Newbie-Simon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
My 13 year old cat, Simon, was diagnosed last Tuesday. His BG was 750 which I know is extremely high. I haven't seen anyone else that had a reading that high on the board and I am really scared. His vet has started him out on Lantus 3 units 2x/day. From what I have been reading, 3 units seems high to start with -- should I be questioning this amount? Since giving him his insulin for the last 4 days, Simon seems more active and his fur looks better so I am hoping he is doing better. The vet also recommended feeding him Hills WD but after reading other posts, it seems he should be eating something more low carb -- I am so confused!! The vet also thought it would be good to feed him in the middle of the day in addition to the morning and evening. I work and this is really difficult for me to do and Simon will not space out his eating -- if I leave any food out, he eats it right away so I can't free feed him. Any suggestions? I am bringing him back to the vet on Tues. for a check but after that, I am hoping I can switch to checking his blood glucose myself with a glucometer. Thanks for listening and any advice will be greatly appreciated!
 
Welcome! I hope it will help to know that we were all terrified and overwhelmed when we came here. The good news is that we can help. Our protocol of low carb food, hometesting and proper doses of insulin has helped hundreds of cats into regulation and sometimes, remission.

You are on a high dose. The number from the vet was high. But if Simon is at all stressed at the vet, just being there can raise blood glucose levels. Unfortunately, then the dose prescribed for those levels can be too high. Spend some time over on the Lantus forum. The stickies on the top of the page will give you lots of good info: viewforum.php?f=9

You don't need to wait until you go back to the vet to hometest. We have taught hundreds of people over the internt. Here is a good beginning site: http://www.sugarcats.net/sites/harry/bgtest.htm and a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zE12-4fVn8

We do feed wet lo carb food, but we don't want you to change Simon's diet until you are testing at home. When we switched Oliver over from dry to wet, his blood glucose levels went down 100 points overnight. If we hadn't been testing him, we would have given our regular dose and caused a hypo.

In the beginning, this is a steep learning curve. But this is very doable and we'll be glad to help.
 
Hi there, and welcome. I'm sorry Simon is a diabetic, but I'm glad you found us here. I agree with the previous post - it appears to be a high dose, but that dose is balanced by the high carb food, so don't change the food without changing the dose. It would really be best to home test - we can help you learn if you are interested.

Hills WD used to be the food that was prescribed many years ago, so I'm wondering if your vet has treated any other feline diabetics recently or if they are aware of the newer treatment guidelines/advances? You may be able to educate him/her - there are resources for that on this board.

One concern I have is that with such a high blood glucose reading, Simon could be at risk for developing ketoacidosis. You can test for ketones with KetoDiastix - available at the pharmacy just like glucose sticks. You need to test Simon's urine to get a reading. If you find ketones, please take Simon to the ER vet immediately - this is a potentially life-threatening complication of diabetes.

Please read the information available here and ask us lots of questions. We're here to help you and Simon. Laura
 
Hi Simon's mom(?)
please give us your name if you like ok.
we always test and you must know by now...if you can't get out to buy these materials quickly you can always order a kit from newbie kits. but i recommend if at all possible you start asap on your own.
1. glucometer
2. glucometer's matching strips
2. lancets
4. a container of keto stix.

and cottonballs. now any pharmacy, walmart etc will have all of these things. choose your poison. the least expensive is apparently as good as the most expensive. i've always thought the countour takes less blood.

it's also ok if you cat eats everything right away. feed him 3 times a day if you can...even it not evenly spaced out.
if you order a kit it could take until thursday to get to you since they don't pick up mail here on saturday.

i am sending you a pm ok.

lori
 
well i gotcha packed up and ready to go...so don't go buyin stuff. you got meter, strips, lancets, a keto-stix vial, testing solution, a rice sock and a TOY!
good luck and please keep posting.
 
Thank you everyone for the great advice. Lori and Tom, I am looking forward to receiving the newbie kit so I can get started testing at home. In the meantime, should I go ahead and try to test for ketones since his reading was so high at the vet? I can also take him back on Monday to the vet to re-check instead of waiting until Wed. when I was going to bring him. I am also going to ask the vet about the wd cat food and y'alls advice about switching to a low carb diet -- I want to do what is going to work the best for Simon. As far as I know, the vet has treated diabetic cats recently but I'm not sure since I have never had a cat that was diabetic -- I may start looking for another vet that might have more experience in that area. I'm also going to go to the Lantus website to learn more about dosage. I'm sure I'll have lots more questions and I'm so glad I found your site! Georgia
 
Hi Georgia,
I wanted to welcome you and say that you may have troubles finding a vet who is as knowledgeable as this group, so if your vet is good for other issues, you can stick with your vet, no problem.

My vet office has very few diabetic clients; my 2 cats are the bulk of them! When Shadoe was first dx, the vet we saw said to give caninsulin. Shortly after that time, there were the warnings on vetsulin/caninsulin. From this site, I decided to switch to Lantus; my vet knew nothing because it's a human insulin, did not even know if I needed an rx, said sure try 2units once a day.

She obviously knows next to nothing about FD, but she is incredible when it comes to rx for other problems, an amazing diagnostician, and she does all the dental at that office. She is incredible and ALL my cats love her. Even though she has no FD knowledge, she knows about a/b for various illnesses, she understands my cats' recurring problems with pancreatitis, ect, and the other vet we see there is good with heart issues, but also clueless about FD. I have been educating THEM, and so it's worked out great.

Please be sure that you leave your vet for all reasons, and not just because of a weakness in one area. Especially, if Simon likes your vet, then you can remain there.

Next, that dose is very high; maybe too high. Most cats never get up to that high of a dose, so just in case it's too high, watch for hypo signs and know what to do:
List of Hypo symptoms
How to treat HYPOS – They can kill! Print this out!
Jojo’s HYPO TOOLKIT

Next, the food amounts and spreading out the total through the day:
I know you likely have been given plenty of food links, but I wanted to be sure you had Binky's list as it's a reference used by many when searching for foods that are low carb and acceptable by cats. We all know that the cat's the boss, so if a food is healthy does not mean the cat will eat it! Sometimes, the cat decides "that's crap and I'm not eating it!"
Binky’s Food Lists
Feeding Your Cat: Know The Basics of Feline Nutrition
Many people use autofeeders because it's better for diabetics to eat more frequently, but smaller meals, just to balance out their sugars.
Petsafe 5-meal Auto Feeder

My two used to eat around 30oz and 24oz a day before they were regulated. Now, if they eat 12oz and 6oz in a day that's alot. Oliver was very underweight when I adopted him, so he needed to put on weight and I dont' know how he ate before, but Shadoe ate like a bird before her dx, ate like a garburator after dx, and then returned to her bird like nibbles again.
I did notice that she began her appetite increase when we started the insulin so I had blamed the insulin on the change.
I think maybe the insulin made her feel well enough to WANT to eat, but it's all in the past.
I'd decide on an amount for Simon, spread it out and just let him eat, within reason.

Last, my two are high dose kitties, but I still started at 1unit BID and built up to their current doses. I hope you are able test for ketones, and can drop the dose, but only once you are home testing and able to monitor Simon's BG. With high BG, you need to be watching for ketones daily.

Please be sure to ask any and all questions you may have; there will always be someone around to reply, if not with the answer, at least with support.
 
GK it's your call about testing for ketones now...i have sent you a fresh vial of keto stix in the event that you wait. it could take until wed. for you to recieve your kit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top