Wulfwin
Member Since 2010
Hello all,
I'm a newbie on the board (although I've been reading for a couple of weeks now) and I had a couple of questions. This is a pretty long post, sorry!
First, the background on my diabetic kitty, Jason the Argonaut:
I work part-time in the vet clinic at a local animal shelter. Jason was brought to the shelter in early September as a stray. He was very underweight (only 6.2 lbs) and elderly (we estimate around 12 years old), but otherwise in good shape (although he did have a BB pellet under the skin of his chin which was removed easily). He put on weight quickly, but also came down with a URI. He went through several courses of antibiotics (Doxycycline and Orbax) but the URI kept coming back. In early October, we were hoping to make him available for adoption, but the vet wanted to check for diabetes first, given his age. Unfortunately, he was diabetic, but given that he was doing so well the vet decided to try to treat his diabetes. She first sent his blood and urine off for analysis, because she wanted to make sure his kidneys were in good shape. We got the lab results on 10/13. His kidneys were in great shape, but the lab work revealed anemia (HCT 24, cause unknown) and a systemic bacterial infection (neutrophils 23,440, dohle bodies 1+ and toxic neutrophils +2). Since we had no idea what was causing the anemia and the prognosis for an infection with toxic neutrophils was so poor, the vet recommended that Jason be put to sleep. I took him home to give him a few days in a loving home and ended up falling even further in love with him. I spoke to the vet the day that he was scheduled to be euthanized and we decided that I could try treating him at home. I picked up a bottle of Lantus that night, and our journey began!
I've had Jason for about a month now. His clinical symptoms have improved across the board: he doesn't drink/urinate nearly as much, his coat is much healthier, his hind leg weakness has improved (I don't know if this was actually neuropathy or if it was because he was so underweight and weak when he first came to us), his URI symptoms are gone (he's been on clavamox for 2 weeks; we did a C&S on him on 11/3 and upped his dose, and he'll be on it for a total of 3 weeks, then we'll recheck his blood work a week after stopping antibiotics), he's now a healthy 9.4 lbs, and his activity level is high. He does have pretty bad diarrhea, which he's had since I brought him home. He's been dewormed and been on a course of Metronidazole. His stools were improving, until he went on clavamox and they went back to liquid. He is getting probiotic powder with his evening wet food, but the diarrhea probably won't get better until he's off clavamox. His teeth were pretty gross, and he got a dental cleaning and two teeth removed on 10/30.
I started transitioning Jason (and my other two cats) to Wellness Core dry food this week, and changed his wet food to lower carb (I tried Wellness and Merrick, but he decided he wanted to be a Fancy Feast boy!).
I've finally got hometesting down pretty well, and I'm using the Walmart ReliOn Confirm, since so many here seemed to like it. I often can't test much past his AM shot, because I work 2 jobs, 7 days a week, and I usually have to be gone at least 12 hrs on Wednesday. Occasionally I am able to work from home, but I usually don't know when or how often in advance. On Saturdays and Sundays, I work at the shelter, and I actually bring Jason with me so I can run curves on him throughout the day.
The vet that I work with is excellent, and I can call her whenever I need her, even very late at night, but has never treated diabetes since she's a shelter vet. She does tons of research on it to learn as much as she can.
Jason's BG numbers have been all over lately, and the vet and I were wondering if maybe it was due to Somogyi rebound. His numbers on 11/9 went from 455 AMPS to a nadir of 318 at +6, then the next day his AMPS was 269 and had dropped down to 53 at only +3 (and that was a partial shot, since I felt some of the insulin on his fur). All of his BG readings and doses are on his spreadsheet. Does this look like Somogyi rebound to you all? Or any other ideas of what's going on? The only things that have changed in the last week is that I switched to a lower carb wet food and started transitioning to a lower carb dry food, both done after his crazy BG drop on 11/10.
Lately I've been having problems shooting right through the skin, so he's not getting full doses. Any tips on that? I'm used to giving Sub-Q 1 ml vaccines with 22 gauge needles, or sedatives IM, but I've never used such short or fine needles before, and I'm having trouble telling when I'm under or through the skin. I think maybe I'm pulling up on the skin too much (I just looked at http://felinediabetes.com/injections.htm).
Does it look like there's anything else that I should be doing that I'm not? Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks!
I'm a newbie on the board (although I've been reading for a couple of weeks now) and I had a couple of questions. This is a pretty long post, sorry!
First, the background on my diabetic kitty, Jason the Argonaut:
I work part-time in the vet clinic at a local animal shelter. Jason was brought to the shelter in early September as a stray. He was very underweight (only 6.2 lbs) and elderly (we estimate around 12 years old), but otherwise in good shape (although he did have a BB pellet under the skin of his chin which was removed easily). He put on weight quickly, but also came down with a URI. He went through several courses of antibiotics (Doxycycline and Orbax) but the URI kept coming back. In early October, we were hoping to make him available for adoption, but the vet wanted to check for diabetes first, given his age. Unfortunately, he was diabetic, but given that he was doing so well the vet decided to try to treat his diabetes. She first sent his blood and urine off for analysis, because she wanted to make sure his kidneys were in good shape. We got the lab results on 10/13. His kidneys were in great shape, but the lab work revealed anemia (HCT 24, cause unknown) and a systemic bacterial infection (neutrophils 23,440, dohle bodies 1+ and toxic neutrophils +2). Since we had no idea what was causing the anemia and the prognosis for an infection with toxic neutrophils was so poor, the vet recommended that Jason be put to sleep. I took him home to give him a few days in a loving home and ended up falling even further in love with him. I spoke to the vet the day that he was scheduled to be euthanized and we decided that I could try treating him at home. I picked up a bottle of Lantus that night, and our journey began!
I've had Jason for about a month now. His clinical symptoms have improved across the board: he doesn't drink/urinate nearly as much, his coat is much healthier, his hind leg weakness has improved (I don't know if this was actually neuropathy or if it was because he was so underweight and weak when he first came to us), his URI symptoms are gone (he's been on clavamox for 2 weeks; we did a C&S on him on 11/3 and upped his dose, and he'll be on it for a total of 3 weeks, then we'll recheck his blood work a week after stopping antibiotics), he's now a healthy 9.4 lbs, and his activity level is high. He does have pretty bad diarrhea, which he's had since I brought him home. He's been dewormed and been on a course of Metronidazole. His stools were improving, until he went on clavamox and they went back to liquid. He is getting probiotic powder with his evening wet food, but the diarrhea probably won't get better until he's off clavamox. His teeth were pretty gross, and he got a dental cleaning and two teeth removed on 10/30.
I started transitioning Jason (and my other two cats) to Wellness Core dry food this week, and changed his wet food to lower carb (I tried Wellness and Merrick, but he decided he wanted to be a Fancy Feast boy!).
I've finally got hometesting down pretty well, and I'm using the Walmart ReliOn Confirm, since so many here seemed to like it. I often can't test much past his AM shot, because I work 2 jobs, 7 days a week, and I usually have to be gone at least 12 hrs on Wednesday. Occasionally I am able to work from home, but I usually don't know when or how often in advance. On Saturdays and Sundays, I work at the shelter, and I actually bring Jason with me so I can run curves on him throughout the day.
The vet that I work with is excellent, and I can call her whenever I need her, even very late at night, but has never treated diabetes since she's a shelter vet. She does tons of research on it to learn as much as she can.
Jason's BG numbers have been all over lately, and the vet and I were wondering if maybe it was due to Somogyi rebound. His numbers on 11/9 went from 455 AMPS to a nadir of 318 at +6, then the next day his AMPS was 269 and had dropped down to 53 at only +3 (and that was a partial shot, since I felt some of the insulin on his fur). All of his BG readings and doses are on his spreadsheet. Does this look like Somogyi rebound to you all? Or any other ideas of what's going on? The only things that have changed in the last week is that I switched to a lower carb wet food and started transitioning to a lower carb dry food, both done after his crazy BG drop on 11/10.
Lately I've been having problems shooting right through the skin, so he's not getting full doses. Any tips on that? I'm used to giving Sub-Q 1 ml vaccines with 22 gauge needles, or sedatives IM, but I've never used such short or fine needles before, and I'm having trouble telling when I'm under or through the skin. I think maybe I'm pulling up on the skin too much (I just looked at http://felinediabetes.com/injections.htm).
Does it look like there's anything else that I should be doing that I'm not? Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks!