Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

JennyBankers

Member Since 2014
I got a call this morning from the vet that my cat's, Marbles, blood sugar results were high. I took her to the vet on Friday because she was drinking/peeing/eating a lot more than normal as well as shedding like crazy for about 1.5 weeks he thought it might be either diabetes, kidney failure, or UTI so he sent her home with antibiotics and did a full panel on her. I am going back to the vet this Thursday to discuss what needs to be done now for treatment (i.e. insulin shots, etc.). My first thought was that I was going to have to put her to sleep, but I have since found out that this is a very manageable problem with my cat! YAY! I was so happy to find out that cats are living long, happy lives once you can get them regulated.

I have read about the low carb/high protein diets, and I am stopping at Wal-Mart on the way home to buy some Fancy Feast classics for Marbles. Does anyone recommend good low-carb treats and where to find them? My cat loves treats!! She is currently on 50%/50% wet/dry cat food - I am stopping all of that today.

My biggest question/concern is home monitoring/testing. I understand why it is done but should I start doing that now before seeing the vet on Thursday or wait until I find out the vet recommended treatment for her? Also, I am not familiar with home testing kits, but I am gather that it will give me a number (i.e. 100). However, what number ranges are low, normal, high? Also, any recommendations on home monitoring kits?

Thanks in advance for any advice. I am trying to learn as quickly as possible, but it is overwhelming and all I want to do it cry for my poor sick kitty!
 
Welcome to the best place you never wanted to be. :lol:

JennyBankers said:
I have read about the low carb/high protein diets, and I am stopping at Wal-Mart on the way home to buy some Fancy Feast classics for Marbles. Does anyone recommend good low-carb treats and where to find them? My cat loves treats!! She is currently on 50%/50% wet/dry cat food - I am stopping all of that today.
A food change before starting insulin is the ideal way to go because it makes things much easier all around without having to account for potentially lower numbers while you're giving insulin. :thumbup Here are some ideas for treats that you might find helpful.

JennyBankers said:
My biggest question/concern is home monitoring/testing. I understand why it is done but should I start doing that now before seeing the vet on Thursday or wait until I find out the vet recommended treatment for her? Also, I am not familiar with home testing kits, but I am gather that it will give me a number (i.e. 100). However, what number ranges are low, normal, high? Also, any recommendations on home monitoring kits?
Yes, start testing now so you have a reference point for Marbles' numbers as you transition her to the new food. It also can take a few days to get the testing down, so it's best to practice now than getting a "trial by fire" after you've already started giving insulin. ;-) While you're at Walmart picking up food, stop by the pharmacy section for the diabetic supplies. Here's a handy shopping list:
  • Meter - The ReliOn Confirm or Micro is a great meter for when you're first starting out
  • Matching strips
  • Lancets - Look for ones labeled for "alternate testing sites" as these will have a larger gauge and be easier to use initially. Optional - lancing tool.
  • Neosporin ointment (NOT cream) to help the blood bead up and help heal faster during the first few weeks of testing.
  • Ketone urine test strips, i.e. ketostix or ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
Once you start giving insulin:
  • Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey and a couple of cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers or other high carb gravy food - for potential hypo situations and to bring numbers up fast.

For number ranges, I used Wikipedia's Blood Sugar Guidelines as a reference point so I would know what that number meant. One of our members, BJ, has also created this great Reference Ranges document that goes into a bit more detail, including the ranges of pet-specific meters.

One other thing that we haven't covered is insulin. With cats, there are only three insulins that work well: Lantus, Levemir, or ProZinc/PZI. You do not want any other insulin, no mater how cheap it might be, because they do not work well in cats (who have much faster metabolisms) and are better suited for dogs.
 
Thank you so much for the information. This is so overwhelming and nice to have needed supplies in a list! I 'm sure I will have tons of questions in the future. The amount of information in this forum is wonderful!
 
Just wanted to say welcome to FDMB,

Initial diagnosis is very overwhelming and scary but this is the place to be.This site is full of wonderful people with tons of info.Youve already been given the best links to get you started, and as for treats we recommend freeze dried chicken or even boiled chicken. I give my cats halo freeze dried chicken, and one of my cats goes PRIMAL for it. LOL he starts growling at the others and everything to stay away from his chicken lol.
http://www.amazon.com/Halo--Littles-Nat ... ed+chicken
 
Thank you! I will try those treats - she isn't too happy with me right now and deserves some good treats.

I got the ReliOn Confirm monitor today with the 26 gauge needles. I was able to get a reading of 280 which I believe is high based on what I am reading online. The 26 gauge seemed to draw too much blood and hurt her, so I am going to try the 30 gauge in the morning. However, I couldn't find the Ketone test strips in Wal-Mart. Where do you guys usually purchase them? Am I just not looking in the right section of Wal-Mart?

The good news is that she LOVES the Fancy Feast wet food! :thumbup
 
I know my walmart hides them on the very bottom section in the relion section, and half the time they're out.

The treats were a HUGE help for Hidey, still is lol. He loves being tested (maybe loves not the right word lol) because every time I test I put a few small pieces of chicken out and test him while he's eating. If I forget the container on the counter he'll jump up and knock them down. As to the too much blood, is the setting on your lancet set to high or low? 280 is a good start, just keep up the testing because diet can drastically reduce bg.

Have you started a spreadsheet yet? It helps a lot to keep track of numbers, but also for us to view when trying to help.
 
I am not using a lancet device as I'm trying to do it by hand as I read it is easier to see where you are poking. I think I might have hit the vein in her ear instead of next to the vein like I'm supposed to do. I will get it right eventually - poor kitty will probably be angry with me until I get it figured out. I read the post tonight about the "sweet spot" on her ear, so I'm going to try that for tomorrow morning's test.

I haven't started a spreadsheet yet, but will try to do so tomorrow. I saw somewhere on the forum where someone explained how to do it, so I will need to go find that post again.

For the wet food, how many cans a day should I give her? The Fancy Feast cans seem so small. I am guessing my cat is about 11-12 lbs (Fancy Feast says 1 can for every 3 lbs my cat weighs but 4 cans seem like a lot), but I'm going to make sure I find out exactly how much she weighs while at the vet on Thursday.
 
The general formula is [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70, so if your cat's best weight is 12lbs, it'd be [13.6 X 12 pounds] + 70 = 233 calories.

I had to find this when I was trying to figure out their diet, dry food is very high calories compared to wet and I didn't know that. I couldn't figure out why they were still hungry lol
 
I have found that the lancet device works well. Either the one from the ReliOn or the AlphaTrak.

I realize it is hard to see where it is poking the ear, but after a few tests you get the hang of it.I am not sure I would be steady enough to do it free hand, but do what makes it easiest for you to get a sample.

Every now and then, I do hit the vein and get more blood than I can use. Just be sure to apply cotton or paper towel and hold for 20-30 seconds to stem the bleeding and to prevent bruising. Then put the Neosporin on.

Kevin
 
Welcome to FDMB - and great job getting your first test! The testing will definitely get easier with practice, and it's the absolutely best way to keep your kitty safe once you start giving insulin.

Others have given you great advice, so I won't add too much to it. Just a couple of things - I also found the ketone test strips next to the diabetic supplies at Wal-Mart. If your Wal-Mart is out of them, you should be able to find them at any other pharmacy. (Walgreen's might be a good option if you have one close by.) My cat, Jersey, hated the pure chicken treats that most kitties here seem to love, but she did really love the Orijen treats. That might be an option if you have a picky eater like I do. ;-)

Diabetic cats often need to eat more in the beginning because their bodies can't properly process/use the energy in the food, so you might actually need to feed even more than what the Fancy Feast label recommends. As Marbles' numbers become regulated, you'll notice that she isn't as hungry and doesn't need to eat as much anymore.

I know getting the diagnosis is terrifying, and you're overwhelmed right now. You're doing a fantastic job, though. Look at how much you've learned already! :-D Marbles can definitely live a long, happy life, and complete remission may even be possible. (My Jersey was one of the very blessed kitties who did go into remission after just a few months on Lantus.)

Just be sure to ask questions. We'll all try to help you however we can.
Shelly
 
Thank you everyone for the kind words and suggestions. I was able to get a second reading first thing this morning. She didn't meow at me this time (although she struggled to get away after I pricked her) and I used a smaller 30 gauge needle which worked very well. Her reading his morning was 219 (down from 280 last night). I will start a spreadsheet to put in my signature so you all can see how she is tracking in the future.

(My Jersey was one of the very blessed kitties who did go into remission after just a few months on Lantus.)

I'm so happy that Jersey went into remission after a few months. It gives me hope that Marbles might have the same outcome. My heart hurts every time I have to stick her with that needle to draw blood.
 
Hi,

I too received inspiration from Shelly and with Jersey's remission well at least I know it can be done.

The list of kitties in remission on this website is a testament to the hard work the people here do on a day in and day out basis.

Jack is currently in day 11 of an OTJ trial. I am so hopeful for him as his numbers were high and he walked wobbly and on his hocks. His walk is now so much better.

My heart goes out to you on having to stick your kitty. Because Jack was in such poor shape, I had no other alternative and he never balked when I tested or shot him. After 3 weeks or so, as he felt better, he did try and fight back with the shot, but all in all he still takes the testing with a grain of salt. A treat helps oh so much.

Now that I am tending to his sister Samantha, well he looks at me as if to say, Hey, Did you forget about me?

It will become second nature to you!
 
Quick question - since I'm using a human meter (ReliOn Confirm), can I take the number it spits out and use that or does it need to be adjusted at all? I am using the spreadsheet that you guys are all using and plugging in the actual number off the human meter - is that correct? Also, in comparison to what I have read, my goal with insulin is to keep my pet between 50-200 (but under 150 is preferable) at all times - is that using a human meter?
 
No adjustments needed; use the numbers you get.

Yes, nadirs between 50 to 150 mg/dL are desirable. Until you've got lots of mid-cycle tests, please don't shoot under 200 mg/dL. After a good 14 tests/2weeks or so of mid-cycle tests around the probable nadir (lowest glucose level) usually between +5 to +7 hours post shot, you may slowly lower the no shot limit to 150 mg/dL.
 
I'm curious, her number is coming down.........you MAY be able to bring her into normal numbers without insulin. I don't know if that's something you want to try first or not though, if so you might want to consider postponing her appointment. Also, don't forget.....her number will most likely be higher when you do go to the vet because stress will raise bg so be careful on how high they start the dose because it seems most vets don't consider the raised bg from stress (just from experience and seeing posts here)

Also, don't forget that what ever insulin you do pick to start VERY low because of how low her numbers are.

Sometimes, diet alone can be enough to control diabetes. Hidey was only on insulin for about 2 months, although I say about a month since he was on vetsulin first and that did nothing for him lol and now he's diet controlled :-D
 
I'm so happy that Jersey went into remission after a few months. It gives me hope that Marbles might have the same outcome. My heart hurts every time I have to stick her with that needle to draw blood.

I've seen a lot of cats go into remission here since I joined back in January. Just today, another cat officially went OTJ (off the juice) and I know another one is just a couple of days away from "official" remission status. I've even seen cats who have been on insulin for years go into remission. I definitely believe there's hope for all of our kitties. They have an amazing ability to heal themselves. :-D

I know it's hard to stick your cat right now, but think about how worth it those pokes would be if it means it would eventually help her go off insulin altogether. That would be a really good trade-off in the long run!
 
'm curious, her number is coming down.........you MAY be able to bring her into normal numbers without insulin. I don't know if that's something you want to try first or not though, if so you might want to consider postponing her appointment. Also, don't forget.....her number will most likely be higher when you do go to the vet because stress will raise bg so be careful on how high they start the dose because it seems most vets don't consider the raised bg from stress (just from experience and seeing posts here)

Also, don't forget that what ever insulin you do pick to start VERY low because of how low her numbers are.

I have thought about trying just diet alone, but I feel like I don't have enough data/expertise/experience to make that decision. I worry that her lower numbers are just a fluke, and I also worry about her still being above the 200 mark. How long does it take to see the full effects of her new diet? I have noticed that she is drinking much less water (slightly less than 1/4 cups in a 24 hr period vs 3/4 cups that she drank previously) and her eating has slowed down to a more "normal" level for her. I feel ridiculous measuring how much water is in her water bowl, but I'm glad I have that data.

I will talk to the vet tomorrow about possibly trying that approach and see if it works. I want to take her to this vet tomorrow though since he is new and I'm not really sure if I will stick with him or not as I didn't like her previous vet's recommendations for the diabetes treatment (wanted her to go on a high carb diet). He has really good reviews on Yahoo and my best friend takes her dogs to him and loves him. So, I at least need a new vet for her and want to have history with someone in case of emergency/quick visit needed.
 
My vet recommended a food change for several months before starting insulin, but when I came here, many people said that I would be able to see the full effects of any food change within a few days to about a week. Hopefully others with more experience can confirm how long you should give a food change before starting insulin.

I think it's a good idea to keep the vet appt - even if you don't start insulin immediately.

Oh - and lots of people measure their cats' water intake. You're definitely not alone there. It's great information to have on hand!
 
JennyBankers said:
...I have noticed that she is drinking much less water (slightly less than 1/4 cups in a 24 hr period vs 3/4 cups that she drank previously) and her eating has slowed down to a more "normal" level for her. I feel ridiculous measuring how much water is in her water bowl, but I'm glad I have that data...
Measuring the water is just one of several Secondary Monitoring Tools in my signature link. Vets often ask some of those questions when you bring in your cat - food and water consumption, urine and fecal output, and behavior are common inquiries.
 
I am curios to what your dr said about holding off on the insulin. I am new here too and posted a Help! Message. My vet wanted to start my cat who's glucose was 355 at the vet on insulin. But I had previously done a ton of research and wanted to see how a food change for a few days works.

Robin
 
Hello All,

When Jack was DX on 8/9/14 with BG @ 634, I got the meter and tested his sister Samantha. She had numbers that averaged 350 (270-391).

I immediately converted her over the same diet as Jack. Purina DM Wet and no dry.

I held off for a month to see how the diet affected Samantha's numbers. I also used some Blood Sugar Gold (vet said nothing in it to hurt kitty) to see if it might be possible to get her normal without insulin.

Her numbers did not really budge. On 9/11 when I started her on Lantus 1u , her AMPS was 299.

ECID and while I hoped the diet and Blood Sugar Gold might do the trick she has responded very well to the Lantus and I immediately had to reduce the dose to .5u.

This is just my experience and wanted to share with you as you are new and wanting to get more information.
Kevin
 
Thank you for the information about Jack and Samantha.

Marbles' b/g was up this morning to 243. I read online that a food change should only be given 3-5 days to show changes before starting on insulin. I will let you guys know what the vet says at her appointment this afternoon. It has been nice to have such wonderful people in this forum to help me learn and share their experiences.
 
Numbers can be higher in the morning, that is not uncommon.....someone on here told me about it and it's called the dawn phenomenon. Hidey's is usually a bit higher but mini meals seemed to help, especially a mid-night feeding to help boost his pancreas. That may be another thing you may want to try....maybe 3-4 small feelings a day.

Oh and as to how long to see if diet can change bg enough, every at is different but it seems about a week. Lol it's kinda like a kitty detox diet to get all those bad carbs out of their system.

Also, some cats react differently to carbs, one percentage may be too high for another. I know Hidey is carb sensitive so I stick to 5% or less! the lower the better for him.
 
Marbles saw her new vet today, and we love him! :RAHCAT He is very much up-to-date on the newest diabetes treatments, and was aware that a lot of cats will go into remission with diabetes.

He was very happy about her change to a low carb, high protein diet and was also extremely happy that I am home-testing her b/g. He thinks her lower numbers and decreased physical symptoms are a great sign and thinks the diabetes might be stress induced (he said it was considered a sub-set of type 2 diabetes which was recently recognized in the past few years).

We are going back in the morning for him to run some additional tests, thyroid, etc - to rule out anything that might be causing extra stress on her body. In the meantime, he wants me to keep tracking her b/g twice a day at home and reduce any new stresses in her environment (i.e. new odors, new routines, etc). If the test results come in negative then we are going to give her some time to adjust to the new food before we start any insulin treatment. He had some of the same concerns that have been voiced here about starting her on insulin right now with the new food and reduced numbers. He doesn't want her b/g to dip too low and her to go hypo.
 
Glad he reassured you and agrees and welcomes the steps and research you've done, most are not so happy lol my vet included. Another thing they may want to check is her teeth, if they haven't already. I'm so happy you found a vet that you feel comfortable with AND is familiar with feline diabetes :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top