zoealleyne
Member Since 2024
Hi, my name is Zoe, my cat's name is Peanut. She got diabetes from prednisolone for asthma. S(She is now in an inhaled steroid with prednisolone only as emergency med) She also has early CKD. She started treatment about 2 weeks ago. She has a libre 3. The first medication my vet tried was vetsulin. Without medication, her BG registers on the Libre3 as over 400 (at her diagnosis it was like 531 or something.) On Vetsulin, her BG plummetted to 180. She was having tremors and I took her to the vet and a blood draw showed it was really 80. So the monitor was way off. The vet had me skip a dose and then the next day try half a unit. She didnt bottom out that time but she dives quickly to a low number and then after about 3-4 hours jumps back up to 400 plus. So on Vetsulin she gets 6-8 hours tops of a normalish BG and 16 hours unregulated high, and a rapid change that causes her physical stress.
Next we are trying Glargine. This is extending the amount of time that she is below 400, but it is causing the same problem with a dramatic drop in BG. She is on a TINY dose, less than .5 of a unit, literally 2 drops. Tonight she went from >400 to 200 in less than an hour, even with me feeding her Royal Canin Kidney E (carbs are like 27%,) She reacts really badly to the falling blood sugar, tonight she was twitching but also panting and had her tongue out like she does when she goes into respiratory distress and I got scared and gave her honey (and also her asthma rescue inhalers). So now she's jumping back up, which is also hard for her.
My Vet is awesome but she is not a diabetes specialist and I don't think there is one anywhere near me.
I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on how to prevent her having such a drastic reaction, or if there is some medication that is less likely to cause this. I have not slept at all in days trying to monitor her and so I apologize that this is rambling.
Next we are trying Glargine. This is extending the amount of time that she is below 400, but it is causing the same problem with a dramatic drop in BG. She is on a TINY dose, less than .5 of a unit, literally 2 drops. Tonight she went from >400 to 200 in less than an hour, even with me feeding her Royal Canin Kidney E (carbs are like 27%,) She reacts really badly to the falling blood sugar, tonight she was twitching but also panting and had her tongue out like she does when she goes into respiratory distress and I got scared and gave her honey (and also her asthma rescue inhalers). So now she's jumping back up, which is also hard for her.
My Vet is awesome but she is not a diabetes specialist and I don't think there is one anywhere near me.
I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on how to prevent her having such a drastic reaction, or if there is some medication that is less likely to cause this. I have not slept at all in days trying to monitor her and so I apologize that this is rambling.