Newcomer Introduction & Seeking Advice/Asking 100 Questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Brittany just trying to help
there is a supply closet here that members sell insulin when their kitties have passed. I see right now there is some one selling the Lantus Pens for 30.00 each plus shipping. One pen can last 6 months depending on the dose you are giving. I myself have bought Lantus pens from the supply closet, If you are interested I can give you her name
Also if you do get an extra pen and the expiration date might day 2021 or 2022 that means they are good until then as long as you don't use them, leave them in the fridge
Also next time you need U-100 syringes order them from ADW Diabetes
they are so much cheaper
Did the pharmacy sell you the syringes with half unit markings, makes it easier if you ever had to decrease or increase by 0.25 units

Just to show you what I use, but they have other brands just as cheap
I just prefer the longer needle they also have a coupon code save 10% its DIA10
And these have half unit markings

Monoject Ultra Comfort U-100 Insulin Syringes 29G 3/10cc 1/2" 100/bx
4.6 out of 5 stars from 13 reviews
Shop all Monoject products

Item # SY8881600145
autoship.png
fsa.png


Deliver One Time Only
Your Low Price: $18.03
Schedule AutoShip and Save 5%
Diabetic Coverage AutoShip Price: $17.13
Quantity
Add to Cart
Product Description

Monoject Ultra Comfort U-100 Insulin Syringes 29 Gauge 3/10cc 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) 100 single use syringes. These syringes include Half unit markings for precise dosing for 30 units or less. Every Monoject Ultra Comfort Insulin Syringe has been engineered to provide you with unparalleled comfort, accuracy and ease
 
Last edited:
They are BD and I just realized they don't have half unit markings. I didn't notice at the pharmacy even when she opened a bag to show me. I'm an idiot, I knew what size to get and still didn't get the correct ones. I'll have to get new ones now. Also, the vet said 1 unit once a day but won't it wear off by the time 24 hours have elapsed? Shouldn't it be every 12 hours but 1 unit would probably be too much twice, so would it be 1/2 unit twice a day? I should've asked these questions at my vet, I'll have to call tomorrow and see if Dr. F is even in to ask.
 
Hi Brittany just trying to help
there is a supply closet here that members sell insulin when their kitties have passed. I see right now there is some one selling the Lantus Pens for 30.00 each plus shipping. One pen can last 6 months depending on the dose you are giving. I myself have bought Lantus pens from the supply closet, If you are interested I can give you her name
Also if you do get an extra pen and the expiration date might day 2021 or 2022 that means they are good until then as long as you don't use them, leave them in the fridge
Also next time you need U-100 syringes order them from ADW Diabetes
they are so much cheaper
Did the pharmacy sell you the syringes with half unit markings, makes it easier if you ever had to decrease or increase by 0.25 units

Just to show you what I use, but they have other brands just as cheap
I just prefer the longer needle they also have a coupon code save 10% its DIA10
And these have half unit markings

Monoject Ultra Comfort U-100 Insulin Syringes 29G 3/10cc 1/2" 100/bx
4.6 out of 5 stars from 13 reviews
Shop all Monoject products

Item # SY8881600145
autoship.png
fsa.png


Deliver One Time Only
Your Low Price: $18.03
Schedule AutoShip and Save 5%
Diabetic Coverage AutoShip Price: $17.13
Quantity
Add to Cart
Product Description

Monoject Ultra Comfort U-100 Insulin Syringes 29 Gauge 3/10cc 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) 100 single use syringes. These syringes include Half unit markings for precise dosing for 30 units or less. Every Monoject Ultra Comfort Insulin Syringe has been engineered to provide you with unparalleled comfort, accuracy and ease
Yeah, I shouldn't have tried getting stuff done all at once. It would've been better to get the syringes cheaper elsewhere. Do I have to have a prescription to buy the syringes? Not sure if I should buy another pen right now or not.
 
Yeah, I shouldn't have tried getting stuff done all at once. It would've been better to get the syringes cheaper elsewhere. Do I have to have a prescription to buy the syringes? Not sure if I should buy another pen right now or not.
Hi Brittany you would just call ADW diabetes and tell them which syringes you want and they will ask you for your vets name and phone # and they will contact them by fax and just get the ok then you can order them and ask your vet for refills and then you can just go on line and order them. That's what I did, ADW is so nice to deal with and never had a problem with them at all.
Just suggesting for the price that the member is selling them for I would pick up another one, just leave it in the fridge. They say to put them in the middle of a shelf not on the inside of the door. If you want her name let me know and I will direct you to her. I just asked her 2 days ago and she has 4 of them. If you decide to get one she might be a little slow getting back to you, she told me she is in the middle of moving, but she will get back to you. She packs them with an ice pack so not to worry about shipping them. The expiration is exp is 04-30-2022 I asked her
 
Last edited:
They are BD and I just realized they don't have half unit markings. I didn't notice at the pharmacy even when she opened a bag to show me. I'm an idiot, I knew what size to get and still didn't get the correct ones. I'll have to get new ones now. Also, the vet said 1 unit once a day but won't it wear off by the time 24 hours have elapsed? Shouldn't it be every 12 hours but 1 unit would probably be too much twice, so would it be 1/2 unit twice a day? I should've asked these questions at my vet, I'll have to call tomorrow and see if Dr. F is even in to ask.
Hey Brittany you are not an idiot,, how would you know , can you bring them back to the pharmacy and see if they have half unit markings, if not ask for your money back
Yes Lantus is usually given every 12 hours, I think 1 unit twice a day is too much to start with, I am going to tag a few members for you to see what they think, starting with 0.5 units every 12 hours sounds about right, let me tag members right now hang in there someone should answer
 
Last edited:
They are BD and I just realized they don't have half unit markings. I didn't notice at the pharmacy even when she opened a bag to show me. I'm an idiot, I knew what size to get and still didn't get the correct ones. I'll have to get new ones now. Also, the vet said 1 unit once a day but won't it wear off by the time 24 hours have elapsed? Shouldn't it be every 12 hours but 1 unit would probably be too much twice, so would it be 1/2 unit twice a day? I should've asked these questions at my vet, I'll have to call tomorrow and see if Dr. F is even in to ask.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Deb & Wink
Hi Bron and Deb can you please take a look at what Brittany has posted Thank you
I'm trying to help her out
 
Last edited:
Hi Brittany you would just call ADW diabetes and tell them which syringes you want and they will ask you for your vets name and phone # and they will contact them by fax and just get the ok then you can order them and ask your vet for refills and then you can just go on line and order them. That's what I did, ADW is so nice to deal with and never had a problem with them at all.
Just suggesting for the price that the member is selling them for I would pick up another one, just leave it in the fridge. They say to put them in the middle of a shelf not on the inside of the door. If you want her name let me know and I will direct you to her. I just asked her 2 days ago and she has 4 of them. If you decide to get one she might be a little slow getting back to you, she told me she is in the middle of moving, but she will get back to you. She packs them with an ice pack so not to worry about shipping them. The expiration is exp is 04-30-2022 I asked her
Thank you for the information on the website. I'll have to think about getting another pen a bit more but I agree that a back up would be a good idea and I'd already have an extra for when I run out. I saw the purple box that had half units there but it's like my mind went blank when I actually went up to pay. She opened a bag to show the syringe so I can't get a refund but it's not a big deal, I'll just have them for if the dose gets increased.
 
Thank you for the information on
the website. I'll have to think about getting another pen a bit more but I agree that a back up would be a good idea and I'd already have an extra for when I run out. I saw the purple box that had half units there but it's like my mind went blank when I actually went up to pay. She opened a bag to show the syringe so I can't get a refund but it's not a big deal, I'll just have them for if the dose gets increased.
Yeah you can put them away if you ever have to give full doses, it's just easier to eye ball 0.25 if you ever have to decrease the dose, or increase.
For example not that you need to know this right now
If you ever get down to giving 0.25 units you would bring the stopper of the syringe between the zero line and the 0.5 line, you would eye ball it the best you can
I just want to make sure they were U-100 syringes correct
Brittany I see you said you said you are using your brothers meter and that the strips are too expensive and had some left. If you do plan on buying another meter just make sure you put the new one in your signature .I assume you will be using a human meter since you were asking for suggestions in one of your posts and I see Bron posted something since I tagged her , just a heads up @LilTurkey
 
Last edited:
Lantus needs to be given twice a day.
You probably haven't thought about what dosing method you are going to use....you can check that out when you are ready .....but if we say you are doing the SLGS method...start low go slow method......because you have swapped over to low carb wet diet, you will start off with 1/2 unit twice a day and hold that dose for 7 days, unless Thomas drops below 50 in which case you would reduce the dose. Then do a curve after 7days.
Make sure you test before EVERY SHOT and try and get some inbetween tests in as well around the +3 to +7 timeframe.
The routine is test, feed, give the insulin in that order.
If you get a Preshot number under 200....stall, don't feed, post and ask for advice and test again in 20 mins.

I would also test daily for ketones at the moment while you are starting off with insulin as a precaution..
 
Last edited:
Lantus needs to be given twice a day.
You probably haven't thought about what dosing method you are going to use....you can check that out when you are ready .....but if we say you are doing the SLGS method...start low go slow method......because you have swapped over to low carb wet diet, you will start off with 1/2 unit twice a day and hold that dose for 7 days, unless Thomas drops below 50 in which case you would reduce the dose. Then do a curve after 7days.
Make sure you test before EVERY SHOT and try and get some inbetween tests in as well around the +3 to +7 timeframe.
The routine is test, feed, give the insulin in that order.
If you get a number under 200....stall, don't feed, post and ask for advice and test again in 20 mins.
Thank you Bron , I didn't want to give her any wrong info, but I figured 0.5 units to start with was correct thanks again
 
I believe that Chris used basaglar for her kitty

Yes I did. I volunteered to test it on China when it first came out because, well....someone had to! China was so tightly regulated that most people thought I was nuts for trying it (why mess with something that's obviously working??) but I figured that because she WAS so tightly controlled, if the Basaglar was going to act differently, we'd know it.

Once the depot was established, she reacted exactly the same as on the Lantus
 
Yeah you can put them away if you ever have to give full doses, it's just easier to eye ball 0.25 if you ever have to decrease the dose, or increase.
For example not that you need to know this right now
If you ever get down to giving 0.25 units you would bring the stopper of the syringe between the zero line and the 0.5 line, you would eye ball it the best you can
I just want to make sure they were U-100 syringes correct
Brittany I see you said you said you are using your brothers meter and that the strips are too expensive and had some left. If you do plan on buying another meter just make sure you put the new one in your signature .I assume you will be using a human meter since you were asking for suggestions in one of your posts and I see Bron posted something since I tagged her , just a heads up @LilTurkey
Thank you. Yes, they are U- 100. No worries, I will keep it up to date to the best of my abilities. I will insert a picture.
 

Attachments

  • 20200130_001441.jpg
    20200130_001441.jpg
    64.3 KB · Views: 137
  • 20200130_001522.jpg
    20200130_001522.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 138
Lantus needs to be given twice a day.
You probably haven't thought about what dosing method you are going to use....you can check that out when you are ready .....but if we say you are doing the SLGS method...start low go slow method......because you have swapped over to low carb wet diet, you will start off with 1/2 unit twice a day and hold that dose for 7 days, unless Thomas drops below 50 in which case you would reduce the dose. Then do a curve after 7days.
Make sure you test before EVERY SHOT and try and get some inbetween tests in as well around the +3 to +7 timeframe.
The routine is test, feed, give the insulin in that order.
If you get a Preshot number under 200....stall, don't feed, post and ask for advice and test again in 20 mins.

I would also test daily for ketones at the moment while you are starting off with insulin as a precaution..
Thanks so much for the advice. I need to buy some of those ketone testing strips. I'll see if I can buy the correct syringes tomorrow. I will dose as suggested, 0.5 unit every 12 hours, and keep an eye on him by testing. Seems like every 3 or 4 hours I should check or more frequently? I need to read up some more on everything. I'm trying to get him into remission so TR I think?
 
Yes, they are U- 100.

Unfortunately, those aren't really going to work well at all....For one thing, they're 1ml syringes which hold 100 units, so each mark on the syringe is probably 2U.

All these syringes have half unit markings (very important when you're doing microdosing) and are the correct syringes for U100 insulin and are available from ADW online:
UtiCare
Monoject
Carepoint
Sure Comfort
B/D

They're also available at WalMart if you have one near you. Their Relion brand 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6mm or 8mm insulin syringes all come with half unit markings and are only $12.58 for a box of 100 (although a lot of them don't realize they DO come with half unit markings!)
Relion syringes.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Relion syringes.jpg
    Relion syringes.jpg
    77.9 KB · Views: 461
Unfortunately, those aren't really going to work well at all....For one thing, they're 1ml syringes which hold 100 units, so each mark on the syringe is probably 2U.

All these syringes have half unit markings (very important when you're doing microdosing) and are the correct syringes for U100 insulin and are available from ADW online:
UtiCare
Monoject
Carepoint
Sure Comfort
B/D

They're also available at WalMart if you have one near you. Their Relion brand 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6mm or 8mm insulin syringes all come with half unit markings and are only $12.58 for a box of 100 (although a lot of them don't realize they DO come with half unit markings!)
View attachment 50947
I know they're incorrect, just showing the specific kind I have. Getting correct ones soon. Thank you, didn't know they sold those there. I should check them out.
 
Third opinion on those 1ml syringes. Horrible to try and measure tiny doses for our cats. It's what the shelter gave me for my foster Wink. Learned that the 3/10cc volume syringes were the right ones. Made it a bit easier. Then I convinced the shelter to have their vet write a prescription and send it to my closest Wal-mart which is in NH. Where I did pick up the Relion syringes with 1/2 unit markings on the barrel.

Every state is different in weather they require a prescription for insulin syringes.
 
Third opinion on those 1ml syringes. Horrible to try and measure tiny doses for our cats. It's what the shelter gave me for my foster Wink. Learned that the 3/10cc volume syringes were the right ones. Made it a bit easier. Then I convinced the shelter to have their vet write a prescription and send it to my closest Wal-mart which is in NH. Where I did pick up the Relion syringes with 1/2 unit markings on the barrel.

Every state is different in weather they require a prescription for insulin syringes.
Yeah, I definitely don't trust myself trying to do some kind of guesstimate with these ones. Rather have the corrects ones and be accurate. I may have to just buy more expensive ones out of convenience at the moment to get him started sooner. I don't have my own vehicle so I'm carpooling with my brother and have to work with his schedule to drive to places. I do go grocery shopping Saturday at our local Walmart, if I have to get another prescription then I could pick them up that day. If they just let me buy them today though, I'll just grab the more expensive ones and pick up some cheaper ones next time at the online store you guys reccomend.
 
If you are starting the Lantus tomorrow (well guess it's already that now since I'm up early posting) so I mean Thursday 1/30/2020.

Testing times with TR should be Pre-shot, +3, +6, +9 for each 12 hour cycle. Yes, Lantus is best dosed twice a day. 0.5U is a nice low starting dose.

Suggest you print a copy of the
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) protocol for Lantus. NOT to be used with OTHER insulins. Here is an excerpt:
"Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir. Initially, blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9. More monitoring may be needed." from the Lantus TR protocol. More may be needed. You need the "depot" storage area to fill first, to see the full effect of the dose you are giving.

Don't try to rush things. We know you want to get your kitty feeling better quickly, but feline diabetes is not something that happened quickly and it takes time to treat it properly.
 
Last edited:
If you are starting the Lantus tomorrow (well guess it's already that now since I'm up early posting) so I mean Thursday 1/30/2020.

Testing times with TR should be Pre-shot, +3, +6, +9 for each 12 hour cycle. Yes, Lantus is best dosed twice a day. 0.5U is a nice low starting dose.

Suggest you print a copy of the
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) protocol for Lantus. NOT to be used with OTHER insulins. Here is an excerpt:
"Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir. Initially, blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9. More monitoring may be needed." from the Lantus TR protocol. More may be needed. You need the "depot" storage area to fill first, to see the full effect of the dose you are giving.

Don't try to rush things. We know you want to get your kitty feeling better quickly, but feline diabetes is not something that happened quickly and it takes time to treat it properly.
I can't start it today anymore because I don't have the right syringes and I don't want to start it during the night because I can't properly monitor him if I'm sleeping. I'll start at morning time whenever I have the right supplies. Thanks for the info. I'll read it over again a few times.
 
Went back to the pharmacy, they had the 3/10cc kind but not the half markings kind so they ordered them for me. I triple checked to make sure they were the right ones. I'll just be doing an exchange on my others. I didn't think they'd allow me to return them but they do. They should be in tomorrow. I will buy more cost efficient ones in the future though. Thanks everyone for all of your help! I was feeling stressed but you all made it a whole lot easier.
 
You've got the basics. You'll do great over there!!!

Read the first sticky at the top on how to post there. They are particular about the format of the title in you post. Helps them see if anyone is having an issue that needs to be addressed and prioritized.
 
Alrighty. I'll start posting over there. Thank you.
Hey Brittany here is how you post on the lantus board
Daily Threads & Posting Instructions for this forum:
  • Please use one thread for all your comments and questions you have that day since this forum is so busy. This will keep all pertaining to your cat together everyday.
  • Start your thread with the date, kitty's name, and AMPS
  • Your thread will be bumped to the top of the list when you or anyone else posts on your thread.
  • The 911 prefix in the subject line should only be used for emergencies such as symptomatic hypos, very low numbers (below 30 on a human meter), and/or very sick cats potentially needing ER care. Please remove the 911 as soon as someone has responded and you have received help.

  • Go take a look at mine if you want to
  • You post a new thread for every day
  • Here is an example , just an example

  • 2-1-20 Thomas J AMPS- then put his pre shot number then when you test such as 92@+3/86@+6 etc/ PMPS do the same thing when you have to add to it when you test him you will see this on the right hand side it says
  • Thread Tools tap on that it will say edit title tap on that and add your tests in the blaclk area and add his BG and hit save
  • Before you start the new thread for the next day you will go to the top of your post that you did on 2-1-20 or whatever date you start the lantus and copy the URL for that day its all the way at the top of your page you will see it say www.feline diabetes.com/FDMB/threads and the date and paste it so that if members want to see what you did before that can just tap on it, you will do that for every new day

  • Now for the next day you would go to the lantus board and to the right it will say start a new thread, hit that and do the same thing example
  • 2-2-20 Thomas J AMPS etc
  • You can post any questions you might have
 
Last edited:
Hey Brittany here is how you post on the lantus board
Daily Threads & Posting Instructions for this forum:
  • Please use one thread for all your comments and questions you have that day since this forum is so busy. This will keep all pertaining to your cat together everyday.
  • Start your thread with the date, kitty's name, and AMPS
  • Your thread will be bumped to the top of the list when you or anyone else posts on your thread.
  • The 911 prefix in the subject line should only be used for emergencies such as symptomatic hypos, very low numbers (below 30 on a human meter), and/or very sick cats potentially needing ER care. Please remove the 911 as soon as someone has responded and you have received help.

  • Go take a look at mine if you want to
  • You post a new thread for every day
  • Here is an example , just an example

  • 2-1-20 Thomas J AMPS- then put his pre shot number then when you test such as 92@+3/86@+6 etc/ PMPS do the same thing when you have to add to it when you test him you will see this on the hand side it says
  • Thread Tools tap on that it will say edit title tap on that and add your tests in the blaclk area and add his BG and hit save
  • Before you start the new thread for the next day you will go to the top of your post that you did on 2-1-20 or whatever date you start the lantus and copy the URL for that day its all the way at the top of your page you will see it say www.feline diabetes.com/FDMB/threads and the date and paste it so that if members want to see what you did before that can just tap on it, you will do that for every new day

  • Now for the next day you would go to the lantus board and to the right it will say start a new thread, hit that and do the same thing example
  • 2-2-20 Thomas J AMPS etc
  • You can post any questions you might have
A little confusing but I think I know what you're saying. When I need to post make sure I put that information in the title. Copy the url for the day and put it in my next thread for the next day? Do I have to put every one of them? Should I put this post's url in my new one too? I'll have a look at some other people's and I think it'll give me the right idea. I'll reread that too. Thank you.
 
A little confusing but I think I know what you're saying. When I need to post make sure I put that information in the title. Copy the url for the day and put it in my next thread for the next day? Do I have to put every one of them? Should I put this post's url in my new one too? I'll have a look at some other people's and I think it'll give me the right idea. I'll reread that too. Thank you.
Hey Brittany When you do your first post in the lantus forum put the date, cats name, then AMPS
Then you can write underneath that you can day you are Brittany and just started langue, or any thing else you want to say
Then if you test him through the day just just tap on where it says thread tools and edit and put your test numbers in there and hit save, then when you test him at night put PMPS and do the same

Now the next day go back to the day before and copy what's way at the top of that page you will see it says www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads and the date
Now you will start a new thread, date, cats name AMPS
Then paste what you copied underneath that which will be what you wrote the day before and put any questions you may have or whatever you might want to write
Its so if members want to see the info from the day before they can just tap on that and it brings them your info from the day before, sorry if I'm confusing you, I was confused when I started. Go and look at mine from today's date 1-30-2020 and you will see it in blue, if you tap on it it will show you my info from 1-29-2020
I'll try and help you when it's your first and second post ok
Your title is the date, cats name and his AMPS (AM pre shot)
Underneath goes the URL info from the day before , not every thing you wrote from the day before, take a look at mine from the date I posted above
 
Last edited:
Brittany did you get some ketostix from the pharmacy? If you aren’t starting the insulin yet, I would definitely test the urine for ketones as a precaution.

Also when you have time check out the two dosing methods on the top of the Lantus page and chose one to follow... not urgent but once you’ve chosen one you can follow the method.
 
Brittany did you get some ketostix from the pharmacy? If you aren’t starting the insulin yet, I would definitely test the urine for ketones as a precaution.

Also when you have time check out the two dosing methods on the top of the Lantus page and chose one to follow... not urgent but once you’ve chosen one you can follow the method.
I haven't started insulin yet, waiting to get the correct syringes. Do I have to have a prescription for ketostix? I haven't gotten them yet.
 
Not sure about this and maybe someone else here would know more but the Weruva and tiki cat are very high in protein. I started out feeding to my cat in the beginning and several months later they told me his kidney values were up so not sure if the high protein was taxing or... I switched him to food that was moderate protein but still lower carb and 2.5 yrs later they told me his kidney values were better then than they were at the time they said he had early stage kidney failure. Not sure if available to you but I had very good luck with Whole Earth Farms duck pate and chicken pate and Organix turkey pate and chicken pate. Also Wellness Healthy Choices I think it was turkey.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top