Newbie needs some emotional support!

Status
Not open for further replies.

crazyride

Member
Hello! I'm not sure how much/little information I should share here, but since this is an introduction, I'll try to give enough info to inform you about Kitty (my furry baby!) and his recent diagnosis.

Kitty is a beautiful black DMH rescue that I got when he was a tiny kitten, through my veterinarian. He was found when he was several weeks old, with no siblings or mother that anyone could find. I took him on, "temporarily" (thus the name. I didn't want to choose his name, now he won't respond to anything else) and of course grew very attached to him, and couldn't imagine finding him another home. He was an ideal kitten for a first time cat owner like myself, and my family. He's very low maintenance, was free-fed dry food and given a small "treat" teaspoon of wet food once daily at dinner time. He's friendly, but not overly needy. Will cuddle next to you, but doesn't need to be on top of you all the time. And as a self-proclaimed dog person, I was won over by his charm.

About three weeks ago I noticed that he was drinking an excessive amount of water. Of course, the first thing I checked was his litter box, wanting to make sure there wasn't a urinary blockage. When I saw how wet that was, I knew a trip to the vet was in order. Luckily, I now work for my veterinarian, and was able to scoop him up that day, and take him in for a checkup. His glucose was incredibly high, and there was also glucose in his urine. After a battery of tests (maybe even a few extra at my paranoid need to be beyond thorough, and my employee discount making these things more affordable) the doctor came to the determination that he has diabetes, and would need to start twice daily insulin injections immediately, as well as switching his diet (not fun for this VERY picky eater) to something low-carb, and eliminate his dry food all together. Which sounded scarily daunting to me, and made me nervous that my parents wouldn't be willing to help me administer his injections when I was out/at work.

Thankfully Kitty responded very well, just days after beginning his insulin he started acting more like himself, drinking less water, and even eating the new food I was sure he would refuse. I was happy, and figured we were out of the red zone. All three of us learned how to give him his injections, and when I took him in for a glucose re-check his levels were within normal limits. To be on the safe side, the doctor suggested I do a glucose curve on him. Because he gets very stressed and nervous when he leaves the house (he is an indoor cat ONLY and very skittish about strangers) I asked if she would mind if I did this test at home. Another perk of working there is access to testing supplies! (I am so incredibly lucky, I know)

However, when I came home from work today, I got to deal with my first hypo incident, and it was very scary for me. Despite my warnings of what to watch for in case his blood sugar is too low (written in big, bold, highlighted letters and posted on our fridge. I'm a worry-wart!) I came home from work, and when Kitty wasn't there to greet me at the door like he always is, I was concerned. When I asked my dad if he'd seen him, he mentioned that he'd vomited earlier this afternoon, and then ran and hid in my bedroom and hadn't been seen for several hours. I literally threw my things down, and ran into my room only to find him laying in the middle of my bedroom floor. (he's very spoiled and usually only lays on furniture. usually my bed, of if he's feeling anxious he hides under it) When I called his name he didn't move, only cracked one eye and let out a faint "mew" I scooped him up, and he was so lethargic he couldn't even hold his head up. I ran for the glucose kit, and quickly checked to find out he was at 21. I remembered reading on this site about maple syrup, so while I grabbed that I quickly called my doctor (another benefit! 24/7 access to an amazing doctor!) who told me to rub the syrup on his gums, and if he perked up enough to try and get him to eat. Luckily I still had a few cans of his old wet food stashed away, and I knew he'd eat that no problem. The doctor said that was fine, not to worry about carbs right now, to just get food into his tummy. He wolfed it down, and I waited anxiously for an hour to recheck and find that it had climbed back up into a normal level. Even 15 minutes after he ate I could tell he was feeling better, as he wanted to rub up against me, and give me the hello I usually get the second I walk in the door. However, it was such a scary moment! Thinking what would have happened had I ran the errands I meant to run after work, but was too tired to go out and do.

All of this has taken it's toll on me, emotionally. Thankfully my co-workers and mother have been very supportive of my desire to manage this disease, and understand how worried I can be about him, and how much I love him. I'm having some problems with friends, though, and dad (which sucks because he is the one who is home more often and is the one I ask to keep an eye out for things, help with injections, etc) Everyone seems to be of the same opinion that he should be "put down" that I am dragging out his life unnecessarily, wasting money, or being unrealistic. But the way I see it, diabetes is a manageable disease, and as long as it is properly maintained he isn't suffering! He is almost 11 years old, and I certainly don't think he is going to live forever. But I feel like as long as I can afford to take care of this, and have access to vets and techs to ask any questions that might pop up, why not take advantage of it? He's family, and I've grown closer to this little furball than I ever thought I would. I know at some point his life will come to an end, but he is otherwise 100% healthy, and I can't see that I'm doing the wrong thing here.

So, basically I just need some support! To hear from other people that things can turn around, and that it's ok to be a little stressed and worried, especially in the beginning. I hope I didn't ramble to long, but to be honest, finding this place almost feels like I've found some peace and comfort for the first time in three weeks. Because despite my co-workers understanding, none of them have personally dealt with an insulin dependent pet before, so I don't think even they can truly understand.

SO! Kitty, and I would like to thank you for reading our long story! Any advice, words of encouragement, suggestions, tips ANYTHING AT ALL you can offer us is greatly, greatly appreciated. Thank you so very much, everyone!
 
hey there, just wanted you to know I am here...going back to thoroughly read your post k?
 
You are absolutely in the right place! We were all terrified at first. Have you seen this? viewtopic.php?f=28&t=33671

It sounds like you have a great vet and situation. The change to wet lo carb is fantastic. I would be very cautious with future doses, after the hypo. Very scary but you did great. Do you test at home?
 
Dear CrazyRide (please give us your name) and Dear Kitty,
Welcome to the family of sugar kitties and the mommie's (and some daddies) that they own.
You are absolutely right when you consider that Kitty has many more years to go if Diabetes is her only problem. Even into 20 or 21 years. Yes, and some kitties can become diet controlled and no longer need insulin.

And yes, many of us face the 'look' of people who think 'cat's get diabetes???' and think it's crazy to treat it.
Your dad is just from the generation where most pet diseases were not really treated...the pet was just PTS.

It's great you work at a Vet office. Do I understand that you test daily, every day, before EVERY shot? Are you keeping a journal of the numbers? It is the best way to determine the insulin dosage....which, btw, insulin are you using?

It's possible that your Kitty is becoming less insulin dependent and that is why she hypo'd. Did you test the blood before that shot?

And it sounds like you have her on a great low carb diet....
So...
info we need,
insulin you are shooting and current dose?
how often you test?
do you have any records of the bg's?

and please please please know that your kitty can live a completley normal and healthy life even with the dire beasties.

Lori
and tomtom too!
 
You've come to the right place! You'll get all the emotional support you need --- well, ok, you'll get a lot of support and almost always there will be someone here who can "listen". It can be tough when those we love, admire, and look to for support in the "real world" see things differently. They love you and want what they think is best for you. It is stressful, especially in the beginning. But it gets better and easier and life goes on.

I think on some level you learn not to talk about your cat's health issues to those people in your life who you know don't support your decision. Like if you are a liberal democrat you don't bring up politics with your conservative republican friends.

If your dad continues to give you a hard time, then give him a smile and a hug and tell him you are practicing for when he is old and infirm and needs you to take care of him.
 
Thank you both, already. I am feeling better just knowing I have some people who are dealing with this here to help!

Sue: I did see that post! And it actually made me cry lol I'm not sure if that's normal, but it was funny because I do all of those things to him! He probably thinks I'm out of my mind. When I told the Vet he seems to be a little more clingly, she said it might very well be because he can sense my nervousness, and wants to make sure I'M ok! Poor Kitty! I definitely need to take some breaths :)

Lori: My name is Tracy! Out of that long post, the most obvious thing to start off with, I managed to forget! The insulin is Lantus rDNA. I hope that is what you need to know. That's the label on the bottle! He gets 2 units every 12 hours. Today was my first time testing him at home. I didn't have a meter of my own, so I have a spare that a previous patient donated to our office. It helps to have a few extras to send home when needed, and someone can't afford to purchase one. I only brought it home so I could do a 12 hour glucose curve on him this weekend, but I'm glad I had it to test and find out he was hypo. I haven't talked to his doctor in depth about all this yet, but I may start testing him before each dose to make sure he needs it. She said he responded so well after just 10 days of insulin that he may get to where he only needs it once daily, or even goes into remission. The only numbers I have are from his very first test before he was diagnosed (which was 483) and after his recheck last Friday (which was 82; 5 hours after feeding/morning dose and 152; 3 hours prior to next dose) and then today's numbers (21; 9.5 hours after feeding/morning dose and 81 an hour after giving food/syrup) The doctor I talked to tonight (another in our practice, not the one that has been specifically working with us on this) mentioned that perhaps this was caught and regulated quickly enough that his diet change will be enough to sustain him, or he may only need one dose of insulin a day instead of two. Either way I am glad I've learned enough thus far to know he was hypo, happened to have a meter with me, and keep my boss on speed dial! ;)

Donna: LOL! That is a very good idea about how to handle those who disagree, and especially my dad! When he first heard Kitty was diabetic he said "That's too much work. I don't want a diabetic cat." To which my mom replied "You're diabetic. I haven't kicked you out yet, why would I kick out the cat?"
 
So glad you are hometesting. You are getting very low numbers for a new diabetic. Usually we tell newbies not to shoot under 200, but to wait 20-30 minutes and test again to make sure he is over 200 and heading up.

At this point, I would test before every shot, not shoot under 200 and consider lowering the dose. We generally advise starting at a low dose - .5 or one unit twice daily. You can always increase the insulin as you get data, but a low dose means you're less likely to have a hypo.

We are all crazy cat people and know that diabetes is a very treatable disease. You can come on and whine, cry and complain and you will have lots of cyber shoulders to cry on.
 
Well from now on dear Tracy your Kitty NEVER gets a shot without a test....it's just not the way to do it ok? and with lantus a test needs to be gotten somewhat regularly during the day.
Like 2 hours after and then 8 hours after.
You are shooting the lowest number in the cycle and not the number before you shoot. it is just a little complicated in that way.
i also love what kim said to tell your dad...great :lol:
 
agree with everything sue said but with lantus the 200 rule is not so much...that mid cycle number is the one to watch.
but that is a high dose to start on.
 
I have a feeling when I go into work tomorrow we will have to discuss his dosing, and get to where he is being tested, and injected only if needed. The biggest problem with testing is that I am at work every day, and morning/evening testing and shots is one thing, because I am home to do them. But when things are needed to be done in the middle of the day I'm just not sure I can trust my dad to do them properly. Especially since he doesn't seem to care to make sure Kitty eats all his food before he gets his shots, or watch him for any signs of hypo. It's very frustrating! If he were less scared, or more social I'd just take him to work with me every day. A lot of my co-workers do that just for the heck of it. But he gets so scared and stressed, I couldn't imagine doing that to him. I know the doctor told me it is worse for him to get too low than it is for him to get a little bit high. We definitely skipped tonight's dose, and I am planning on rechecking in the morning, and calling the doctor before I give him any more. I know they were concerned because his levels were so high when he first got sick, but who knows. Maybe his diabetes isn't as bad as we thought (which I'd be very thankful for!)

And I think this entire website is so great. I already passed it on to the doctors, to offer the information to clients with diabetic cats. It always helps to have people to talk to, and a trustworthy website to look at for answers when it's after vet hours, and you aren't sure if you're being paranoid, or have a genuine question that can't wait until morning!
 
you really should introduce yourself over in the lantus room. i don't think lantus is a shoot as needed insulin. they all use lantus and can steer you with dosing...they really know their stuff.
 
Your vet is right.....better a little too high than one low, one time, that could kill. Very glad to know you will test before giving any more shots. Hopefully your Dad will learn just how important Kitty is to you and will start to pitch in to at least test if Kitty starts acting funny.

Jennifer just celebrated 11 years of diabetes with her Korbel. My Baby(GA) was dx'd at 13 and had another great and happy 5 1/2 years before I lost her to a heart condition. My Mishka will be celebrating her 8th year this Oct. Hope was diabetic for 4 1/2 years and has been in remission for almost 4 1/2 years.

Ignore the ones who do not understand.....you just go on loving Kitty and doing what needs to be done for Kitty. Sounds like Kitty is heading towards remission but if not, even if you have to test, feed and shoot, it is so worth it.
 
I will have to head over there and introduce myself, for sure. Any info/advice anyone offers is welcomed, and appreciated. I feel like you can never have too much help, and love that my vets aren't the type to act as though their opinions are the only ones that matter.

And you are right, it's all so worth it. He's curled up next to me right now, and when I look at him I can't think of going about this any differently, or not trying everything in my power to get him healthy. I lost my beloved dog 3 years ago to heart cancer, and he was diagnosed and passed away very quickly. The ironic thing is that none of my friends questioned my spending money on specialists, and testing to make sure he didn't have any treatment options before having to put him down. I don't know why people think a cat is any less important! And when I see how dedicated some of our clients are with their pet's health needs, I'm reminded that I can never complain, especially when others are dealing with so much more.
 
Hi Tracy, I wanted to introduce myself. My kitty was just diagnosed about a month and a half ago and I completely understand the emotional rollercoaster you've been on. We've all been there. You definitely need to go over to the Lantus forum. There are absolutely AWESOME people there who are so knowledgeable about Lantus and diabetic cats. This is the link to get to the Lantus forum:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

Many people work full time jobs and manage their kitties diabetes very well. Ask as many questions as you want on the Lantus forum and they'll be able to give you some suggestions so you don't have to count on your dad for help. Home glucose testing is the key, though, to avoiding hypo events.

Good luck!!!
 
Hey Crazyride.

I look forward to hearing more about Kitty, and to seeing you on the Lantus forum!

Edit: My husband looked at me sideways when Noxin was diagnosed because I was all gung ho about giving injections and home testing (the science nerd in me was looking forward to my new glucometer toy!). He knew how much I loved our cats, and said he'd support me in whatever I had to do, even though he thought so much work over a cat was a bit overboard. So far he's only given one injection, but considering he is blood and needle phobic I am so proud he is willing if needed. And since Noxin went into remission so quickly, he is lucky shots won't be in the cards again for him anytime too soon.
 
Welcome CrazyRide and Kitty to the FDMB Family,

As others have said yu have come to the right spot to get all the emotional support you can stand from a bunch for proud and honored sugarcat owner!

You are mostly definitely not wasting your time or money caring for Kitty, and with just a few extra care you and Kitty can look forward to a lot of happy years together.

I happened to have adopted my own sugarcat from this very board! Now since I have 10 other civies (non-diabetics) and one very large dog, I really didn't need another cat, but you see, my Lord Maxwell is a surviver of hurricane Katrina, but the elderly lady that rescued him fell ill and had to go into a nursing home and her family didn't want to be bothered treating his diabetes and had scheduled be Put To Sleep. Now I just didn't think it was fair that he lose his life after surviving a hurricane over a little extra sugar in his blood. So my husband and I opened our hearts and home to him. Two weeks of insulin and a change to a low carb wet diet he went from 485 at dx to remission where he has been for the last 7 months.

I'm going to link you to a video that I made awhile back on several of the cats like my Lord Maxwell that some of have adopted through this board. Maybe it will help you get it across to your dad on just how much a diabetic cat can turn around and live long heathy and happy lives. :-D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wIHmX4DndGo

Mel, Max and The Fur Gang
 
Hello Tracy and Kitty,

There is not really and advice I can think of to add that someone else has not already posted, just wanted to introduce myself and say welcome! This board is a fantastic place, I know I am lucky to have found it, and I hope you will feel that way too.

So, Welcome and hugs!!

Debbi and Saatz

P.S. I think that is a riot what you mom said to your dad about his diabetes!!!!
 
I echo everyone's welcome! You have found a great support spot. LOVE what your Mom told you Dad - Way to Go Mom!!!
When I've told people here how quickly Maisey got under control with insulin support and diet, they mostly say "wouldn't it be great if it worked so well with people?" I say back, well it probably would work as well for them too, but people can go to the store and open packages that they know they should not have, the cat has to depend on me!
Your off to a great start, so start testing and you will be flying!
 
Hi Tracy!

Your vet seems absolutely wonderful. It's such a relief when you have a vet that will work with you! Mine was the same way and made my life so much easier.

You mentioned that your vet is willing to take new suggestions--I would suggest that you change your dosing method. The Lantus protocol that we use here is this: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

You can print it out and take it into your vet, who can help you out with it, or you can get advice here, or both (That's what I did with Bandit)! 2u is a rather large dose of Lantus, and many cats don't need that much. I would recommend starting over at .5u considering the hypo incident and following the protocol.

This dosing protocol works extremely well at sending newly diagnosed cats into remission. My current vet switched to this protocol for all of her diabetic feline patients (all are on Lantus) after trying it with Bandit and seeing how great it worked.
 
Thank you everyone for your kind words of support! It helps so much to have people to turn to, who understand!

I have a little update, and then a question! Update first, Kitty's glucose was back up this morning. In the high 200's. I called the vet and let her know, and she had me give him a dose of 1unit. She is thinking he may be going into remission, or possibly just under better control because of his new low carb diet. She is concerned about his numbers, and I'm going to do a full glucose curve on Sunday when I will be home all day. I am going to test and record his numbers every 2 hours for the entire day, to get a better idea of how he is responding to the insulin. She actually sent me home with her cell phone number to call her this weekend. I told her I don't want to be one of "those" patients, and she told me to stop being so silly. Seriously, this doctor is amazing. She's new (to our practice, not to veterinary medicine) and she has gone above and far beyond any expectations I would have. Tonight I checked him before dinner, and his BG was only 63. Called to let her know, and we are definitely skipping tonight's dose. She wants me to call her bright and early tomorrow morning with his BG number before breakfast to decide how much he needs then. I'm floored that she's so willing to help me with this. 8am on a Saturday! I'm so lucky.

Kitty is acting a lot better than he was last night after his Hypo incident. Very alert, frisky, and of course wanting to play with everything, as he usually does when I come home from work. My first question is in regards to his BG testing. The techs at work are having me use his paw pad because he's very ornery about having his ears touched (when he was found as a kitten he had severe ear mites and ear infections, and is just a grump about anyone messing with them) but loves foot massages. (this is in part, I believe, to the fact that I am a pet groomer, and have always played with his feet a lot, separating toes and rubbing them when he is relaxed so he would be a cooperative cat for nail trims) So he is a lot more calm when I am using his feet, and gets very angry with his ears. I just feel so bad because I know poking his paw pads hurts him. He doesn't try to bite, but he flinches and I know it's important, but I was wondering if any of you have suggestions on how to possibly ease this. I'd rather not do his ears, as he will get himself so upset he will hiss, scream, and claw to get away and it makes getting the blood onto the test strip almost impossible.

My other question is in regards to his food. The doctor gave me a seven page list of over-the-counter wet food when he was diagnosed, and the percentage of carbs in each food. What he was already on was not on the list (Fancy Feast, ONLY seafood variety, in pate form. He does not like chicken, beef, rabbit, veal, or anything else. We've tried!) She wants him on a food with a percentage that is lower than 7. What I have him on now is Wellness. I've been using the blue and purple cans (I believe one is turkey and herring? or beef perhaps? either way both are a combination of something with a seafood) and he will eat them, thought not nearly as well as he'd wolf down his Fancy Feast (which makes me sad when I think about how much better the Wellness is for him) I was wondering if anyone knows if the Fancy Feast is low carb? Or any tricks on getting this picky eater to cooperate a little more!

Thanks in advanced. You guys rock!!!
 
Yep Fancy feast classics are just fine for him to have, just stay with the pate style and away from anything with gravy. I'll find you the link to Binky's food list charts that have the fancy feast flavors on it. BRB.

Mel, Max and The Fur Gang
 
crazyride said:
My other question is in regards to his food. The doctor gave me a seven page list of over-the-counter wet food when he was diagnosed, and the percentage of carbs in each food. What he was already on was not on the list (Fancy Feast, ONLY seafood variety, in pate form. He does not like chicken, beef, rabbit, veal, or anything else. We've tried!) She wants him on a food with a percentage that is lower than 7. What I have him on now is Wellness. I've been using the blue and purple cans (I believe one is turkey and herring? or beef perhaps? either way both are a combination of something with a seafood) and he will eat them, thought not nearly as well as he'd wolf down his Fancy Feast (which makes me sad when I think about how much better the Wellness is for him) I was wondering if anyone knows if the Fancy Feast is low carb? Or any tricks on getting this picky eater to cooperate a little more!


Wellness and Fancy Feast are both good choices for diabetic cats :smile:

With Wellness, feed the ones that have the little yellow "Grain-free" triangle on the label. You can also feed Wellness CORE.

Many of the regular Fancy Feast are low carb. If you haven't seen it already, here's the "old" canned food chart: http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodOld.html Feed whatever has a number 10 or less in the carbs column. Most of the Fancy Feast Elegant Medleys are just a little too high in carbs for diabetics. These are on the "new" canned food chart: http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodNew.html

List of gluten-free low carb Fancy Feast: http://felinediabetes.com/glutenfree.htm

Really, anything under 10% carbs on either food chart is good for a diabetic cat :smile: There are lots of brands you can choose from.

Keep a few cans of high carb canned foods (18% + on the charts), such as the Fancy Feast in gravy and junky quality Science Diet, on hand to use in case your cat hypos. The high carbs will raise blood glucose levels.

Don't forget low carb treats: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9172
 
Ahh thank you so much!!! That Fancy Feast food is like crack to him. He goes CRAZY for it, and it helps to know he can still have it. Plus, it doesn't hurt that we have a ton of it, because we always bought in bulk. Good thing we didn't donate it already! Now that I bought a case of Wellness, it figures I would find out that he can have his Fancy Feast again! I wish eating treats was something I could reward him with, but he's never been food driven. In fact, he doesn't even like treats! He sniffs, and walk's away. His reward is a good brushing. He loves his brush, and will jump into my lap any time I get it out, and purr and purr the whole time. He's kind of odd! But I love him.

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!
 
If brushing is what trips his trigger than by all means use that has his reward for getting his ear poked. It doesn't have to be food, just anything they really really like.

Mel, Max and the Fur Gang
 
Hello Tracey, I'm new here as well. I've been diabetic for 24 years. And now I have to learn to take care of my baby, too. I'm in MI as well. What area are you in? Clarkston here.
There are so many great people on here. They are amazing, and so helpful. I've just started posting a few hours ago and already feel welcome and a part of it.
So, welcome. :-)
 
Hello crazyride and of course Kitty!
New here as well... first of April... going to start testing now that Bean is off the meds for uti..... I am sooo scared, but know I HAVE TO DO THIS... She is sooo gonna hate me! - Wish I lived where you did, and give you big hug!
 
Zinda: Hello! I live in the Livonia area! You're right about that. It's just nice to have a place where you are surrounded by people going through the same thing you are, who understand what you're dealing with! Just like parents of sick children, I think having a positive support system is very essential.

OhBell: Don't be afraid! I was very nervous about giving injections AND testing, but really it's a piece of cake. The hardest part for me is poking him. Once he's poked he's fine because my meter doesn't require very much blood. When he's done he gets a small snuggle (he's not much of a snuggler so he never really wants one) and about 5-10 minutes of brushing. Then he's happy, and by the time I'm done brushing him he's already forgotten all about it. The testing actually makes ME feel better, because I'm not constantly wondering if something is going on every time he does something.


Last night I couldn't sleep, still feeling stressed about his hypo episode, and he wandered into my room. I swear this cat knows when I'm sick, or upset. He climbed up on the bed and curled up on my stomach, and it hit me why I go through all of this. For him. When I am in bed with a migraine, he will sleep next to me and not move out of bed until I do. He is my little support when I don't feel well, and now it's my turn to be his. Those little moments seem to help me gain a little perspective. Every worry, stress, and ounce of frustration is worth it, because he always gives me his unconditional love.
 
ty crzyrd and Kitty,
Just pulled on my big girl panties, loaded the meter w/ strip, and tested myself w/ #5! I was 79... So got Bean in my lap and messed up! oh well, tried 3 times and that was enough for HER! I least I tried and she got LOTS OF LOVE AND LOTS OF SORRYS for mommy not knowing what she is doing quite yet!
ty for the encouragement!!!!! - will try again tomorrow :sad:
 
Are you going for her ear? I have seen that it seems most people here use that method. I feel more comfortable doing his paw pad, and I've never had a problem with having to double poke, or not get enough blood. I cradle him in my lap, since he doesn't like to be totally on his back, and let him rest his back against my stomach. I give him a few tummy scratches, then I choose a paw. I usually go for one of the back ones, and try to not poke the same foot twice in a row. I give him a little foot massage, then a quick IN and out. DONE! Then I milk it for about ten seconds until there is a good size drop starting to form, and hold the test strip up (I always put the test strip into the meter first, and have that ready. He only gives me about 45 seconds of patience to do this!) Then as soon as it beeps, and I know it has enough blood I let him go. I've never noticed any spots of blood on my white carpet, or anything, and the doctor and techs assured me that it is a safe method of testing.

Not saying there is one right way, or another! But sometimes it helps to have options :)
 
hey bell, are you remembering to give her happy celebratory luvins and treat even when the test fails????
verra verra important. ;-)
 
Lori, I am curious on your opinion...since it seems like Kitty's BG goes up throughout the night, but seems to be crashing down during the day, do you think I should start leaving a little bit of dry food out for him to free eat? Is there a dry food that is low carb? I will ask the doctor as well, but I was wondering what you think about it. Right now he is getting 1/2 a can of his Wellness in the morning, but he never eats it all right away. He will eat some, and go back to it later. It makes me wonder if perhaps he's not getting enough to eat, either? I don't want him feeling hungry. Since I myself have had pancreas problems, and my doctor recommends I eat smaller meals throughout the day, should I consider that for him as well? I always feel like I am asking too many questions, but I just want him to be as healthy, happy, and comfortable as I can possibly get him. He's a small boy (10.9lbs currently) so he really shouldn't be losing any weight, and that's another concern of mine with the diet changes.
 
Hello Tracy! And hello Kitty!

I kinda missed the boat but I did want to stop in and say hello! I also wanted to offer some emotional support, because we are also new to the forums and have gone through something similar.

Willy went into DKA and everyone including friends, DH’s family, and our vet thought it would be best for us to put him down. We are a young family and my DH is still in college. Our vet (at the time) actually told us it was a long, complicated, expensive road and we might want to take some more time to consider our “other” option (which to us, wasn’t an option in the first place). The MIL told us that spending the amount of money we needed to to hospitalize Willy was “stupid” and “wasteful”. In the end, it was our decision and we have had absolutely NO regrets.

Sometimes our friends give us a hard time because we have to plan (reasonably) around Willy’s shots-- we can’t always go to a certain movie or go out to the bars and we certainly cannot leave town on a whim for a concert and such. To us, this isn’t an issue. We have a nice place and they are always welcome to come over (or wait til after we take care of our kitty) if they really want to spend time with us.

For a long time, we were overwhelmed. We were told so much conflicting information. We actually shut down completely. Willy was diagnosed 10 MONTHS AGO and it’s just in the last month that I have gathered the strength to go on the offense and take control of Willy's treatment and here I am. Just today I was having an anxiety attack about speaking with my vet next week and I got so much support from everyone here that I’m barely concerned about it at all!

There are always wonderful, supportive people around willing to share their experience and knowledge, or just listen to you rant.

Willy wolfs down ANYTHING he can find (he fed himself this morning via the trash :? :oops: ohmygod_smile ) but I have read that some people have more luck getting kitties to eat things when they add additional (warm) water to the food and sometimes pureeing it additionally helps too. It seems like some have had luck leaving wet food out for up to 12hrs with no signs of spoilage. This is not something I have tried personally, and I would ask someone more knowledgeable if this is true or not, but if it is, you might be able to try an auto feeder with wet food during the day. I’m sure it would be much preferred over leaving dry if it were possible. There’s also the option to freeze wet cat food in ice cube trays or as a solid puck and put that out for kitty to eat. I'm not sure if your cat would leave it alone until it defrosts, I know mine absolutely would not. I’m not sure if this is useful to you, but I thought it was pretty ingenious!
 
Tracy,

There are some lower carb foods that are dry, but wet is a much better option if you can get her to eat it. Lots of us freeze feed wet. I freeze a can of Fancy Feast in each cup of a silicone cupcake pan. It pops right out and can be stuck back in the freezer in a plastic bag. We always have plenty of frozen pucks ready to go. I use an automatic feeder and fill it with frozen pucks. You can also put some water with the wet so it is like a gravy - it helps it from drying out.
 
Yes Tracy we really do agree that the lowest carb food is best...and the lowest carb dry food is still too high.
It's funny you asked ME about Kitty going high at night. My tomtom does the same thing. As well as other kitties around here.
I figure it may be because kitty sleeps more at night as is less active? (activity lowers bg's) and/or the lack of food at night...(for some cats eatting food actually lowers bg's...i.e. my tom)
Lori
 
Gosh you guys are so great. I feel like I am getting SO much help and support already! I will definitely keep away from any dry food then! Kitty is a happy camper today because he got to have his beloved Fancy Feast for breakfast. He ate about 3/4 of the can, which is more than he was eating of the Wellness, and just now when I checked his BG he's a happy 148! Woo! This morning he was above 200 but below 250 so he got his does of 1 unit. I spoke with his doctor in depth a little more today, and we are thinking 1 unit once a day might be his magic number (for now. she is hopeful he is headed toward remission!).

What I'm really going to need strength for is tomorrow. I'll be doing a glucose curve on him. A poke every 3 hours! I feel sad already. I just hate doing it, and he's starting to get so grumpy about it. Tonight I had to poke him twice because he jumped while I was getting blood on the first, and the meter gave me an error. After his second poke he was so done! Poor bug, but hey. Things are starting to move in a better direction, so I'm trying to remain positive. I'm *supposed* to dog-sit for a friend of mine this weekend, and I am hoping we can find some good steady control before Friday so I can leave him in the care of my parents, and not worry the entire time. Lord give me strength!! ;)


*edit
Here is what I am thinking, and you guys tell me what you think. Because he's been having lower numbers at his evening testing (his scary 21 and yesterday a 63) I am concerned that it might be due in part to him not eating enough at breakfast. He tolerates the Wellness, but doesn't ever chow down. This morning I gave him his FF and he had a much better night number. But he gets high through the night, so I'm not AS worried that he's eating enough then. I'd prefer him eat the Wellness because I believe it's just a higher quality, healthier food. What do you think if I feed him his Fancy Feast at breakfast, so he fills his tummy, but give him the Wellness at dinner so I can feel like he's getting some healthy calories in him as well. Will it upset his tummy to switch between the two like that? Should I just forget about the Wellness, and only give him Fancy Feast? So many options and concerns in my mind ALWAYS!
 
I tried that, and the little bugger dug his face through that bowl and ate all the FF he could get and hardly any of the Wellness! I can tell because the FF is a little more pink in color and the Wellness is brown. Such a stinker!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top