Newbie to this board

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claire&Barnaby

Member Since 2021
Hi I'm Claire. This is my first post here, but I have posted on the FB page a few times. We started my big black cat, Barnaby on Semglee insulin in early September & switched to Lantus on 12/9/2021. I test at 6am & 6 pm & give him his insulin then. I wouldn't say he's controlled but definitely better I think, because he's drinking & urination is almost normal most of the time. He eats mainly Fancy Feast classics, some Weruva now & then about 3 cans a day (he's a big cat about 20#) & a couple of tablespoons of Young Again Mature around 9am. Here's the link to his spreadsheet (don't know if that attaches automatically): https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1n5FA07q56ZKHhKrqocxT4Ho704vxPeWRo13U6LCUEWE/edit#gid=1182885903
I started him on Zobaline about 3 months ago because I noticed some weakness in his back legs. Had trouble jumping up on top of the dryer. Seemed to improve a bit. However the last few days he's alternately limping on his front legs. My mobile vet is coming next Wednesday to check on him & my dog. Any suggestions on any labs she should do? If he needs x-rays that will be hard for me to do since I no longer drive, but we can cross that bridge if we need to. It goes without saying that I adore this cat. Any advice is much appreciated.
Claire & Barnaby
 
Hi Claire and Barnaby and welcome to the forum.:)
That is great you are hometesting the BGs and have set up a spreadsheet.
If you could get a signature set up instructions HERE in this link and tell us about Barnaby, that would be very helpful for everyone, then we wont have to keep asking you the same questions.
Once the signature is set up, the spreadsheet can be attached to that. If you have any trouble with it I will ask @Bandit's Mom to help you.

OK....looking at the SS I can see you are not following any dosing method. As you are feeding some dry food you would need to follow the Start Low Go Slow... SLGS method. DOSING METHODS link here.
Basically you hold the dose for 7 days, do a curve (BG every 2 hours for 12 hours or 3 hours for 18 hours) and then ask about the dose here.
If the BG drops under 90 you need to reduce the dose by 0,25 units.
I see you are going up and down in 1 unit increments.....are you using a pen or syringes to give the dose? If you are using a pen I would really recommend you swap over to a syringe as you can give smaller increases and decreases which is really what is needed.
The syringes you need are U100 3/10 30 or 31 gauge 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings. They have an orange cat on the top.

I can see you are using an alphatrak meter. Are you able to get any tests in during the PM cycle? Cats often drop lower at night and unless you test you wont know.
Also with those low blue BGs and the red and black BGs, that indicates to me that Barnaby is dropping low and then bouncing up high again.
Bouncing happens when the BG drops too fast, too low, or lower than the cat has been used to. His body then panics and dumps stored glucose and regulatory hormones into his system which sends up the BG. Bouncing can last for 1 to 6 cycles and there is nothing you can do but wait it out. Bouncing is quite normal especially in newly diagnosed cats so don't be concerned. They have to get used to the lower numbers again and that takes time.

The neuropathy will probably not improve until the BGs are into more normal range. The front leg limping is probably part of the problem. My Sheba had very bad neuropathy and slipped and slid over the wooden floors, had to sit down every few steps and couldn't jump at all. She improved and got back to normal when her BGs were in the more normal range/

What I would do is try and get some tests in during the PM cycle. Even a before bed test is good, but if that test is lower than the preshot you may have to get up later to check it is still OK. Once we have established that he is not dropping too low at night, we can look at the dose.

Also try and get those syringes I mentioned above.
If you post here each day, we will help you. let us know how you go with the vet. I would not let him increase the dose until we have established Barnaby is not dropping low at night.
Bron
 
Once the signature is set up, the spreadsheet can be attached to that. If you have any trouble with it I will ask @Bandit's Mom to help you.
Hi @Claire&Barnaby welcome to FDMB! :-)

Your signature is basically a summary of the information we need about your cat to give you advice. The spreadsheet and signature are the things we look at when asked for advice. It saves us asking you the same questions again and again and also saves you the effort of giving us the information every time you post!

Here's how you can set-up your Signature:
  • In the Menu, under your user name, click on Signature.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
  • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
  • There is a limit of two lines. You may separate info with commas, dashes, | etc.
  • Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.
 
Hi Claire and Barnaby and welcome to the forum.:)
That is great you are hometesting the BGs and have set up a spreadsheet.
If you could get a signature set up instructions HERE in this link and tell us about Barnaby, that would be very helpful for everyone, then we wont have to keep asking you the same questions.
Once the signature is set up, the spreadsheet can be attached to that. If you have any trouble with it I will ask @Bandit's Mom to help you.

OK....looking at the SS I can see you are not following any dosing method. As you are feeding some dry food you would need to follow the Start Low Go Slow... SLGS method. DOSING METHODS link here.
Basically you hold the dose for 7 days, do a curve (BG every 2 hours for 12 hours or 3 hours for 18 hours) and then ask about the dose here.
If the BG drops under 90 you need to reduce the dose by 0,25 units.
I see you are going up and down in 1 unit increments.....are you using a pen or syringes to give the dose? If you are using a pen I would really recommend you swap over to a syringe as you can give smaller increases and decreases which is really what is needed.
The syringes you need are U100 3/10 30 or 31 gauge 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings. They have an orange cat on the top.

I can see you are using an alphatrak meter. Are you able to get any tests in during the PM cycle? Cats often drop lower at night and unless you test you wont know.
Also with those low blue BGs and the red and black BGs, that indicates to me that Barnaby is dropping low and then bouncing up high again.
Bouncing happens when the BG drops too fast, too low, or lower than the cat has been used to. His body then panics and dumps stored glucose and regulatory hormones into his system which sends up the BG. Bouncing can last for 1 to 6 cycles and there is nothing you can do but wait it out. Bouncing is quite normal especially in newly diagnosed cats so don't be concerned. They have to get used to the lower numbers again and that takes time.

The neuropathy will probably not improve until the BGs are into more normal range. The front leg limping is probably part of the problem. My Sheba had very bad neuropathy and slipped and slid over the wooden floors, had to sit down every few steps and couldn't jump at all. She improved and got back to normal when her BGs were in the more normal range/

What I would do is try and get some tests in during the PM cycle. Even a before bed test is good, but if that test is lower than the preshot you may have to get up later to check it is still OK. Once we have established that he is not dropping too low at night, we can look at the dose.

Also try and get those syringes I mentioned above.
If you post here each day, we will help you. let us know how you go with the vet. I would not let him increase the dose until we have established Barnaby is not dropping low at night.
Bron
Hi Claire and Barnaby and welcome to the forum.:)
That is great you are hometesting the BGs and have set up a spreadsheet.
If you could get a signature set up instructions HERE in this link and tell us about Barnaby, that would be very helpful for everyone, then we wont have to keep asking you the same questions.
Once the signature is set up, the spreadsheet can be attached to that. If you have any trouble with it I will ask @Bandit's Mom to help you.

OK....looking at the SS I can see you are not following any dosing method. As you are feeding some dry food you would need to follow the Start Low Go Slow... SLGS method. DOSING METHODS link here.
Basically you hold the dose for 7 days, do a curve (BG every 2 hours for 12 hours or 3 hours for 18 hours) and then ask about the dose here.
If the BG drops under 90 you need to reduce the dose by 0,25 units.
I see you are going up and down in 1 unit increments.....are you using a pen or syringes to give the dose? If you are using a pen I would really recommend you swap over to a syringe as you can give smaller increases and decreases which is really what is needed.
The syringes you need are U100 3/10 30 or 31 gauge 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings. They have an orange cat on the top.

I can see you are using an alphatrak meter. Are you able to get any tests in during the PM cycle? Cats often drop lower at night and unless you test you wont know.
Also with those low blue BGs and the red and black BGs, that indicates to me that Barnaby is dropping low and then bouncing up high again.
Bouncing happens when the BG drops too fast, too low, or lower than the cat has been used to. His body then panics and dumps stored glucose and regulatory hormones into his system which sends up the BG. Bouncing can last for 1 to 6 cycles and there is nothing you can do but wait it out. Bouncing is quite normal especially in newly diagnosed cats so don't be concerned. They have to get used to the lower numbers again and that takes time.

The neuropathy will probably not improve until the BGs are into more normal range. The front leg limping is probably part of the problem. My Sheba had very bad neuropathy and slipped and slid over the wooden floors, had to sit down every few steps and couldn't jump at all. She improved and got back to normal when her BGs were in the more normal range/

What I would do is try and get some tests in during the PM cycle. Even a before bed test is good, but if that test is lower than the preshot you may have to get up later to check it is still OK. Once we have established that he is not dropping too low at night, we can look at the dose.

Also try and get those syringes I mentioned above.
If you post here each day, we will help you. let us know how you go with the vet. I would not let him increase the dose until we have established Barnaby is not dropping low at night.
Bron
 
I do have U100 syringes only with a 29 gauge needle as Barnaby seems to have tougher skin than most & I bent a couple of needles. My syringes do have 1/2 unit markings.
I will try & get some night BGs.
Claire & Barnaby
Dx July 2021, Semglee Sept.2021, Lantus Dec.2021, Alphatrak2,Combo, Barnaby's Spreadsheet
 
I can see you have been increasing in 1 unit increments. We recommend increasing in 1/4 unit increments. However I would not increase yet until we have seen what happens in the pm cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top