table comparing the carb content of major brand foods is amazing! I had no idea that shredded Friskies was so much more carb-y than pate-- we used to feed both although mostly pate. We still have some shredded on hand and will save it now in case of a hypo and will write the carb content on there as you suggest. The first time Ethan started getting moderately low (aka 'normal') glucose readings I set out some honey and his toothbrush in case I needed to rub it inside his mouth...then scanned his reader like a fanatic until he came up a bit lol.

I saw the sticky on the hypo kit and it looks like there were quite a few more items on there- some I have some I don't. I'll work on putting this together too.
 
I would like to educate myself on at-home glucose and ketone testing as a step towards TR. Is there a sticky post on that? The Libre2 has been so wonky and unreliable for us it makes things challenging, given its the only tool we have right now to monitor Ethan.

Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

A video one of our members posted, she is using a pet meter ,strips too expensive plus you have to code it
A human meter is just fine, most of us use human meters ,that's what our numbers are based on
When you get your meter can you add the name of it to your signature and spreadsheet


VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar

Here is another link to read
This is a link to one of our posts on home testing.
 
Did your kitty with red gums end up developing diabetes longer-term or was she spared?
No, she has been fine since the extractions.
A funny story… the other day she caught a large lizard that came in the house. I found her running around with it in her mouth growling at the other cat who was most interested in it. I eventually rescued the lizard and it was unharmed as she had no teeth to hurt it!
 
If you're from Canada I found this posted by one of our members about syringes
Check out your local pharmacy for the BD Ultrafine II syringes (purple and yellow box). Those are U100 syringes with half unit markings . If you have a Costco near you, check them out. I found it pays to ask around. Again Safeway pharmacy (maybe Sobey's their owner?) had the best prices near me.
333-320440__1.png
 
Last edited:
I would like to educate myself on at-home glucose and ketone testing as a step towards TR. Is
If you're from Canada I can tag Wendy
@Wendy&Neko she might know of a meter that tests both the glucose and ketones
I pretty sure the test strips to test for ketones are expensive.
I think you will need different test strips to test the glucose
Or you can pick up ketone test strips , they are called ketostix, I don't know if they are called the same things in Canada
Catching and testing urine tips
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1quta5WLEjdO0Y_t2dAYSwN84h-LNZWxOdtVsJDKZ16A/pub


Others put saran wrap on top of the litter.

If you just get a meter to test the glucose
In Canada, the test strips are unfortunately more pricey and are what you go through more often. But you can often get a free meter when you buy a package of test strips. Sometimes you can get good prices on test strips on eBay. You want a meter that needs just a small drop of blood. The Freestyle Lite is one many use but there are others. The cheapest meter available is the Bravo (free meter available, link to test strips here). But with online purchases you want to have a good supply on hand.
The Bravo takes a much larger (0.6) drop of blood. (I found it read higher than the FreeStyle
The strips for the Bravo meter are $40/100. The downside (other than the larger drop of blood) is that you cannot buy the strips in stores. You have to order online and would always need to keep a back-up of at least 200 strips on hand for emergencies and shipping delays. You cannot run out in the middle of the night during a crisis to get more strips.
FreeStyle Lite meter. Strips in the $80-90/100 range. It takes a 0.3 drop of blood.
 
Last edited:
I believe that Diane copied the information on syringes and test strips/blood glucose meters from one of my posts. Any questions? We don't need prescriptions for syringes in Canada.

We also have access to the TC Feline premix if making raw food. It is made on Salt Spring Island, BC. There are also several good quality manufacturers of raw products, if you'd like to purchase some to see if kitty will eating it before investing in a premix.

Ketostix are called Ketostix in Canada, available in most pharmacies.
 
Thank you everyone for the all detailed pointers, the references on where/how to buy the syringes and testing supplies in Canada and the home testing step-by-step info! Ethan is not as calm as the cat in the video when it comes to being poked and prodded (he is not aggressive at all but he will move away very ninja-like). Hopefully my husband and I can tag-team to make it happen :).

The vet was receptive to the suggestion to break Ethan's food ration into 4 smaller meals (woohoo!) We've got him back at 2 units- he was on 1 unit for over a week which is where he would need to start Phase I and he was consistently over 20mmol/l (believe that's 360?)- I think his lowest point we had data for was ~17 (306?). I would say we are roughly starting Phase 2 now.

He started coming down quite quickly this morning from the two changes at once, but I saw it happening and gave him a bit of carby food and he did not go low (honey was at the ready though!) I'm starting his spreadsheet fresh tomorrow as today is a bit all over the place- hoping to get into a rhythm with 2 units and 4 meals and see where that takes us over the next few days.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) - your story was too funny! I could totally picture it :cat:. That's quite a miracle for that poor lizard - he should count his lucky stars that she had no teeth!
 
Sounds like you are making progress! Great job. My wife LOVES orange tabbies haha. We don't have one right now.....7 cats, but not a single orange tabby in the lot

Norwegian Forest Cat female rescue, Coko, 2 years old
Chester, Brown Tabby rescut, 5 years old
Black Siamese, Oreo, 6 years old
Russian Blue female, Kayla, 8 years old
Hendrick and Shylo, Blue Point and Lilac Point Siamese brothers, 10 years old
Roxy, Lilac Point female 15 years old

yeah....it's a bit crazy :cat: :p :nailbiting: :bighug:
 
Thanks so much Kyle!
Haha the orange tabbies are pretty darn cute if I may say so :cat:. We've got 2 orange tabbies (brothers!) and a tuxedo boy.

You've got quite the feline family! They sound beautiful. I find it crazy with 3 some days (especially with Ethan's diagnosis now)...I can imagine how entertaining life gets with 7!
 
Seeing your +4 test, please keep monitoring. I doubt that you've seen the lowest point in Ethan's cycle yet. You might want to consider feeding your kitty a tablespoon or so of low carb food and testing again. Slowing down the drop may be a good idea.
 
Thanks so much @Sienne and Gabby (GA) for keeping an eye out for Ethan! I did give him some low carb food at +4.5 and he's levelled off now (just added latest #s).

I'm home & able to keep checking him throughout the day - trying to get every hour in if I can.
 
Oh thanks I will do that! I kept seeing the word 'condos'-- now I get it!

Is there a time of day that's best to post the daily update? I was thinking after the PM shot...unless there's anything unusual happening?
 
Oh thanks I will do that! I kept seeing the word 'condos'-- now I get it!

Is there a time of day that's best to post the daily update? I was thinking after the PM shot...unless there's anything unusual happening?

it is really up to you. Most people start a thread in the morning with the AMPS and then continue to edit the thread throughout the day adding additional BG readings.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top