NEWBIE! PLEASE READ MY STORY-

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taisia&Henry Richmond VA

Member Since 2013
Hi all- SORRY- HOT SUBMIT TOO SOON---Another member suggested I post here in the Prozinc Forum.
Here’s our story in a nutshell. Henry (12 years old) was diagnosed with diabetes around Feb 11. Our local vet had me give him 3 units of Prozinc 2 x a day, mentioned that down the road, I may want to learn to HT, and gave me Wellness wet and dry H/D. Also, scheduled an appt in 10 days for a curve. A day or 2 later, I heard from knowledgeable sources that W/D was “crap” (their words- not mine!)
I questioned it with my local vet - she bristled a bit and maintained that it was the right stuff. (she’s been my various pets Doc for years- I’ve always liked & trusted her) I poked around on the web & found a site on cat nutrition-
Fast forward--- I did several phone consults with the author of this web site, who is a vet/nutritionist (but NOT local) and I began changing the way I thought about my local vets diagnosis. Per her suggestions, I learned to HT, bought Fancy Feast low carb, ditched the dry, & changed Henrys dose to 1 unit (per the nutritionists suggestion) The nutritionist NEVER prescribed for me- These were only suggestions, based on her obvious success and expertise.
Starting on Sat 2-16, I lowered the dose to 1 unit and changed his diet to FF. (I also have a non-diabetic, Ben) They both seem to like it
When I requested my records today from the local vet (to perhaps send to the vet/nutritionist) she asked why, and I ended up telling her what I’ve been doing.
Shes not happy ** at all ** that I would change his plan based on what someone said, who has never even seen Henry, nor had his records- We spoke for 40 min, and I felt like a wimp. I felt so good that I had taken some control over H’s treatment (as OVERWHELMING as all of this is) but I lost all resolve that Im doing the right thing by “going rogue” with HT and spreadsheets, and Im trying to relax and not freak out. Not sure what my next steps are with her
I have a SS on line, HT as much as I can, but the problem is I don’t know what the hell (sorry) to do with the readings… I don’t have a clue as to what to shoot according to his readings!
I know that no one can advise on dosages on the FDMB- but would LOVE some direction – Do I “fire” my vet? Find a local one who is on board with what I’m doing? I sure can’t continue phone consults with the vet/nutritionist- it’s extremely costly- and sucks (sorry) that I can ever bring my cat to actually see her
ANY ADVICE IS NOT ONLY APPRECIATED, BUT SOO NEEDED- THANK YOU !!
 
Re: NEWBIE! 2/18 HENRY PMPS 207- SHOT 1 UNIT- IS THAT OK?

I'll go look on Health for any previous posts to catch up.

Looking at your spreadsheet it looks like the 1 unit is an excellent dose.
 
Re: NEWBIE! 2/18 HENRY PMPS 207- SHOT 1 UNIT- IS THAT OK?

I agree. One unit looks good. One thing you can do if you are a little worried is to get a test in around +3 - 3 hours after the shot. Sometimes that can be a test before bed. If he is lower than you think looks safe, you'll know to intervene. If not, you can get a good night's sleep.

Here is your post from health:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=89083
 
Ok so I caught up, where are you at now? Testing will get easier as you go along. What else do you need help with.

PS: I'm really glad you went with 1 unit instead of 3. Your instincts are good.
 
Thanks for adding the background. It helps us get to know you and Henry. Let me say, you are incredible! It is really hard to explore all this information and then tell your vet what you plan to do. Great for you for being the best advocate Henry could have.

As far as dosing advice, we give it all the time - on the board. (that way it is peer reviewed). We just don't give dose advice via private message. Robin and I have already weighed in on your current dose and like it!

If I were you, I would go ahead with your nice dose, monitor carefully and post here daily. We'll try to be here to help when you need it. In the meantime, post on Health and ask for vet suggestions in your area. If no one can help, then we have a great thread on interviewing for a new vet, and you can start making phone calls. (or if you like your vet, take a week, ask for an appointment and take in your spreadsheet with your lovely numbers and see if she will be willing to listen and learn.)

And last, but not least, breathe. You are doing great and so is Henry. You're now part of our family and we'll be your new support group. Ask any question you have, look at other people's posts and spreadsheets and see how this thing works. Give Henry a scritch and then maybe a treat for you both ( chocolate is nice but wine is too.)
 
If you're shopping for a new vet, check my signature link Vet Interview Topics for possible topics.

A Google search for "veterinarian loc: city, state" will identify candidate vets in your area and also may list links to some reviews.
 
BJM said:
If you're shopping for a new vet, check my signature link Vet Interview Topics for possible topics.

A Google search for "veterinarian loc: city, state" will identify candidate vets in your area and also may list links to some reviews.

THANK YOU for your vet link- i sent it to my work email so I can print it out tomorrow
 
I know a thing or two about bad vet advise. My FD diagnosing vet was my daughter in law, :o but I quickly learned that her advise wasn't was what I wanted to do for my guy, no matter how hard it was on my family.

You are the best advocate for your guy. Your vet isn't sitting next to you when you test or shoot, so you are in control of how you treat his FD.

You have already made the best decision about Henry's treatment and started shooting 1 unit instead of 3. Good for you!
 
HE JUST TESTED 108!! ARE WE IN TROUBLE???

I did not shoot any insulin this morning with a reading that low- im going to call in late to work and retest in a half hour !!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top