Snoogleface
New Member
Hi,
My 4 yo male cat, Sammy, aka the Snoog, stopped eating a while back and after getting the blood work back from the vet we discovered that diabetes was the cause. His numbers were in the 400s at the time so our vet put him on 2 units of Lantus twice a day. His follow up was 4 days later which was a Sunday, and because he strangely let us sleep in that morning, his insulin dose was administered too late for the vet to get a good reading at that time so she had us leave him there for an hour before a testing that showed him in the high 200s. Of course now I realize that this was likely due to him being super stressed out being in a strange place with other animals lots of loud noises, but at the time I was unaware of that and went along with her advice to increase the insulin dosage to 3 units twice a day. Yet another 4 days later I brought him back and, as you likely guessed, his numbers were too low, reading at about 67. So another couple hours of vet time with syrup and iv sugar administered, I brought him home to do 1 unit that night and stay on a 2 unit twice a day regimen. His most recent visit, 5 days after the low reading, his bg was 89 a good 7.5 hours after insulin administration, which my vet said was a good amount, though I'm still concerned this may be low considering how stressed he gets about going to the vet. I have switched him from 100% dry food to high quality, grain free wet food (a can of Nature's Variety during the day and a can of Weruva for his evening shots/overnight) and am planning to get a home test kit after reading advice to others on here.
My main question is with his really bizarre behavior the last few days. He seems to want to eat much more than I would expect (I'm halfway through a second can of Nature's Variety today and it's only 2pm) and gets downright mean if I don't comply with this. Additionally, he seems to only have 2 modes: superhyperactive kitty that needs constant entertainment and playtime or sleeping in dark places. I get wanting to play and all, but he wanted to chase his toy mousey on a string from 7am to 1pm, and if I put it down he would sprint back and forth across the apartment meowing like he desperately needed something. While the high energy seems inconsistent with hypo, I thought I should just be cautious and administer some syrup, and now he's gone into hide under the couch mode. Are these possibly signs of something odd? Nothing in what I've read mentions this sort of behavior, and my vet seemed to think it was just him getting back to normal, but I'm not so sure. Normally he would be in the living room with me, hanging out calmly instead of sprinting like a mad man and demanding more than his recommended food quantity in just half a day. Any insight anyone could provide would be immensely welcome!
-Teresa (Snoog's mommy)
My 4 yo male cat, Sammy, aka the Snoog, stopped eating a while back and after getting the blood work back from the vet we discovered that diabetes was the cause. His numbers were in the 400s at the time so our vet put him on 2 units of Lantus twice a day. His follow up was 4 days later which was a Sunday, and because he strangely let us sleep in that morning, his insulin dose was administered too late for the vet to get a good reading at that time so she had us leave him there for an hour before a testing that showed him in the high 200s. Of course now I realize that this was likely due to him being super stressed out being in a strange place with other animals lots of loud noises, but at the time I was unaware of that and went along with her advice to increase the insulin dosage to 3 units twice a day. Yet another 4 days later I brought him back and, as you likely guessed, his numbers were too low, reading at about 67. So another couple hours of vet time with syrup and iv sugar administered, I brought him home to do 1 unit that night and stay on a 2 unit twice a day regimen. His most recent visit, 5 days after the low reading, his bg was 89 a good 7.5 hours after insulin administration, which my vet said was a good amount, though I'm still concerned this may be low considering how stressed he gets about going to the vet. I have switched him from 100% dry food to high quality, grain free wet food (a can of Nature's Variety during the day and a can of Weruva for his evening shots/overnight) and am planning to get a home test kit after reading advice to others on here.
My main question is with his really bizarre behavior the last few days. He seems to want to eat much more than I would expect (I'm halfway through a second can of Nature's Variety today and it's only 2pm) and gets downright mean if I don't comply with this. Additionally, he seems to only have 2 modes: superhyperactive kitty that needs constant entertainment and playtime or sleeping in dark places. I get wanting to play and all, but he wanted to chase his toy mousey on a string from 7am to 1pm, and if I put it down he would sprint back and forth across the apartment meowing like he desperately needed something. While the high energy seems inconsistent with hypo, I thought I should just be cautious and administer some syrup, and now he's gone into hide under the couch mode. Are these possibly signs of something odd? Nothing in what I've read mentions this sort of behavior, and my vet seemed to think it was just him getting back to normal, but I'm not so sure. Normally he would be in the living room with me, hanging out calmly instead of sprinting like a mad man and demanding more than his recommended food quantity in just half a day. Any insight anyone could provide would be immensely welcome!
-Teresa (Snoog's mommy)