? Newer Feline Cat Parents Looking for Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ellen Roybqal

Member Since 2021
Warning: Semi long post :)

Hello! I'm looking for some help and guidance with my cat's diabetes. She is 7 years old and was diagnosed in March of this year. Through extensive vet visits to fluctuate her vetsulin dosage depending on her BG, and keeping her on a strict Royal Canin diet she was lowered to 1 unit of vetsulin in the morning and evening. After doing extensive research on feline diabetes and diet, thanks to this page, I switcher her to a strict low carb wet food diet.

On a Friday, about a month ago, I ran out of needles and was unable to get some until the following Tuesday. My cat missed a total of 7 insulin doses before being able to take her to the vet to test her BG and purchase more needles. I was expecting her to be in bad shape and needing to increase her dosage. They told me her levels were right where they needed to be and to 'keep doing what I'm doing'. That's when I decided to start home testing to monitor her myself. If she hasn't had insulin in 3 days how could her levels be perfect?

She hasn't had insulin since that day as we've been monitoring her closely. She actually seems to be getting a little too low. The last test read 76. Isn't their BG supposed to be between 80-120? I get nervous that we administered insulin for nearly 7 months then aren't giving her any. I know her diet has a huge impact. I want to make sure I'm caring for her the best I can and not regret home testing vs. the vet testing her. If her BG is too low, should I be purchasing food with higher carb %? I'm currently using ~0-4%

I appreciate any feedback! Thanks!
 
Hello and welcome. Can you tell me what time of blood glucose meter you are using? The pet specific ones read differently than the human ones.

If she hasn't had insulin for a long time, you don't need to worry about lower numbers. 76 is still a nice normal numbers, no matter which type of meter you are using.
 
Hello and welcome. Can you tell me what time of blood glucose meter you are using? The pet specific ones read differently than the human ones.

If she hasn't had insulin for a long time, you don't need to worry about lower numbers. 76 is still a nice normal numbers, no matter which type of meter you are using.


Thank you! :) I'm using a human one - the Reli On Prime I believe. What would be too low? Should I be checking her every day or is every other day ok? We usually do about every other day.
 
You should be able to buy syringes at any pharmacy, not just from your vet. There are places where a prescription is required but they're the exception.
It's been a long time but the 'official' Vetsulin/Caninsulin syringes first given to me where awful, 26 gauge if I recall.
 
You should be able to buy syringes at any pharmacy, not just from your vet. There are places where a prescription is required but they're the exception.
It's been a long time but the 'official' Vetsulin/Caninsulin syringes first given to me where awful, 26 gauge if I recall.

Absolutely! I didn't know that at the time. I thought you could only purchase them online or through the vet. :)
 
The Relion Prime is a human meter, normal can numbers go down to 50, and we've seen the occasional cat in the 40's. One of my non diabetics tested at 48 when last I tested her.

Our general guidelines when you stop giving insulin is to test daily for two weeks. If she tests above 100 during that time, feed her a small meal and test 3-4 hours later to make sure her pancreas is working to bring her numbers down. After two weeks of this, we call it a trial, we declare kitty to be in remission if she's maintained numbers under 100. After two weeks, you can move to testing less frequently. Just make sure to keep her on a low carb diet the rest of her life. A cat in remission is a diet controlled diabetic. If you see any suspicious behaviour, test her again to see how she's doing. Best of luck. :)
 
The Relion Prime is a human meter, normal can numbers go down to 50, and we've seen the occasional cat in the 40's. One of my non diabetics tested at 48 when last I tested her.

Our general guidelines when you stop giving insulin is to test daily for two weeks. If she tests above 100 during that time, feed her a small meal and test 3-4 hours later to make sure her pancreas is working to bring her numbers down. After two weeks of this, we call it a trial, we declare kitty to be in remission if she's maintained numbers under 100. After two weeks, you can move to testing less frequently. Just make sure to keep her on a low carb diet the rest of her life. A cat in remission is a diet controlled diabetic. If you see any suspicious behaviour, test her again to see how she's doing. Best of luck. :)

Thank you so much, Wendy! I appreciate you!
 
The syringe thing. After the initial 'did I just kill my cat' shock (he was having a nap) I realized I had never noticed boxes of 100 syringes had always been right there front and center at my pharmacy. They were 40 cents each back then without a prescription so I asked the pharmacist why there was still a 'dirty needle' problem. She didn't like that very much, she doesn't like cats either and never ever smiles. :blackeye:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top