Ellen Roybqal
Member Since 2021
Warning: Semi long post
Hello! I'm looking for some help and guidance with my cat's diabetes. She is 7 years old and was diagnosed in March of this year. Through extensive vet visits to fluctuate her vetsulin dosage depending on her BG, and keeping her on a strict Royal Canin diet she was lowered to 1 unit of vetsulin in the morning and evening. After doing extensive research on feline diabetes and diet, thanks to this page, I switcher her to a strict low carb wet food diet.
On a Friday, about a month ago, I ran out of needles and was unable to get some until the following Tuesday. My cat missed a total of 7 insulin doses before being able to take her to the vet to test her BG and purchase more needles. I was expecting her to be in bad shape and needing to increase her dosage. They told me her levels were right where they needed to be and to 'keep doing what I'm doing'. That's when I decided to start home testing to monitor her myself. If she hasn't had insulin in 3 days how could her levels be perfect?
She hasn't had insulin since that day as we've been monitoring her closely. She actually seems to be getting a little too low. The last test read 76. Isn't their BG supposed to be between 80-120? I get nervous that we administered insulin for nearly 7 months then aren't giving her any. I know her diet has a huge impact. I want to make sure I'm caring for her the best I can and not regret home testing vs. the vet testing her. If her BG is too low, should I be purchasing food with higher carb %? I'm currently using ~0-4%
I appreciate any feedback! Thanks!
Hello! I'm looking for some help and guidance with my cat's diabetes. She is 7 years old and was diagnosed in March of this year. Through extensive vet visits to fluctuate her vetsulin dosage depending on her BG, and keeping her on a strict Royal Canin diet she was lowered to 1 unit of vetsulin in the morning and evening. After doing extensive research on feline diabetes and diet, thanks to this page, I switcher her to a strict low carb wet food diet.
On a Friday, about a month ago, I ran out of needles and was unable to get some until the following Tuesday. My cat missed a total of 7 insulin doses before being able to take her to the vet to test her BG and purchase more needles. I was expecting her to be in bad shape and needing to increase her dosage. They told me her levels were right where they needed to be and to 'keep doing what I'm doing'. That's when I decided to start home testing to monitor her myself. If she hasn't had insulin in 3 days how could her levels be perfect?
She hasn't had insulin since that day as we've been monitoring her closely. She actually seems to be getting a little too low. The last test read 76. Isn't their BG supposed to be between 80-120? I get nervous that we administered insulin for nearly 7 months then aren't giving her any. I know her diet has a huge impact. I want to make sure I'm caring for her the best I can and not regret home testing vs. the vet testing her. If her BG is too low, should I be purchasing food with higher carb %? I'm currently using ~0-4%
I appreciate any feedback! Thanks!
