Newbie needs help with large BG level fluctuation today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ian & Oz

Member Since 2014
Hi,
This morning I checked Oz's BG level & it was 524 the highest reading we've had so far, there was food still out & maybe he had eaten before I got up to check him & give his shot (which at the moment is 1.5u) but the food is always out at that time. I gave him his shot at 9:00 A.M. I took up his food at noon so that he wouldn't have anything to eat for 2 hours,I just did a +5 check & now his level is 132, lower than we've ever seen. Anyone have any ideas as to what may be happening? Maybe each time we've done his BG level test he's had some food in his system giving the 200-300's numbers? I'm concerned at the moment about the 132 reading, I gave him some food just now after the check.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Ian

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=124970
 
That is an abnormally high number compared to his previous numbers. My first thought would be that maybe it was a faulty test. Did you grab a second test to verify? If he was really 524 this morning, then my second guess would be that either he dropped lower last night that normal and had a hefty bounce this morning OR you might have given a fur shot last night. I'm leaning more toward the fur shot because if it were a bounce, you generally won't see such a drop to that 132 so soon (it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear).

I wouldn't worry too much about the food because I doubt that it would spike his numbers that high. What a lot of people do is take up food 2 hours before shot time so that way they know for sure that their test will not have a food-influenced number.

In your previous post, it was suggested that you might want to raise the dose a bit. At this point, I would hold off on any dose increases for the next couple of cycles just so we can get a clearer picture of what might be going on, whether it's a one-off anomaly or maybe Oz has decided to start changing up the dance steps. :lol:
 
Thank you Larry & Kpassa,
Our needles are very small, but we do try & make sure he's getting the shot, still you always wonder, "did he get it?"
We give it on the scruff of the neck, making the "tent" & injecting into the lower tent area.
I'm going to test again at five, I took up the food at three to see what reading I get.
What number should we be concerned about when we check him before his shot tonight at 9:00? If it's in the 100's again
I'm not sure whether to give a normal (1.5u) shot or a lower dose? If he's in the low 200's is it ok to proceed as usual?

Ian
 
Is there any chance he got into forbidden (high carb) foods? The other thing I wonder, is it possible for you go get at least a +2 or before bedtime test in? He could be going low at night, a lot of cats do and this can cause a bounce.
 
Hi Ian,

That 132 is a great number. I know it's scary to see lower numbers for the first time, but that 132 is perfectly safe. This proves exactly why I'm so hesitant to recommend increasing the dose without getting those "in-between" tests. Just because you see high numbers at shot time doesn't mean the insulin isn't taking the kitty into good, healing numbers. I know we've mentioned it before, but it's really important that you try to get at least one check in between shots in both the AM and PM cycles since Lantus is based on how low it takes a kitty. The mid-cycle tests will help tell us how well the insulin is working. You caught that blue number today by doing that check. Fantastic work!

By the way, you do not have to pull the food up before every blood sugar check. The only time we recommend that you pull the food up is during the two hours before you give the insulin shots. We want to make sure the blood sugar test you take right before insulin isn't influenced by food. (For instance, you can give Oz food at +4 and still take a test at +5. He doesn't need to be fasting before any mid-cycle tests.)

Are you home and able to monitor (that is, get in some blood sugar checks) this evening? That will often influence whether or not we tell you to skip a shot, give a reduced shot, or give the full dose.

Great job again on getting that test today! :-D
Shelly
 
Thank you Shelly,Ruth, Kpassa & Larry

Not really sure why his numbers are fluctuating so much today, will try to monitor even closer & try more of the no food before shots.

Ian
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top