harrysmom said:
My cat Harry was dxd 1 week ago and the vet told me to switch to purina dm dry and give 2units pzi 2xdaily. So i did that - since then i have been reading alot and am changing him to low carb wet only. I talked to the vet about this and asked if i should lower the dose - she said no. I gave him only canned this morning and gave the insulin and checked his bg level 6 hours after feeding and it was 160. Im concerned if i continue on the canned diet the 2units it will be to much. Any thoughts?? How do you know how much insulin to give?
The vet should have understood that Harry's BG would go down a lot by itself when you removed the dry food completely and switched to low-carb canned only. So I am very glad you have done enough reading to realize that the vet was mistaken.
If his BG was 160 six hours after the shot, and all the way down to 76 twelve hours after the shot, then that says the dose was too high. Not dangerously too high, but it lasted for longer than it would have if it had been "the right dose".
With a 76, you would skip the shot.
You can also do what Robin and BJ said, which is stall. Wait 30 minutes, see if the BG goes up, but do not give him and food in the meantime. You want your pre-shot test to be taken without food confusing the numbers. Food would make his BG rise, giving you a "false high reading", leading you to think he needs a shot when he doesn't.
At this point, since you just started out, we would advise that you not shoot any insulin unless his numbers gets to 200 or higher. Even if it does, we think you should reduce your dose to no more than 1 unit.
Please let us know how he's doing? You are doing great, by the way!
Carl