Newbie question about insulin when BG is 8.8

Status
Not open for further replies.

AvaTaylor

Member Since 2022
Found out two weeks ago my cat is diabetic and she had blood glucose level at 29.

Vet said change to low-carb food (Purina DM) and two 2.5 unit shots of insulin per day (7am and 7pm) for two weeks. Then do blood glucose chart (today).

Today is the blood glucose chart. So BG measurements every two hours all day.

At 7am (before she ate breakfast) her BG level was 8.8.

We gave her the 2.5 unit insulin shot as per normal at 7:30am.

At 9:30 her BG level was 2.9

At 11:30 her BG level was 3.1

At 1:30 her BG level was 3.7

At 3:30 her BG level was 6.6

Around noon she was acting super ravenously hungry (out of character) and she was agitated.

I'm guessing her BG level was too low for an hour or so. She's fine now (3:15).

I have not spoken with the Vet for two weeks, he is away until next week.

QUESTION: I don't know how much insulin, if any, I should give her at 7pm tonight.

When her BG level is 8.8 before eating, should I reduce the dose, or skip the dose?

Any help is appreciated!

UPDATE: Spoke with a different vet at the same place, he said no insulin shot tonight at 7pm, and tomorrow morning, if BG level less than 10, no shot tomorrow morning.
 
Last edited:
UPDATE: Spoke with a different vet at the same place, he said no insulin shot tonight at 7pm, and tomorrow morning, if BG level less than 10, no shot tomorrow morning.
Those are good instructions. However, it appears that 2 ½ units of insulin is too much.Normal starting dose is 1 unit twice daily.

What insulin are you using?

Most of use here record BG and other info in a spreadsheet that is viewable to others. Here is how to crate one
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
ALso almost all of use measure BG before each shot.
If you have other BG values please provide those/add them to the spreadsheet.
I wood be inclinded to reduce dose to 1 unit
 
The insulin is "PROZINC® (protamine zinc recombinant human insulin)".

Her BG level was at 29 when she was diagnosed (they did tests like blood and urine, maybe more, and concluded she was diabetic).

Vet said 2.5 units twice a day for 10 to 14 days, then do a 12 hour BG level chart (measurements every two hours).

He also talked about how if the BG is about 13, we'd do half a dose, 10 we'll do a quarter dose, and so on. But my understanding was we'd lower the doses after we got the "BG level chart" done because I wasn't doing any BG measurements until then (today).

So my guess is the levels got lower faster than expected, and we'll reduces doses from here on.

(Thanks for the link to the spreadsheet, I'll take look.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top