Knotty dee and Jaxon
Member Since 2012
Hello,
I am seeking advice for my Jaxon. We have been using lantus since Aug 20, 2012 and were increased (not gradually) to 3u. Over the last week Jaxon's number were finally starting to come down. SEE SPREADSHEET, for american numbers
I had a horrible feeling after doing some more reading here that we had been increased too quickly. Jaxon had dropped in to below normal range and I was not comfortable giving him his 3u at evening injection time.
On Oct 1, 2012 i skipped his injection as his BGL was 2.9. the morning after his skipped dose he rose again to 25.1 BGL and i dosed his 3u. he stayed in the low 20's for that day.
Oct 3 he was 17.3 AMPS and 3u given, he gradually dropped down to below normal by +10 hrs at the time of PMPS he was 2.7 bgl and i administered 1u as i wanted to keep his levels from sky rocketing over night as seen previously. before i went to bed he was 4.1 bgl and I left out some we food for overnight.
Oct 4 AMPS 25.6 bgl (so i guess i under shot my dosing the night before) he dropped to high teens at the lowest point that day 3u given at PMPS.
Oct 5 3u in am dropped to below normal at the lowest point of his day. This day i chose to not give his shot at the PMPS time as his level was "normal" when bgl tested +2 of skipped dose i administered 2u at his was in mid teens for bgl.
Oct 6 i made the decision to reduce Jaxon to 2u and make smaller increases as i felt we may have blown past his optimum dose. Jaxon's started out in high teens and dipped to 12 at his lowest 2u given at PMPS
Oct 7 AMPS NORMAL 4.4(BGL) decision to give 1.5u as i could be home with him all day and watch numbers.
+3 AMPS 2.7 (BGL) a snack of 1/3 can fancy feast given at this time.
+4 AMPS 4.9 (BGL)
+7.5 AMPS 3.6 (BGL)
+9.5 AMPS 4.6 (BGL)
I am looking for advice as to his Blood glucose levels. I dont know if i should give Insulin tonight (in 30min) i will likely skip it and test blood 2 hours after he eats and decide then OR do i give him the 1.5u as it has helped to keep his levels steady all day and test him through the night? maybe 1.5 is his "magic" dose???
Please help i really enjoy hearing others opinions.
Thank you!
I am seeking advice for my Jaxon. We have been using lantus since Aug 20, 2012 and were increased (not gradually) to 3u. Over the last week Jaxon's number were finally starting to come down. SEE SPREADSHEET, for american numbers
I had a horrible feeling after doing some more reading here that we had been increased too quickly. Jaxon had dropped in to below normal range and I was not comfortable giving him his 3u at evening injection time.
On Oct 1, 2012 i skipped his injection as his BGL was 2.9. the morning after his skipped dose he rose again to 25.1 BGL and i dosed his 3u. he stayed in the low 20's for that day.
Oct 3 he was 17.3 AMPS and 3u given, he gradually dropped down to below normal by +10 hrs at the time of PMPS he was 2.7 bgl and i administered 1u as i wanted to keep his levels from sky rocketing over night as seen previously. before i went to bed he was 4.1 bgl and I left out some we food for overnight.
Oct 4 AMPS 25.6 bgl (so i guess i under shot my dosing the night before) he dropped to high teens at the lowest point that day 3u given at PMPS.
Oct 5 3u in am dropped to below normal at the lowest point of his day. This day i chose to not give his shot at the PMPS time as his level was "normal" when bgl tested +2 of skipped dose i administered 2u at his was in mid teens for bgl.
Oct 6 i made the decision to reduce Jaxon to 2u and make smaller increases as i felt we may have blown past his optimum dose. Jaxon's started out in high teens and dipped to 12 at his lowest 2u given at PMPS
Oct 7 AMPS NORMAL 4.4(BGL) decision to give 1.5u as i could be home with him all day and watch numbers.
+3 AMPS 2.7 (BGL) a snack of 1/3 can fancy feast given at this time.
+4 AMPS 4.9 (BGL)
+7.5 AMPS 3.6 (BGL)
+9.5 AMPS 4.6 (BGL)
I am looking for advice as to his Blood glucose levels. I dont know if i should give Insulin tonight (in 30min) i will likely skip it and test blood 2 hours after he eats and decide then OR do i give him the 1.5u as it has helped to keep his levels steady all day and test him through the night? maybe 1.5 is his "magic" dose???
Please help i really enjoy hearing others opinions.
Thank you!