Newbie - Recent Diagnosis - Stubborn Eater

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mindsay

Member Since 2020
Hi guys,

My name is Lindsay and I have a 6 year old spayed female named Kilo who was recently diagnosed with diabetes (02/07/20).

My first exposure to the disease was in Nov 2019 when her littermate/brother passed from DKA. I was naive to his symptoms and his stoic attitude threw me off until it was too late.

About two months ago Kilo started not eating as much (Friskies Pate/Purina One Dry) which was unlike her since she was usually trying to eat all the food. My first vet stated she might need a dental cleaning due to tartar build up.

I then switched her to another doctor, more trusted, who did blood and urinalysis and found her BG in the ~450s for the past three weeks and a large amount of sugar in her urine (thankfully no UTI or Keytones).

I started Kilo on Lantus Saturday Feb 15, giving her 1 unit two times a day. My doctor gave me Purina DM (which Kilo hates) and told me to come back in a week for a curve.

Kilo is being very stubborn and won’t eat. i have read the approved food list, I have read additives to make the food more appealing, etc.

This morning was the most she ever ate in the past couple of days after switching to the DM, after putting Parmesan cheese, oregano, bento flakes and tuna broth in the food. And then I put a can of friskies indoors next to it just so she can get something and lick the gravy since she is CRYING for food. She still only licked the gravy and maybe at 1/5 of the DM

I just got a meter last night at 2am (I work midnights for my job) and tested her BG which was 62. I called my vet this morning and am waiting for a call back.

Kilo is acting normal, she is still playful and cuddly and does very well about letting me poke and prod her. The only thing different is the screaming meows I get when I walk anywhere near her food. Her weight is stable at 9lbs.

I’m sorry if this was a lot. I want to start her on Friskies Pate again but I’m nervous about her low BG.

Any advice is welcome
 
Hi Lindsay and your extra sweet girl cat Kilo. Relax, we'll help you all we can.

Switching to a low carb food, like the Friskies pates can drop the BG (blood glucose) levels significantly. 100 basis points or more.

Would you tell us when in relationship to Kilo's insulin dose you got that low BG of 62?
We express hours in a + time format. There are 2 insulin dosing cycles in a 24 hour block of time.
So AMPS is the morning or AM pre-shot test.
PMPS is the evening or PM pre-shot test.
Hours are counted from the time of the insulin shot.
+1 is 1 hour after insulin shot, +2 is 2 hours after insulin shot, +3 is 3 hours after shot, etc.

Setting up our standardized spreadsheet is a great way to track the blood glucose (BG) tests.
Directions are here, template provided. Directions for pc, tablet, smartphone setup.
FDMB Spreadsheet Instructions

What it all means is here. Understanding the Spreadsheet/Grid
 
Friskies pate is good for diabetic cats. However you do not want to give her dry food. Return the DM to the vet and they should give you a refund. If you are also giving DM dry, you can also return the bag even if opened.
 
I’m working on getting the SS when I can sit at a computer.
As for now, the BG reading I got was PMPS +6.
But this morning for an AMPS +3 it was 76

I’m still really new to BG home testing. And I’m not getting much advice from my vet right now. I just read to do it before giving a dose after eating etc.

Just very worried about her eating habits still right now.
 
Friskies pate is good for diabetic cats. However you do not want to give her dry food. Return the DM to the vet and they should give you a refund. If you are also giving DM dry, you can also return the bag even if opened.


She’s not on any dry food right now thankfully. Only the DM wet.
 
Blood glucose of 76 was +3. Three hours after 1 Unit of insulin shot this morning.

Did Kilo eat much this morning?

DM wet isn't too bad of a food.
But you did say your cat is not eating.
That is concerning.

Is there a food you can tempt her with?
Any old wet or canned food that she used to like?
 
Blood glucose of 76 was +3. Three hours after 1 Unit of insulin shot this morning.

Did Kilo eat much this morning?

DM wet isn't too bad of a food.
But you did say your cat is not eating.
That is concerning.

Is there a food you can tempt her with?
Any old wet or canned food that she used to like?

I tried with some old Friskies Indoor Meaty Bits Saucy Seafood. Which I read has a high carb% just to see if she would even eat it. And she just licked the sauce off the top. The DM food she just skimmed the top of. She ate some Friskies soft crunch treats and gobbled them up like she never ate food in her life.
 
How much of the canned DM did you feed her this morning?
You said 1/5 of what you gave her.
But we don't know if you fed her the whole 5.5 ounce can, 1/2 a can, 1/4 of a can.
Those should be the 5.5 ounce cans of the Purina DM.
 
I fed her the whole 5.5 can. And the whole 5.5 can of the Friskies. Which I know sounds like a lot. But she’s barely eating it. I attached a picture for reference of what her bowls currently look like.

She’s been a grazer when it comes to eating but even when she did that it would be gone bby now. Those food bowls are from 7am.
 

Attachments

  • 71245493-2862-421D-9953-D31CEE2A42B4.jpeg
    71245493-2862-421D-9953-D31CEE2A42B4.jpeg
    91.3 KB · Views: 104
Did the vet office ever call you back? If not, please call them again.

Friskies soft crunch treats and gobbled them up like she never ate food in her life.
So Kilo is willing to eat some high carb treats.Temptations or something similar? Party mix?

You need to get Kilo to eat more food.
Have you tried placing some of the food in her mouth? Hand feeding her?
Does she look nauseous, vomiting, anything else going on?

Have you tried adding some water to the food, to make it like a thick stew? Making your own "gravy like consistency" by adding a bit of water and stirring.

Is there any people type food she likes?
Some plain cooked chicken, ground meat, fish, luncheon meat, ham, tuna, anything pure protein to get some food into her.
I wouldn't feed her pancakes or mashed potatoes. But some type of meat or fish would be good.
Chicken baby food can be tempting to a cat that will not eat.

Try grinding up some of the Friskies treats and sprinkling that on top of the wet food.
You may want to try a fresh can of food.
Only a small portion, 1/4 of a can. See if she will eat that.

Was the test your vet did to check the blood glucose levels a Fructosamine test? Was that the 450 number you gave us earlier?

Was there any other blood work done?
What was the test your vet did that showed glucose in her urine? Urinalysis or a simple urine glucose test with test strips?
 
Did the vet office ever call you back? If not, please call them again.

So Kilo is willing to eat some high carb treats.Temptations or something similar? Party mix?

You need to get Kilo to eat more food.
Have you tried placing some of the food in her mouth? Hand feeding her?
Does she look nauseous, vomiting, anything else going on?

Have you tried adding some water to the food, to make it like a thick stew? Making your own "gravy like consistency" by adding a bit of water and stirring.

Is there any people type food she likes?
Some plain cooked chicken, ground meat, fish, luncheon meat, ham, tuna, anything pure protein to get some food into her.
I wouldn't feed her pancakes or mashed potatoes. But some type of meat or fish would be good.
Chicken baby food can be tempting to a cat that will not eat.

Try grinding up some of the Friskies treats and sprinkling that on top of the wet food.
You may want to try a fresh can of food.
Only a small portion, 1/4 of a can. See if she will eat that.

Was the test your vet did to check the blood glucose levels a Fructosamine test? Was that the 450 number you gave us earlier?

Was there any other blood work done?
What was the test your vet did that showed glucose in her urine? Urinalysis or a simple urine glucose test with test strips?


I’m pretty sure they did the Fructosamine test. I’m not sure of the three levels they got. I just know the blood work they did was a week before I got the diagnosis.

I’m about to go to the store and get the beechnut baby foods. And try to get some deli cuts I would usually eat to see if she will eat any of it. She’s never been one for human food beyond Frosted Flakes (I don’t know why haha). But I’m willing to try anything at this point.

I’m still trying to get ahold of my vet at this point.

Her temperament is normal. She was just chasing her tail and playing on her scratching post. Normal energy levels. Alert and oriented.

She didn’t like when I tried to hand feed her. So I think I’ll try sprucing up the food more again.

Her next scheduled dose would be at 7pm. I’m hoping I can get her to eat by then so I can check for BG.

and the treats for the catnip temptations
 
Those high carb treats helped a lot to bring the blood glucose levels back up.
What was the + hour of that most recent BG test? The 237.
 
Could you want until after +9 to get to the grocery store for the gerber chicken baby food?
Do another BG test at +9 if you can.
We want to make sure the BG (blood glucose) level does not start to fall lower.

Or is there someone else that can stop at the grocery store for you?
Not sure where you are and how late the stores remain open.
 
I am glad Deb is helping you. If nothing else, we know that Kilo needs a smaller insulin dose to start. So far the numbers are safe, but a little low for Lantus when first starting. It's much easier to start lower, get used to testing, and then work your way up.
 
I’m sorry if this was a lot. I want to start her on Friskies Pate again but I’m nervous about her low BG.
It's the not eating that has me more concerned.

When you go to the store, stop at a drugstore/pharmacy/chemist and get some ketone test strips. For urine testing for Ketones.

Thanks to Wendy&Neko for stopping by. Helping 4 other members in almost the same situation, multitasking a lot today.

Please test at PMPS time and post here on the message board for help.
If BG is below 200 mg/dL , we suggest that new members on the Feline Health (Welcome & Main) forum using lantus use that as their "ask for advice" number. Options include stalling, skip the shot, lower dose, very small dose.

Lantus ISG (Insulin Support Group) has a lower pre-shot test number for decision making. 150 mg/dL. Get used to more BG testing first, before you lower that "stop and think, ask for assistance" BG threshold.
ALWAYS test at pre-shot. Before you give insulin. ALWAYS.
 
If Kilo is not eating she may be nauseated. I would ask the vet for some cerenia or ondansetron tablets so you can give them at home and see if that helps with the appetite.

Also I would buy some Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and test Kilos urine. I know she tested negative to ketones at diagnosis, but her litter mate had them so I think it would be worthwhile monitoring her too, especially if her appetite is not great. Instructions are on the bottle which need to be followed strictly to get a correct result. It is a simple test. Anything above a trace needs vet attention.
 
Sorry for the belated reply:

I took Kilo to my vet (which is a family friend and they were able to fit her in for urgent care). They are going to run a few more tests. They are very concerned she’s not eating much. They are worried about her liver. ( her brother had issues with that as well) They are going to do another urinalysis and start some fluids as well.

I should hear back in a hour or so to see what we are dealing with.

Thank you so far with all the info. I’m making documentations as I go.
 
So the glucometer I have might be giving the wrong readings or not accurate ones. When they tested her blood at the vet it was at 385. Also just because it was giving me low readings last night but she had zero signs of hypoglycemia if it was supposedly 26.

The doctor did an X-ray which was negative, urine had no keytones. They are worried it might pancreatitis. Also her teeth are still inflamed. But they can’t put her under due to her not regular BG.

The vet gave her some antibiotics that last for two weeks, a small dose of pain meds just in case her teeth are hurting or her stomach, and fluids under her skin and anti nausea meds.

Our main goal is to get food in her. So I’m going to grab a few things from the store.

Also dropping her to half a unit of Lantus until she’s eating more normally.
 
Poor Kilo. Pancreatitis is painful. I hope she feels better soon.
If you are using a human meter and they are using an alphatrak meter their readings will be higher. That is normal. It doesn’t mean your readings are wrong. I would keep using the human meter. Just be aware your readings will be lower than the vet. Our dosing methods are based on the human meter.
I’m glad the ketone test was negative. Did you get some Ketostix to keep testing for them? I think that is important.

Did you get some oral antinausea meds to bring home? And some pain meds, pancreatitis is very painful? It could take a few days for her to feel like eating again. Sheba used to respond quite quickly after she had subQ fluids, pain and antinausea meds most of the time.

A lot of cats have their teeth done under GA when they are unregulated. If her gums are red, that will not be helping the BGs.
I hope she feels better soon.
You are doing a good job caring for her.
Please keep us updated.
 
Agree, getting Kilo to eat right now is the most important thing you can do. It's possible to assist feed a cat. Let us know if you want more information on doing that.

Some cats get really stressed at the vet and have an artificially high blood glucose reading. The test you did at home was likely accurate. If you are ever in doubt, retest again as soon as possible.

The antibiotics that last for 2 weeks is most likely Convenia. Meant to treat skin infection, but some vets use it off label to treat other conditions. Not always effective for other infections.

Pain meds good, to help her eat. Buprenorphine? something else?
Subcutaneous fluids (Subq) to help keep her hydrated. You can learn to do that at home if needed.
Anti nausea meds. Which one? Did they send more home with you?

Good that you are lowering the insulin dose from 1U to 0.5U. Keep a close on the BG levels with home testing. It's one of the best ways we know of to keep a cat safe.

Agree with what Bron said in regards to the dental work.
 
Also if she has an infection or dental issues, that can also cause glucose levels to be higher.

If you can mix Friskies pate with water until it is soupy you can syringe feed her. Also some cats will eat the food if you sprinkle parmesan cheese on it.
 
Good news. I was able to get her to eat some food.

I mixed a spoonful of Friskies Pate that she usually eats, a spoonful of FF Pate. Some FF appetizer tuna juice, and crushed some of her treats and some beechnut baby turkey and broth to mix in. She definitely ate more than she has in the past couple of days so that’s progress. I’m going to make her “another meal” before I go to bed as well. Something new to attract her


But she stopped yelling at me for food. Which is a plus.
 
Does anyone have links or research to show that cats can get dental work done without a regulated BG. Or that the dental issues can cause high BG?

I’m really trying to push my vet into getting her teeth done. If anything it can rule out that’s the problem with her wanting to eat. My vet likes research, which I don’t mind doing. I just haven’t found anything helpful yet

She was crying again this morning about food, so I gave her the pain med prescribed after she ate a good amount and then she ate more and almost finished it just now.

Still mixing a bunch of stuff to help her want to eat. She ate most of her morning meal. Leaving a snack for her while I go to work. Her temperament is still very good. Seems to want to eat right now right is a blessing.
 
Not sure if this will help you. Not research per se.
Dentals: Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures)

Link to Cornell College of Veterinary Medicine is in that link.
Info on anesthesia from the AVMA (American Veterinary Medical Association)

Additional resources.
https://www.veterinarypracticenews.com/diabetes-and-dental-disease/
https://www.banfield.com/getmedia/9...ental-disease-in-older-cats-Facts-and-figures

Stomatitis article https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4947586/
AAHA Guidelines https://www.aaha.org/globalassets/02-guidelines/diabetes/diabetes-guidelines_final.pdf mentions dental disease.

You might have your vet check the Vet Clinic North America Small Animal Practice articles.

https://www.aaha.org/globalassets/02-guidelines/dental/aaha_dental_guidelines.pdf

Chapple IL, Genco R; working group 2 of the joint EFP/AAP workshop.Diabetes and periodontal diseases: consensus report of the Joint EFP/AAP Workshop on Periodontitis and Systemic Diseases.J Periodontol2013; 84(4 Suppl):S106–12
 
Hi Lindsay, You asked me in a PM this question. Posting it here so others can see and reply. On the public forums are the best place to ask your questions. That way, more people will see them and you may get an earlier response or better answer.

LINDSAY ASKED:
"Do you mind sharing some wisdom on the SS and how to start it or what I am looking for doing? Also how do I convert the human glucometer reading to a kitty reading? I was told the one I have gives "low readings" but it isn't actually low just ~100 off? Its confusing."

I'm responding to the meter question part first. Then I will do a second reply about the spreadsheet setup.

NO conversions needed with whichever meter you use. Simply record the BG test levels you get. Using a human glucometer is what most members use here. There is no conversion necessary when using a human meter versus a pet meter when you test. All our documentation was written with human meters in mind. Many people choose the human meter because of the lower cost of test strips. If your vet insists on your using a pet meter, please ask them if they will pay for the cost of the test strips. Not likely. Use the type of meter you can afford is my best suggestion. Don't think about the difference in readings of a human vs a pet meter. That will drive you "bonkers."

Not sure who told you the human meter is ~100 points off. Your vet? Hope it wasn't someone here in this group or our sister facebook group. They should know better. Experience varies in different diabetes groups. Information you get is not always accurate. This is one of those cases.

We have spreadsheets we use here that have a range of BG (blood glucose) color coded for easy understanding of the ranges. An exact BG reading is not needed to treat and properly dose your cat. BG readings can vary from 1 minute to the next. Meters are allowed by the FDA to read within a certain percentage of lab values and still be considered "accurate enough" for home testing of blood glucose. You simply have to accept that as a fact of the limitations of glucometers meant for home testing.
 
LINDSAY ASKED:
"Do you mind sharing some wisdom on the SS and how to start it or what I am looking for doing?

There is a standardized spreadsheet we all use here. There is a template you copy, so you do not have to "reinvent the wheel" to set up your own copy of our standardized color coded spreadsheet.

Directions on how to set up the spreadsheet and link it to your signature are in the "thread" linked below. Simply click on the blue highlighted link to bring up the directions. The directions include step by step setup for pc, tablet, and smartphone users to get the spreadsheet created for themselves.
FDMB Spreadsheet Instructions

The second link I included below, is what the information on the SS (spreadsheet) means. It's a simple grid for recording your BG (blood glucose) tests, the number of units of insulin you dose each cycle, and has a Remarks column for notes on food, behavior, other pertinent and helpful information, etc that can help us looking at the SS to figure out what is going on and recommend changes.
Understanding the Spreadsheet/Grid
 
Thank you very much for responding. I will work on the spread sheet. I will say right now I am -not- doing any home testing just because I have been very focused on getting her appetite up and eating normally again, which I will ask more opinions in a second.

But as far as the glucometer goes, it was my vet who said it was wrong. Because when they tested her she was at the upper 300's. But I told her my test before I brought her in was 285, leading my to believe she was just going back up since that was around a +8 time frame give or take.



***What I need opinions on***

So this morning Kilo ate her whole bowl of food! I was pumped, and she wanted more, which is great since I wasn't giving her a full amount each time.
I am still giving her 0.5 Lantus at 7am/pm.

I cannot figure out if her teeth are the issue (because they are inflamed with tartar build up) or if its possibly pancreatitis.

Since I don't have a SS right now, here are some dates:

02/18 - Took her to the vet. She got an antibiotic (something with a 'C'), fluids, an X-Ray done, urinalysis, and Gaba for pain meds. X-ray negative, urinalysis neg for keytones.
That night I mixed LC Friskies Pate (1 spoon), LC FF (1 spoon), Beechnut Baby Food Turkey/Broth (1 spoon), crushed up HC Temptations, FF Appetizer Tuna Juice - She ate most of it after I kept stirring it up for her. Got 0.5 Lantus Dose.

02/19 - Pretty much same mixture in the AM with her 0.5 Lantus along with a Gaba dose (Ate 3/4 of it). A smaller portion of the mix as a snack around 3pm (ate 1/2 of it). And the same thing as above for dinner with 0.5 Lantus (Ate majority of it) along with a Gaba dose.

02/20 - Same mixture this morning with 0.5 lantus. Ate ALL OF IT (happy). I left her a snack of just the Friskies Pate with some Beechnut Broth at 3pm. As I left for work she was eating it. Will go home around 6:45pm to feed dinner and give dose. I did not give her Gaba today.

So my question is; what do you think the main issue is?

Did the antibiotics start working and make her teeth feel better, or make the possible pancreatitis less flared?

Did the smaller dose of Lantus make it work?

Its also been close to a week of starting her on Insulin (02/15/2020), does that have something to do with it?

My vet is kind of unsure as much as I am on what is working and what isn't.

I want to keep up this positive curve in appetite and injections to get that first BG Curve documented.

---Sorry this is long and confusing--- Working on SS right now.
 
Snap fPL can give yes or no answer on the pancreatitis, IF THE FLARE is happening then.
Spec fPL gives a more definitive reading and says what the levels are. But the suspected pancreatitis flare must be happening at the time the blood is taken. Otherwise, the results may indicate there is no pancreatitis. Pancreatitis can be acute or chronic.

So my question is; what do you think the main issue is?
Her lack of appetite. More than a couple of days, with a cat not eating well or much at all can lead to all sorts of problems.

Did the antibiotics start working and make her teeth feel better, or make the possible pancreatitis less flared?
Could have been. Antibiotics that start with the letter C include Clavamox and Convenia. No way to know for sure what impact they had.

You might get copies of the paperwork and lab results from your vet. Many vets will email them to you if you ask.

Did the smaller dose of Lantus make it work?
Again, no way for us to tell. She could have had a hypoglycemic episode on the 1U dose and that made her feel unwell. No way to tell, retroactively.

Its also been close to a week of starting her on Insulin (02/15/2020), does that have something to do with it?
Cats can start to feel better once they are started on insulin. Lantus takes a bit of time to build up in the body. There is a "depot" effect with Lantus, so you don't see the full effects right away. Lantus forms crystals underneath the skin, where you inject. Those crystals are slowly released to the cat's body. It's what makes Lantus a nice long lasting insulin in cats and gives that more gentle curve in BG levels over the 12 hour dosing cycle. (Never rub the injection site by the way. It breaks up the crystals and can cause too much insulin to be released.)

My vet is kind of unsure as much as I am on what is working and what isn't.
Sometimes, you have to try multiple treatments to get a cat feeling better. No way to tell which ones made a difference. The important thing to keep in your mind, is that something did work, and your cat Kilo is eating better now.

Eating is good. Very good. Keep it up Kilo!
 
But as far as the glucometer goes, it was my vet who said it was wrong. Because when they tested her she was at the upper 300's. But I told her my test before I brought her in was 285, leading my to believe she was just going back up since that was around a +8 time frame give or take.
There is a documented phenomena called "Vet Stress." Where simply being in a strange and scary environment can raise the BG (blood glucose) levels 100 points or more. Happens in <5 minutes. I can link the study if you want. Normal non-diabetic cats were given a bath, by strangers. And the BG levels were tested before, during and after the bath. Took at least 90 minutes for the BG levels to return to normal, sometimes longer. Here is one study. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11899027

Second article on stress hyperglycemia in cats. http://www.vri.cz/docs/vetmed/58-7-385.pdf

Unless your cat Kilo is a very laid back cat, and nothing fazes Kilo, then the BG levels rise. On the car ride to the vet, being in the carrier, being around all those strange animals, unfamiliar noises, weird smells, strange people, being handled by someone besides you.

Next time, bring your own glucometer to the vet and test your meter against the meter used by your vet. Test needs to be done on the exact same drop of blood. A side by side comparison.

What kind of hand held glucometer does your vet use? Specific brand and model would be nice to know.

Blood glucose levels also rise with time. So although you tested at +8, if your vet tested much later than that, the BG levels would be different.

Does that help?
 
I know the Vet uses an Alphatrak which is out of my price range right now for those lovely strips.

Im using a FreeStyle Neo Precision which I bought from CVS which cheaper strips. But designed for Humans.

She knows my cat gets VetStress because she catches a fever too. She acts chill, but you can tell shes freaking out inside.

I have a feeling my vet is newer to a diabetes pet which is fine, I wish she would hear me out on certain things that I have educated myself on and from the forum. Like how she hates the DM food and I refuse to give it to her now.
 
What is Kilo's ideal weight?
What does she weigh now? What should she weigh?
Is she overweight or underweight?
Did your vet weigh her at the last visit?
What did your vet say about Kilo's weight?

Did she lose a lot of weight before the diabetes diagnosis?
Does she have any concurrent medical conditions?
Kidney Disease? Hyperthyroidism?

Wet food has fewer calories than dry food.
A diabetic cat can need a lot more calories than normal.
Maybe up to twice as much as a non-diabetic cat.
 
Kilo is 9lbs. She’s been between 9-10 normally.
No other medical conditions beyond the diabetes.

The vet said she was a healthy weight, but wanted to maintain the weight she was at and not lose anything.

On Purina DM food I was told to feed her 3 cans a day.

I’m looking at the LC Friskies Pate or the LC FF Pates as her main source of food. She’s eating them really well right now with other things mixed in to get her to eat.
 
The DM food is 5.5 oz cans. So is the Friskies.
3 times 5.5 oz = 16.5 oz of food per day
16.5 oz total, divided by 3 oz can= 5.5 cans of Fancy Feast.

Friskies pates are around 180-190 calories roughly.
Fancy Feast Classics are around 85-90 calories each
DM is 191 calories

Friskies 3 cans x 185 = 555 calories
Fancy Feast 5.5 cans x 90 = 490 calories
DM 3cans x 191 = 573 calories

Any combination of the Friskies and Fancy Feast foods can be given.
You simply want Kilo to eat enough food for the day.
2 cans of Friskies a day + 2 cans of Fancy Feast a day will get you to the desired amount of calories.

Do you think Kilo will be willing to eat a whole 5.5oz can at a time?

As the diabetes gets better regulated, those food needs will decrease.

My 10-11 pound cat went from eating 11 ounces of food a day, down to 5.5 to 6 ounces per day.
 
I can say from experience that the canned Purina DM food is fine if your cat will eat it, but many cats don't like it because it has a lot of liver in it, and it's not the greatest food for the price anyway (you're paying a premium price for the label, the actual food is basically identical to FF liver & chicken). The Fancy Feast Pates are usually much better at getting inappetent cats to eat, and the food is the same or better quality than the DM. If you can get her to eat 2 cans of Fancy feast a day (ideally split up into 4 meals), or 1-1.5 cans of friskies a day, you're doing well. It's better for diabetic cats to have smaller, more frequent meals.

Did she ever get a definite pancreatitis diagnosis (perhaps with an ultrasound or blood tests) or was that just something mentioned as a possible issue?

Diabetes and dental issues often go hand in hand. You don't want to do a dental if your cat's BG is way out of control, but if you can test for a month or two and can establish it's decently regulated on insulin (in the 200ish range or lower for most of the time), I would definitely recommend getting the dental asap. Inflammation in the mouth will drive blood glucose numbers up and you'll never really get good control until the mouth is taken care of. Wishing you and kilo the best!
 
Sorry for no replies. I was in and out all weekend.

Kilo is finally eating a lot more. I have broken it up into three meals. But yesterday when I knew I was going to be out of the house, I left a full can of Friskies Pate and she ate all of it.
She is still a grazer, I was told that's not good for diabetic cats. I'm just thrilled she is eating.

I still have her on 0.5 U Lantus twice a day.

Her first BG Curve is supposed to be on Wednesday and I was going to do it at the vets so they can do more tests on her pancreas. They never confirmed it, since the blood test can give a lot of false positives if its not "active"?? And after that I think we will bring it up to 1 U twice a day like first prescribed.
 
I'm just thrilled she is eating.
We're thrilled that Kilo is eating too.

Kilo is finally eating a lot more. I have broken it up into three meals.
Three meals a day. Good for Kilo!!!
She is still a grazer, I was told that's not good for diabetic cats.
Grazing, gobbling, who cares. It's more important that Kilo eats and gains back any weight she has lost.

That she eats so she does not develop ketones and DKA.
That she eats so that she had some food on board before the insulin sets in and takes her BG (blood glucose) levels too low.

But yesterday when I knew I was going to be out of the house, I left a full can of Friskies Pate and she ate all of it.
If Friskies pate is what she likes and will eat, feed her that. This is a good alternative to the Purina DM your vet tried to have you feed. The food that Kilo refused to eat.

The rest, the insulin dosing and such, can be fit around her desire to graze. Fit the treatment to the cat, not the other way around. You do want Kilo to eat at least some food with or before you give her the lantus insulin.

If you'd ever like us to look at Kilo's BG (blood glucose) tests, having them in our spreadsheet is really helpful.
You can even share the SS with your vet.

Setting up our standardized spreadsheet is a great way to track the blood glucose (BG) tests.
Directions are here, template provided. Directions for pc, tablet, smartphone setup.
FDMB Spreadsheet Instructions

What it all means is here. Understanding the Spreadsheet/Grid

If you are interested in doing your own curves at home, we can teach you how to do that. Simply ask.

p.s. Good to hear back from you. Keep us in the loop
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top