Hi,
Trying to get the proper dosage for my cat Schmitty...9 years old, on Lantus, feeding FF
Started with 2cc, got glucose curve at vet and it was all over the place, brought Schmitty home and bought home tester.
Results were:
AMPS. 343
+2. 339
+4. 240
+6. 175
+8. 235
+10. 277
PPMS. 276
+14. 254
Next day
PAM'S. 278
PPMS. 182
Showed these results to my vet and he said increase dose by a quarter or half( he has been on insulin for about 4 weeks)
Started at 2.25 and first 2 days pre-shot values were in mid to low 200's, On third day my husband gave shot and gave 2.5. When I got home I did a +6 and level was 40, then +12 was 32(did not shoot) + 15 was 48. Below is next few days....
Date. AMPS. . Shot. PPMS. Shot
5/26. 100. >.50. 129. <.5. +3 was 130. +6 was 111
5/27. 59. X. 142. >.50. +6 was 84
5/28. 178. .5. 241. 2.25. +2 was 184. . +6 was 197
During the time when his insulin was low he showed no symptoms of hypoglycemia, plus his diarrhea cleared up, his urine output was much better and he wasn't always screaming to eat. So when I saw the PPMS value of 241 tonight I went back to his regular dosage of 2.25...this probably was not a good idea. I just tested him at +2 and he was 140.
I feed him after his shots and at +6
Can someone please help me with his dosage. I really want to keep his numbers lower since I saw such an improvement with his bowel and hunger issues, however I realized that I really am new to this and should be asking for advice instead of trying to figure this out on my own.
I would really appreciate any advice,
Mary
Trying to get the proper dosage for my cat Schmitty...9 years old, on Lantus, feeding FF
Started with 2cc, got glucose curve at vet and it was all over the place, brought Schmitty home and bought home tester.
Results were:
AMPS. 343
+2. 339
+4. 240
+6. 175
+8. 235
+10. 277
PPMS. 276
+14. 254
Next day
PAM'S. 278
PPMS. 182
Showed these results to my vet and he said increase dose by a quarter or half( he has been on insulin for about 4 weeks)
Started at 2.25 and first 2 days pre-shot values were in mid to low 200's, On third day my husband gave shot and gave 2.5. When I got home I did a +6 and level was 40, then +12 was 32(did not shoot) + 15 was 48. Below is next few days....
Date. AMPS. . Shot. PPMS. Shot
5/26. 100. >.50. 129. <.5. +3 was 130. +6 was 111
5/27. 59. X. 142. >.50. +6 was 84
5/28. 178. .5. 241. 2.25. +2 was 184. . +6 was 197
During the time when his insulin was low he showed no symptoms of hypoglycemia, plus his diarrhea cleared up, his urine output was much better and he wasn't always screaming to eat. So when I saw the PPMS value of 241 tonight I went back to his regular dosage of 2.25...this probably was not a good idea. I just tested him at +2 and he was 140.
I feed him after his shots and at +6
Can someone please help me with his dosage. I really want to keep his numbers lower since I saw such an improvement with his bowel and hunger issues, however I realized that I really am new to this and should be asking for advice instead of trying to figure this out on my own.
I would really appreciate any advice,
Mary