Newbies to home testing and FDMB

Status
Not open for further replies.

Allie

Member Since 2011
Also posted in the PZI forum:
Hi everyone,
I'm Allie and my little fur baby is an 12yo domestic shorthair named Steve. Steve and I are so happy to have found you. We are hoping to make friends here and hope that we can learn from you! He was diagnosed in 2009. In spring of 2010, we moved from one of the humulins to ProZinc. We were shooting 4u twice a day without testing. And we were eating Science Diet d/m. Around Christmas, I noticed Steve's box having more clumps. I knew we'd have to go back to vet and get a new upped dose. So I headed to google and found out about using wet food and Tight regulation. I decided to eliminate dry food and attempt tight regulation using a sliding scale. On Jan 1st, we got rid of dry food (we reduced shooting 2u twice a day--until we could be sure carbs were out of his system). On Jan 11th, we started trying TR as recommended by another website. He hypo'd two nights ago (no symptoms but his BG was at 22 +3.5). We recovered with feeding maple syrup and some dry food (took 5 hours till i was sure he was in the clear).

Anyhow, now we have decided to proceed more cautiously and are looking for friends to tell us we are or aren't completely crazy along the way. We skipped the first dose post hypo and now are dozing 1u every 12hrs until we are sure we are normalized to that dose. So my question is, how have you guys proceeded with testing, curves, dosing after a hypo? If Steve were your baby, would you run a curve tomorrow or wait another day so we know carbs are gone? Would you run a curve with on 1U when you did it (I'm pretty sure he needs more than that, but don't know what that number is).

Thanks for any advice you can give or just general commiseration you can give. Stevie and I are scared but we are trying to 'remain calm and carry on'.

Cheers,
Allie and Steve
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top