Newcomer with hypoglycemic cat Malkovich (stable but not improving after 3 hours)

Status
Not open for further replies.
A lot of us use an old sock we fill with some rice and nuke for about 20-30 seconds then hold up against the ear till it’s warm to the touch. I think some folks put hot water in a pill bottle and do it that way too or even a warm cloth. I don’t know about alcohol. The smell may freak him out. Sorry I should have asked you how you were warming up the ear. Warm enough makes all the difference. I also like humming a lullaby to calm the kitty and myself down ha!
 
Another thing I was thinking, if you email Dr. Elseys and Young Again and say you’re a nonprofit with a diabetic cat and you want to try their low carb dry food, they may send you a bag for free. I did that with wet food and Dr. Elseys sent me some and I’m just a customer. Can’t imagine they wouldn’t do it for a nonprofit.

it’s okay you can’t test overnight you’re doing the best you can. Tomorrow during the day, if we can try to get his +4 or +5 or +6 that would be good. You want to try to alternate those so we can see when his nadir is happening. That might help us figure out when it would happen overnight. I got an auto feeder for Bobo so I can set it and it goes off at night when I’m sleeping and I know he has a snack at certain times when he tends to go low. The manual one are pretty affordable. I got mine from Chewy for $20. I’m logging off for the night but let’s see what his numbers will look like tomorrow :)
 
@BelleC i see you got a 296 this am at preshot and are sticking with the 1.5 units. I thinks that’s wise for now. Would you be able to get a +5 or +6? Since you can’t get any evening tests, a midday test would be helpful in trying to get his nadir - lowers bg in a 12-hour cycle. That way we can really see what the 1.5 dose is doing to his bg. According to our SLGS dosing method, which is the best for you guys given he’s on dry food and you can’t do a lot testing, you want to stay with that dose for 7 days. The only exception being if he drops below 90. If he doesn’t, you stick with the dose and hopefully can do a curve after the 7 days.
 
Here’s the gist of it:

“START LOW, GO SLOW (SLGS)

The Start Low, Go Slow Method (SLGS) with Lantus, Levemir, or Biosimilars for Diabetic Cats has been adapted from the FDMB's original 5 Steps to Regulating Your Diabetic Cat. Adaptations were necessary to accommodate the action, nuances, and exceptions of the newer Lantus, Levemir, and their Biosimilars insulins.

Requisites when following the Start Low, Go Slow Method:
  • Learn the signs of and how to treat Hypoglycemia and prepare a Hypo Toolbox.
  • Test regularly for ketones and know about Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA).
  • Use a meter calibrated for humans, not a pet-specific meter. Reference numbers given are for measuring blood glucose with a human meter.
  • Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
  • Most kitties are easier to regulate when fed small meals throughout each cycle. Others adapt well to free feeding.

Starting Dose:
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
  • If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
  • Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.

Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!”
 
How is our senior kitty doing?

@BelleC i saw that you skipped a shot this am. It’s better when you’re not sure about an amps value to stall for 20 minutes without food, post here abs ask for advice and retest. If he’s going up you can shoot. Or you can give a token dose 15-20% of the regular dose. It’s better than skipping :)

good job on getting a midday test!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top