Re: newbie with questions
Hi Michele,,
First, Welcome and thank you for having the good sense to know that, even as a vet, you might
not have all the answers when it comes to Feline Diabetes.
We have a vet here, Dr.Lisa, who is an expert on feline nutrition, and also several Vet-Techs.
There are hundreds of us cat guardians here all over the world, hundreds of cats treated, and many
years of collective experience.
MicheleS said:
So, the cat's glc is 493. Liver and kidney fcn are fine (based on bloodwork). He's dehydrated and I'm giving him subQ fluids. He's eating lots (big, fat cat).
493 is a diabetic number, but as a spot-check it's not as good as a fructosamine test. A single high BG can
be caused by infection. Are other symptoms present ? Drinking a lot of water and peeing a lot ?
I would be inclined to add a bit of B-Complex to the fluids. Diabetic cats need their B-Vitamins.
MicheleS said:
I picked up PZI and a glucometer (+ supplies).
Can you be more specific. PZI Vet by Idexx manufacturing has been dis-continued. Some here use BCP PZI.
Both of those are U-40 insulins (BCP PZI is also available as U-100). There are also human insulins compounded
as PZI. There is a new Vetrinary PZI on the market ProZinc, (I think). Specifically, what did you 'pick-up' and
is it U-40 or U-100.
Insulins of choice right now are Lantus and Levemir, which are insulins for people. Some are seeing
remission with these insulins. We do not recommend Humulin N, nor Caninsulin/Vetsulin, although some
are successful with it. They are harsh with steep drops and not enough duration.
We test by pricking the ear...if you do not know how to do that, we have a video that shows how.
MicheleS said:
I purchased canned food (ick) and a bag of Wellness core. We have 5 cats so I need to figure out how to juggle feeding...
Almost any canned food is better than any dry food for ALL cats. Diabetic cats need low-carb food
with UNDER 10% of calories AS FED from carbs. Dry food is, well, dry.
Please read Dr. Lisa's article on feline nutrition.
MicheleS said:
So, here are my questions:
1. I'm going to start with insulin twice daily. Should I change the food now or wait a week or so?
Changing food to a LOW CARB Wet food can have a big impact. If you are going to change food, you could
see a good response in a day or two. But don't wait too long to start insulin if BGs stay above normal ranges.
The sooner insulin is started, and the pancreas is allowed to rest, the better chance you have of getting
diet control....aka 'remission'.
MicheleS said:
2. Worried about hypoglycemia a bit. Will feed twice daily. SHould I try to come home at lunch to check a glc? (that'll be 6hrs post-insulin).
Diabetic cats are hungry all the time, so try to leave food out for kitty. Timed feeder or frozen ice-cube-sized portions
of canned food that can thaw. Can you confine kitty at a room where the other cats won't eat his food while this
all gets worked out ?
Test BG Before each insulin injection. The usual sequence is Test/Feed/Shoot.
Please start at 1 unit 2x per day. Kitty should be safe while you are at work, if BG is above 200, then a meal,
then shoot. Try to be sure the meal stays 'down' before giving insulin. If kitty is de-hydrated, there can be nausea
and up comes the meal. Try to wait about 1/2 hour after feeding, then shoot. Unless you are sure this cat
is not a barfer.
These are just procedures for a 'beginner'....as you get further into the Sugar Dance and have more experience/data,
you can adjust your procedures. As we say here ECID...Every Cat is Different.
Use this first week to perfect your BG testing...test before every shot. Then maybe next weekend, or a day home
from work, you can run your first BG curve.
It takes 3-7 days for insulin to 'settle' and for kitty's body to learn how to use this new resource. Stick with
1u BID for the first week. You might see numbers all over the place, or might not, during that time.
If you have questions about doing a BG curve, come back here for help.
Do not raise the dose based upon pre-shot number or spot-checks. You need to know the nadir number to make
dosage decisions. You can LOWER the dose based upon pre-shot or not shoot at all if under 200.
Keep records... we like to see data here. AMPS means AM Pre-shot BG number, +2 means BG two hours after shot, etc.
MicheleS said:
3. I'm planning on starting with 3 units PZI, twice daily. SOund reasonable? Does anyone have good ctrl with once daily dosing?
Nope. As stated by others. START LOW...GO SLOW. Start at 1u BID and raise SLOWLY based upon home-test
data and curves. Raises are usually .5u to 1u per dose. Wait a week before another dose raise.
MicheleS said:
4. Going to check glc twice daily for a week or so. At what point do ya'll stop checking as frequently?
Test before every shot....as long as kitty is on insulin. Spot check if you want to. Trying to find nadir is what
you need to do now. You won't have that data until you have done a couple of BG curves.
MicheleS said:
5. The cat has lost weight along hind-end. Assuming good ctrl, when should I expect that to resolve?
Weight loss goes along with un-controlled diabetes. Now if he's walking on his hocks...that's another issue.
Diabetic Neuropathy is best addressed by controlling the diabetes. As mentioned by another responder, Methyl-B12
can also be useful in conjunction with BG control.
MicheleS said:
6. Any tips? It has been so long since I practiced med.... Hope it is like riding a bike!
We make house-calls !!! To teach BG ear-testing. What city/state do you live in.
PS.. He is GORGEOUS....could be a twin to my Smokey. Smokey was a steroid-induced diabetic who passed away
last winter from throat cancer.