Newbie! Shadow 5/10 AMPS 433, +2 441, +5 419, +7 364

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadowboy

Member Since 2013
Hi!

Shadow and I are new to feline diabetes. Not sure if I should repost his history? It is in the thread 'Fostering a diabetic' cat in the Feline Health section. As you can see we're still not under control- or even close.

Any advice/suggestions is appreciated.
Jen
 
Hi Jen, welcome to LantusLand! Here is the link to your post in health, viewtopic.php?f=28&t=94699

It can take a long time to get a cat regulated or it can happen quickly or it never happens. Just look at Zener's SS. :lol: Shadow can still be happy and healthy even if he's not tightly regulated. Did you have any specific questions?
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Thanks Liz.

Guess I'm just looking for another set of eyes to look at my numbers and comment. We've been going at this for a month now- although only a week or so with the help of this board!

I'm planning on staying at the 1.5 units until Sunday night then most likely increasing to 2 units if his numbers stay looking like this. There was the thought that Shadow might have been rebounding when I had him on the 3 units twice a day. Looks like for the most part I'm getting better curves, but the numbers are just still high.
 
Hi Shadowboy, Lucky is kinda new here to but thanks to the help here we have seen some :mrgreen: had Lucky down to 1.25u but has had to go back up for awhile, Just look at his SS you will see we are on big time bounce again,I know he wants to come down off off that shelf now.keep posting, there are great people here to help. :smile: Linda and Lucky
 
You've really gotten different viewpoints on dosing from everyone. It's very frustrating, I imagine, especially when you see such high BGs. Give yourself a huge pat on the back because you are doing a great thing for Shadow. You are doing a great job with the testing, that is a big hurdle. Being a nurse helps a lot. :-D

The protocol that we follow here would be to increase by 0.25u unless the nadirs are above 300. Then increase by 0.5u. It kind of looks like Shadow is above 300 but you should wait until you have all the data through Sunday. Cats are amazingly unpredictable when it comes to diabetes.

Insulin is a powerful hormone, especially Lantus which is human concentration. You might want to take a look at Zoey's spreadsheet, https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/lv? ... F9WYlJ5TUE. As you scroll down, you see that the colors all become blue and green? He is a model cat. Alas, they don't all do this. :roll: But the idea is to gradually but steadily increase the dose until the cat is in mostly blues and greens.

I hope this is helpful. People here are generous with their time and expertise because we are all cat crazy. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Hi, Jen and welcome to Lantus Land.

I've tried to speed read through your thread on Health and I've been looking at your SS. I've asked a few other experienced Lantus users to stop by, as well.

I'm in a quandary. I understand why it was suggested that you reduce Shadow's dose. I'm just not sure that it's a suggestion I would have made. It's very hard to know if, in fact, Shadow was bouncing. It may be that it will make sense to fast track the dose in order to get Shadow out of these high numbers. I also think what makes this even more of a guessing game is that there isn't much history of what insulin Shadow was on and how he was responding while at the shelter. If I had to hazard a guess, my hunch would be that Shadow's dose is going to need to go back up because there's a good chance that glucose toxicity developed over the course of his time at the shelter.

I'm also going to make an assumption that as a critical care nurse, you're pretty familiar with diabetes -- at least in humans. I don't want to presume what you do or don't know so please let us know if you need a further explanation. There's a great deal of information in the starred sticky notes at the top of the Board. The information will help you get oriented
 
Hello Jen. Welcome to the Lantus TR Insulin Support Group! I'm one of the people Sienne asked to stop by to offer some thoughts...

I just read through your thread on Health and have been looking at the data collected on Shadow's spreadsheet. I fully understand the logic behind the suggestions you've received on Health to drop his dose, but like Sienne/Gabby, given the little bit of history we have as well as data collected... I'm not so sure I agree with those suggestions. I think the fact that Shadow was on insulin for quite some time (a year?) and had reached a dose of 5u BID before switching to Lantus was not given much consideration. I totally understand your vet's reluctance to agree to dropping the dose from 3u BID Lantus to 1u BID.

I also agree with Sienne's hunch that the dose will need to go back up... sooner than later.
IMHO, Shadow is a candidate for fast-tracking back up the dosing scale. We can help you if you're interested.



Just my thoughts...
 
Hi,
Thanks for the advice. I started a thread for today's numbers. I'd love help on how to increase his dose. I've also requested his records from when he was in the shelter. He was there for a year, maybe a little longer. I do know that he only got insulin Monday through Friday =(
 
The main reason I suggested Shadow's dose be decreased is because Jen was changing his food from 14% carb canned food to 4-5% carb canned food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top