AvaTaylor
Member Since 2022
Found out two weeks ago my cat is diabetic and she had blood glucose level at 29.
Vet said change to low-carb food (Purina DM) and two 2.5 unit shots of insulin per day (7am and 7pm) for two weeks. Then do blood glucose chart (today).
Today is the blood glucose chart. So BG measurements every two hours all day.
At 7am (before she ate breakfast) her BG level was 8.8.
We gave her the 2.5 unit insulin shot as per normal at 7:30am.
At 9:30 her BG level was 2.9
At 11:30 her BG level was 3.1
At 1:30 her BG level was 3.7
At 3:30 her BG level was 6.6
Around noon she was acting super ravenously hungry (out of character) and she was agitated.
I'm guessing her BG level was too low for an hour or so. She's fine now (3:15).
I have not spoken with the Vet for two weeks, he is away until next week.
QUESTION: I don't know how much insulin, if any, I should give her at 7pm tonight.
When her BG level is 8.8 before eating, should I reduce the dose, or skip the dose?
Any help is appreciated!
UPDATE: Spoke with a different vet at the same place, he said no insulin shot tonight at 7pm, and tomorrow morning, if BG level less than 10, no shot tomorrow morning.
Vet said change to low-carb food (Purina DM) and two 2.5 unit shots of insulin per day (7am and 7pm) for two weeks. Then do blood glucose chart (today).
Today is the blood glucose chart. So BG measurements every two hours all day.
At 7am (before she ate breakfast) her BG level was 8.8.
We gave her the 2.5 unit insulin shot as per normal at 7:30am.
At 9:30 her BG level was 2.9
At 11:30 her BG level was 3.1
At 1:30 her BG level was 3.7
At 3:30 her BG level was 6.6
Around noon she was acting super ravenously hungry (out of character) and she was agitated.
I'm guessing her BG level was too low for an hour or so. She's fine now (3:15).
I have not spoken with the Vet for two weeks, he is away until next week.
QUESTION: I don't know how much insulin, if any, I should give her at 7pm tonight.
When her BG level is 8.8 before eating, should I reduce the dose, or skip the dose?
Any help is appreciated!
UPDATE: Spoke with a different vet at the same place, he said no insulin shot tonight at 7pm, and tomorrow morning, if BG level less than 10, no shot tomorrow morning.
Last edited: