Newbie Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Djamila

Member Since 2015
It's time for the PM shot, but Samir isn't eating. He often doesn't come running for his evening meal. His BG is at 256. Can I go ahead and shoot anyway, or do I need to wait until he eats?
 
Can you offer some on your finger to see if he will lick it off. It would be nice if he has something in his tummy before getting a shot.
 
Sue's suggestion is good. It might trigger him into eating. You could keep getting him to lick food off your fingers and gradually move your hand towards the food in the dish. Warming the food might make it more tempting, too.
.
 
Thanks, BJM! I just roused him from his bed and set him down in front of his dinner. He looked a little sleepy, but started to eat. We were doing our first curve today, so it was a bit of a rough day for him and I think being awoke by a sharp needle every two hours has worn him out a bit.
 
What is a token dose? I just started giving shots too. The vet said to feed 1/4 cup and wait 1/2 hour and give shot. Then in 12 hours, repeat. BUT, what if they don't eat?
Shot or no? I'm so afraid that I'm going to make Gryff even more sick. I've given 3 shots so far, except the 1st one was a fur shot. :( I've cried for a couple of days and so afraid to hurt or lose him.
 
Lantus is very gentle and slow acting. It is OK if she doesn't eat all at once and grazes. A token dose is one that is likely to be safe while not taking the glucose terribly low. It may be given when you can't monitor and would be shooting low numbers, or are concerned about lack of appetite or vomiting or diarrhea which might lower the glucose more than was customary. The intent is to keep the depot from draining completely, so you don't lose all your progress.
 
@LindyKindy - It is very overwhelming and scary in the early days, but you've found a great place to help you learn how to look after Gryff and keep him safe while he's on insulin. Also, you're not alone with this. We'll do all we can to help you help Gryff to get better. Don't worry about the fur shot: we've all done 'em.

Things will get better as you learn more. Promise. In the meantime, here are some :bighug::bighug::bighug:.


Mogs
.
 
@LindyKindy Oh, I can relate! We're on Day 5 here, and it's been just shy of terrifying. I'm also scared that I'm going to end up killing him with hypo and wonder if maybe it would be better to just let him be diabetic. This group has been amazing and gives me hope that I'm making the right decision to treat him and that with all the great guidance and advice he will end up healthier and happier. Today I did our first curve and a couple of the people on the site kept an eye on me all day, chiming in after each post with encouragement and advice. Hang in there and just keep asking all of your questions. I look forward to the day when I can be enough of an expert to pay it back, and be there for other newbies. We can do this!!!
 
@LindyKindy ....another thing is that your vet gave you instructions on feeding/shooting that work for older insulins, but not for Lantus

With Lantus, you don't want them eating for the 2 hours before shots so when you test, you're getting a number that's not influenced by food. Most of us Test/Feed/Shoot, all within about 5-10 minutes

You test to make sure they're high enough to give insulin at all....then you feed to make sure they're eating "normally" and then shoot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top