Sasha24
Member Since 2018
Hi everyone,
Last july 30,2018 my cat Ken was diagnosed diabetes his BG was 258 mg/dl. My vet started to give him 2 units of Lantus for the first 3 days and after 3 days it became 100 mg/dl. On the 4th day we continue to give 2 units dose once a day and skip for one day. However after the skip when the vet checked the BG it rise up to 177 mg/dl. So he inject 2 units still but we will skip for 2 days to check if it will rise up. After two days the BG rised to 214 mg/dl. Then the dose still 2 units and continue to skip for a day. Today we checked again the BG and it rise up again to 432 mg/dl. I was shocked. So the vet advised to do 2 units once a day for a week. He also advise me that If incase the glucose become 100mg/dl or less, we will skip the dose.
After reading some of threads i got confused . I havent started the chart yet but will do tomorrow as i need to buy syringe to poke the ear because the lancing device that i bought didnt worked. I am scared to be honest that my cat may experience the hyperglycemia (sorry if wrong spelling) but when the vet did the 3 days continuous shot of 2 units (once a day) last week. Ken were okay.
Any advise?. The vet also told me that lantus is long acting insulin and the dose is too low for ken and he only injects once a day.
PS. My cat weighs 4.85 kg, he actually dropped from 5.27kg. And based on my vet observation ken still needs to reduce and have 4.5kg weight.
Last july 30,2018 my cat Ken was diagnosed diabetes his BG was 258 mg/dl. My vet started to give him 2 units of Lantus for the first 3 days and after 3 days it became 100 mg/dl. On the 4th day we continue to give 2 units dose once a day and skip for one day. However after the skip when the vet checked the BG it rise up to 177 mg/dl. So he inject 2 units still but we will skip for 2 days to check if it will rise up. After two days the BG rised to 214 mg/dl. Then the dose still 2 units and continue to skip for a day. Today we checked again the BG and it rise up again to 432 mg/dl. I was shocked. So the vet advised to do 2 units once a day for a week. He also advise me that If incase the glucose become 100mg/dl or less, we will skip the dose.
After reading some of threads i got confused . I havent started the chart yet but will do tomorrow as i need to buy syringe to poke the ear because the lancing device that i bought didnt worked. I am scared to be honest that my cat may experience the hyperglycemia (sorry if wrong spelling) but when the vet did the 3 days continuous shot of 2 units (once a day) last week. Ken were okay.
Any advise?. The vet also told me that lantus is long acting insulin and the dose is too low for ken and he only injects once a day.
PS. My cat weighs 4.85 kg, he actually dropped from 5.27kg. And based on my vet observation ken still needs to reduce and have 4.5kg weight.