Newbie: vet prescribed Lantus solo star pen. 2 units dose per day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sasha24

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone,

Last july 30,2018 my cat Ken was diagnosed diabetes his BG was 258 mg/dl. My vet started to give him 2 units of Lantus for the first 3 days and after 3 days it became 100 mg/dl. On the 4th day we continue to give 2 units dose once a day and skip for one day. However after the skip when the vet checked the BG it rise up to 177 mg/dl. So he inject 2 units still but we will skip for 2 days to check if it will rise up. After two days the BG rised to 214 mg/dl. Then the dose still 2 units and continue to skip for a day. Today we checked again the BG and it rise up again to 432 mg/dl. I was shocked. So the vet advised to do 2 units once a day for a week. He also advise me that If incase the glucose become 100mg/dl or less, we will skip the dose.

After reading some of threads i got confused . I havent started the chart yet but will do tomorrow as i need to buy syringe to poke the ear because the lancing device that i bought didnt worked. I am scared to be honest that my cat may experience the hyperglycemia (sorry if wrong spelling) but when the vet did the 3 days continuous shot of 2 units (once a day) last week. Ken were okay.

Any advise?. The vet also told me that lantus is long acting insulin and the dose is too low for ken and he only injects once a day.

PS. My cat weighs 4.85 kg, he actually dropped from 5.27kg. And based on my vet observation ken still needs to reduce and have 4.5kg weight.
 
Welcome to the best place you wish you didn’t need to find. I’m so glad you found us. Please read every yellow sticky at the top of this forum to learn how lantus works. It needs to be injected twice a day, every 12 hours unless your cat drops too low to shoot. The dosing is based upon how low a dose takes a cat. For people it’s given once a day but not usually for cats. We test here before injecting to make sure it’s safe to shoot and then again at +2-3 to see if it will be an s give cycle and then when possible at 5-7 hours to find the nadir, the lowest point. Your cat indeed is young to have diabetes but we do have and have had cats that young here. Does Ken have any other medical issues? What are you feeding him? I never used the lancing device. I poked free hand. What do you mean it didn’t work? Did you not get blood? You need to get lancets for alternative areas, I think 29 gauge. I actually used small veterinary needles because that’s what my vet preferred.

The starting dose usually depends on your cat’s weight. Most start at no more than 1 unit inless the cat weighs a lot. Max was 16 pounds and my vet started him on one unit which was conservative. Ask as many questions as you have. Someone is almost always around to answer.
 
Sorry, but your vet is so misinformed how lantus works.

Lantus is a depot insulin and it takes minimum 3 days for it to be established. You also give every 12 hours testing glucose before giving it.

This skipping doses your vet is doing. Is doing nothing to help your cat except keeping the pancreas in a state of confusion.

Please read the lantus information, print it out and give to vet. If they don't agree a new vet is in order.

Lantus/Levemir

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/
 
What kind of food are you feeding? If you haven't switched to low carb wet food, I would do so BUT you must keep testing during the food transition. There are cats who go into remission from the food change.
 
The vet isn't necessarily confused. Your vet is using information about humans and translating it to cats -- well, with the exception of skipping shots. A cat's metabolism is about twice as fast as a humans. Thus, cat's need to get a shot twice a day, 12 hours apart.

From your signature, it sounds like you're in the Philippines. Please let your vet know that diabetes isn't rare. Your vet's experience may be limited but it's not a rare condition.

Based on your cat's weight, the starting dose of Lantus would be approximately 1.25u. Are you using the Lantus pen or are you using a syringe to give a shot. If you are not using a syringe, you will need to purchase syringes. The pens will only dispense in 1.0u increments. It's fine to start with a smaller dose. There is information on syringes, etc. in the New to the Group and the Syringe and Insulin Info sticky notes.

When Ken was diagnosed, were there any medical issues we should be aware of?

 
Welcome to the best place you wish you didn’t need to find. I’m so glad you found us. Please read every yellow sticky at the top of this forum to learn how lantus works. It needs to be injected twice a day, every 12 hours unless your cat drops too low to shoot. The dosing is based upon how low a dose takes a cat. For people it’s given once a day but not usually for cats. We test here before injecting to make sure it’s safe to shoot and then again at +2-3 to see if it will be an s give cycle and then when possible at 5-7 hours to find the nadir, the lowest point. Your cat indeed is young to have diabetes but we do have and have had cats that young here. Does Ken have any other medical issues? What are you feeding him? I never used the lancing device. I poked free hand. What do you mean it didn’t work? Did you not get blood? You need to get lancets for alternative areas, I think 29 gauge. I actually used small veterinary needles because that’s what my vet preferred.

The starting dose usually depends on your cat’s weight. Most start at no more than 1 unit inless the cat weighs a lot. Max was 16 pounds and my vet started him on one unit which was conservative. Ask as many questions as you have. Someone is almost always around to answer.

He has fungal ear infection several times, i treated them 2 months ago but still coming back, he had also food allergies when he was months old. i am using lancets for human and we checked with vet it has +100 mg/dl difference with our vet machine. The lancing device wont able to poke his ear, it seems like it is not suitable for animals. I will try later to poke his here using syringe needle later. If ken only weighs 4.85kg /10.69 lbs what should be his dose. :(
 
The formula for initial dose: starting dose = ideal weight in kilograms x 0.25.

What medication was used to treat the fungal infection? Do you know if this was a steroid?
 
What kind of food are you feeding? If you haven't switched to low carb wet food, I would do so BUT you must keep testing during the food transition. There are cats who go into remission from the food change.

I changed his diet to fancy feast cod,liver and shrimp feast mixed with chicken breast fillet and chicken hearts but looked like did not helped him. so today i will switch him to friskies classic pates later without any additional home cooked food.
 
The formula for initial dose: starting dose = ideal weight in kilograms x 0.25.

What medication was used to treat the fungal infection? Do you know if this was a steroid?

I actually threw the bottle as it was already expired after all. :( i got that from a different vet. but i will check later if i can find the prescription. can i start 1 unit instead for 12 hrs?
 
The vet isn't necessarily confused. Your vet is using information about humans and translating it to cats -- well, with the exception of skipping shots. A cat's metabolism is about twice as fast as a humans. Thus, cat's need to get a shot twice a day, 12 hours apart.

From your signature, it sounds like you're in the Philippines. Please let your vet know that diabetes isn't rare. Your vet's experience may be limited but it's not a rare condition.

Based on your cat's weight, the starting dose of Lantus would be approximately 1.25u. Are you using the Lantus pen or are you using a syringe to give a shot. If you are not using a syringe, you will need to purchase syringes. The pens will only dispense in 1.0u increments. It's fine to start with a smaller dose. There is information on syringes, etc. in the New to the Group and the Syringe and Insulin Info sticky notes.

When Ken was diagnosed, were there any medical issues we should be aware of?
Can i start with 1 unit instead? and later i will go to the pharmacy and buy needles but i will read first what you have provided. ken was had fungal ear infection. i gave him medicine last june 2018 but i forgot if it has steriods.
 
Welcome to this wonderful site. I'm new too and still trying to figure things out but the people on here are amazing!! They are so knowledgeable and supportive. You may be frustrated initially but it will get easier. I never thought I would be able to consistently get blood from Buddy's ear but now it is quite easy. Hang in there and don't hesitate to ask questions. You WILL get answers!
 
Welcome to this wonderful site. I'm new too and still trying to figure things out but the people on here are amazing!! They are so knowledgeable and supportive. You may be frustrated initially but it will get easier. I never thought I would be able to consistently get blood from Buddy's ear but now it is quite easy. Hang in there and don't hesitate to ask questions. You WILL get answers!

Hi Kelly, thank you for your support and encouragement. Indeed i am getting frustrate and confused, it is difficult when you have limited resources here in Philippines. later i will initiate 1 unit dose to ken not 2. and will do it every 12 hours. I hope i can do this and I hope i can follow all instructions.
 
You can start with 1.0u. It's not a problem.

The beginning of the process of learning how to manage your cat's diabetes is completely overwhelming. However, it takes a relatively short time to master the basics. We're here to help and answer your questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top