Newbie Needs Help, Cat Dragging Hind Legs

Status
Not open for further replies.
No, it was 90 when he gave him the 2 units. That's why I'm freaking. It went up after we fed him. Have another question, about Zobaline, which I need to get since my liquid methylcarbolomine is only 1000mcgs per ml and not enough if the dose is 3000-5000mcgs per day. How many mcgs is in one Zobaline tablet? Thanks SO MUCH, you are a LIFESAVER, Carl. I swear you guys saved Toney's life and please, please please just keep us from killing him. David promised not to give any more Lantus without checking with me first. GEEZ.

SUSAN/Toney
Riverside, CA
 
OK, thanks for clarifying.
BG was 90. He got 2 units. And that was about two hours ago, give or take.

And he ate half a can of food then.

Yo have low carb canned food available. And dry food available.
But no high carb canned, right?


I can't offer any help on the zobaline, I never used it. But I don't think you can overdose it if I remember right. What ever Toney can't use, he'll pee out. Someone else who is familiar with it can help more, I'm sure.

My concern is that Toney can go low from this shot. Can you test again in thirty minutes or so? That should be about "+3" I think.
 
I just put down about 1/3 cup dry Blue Buffalo for him. The other cat might eat it but at least he has something to munch on all night. Just checked him and he looks good, didn't test though. Will in AM before feeding canned or giving insulin. THANKS ALL.

SUSAN/Toney
Riverside, CA
 
In the morning, this is just my opinion but if you see anything under 150, skip the shot. If you're more comfortable with a "no-shoot" of under 200, that's fine too.
If you wake up in the middle of the night, check to make sure there's still food available.
 
And before you go to bed, (not to sound like your mother or anything), make sure YOU eat something.:-)
 
Thanks, I will.

rhiannon and shadow said:
The dosage for the methylcolbamin is 3 -5 mg or 3000mcg -5000mcg .
The link for buying one without sugar was in your other post.
You might want to go back and read thru both of your posts and see if you missed some information. Sometimes things get posted at the same time and get missed.


The colbamin will not help with the neuropathy. So it looks like you'll be teaching your vet another new bit of information.



Yeah, I know, I already told her right when I called them and got the info that it was cyanocarbolamin and I was pissed. She had no idea they were different in treating neuropathy. Then she looked it up and later told me I was right. I learned that so many years ago and aren't vets supposed to know? Vets are scary now that I have one cat with pancreatitis and one with diabetes. This is my 6th vet after all the other ones tried to kill my now 15 yr old pancreatitis cat and he (Kobe) is my best friend. He's doing GREAT now a year and a half later on minimal meds (2.5 mgs. prednisolone SID, pepcid and ondansetron BID). The yahoo groups panc site is to be applauded for saving HIS life and informing me. I worked as a vet tech years ago but never saw pancreatitis except on autopsy - no test for it or treatment protocol back then. Same with Lantus. Three years now and had to increase the Lantus .5 every time we did a curve. Now we lower it ONE TIME by .5 after a curve and he goes into remission? Makes zero sense to me.

SUSAN/Toney
Riverside, CA
 
Zobaline is 3mg per tablet, it dissolves very easily in just a tiny bit of water, so you can mix it into food... Probably would need to give a couple a day if your kitty has the neuropathy bad... Carl is correct, it is a water soluble vitamin that is not stored in the body, so they pee out anything over what is needed. I was giving it to Frog daily at first, but as he got better, I started giving it less... I now only give it maybe every 3-4 days.

Frog's neuropathy was only minimal, but it has been less than two months and he no longer shows any signs of neuropathy (that I can see) or weakness that he had previously. I've just ordered the vitacost methyl-b12 myself, simply because of the cost..(buy one-get one sale right now). I really do like the Zobaline, but I have too many kitties and the bottle of 60 Zobaline just empties too fast, lol.
 
This is so hard. I put out the corn syrup last night for David just in case and told him what to do. We left some dry Blue Buffalo food out last night for him, just a little, about 1/4 cup or less because he was hypo yesterday, no symptoms. Then today, Toney had a 239 this morning pre-shot so David gave him 2 unit of Lantus which only 1/2 his normal dose. 3 hours later he had a 178 and 13 hours later, a 159. Just now he tested 109, no insulin since this morning. He ate his normal 1/2 small can this morning, then only 1/4 can this afternoon and now he won't eat. No insulin since this morning. He looks about the same, I think he's constipated again though but he did poop a little, not a normal amount. So I think I have to leave dry food out again soaked in water this time. I don't have a good feeling about this and am wondering if it could be FIP?

SUSAN/Toney
Riverside, CA
 
I'm going to give him 2000mcgs of the methylcarbolomin liquid right into his mouth right now. I don't know what else to do for him. He doesn't look in pain but won't eat now. I'm hoping David can get him to at least eat a few bites.

SUSAN/Toney
 
This is so hard. I put out the corn syrup last night for David just in case and told him what to do. We left some dry BB food out last night for him, just a little, about 1/4 cup or less because he was hypo yesterday, no symptoms. Then today, Toney had a 239 this morning pre-shot so David gave him only 1/2 his normal dose (2 units) of Lantus. 3 hours later he had a 178 and 13 hours later, a 159. He ate his normal 1/2 small can this morning, then only 1/4 can this afternoon and now he won't eat. No insulin since this morning, we will test him again before bed. He looks about the same, I think he's constipated again though but he did poop a little, not a normal amount. I'm putting out dry food tonight with water in it and giving him 2000mcgs of methylcobalamin right in his mouth. I don't feel good about this, I wonder if its FIP?

SUSAN/Toney
Riverside, CA
 
More than you ever wanted to know about Feline Constipation
Many folks here use 1/4 teaspoon of Miralax, 1-2 times a day to help with constipation. It is possible that diabetic neuropathy may be contributing to that.

What makes you think it is FIP?
 
Susan, I sent you a pm the other day and you might have not seen it....


This is hard....
but it does get easier....


I've seen where the vet can feel when the cat is constipated. If he doesn't poo some more, you might need to take him in for an enema.
 
Thanks all of you SO MUCH for your help with Toney and for making me feel so much better about choosing and using another home meter after 5 meters didn't work properly. This ReliOn Micro meter works great and I'm THRILLED! We tested it against our vet's Alpha-Trak meter and our ReliOn Micro came up reading about 25 units less, perfect for a human meter used on cats. I feel so much better about giving Toney insulin now that I can test at home, not have to rely solely on vet-run curves and not have to keep running him to the vet every time he looks a tiny bit "off" or I think I see him drinking more. We'll still of course continue vet treatment, especially with this new hind end neuropathy problem but testing at home makes it MUCH better for Toney. I finally got some sleep too so can update you a lot more coherently on Toney now.

Most of today Toney looked a little bit better and used his left hind leg more, kind of hopping on his left foot under him with both haunches all the way down, dragging his right leg but not dragging both hind legs out to one side like he has been since 7-18-13. He has stood and sat daily on occasion and has even walked a few steps and it seems to me like the hind end neuropathy gets worse as his glucose gets lower. I just started the methylcobalamin so way too soon to even see improvement from that. Earlier tonight he managed to quickly somehow get himself from right next to me across two and a half large rooms under a nightstand table in only about 10 seconds without me even seeing him do it while I was preparing his test. I have to assume he was feeling better because he hasn't moved anywhere near that fast since the neuropathy happened or even in his entire life. I hate to think he was that afraid of getting tested, he then purred right after while I scratched him during testing and seemed okay with it. He's always really good about being lanced in the eartip, David and I both average getting blood now on the 2nd try and I know his ears will bleed easier the more we test. He really takes the testing and the insulin shots very well and I truly don't think he's in pain, I'm VERY good at reading pain in cats - no eye squinting, purrs a lot when petted, seems happy and even hangs out on the bed with David at night and can even get down all by himself safely (but not back up, David lifts him if he wants up).


7-24-13

158 at 11:20am before food. Toney may have eaten up to 1/8 cup Blue Buffalo Basics Sensitive Solutions Grain-Free Turkey and Potato dry adult cat food w/water added last night but unsure if he ate it all or the other cat housed with him did. Gave no insulin. Gave 3000mcgs methylcobalamin liquid (has no sugar) mixed into 3/4 small can of Fancy Feast Classics w/added water (for extra hydration) and he was hungry and ate all of it. Not dehydrated (according to skin elasticity and gums aren't sticky, which I check 3x daily) so I know he's drinking and David has seen him drink a few times. (There are three bowls of water in the two rooms he is in now so he never has to go far to get water. The other cat has dry food free-fed up on a shelf Toney cannot get to.)

184 6+ Ate well, 1/2 can Fancy Feast with added water and 1/4 tsp. Miralax. Two cats in there, 3 pees today and 2 BM's that look like they are from two different cats, one normal BM, one half the normal amount but normal size/moisture.

227 at 11:10pm after no insulin all day today so I gave 2 units Lantus insulin and another 1000mcgs methylcobalamin liquid in 1/2 can Fancy Feast Classics which he ate very well. I gave a total of 4000mcgs just for today, still haven't decided on a daily dose, from what I've learned with this bad of neuropathy, some give 3000mcgs and some give 5000mcgs, so I went in the middle at least for the first day of it.

90 at 4+ 3:20am Dragging both hind legs again, alert, purred when scratched, ate about 1/8 can Fancy Feast Classics w/water added. Left 1/8th cup Blue Buffalo Basics Sensitive Solutions Grain-Free Turkey and Potato dry food in water again overnight but didn't see him eat any and there is another cat with him we can't remove.


Questions:

1. Is 90 too low for 4+? I can't test him again tonight, he'll have to wait until tomorrow. If so, it looks like we can't even give half his Lantus dose now, prior to the 7-18-13 hind-leg dragging neuropathy, he was getting 4.5 units Lantus, we took him down to 4 and he went hypo, now even 2 units takes him way too low?

2. So next time he goes over 200 should I just give 1 or 1.5 units of Lantus?

3. Can anyone else who hasn't already chime in on how much methylcobalamin B12 will work IF this is diabetic neuropathy? I figure if not, it can't hurt and if so, it will help. Also, should I give the cyanocobalamin weekly shot the vet mistakenly gave me in case this is something else that might be helped by its anti-inflammatory properties? He is due tomorrow for that and he did seem to get better after the last one. Or should I just switch to the methycobalamin instead?

4. Does it make sense for a cat that was totally dependent and well-controlled on 4.5 units of insulin for almost 3 years with no sign of remission to all of a sudden go hypo?

I think Toney did a little better today, had more energy (probably from the M B-12), we are both doing the insulin and tests better, he didn't go hypo today (like the last two days of low 25 and 37 readings) and these figures look more normal. We switched his food on 7-18-13 from dry food only to Fancy Feast Classics canned food). We are using the new ReliOn Micro glucose meter 4x per day and have been keeping a daily testing/meds chart I will copy and fax to his vet tomorrow. I'm not giving up while he's not in pain, still using the litterbox and not giving up himself and while we still don't really know what is causing the hind end dragging neuropathy. I don't think an ultrasound will show the cause and don't think a specialty hospital will be able to do anything more for him and is cost-prohibitive after I spent $700 there on an upper gi scope for my pancreatitis cat that they didn't even complete because they couldn't get it past his pylorus. I worked for small animal vets in the past and I know this bill was WAY too high for an incomplete and inconclusive scope without any biopsies and that really didn't make me want to use them again (CVS Ontario, CA).

As for your questions about ticks or fleas - Toney and all our indoor cats are strictly indoor-only with no screens even left open. We do have ticks outside our 3-acre property perimeter and while I have never seen one inside or even on our outside dogs, alpacas or horses, it could happen. I check and can't find anything on Toney. We have had occasional fleas so I don't treat the cats but spray the carpet, floors and bedding (not all at once, I do 1-2 rooms per day just to be safer b/c one of our cats has damaged turbinates and one has pancreatitis/IBD, both are doing VERY well) and I just sprayed in the rest of the house yesterday but won't do Toney's two rooms and no fleas in there so far. I haven't sprayed since early May so its not the spray and the stuff I use is pretty safe. The only thing I have noticed recently on Toney is a small red swelling on the gumline right under his two bottom front teeth. The vet and I both think it could be the start of oral cancer or it could just be him rubbing his face on the carrier like usual - he somehow scratches his nose itching his face on the plastic carrier holes every single time he's in it, too and our other cats never do that when in it. I'm keeping a close eye on it and getting a new soft carrier that he hopefully can't hurt himself on.

SUSAN/Toney
Riverside, CA
 
I like seeing all the little improvements.


His lower numbers indicate that he doesn't need as much insulin as before.
If we could get you a spreadsheet started, you (and we) can see patterns better as to where his dose should be.
how to set up a spreadsheet



Look up at the top of this page...where it says...

Board index ‹ FELINE HEALTH: The Main FDMB Forum
User Control Panel (0 new messages) • View your posts

You should have (1 new message) in the brackets....
 
Sounds like the insulin is making him feel better - too early for the methylcobalamin to be making a difference. The spreadsheet will give us a much better view of whats going on.

To answer your questions..

1. Is 90 too low for 4+? I can't test him again tonight, he'll have to wait until tomorrow. If so, it looks like we can't even give half his Lantus dose now, prior to the 7-18-13 hind-leg dragging neuropathy, he was getting 4.5 units Lantus, we took him down to 4 and he went hypo, now even 2 units takes him way too low?
90 at +4 is ok - really it depends on how low he continued to go for that cycle - Lantus hits max action around +5 to +7. Also remember Lantus is a depot insulin so it will take a few days of the same dose to see what effect the 2 units has. You are probably still seeing carryover effects of the 4 units at this point.

2. So next time he goes over 200 should I just give 1 or 1.5 units of Lantus?
No -as above - I would continue the 2 units for 3-5 days unless he drops under 50.. And at that point re-evaluate. The key to lantus is consistent dosing and you have been all over the place so we really cant tell whats going on.

3. Can anyone else who hasn't already chime in on how much methylcobalamin B12 will work IF this is diabetic neuropathy? I figure if not, it can't hurt and if so, it will help. Also, should I give the cyanocobalamin weekly shot the vet mistakenly gave me in case this is something else that might be helped by its anti-inflammatory properties? He is due tomorrow for that and he did seem to get better after the last one. Or should I just switch to the methycobalamin instead?
Check this site for dosing - http://www.laurieulrich.com/jasper/

4. Does it make sense for a cat that was totally dependent and well-controlled on 4.5 units of insulin for almost 3 years with no sign of remission to all of a sudden go hypo?
Did you change the food? Do you know how many carbs are in that dry food?


Wendy
 
You said you put the other cat's food up out of reach of Toney. Just wait until the methylcobalamin and the lower BG's start to have more of a full effect. ohmygod_smile When I first started to foster Wink, he had very severe neuropathy. Couldn't walk more than 3-4 steps without stopping to rest. Couldn't jump or climb up more than about a foot. Walking entirely on his hocks. Couldn't play or run. Now, with his BG's under control, Wink is a jumping maniac, chases the other cats all over my home, and can get at any food within his reach in minutes now that his neuropathy is greatly improved. :o :shock: :o

Dry food often has a high mold content. I realize you are trying to get more moisture into your cat's diet by adding water to the dry food. My recommendation is to be conservative and take the moistened dry food up after an hour or 2. For safety's sake. We don't want your cat to become ill from eating the moistened dry food. :!:

4. Does it make sense for a cat that was totally dependent and well-controlled on 4.5 units of insulin for almost 3 years with no sign of remission to all of a sudden go hypo?

You mentioned some redness and swelling on his gums that you and your vet thought could be oral cancer. These types of cancers can be very aggressive and fast moving. Keep your eye on the mouth and gums for further signs of progression. Oral cancer killed one of my cats recently. Cancers have also been known to 'eat the blood glucose' as someone else expressed it. I'm not saying this is what has caused your cat to suddenly need less insulin, but did feel you should be aware of the possibility. :sad:
 
I signed up for Google and went to the spreadsheet, but its too confusing for me to use and getting the insulin right is hard enough without that. Do you know of a more user-friendly spreadsheet? The booklet that came with the meter isn't working out at all.

I did change his food from dry to canned and he did go below 50 - to 25 and 37 on the 2.0 Lantus. His last Lantus level 5-6 days ago was 4.0 which made him hypo and even when giving 2 units of Lantus even once a day now, his glucose drops too low. I doubt he'll go over 250. If 1 unit Lantus is too low, I'd rather have him be high glucose right now than in a seizure or dead. We check glucose 3 and 6 hours after the morning insulin shot and then another 1-2 times after the last shot or even if none given. Below are the instructions I copied from yours and changed for our food, how does this look?

SUSAN/Toney

above 280: 1.5 units Lantus, go straight to vet
250-280: 1.5 units Lantus, feed Fancy Feast Classic canned food
200-250: give 1 unit Lantus, feed as above
Under 200: no Lantus, feed as above
Under 50: no Lantus, feed 1/4 small can Blue Buffalo and 1/4 small can Fancy Feast Classic
Under 40: no Lantus, feed 1/2 small can Blue Buffalo with 1 tsp corn syrup, pancake syrup or honey mixed in. If he won't eat, see below.
Under 30: no Lantus and not seizuring, feed the above. If he won't eat, syringe 1 ml. corn syrup, pancake syrup or honey into his mouth.
If seizuring or coma: no Lantus, syringe 1 ml. corn syrup, pancake syrup or honey anally, wrap loosely in blanket or towel, put on floor of car and GET TO VET ASAP.
 
Susan, We can get you started with the spreadsheet setup and link it too your signature if you like. Send me a PM if you are interested. Once you see a few numbers in there, you'll find it easier to use.

Here are what some of the columns mean:

AMPS = morning pre-shot test
PMPS = evening pre-shot test
U= number of units insulin given
+1 = 1 hour after the shot
+2 = 2 hours after the shot
+3 = 3 hours after the shot
+x = x hours after the shot

Remarks column for what you want to keep track of. Like how much food fed or how your cat is feeling.
 
Lunarstruck said:
above 280: 1.5 units Lantus, go straight to vet.

A glucose over 280 does not require a trip to the vet, EXCEPT if sick, showing ketones, or not eating (and any combination of these).
- a vet visit is warranted if the cat is sick as diabetes may complicate management.
- ketones may suggest diabetic ketoacidosis which can be fatal and cannot be managed at home
- if the cat has not eaten in 2 or more days, there is an increased risk of hepatic lipidosis, which can be fatal

Also, we do not use a sliding scale with Lantus here; we give the same dose every 12 hours.
Adjustments to the dose are based mainly on the lowest between shot number - the nadir.
If the pre-shot numbers are exceptionally low, and you frequently cannot give insulin, that may also result in a reduction.
 
Thanks, but I still just do not understand that spreadsheet. None of the top numbers make any sense and my numbers don't match the top colored number sections AND the section stating +1, +2, etc., there is no place to enter some of them. It is way too confusing, I have zero clue where to enter things. Isn't there an easier spreadsheet out there, preferably one that I can print out and keep near the testing unit and write in? David is testing too and he already screwed up the booklet the meter came with and I can't interpret his tests. We really need an easier way to write them down if I have to make one myself and I'm too exhausted right now.

Below are Toney's latest numbers and I don't care if it is Lantus or not, there is NO WAY I'm giving another 2.0 if he goes over 200 again, it just keeps taking him way too low and then I'll be up all night AGAIN. 6 days ago he was on a 4.0 Lantus dose and got hypo and now even 2.0 is too high a dose, last night it took him from 227 to 90 at +4 last night and I'm sure went even lower and I didn't sleep all night again. I can't do that even one more night. I'd rather have him a bit hyper than at a 25 or 37 again. I just hope these numbers I'm getting on this meter are right, I know they must be close from the Lantus response.

QUESTION:
1. How do you know how much blood is enough or too little? The meter is supposed to tell me if there isn't enough blood but it never has and twice now I didn't think I had enough, don't remember which times but it never said that. I already have to go buy more strips and lancets, you go through these like crazy testing 4-5 times a day like this but with these numbers, I have to.

TONEY'S GLUCOSE TEST/MEDS/FOOD CHART

All tests were done before feeding canned food and taken on a ReliOn Micro unless stated.
It will state if dry food was left out all night (because glucose was too low).
BB = Blue Buffalo Basics Sensitive Solutions Grain-Free Turkey and Potato (canned food or dry food is stated)
FF = Fancy Feast Classics Chicken Feast canned food

DATE GLUC. TIME FOOD and MEDS GIVEN VITAL SIGNS

insulin dose reduced from 4.5 to 4.0 resulting from curve at old vet's office (don't have)
7-18-13 104 11:00am 104 (on vet's Alpha-Trak meter) Weight 16.3, Temp. 99.7, Pulse 220, Resp. 30
(David gave wrong dose of 5.0, should have given 4.5)
7-20-13 Dr. Sanders returned my call. I asked Dr. Sanders what type of Cobalamin Dr. Dillman gave us
on 7-18-13 in the pre-drawn syringes labelled just "Cobalamin". She said it is Cyanocobalamin and
that it converts to Methylcobalamin in cats. I said no, only Methylcobalamin works for diabetic
neuropathy. She looked it up online and said I am right. I asked her for the M-B12 dose and
she said 250mgs. 2-3 d. or 1/4 5000mcgs twice a week. I said I thought it was higher, 3,000mcgs
to 5,000mcgs and she said no. She said she still doesn't think the bilateral hind-leg dragging is
diabetic neuropathy but the methylcobalamin can't hurt. I asked if low his 7-8-13 K of 3.7 is low
enough to cause it and Dr. Sanders said no, its not low enough to cause this and normal K is 3.5-5.8.

7-21-13 37 10:46pm (no Lantus given, gave BB canned food)

7-22-13 25 10:45am (no Lantus given, gave higher calorie canned food)
52 10:45am Using Alpha-Trak meter at vet's office, Dr. Sanders calibrated our ReliOn meter at 25,
Alpha-Trak at 52. Dr. Sanders told me over the phone to reduce Lantus to 4.0 and that this meter doesn't work, I explained that human meters
run about 20-30 lower than Alpha-Trak so this does work like a human meter should on cats.
80 5:30pm (no Lantus given, gave Fancy Feast canned food)
115 8:22pm (2.0 Lantus mistakenly given)
90 9:51pm (gave higher calorie canned food and left dry down all night)

7-23-13 239 at 8:00am (2.0 Lantus given)
178 at 10:00am (no Lantus given
105 at 10:30am
159 at 8:pm (no Lantus given)

7-24-13 169 at 8:30am (no Lantus given, Fancy Feast Classic fed, ate 1/2 can,
may have eaten up to 1/8 cup BB dry food left out last night)
158 at 11:20am (no Lantus given, 3000mcgs MB12 mixed into Fancy Feast Classic canned food, only
227 at 11:10pm (gave 2.0 Lantus)
90 at 3:20am 4+, fed Fancy Feast Classic Chicken and put down dry food

7-25-13 188 at 8:40am (before meal, but left out dry food again because last night he was only 90 at 4+, didn't look like hardly any is gone and there is another cat in with him I can't remove.)

Just talked to our vet, she said its okay to go ahead and try the 1.0 or 1.5 Lantus dose even once a day while testing every 3 hours at first. She made an interesting comment that this is why vets' offices don't test at all during the first week of any food change in diabetic animals. I told her I could never do that, but I do understand it now. Hopefully this will work and I can finally get some sleep, will keep you all posted. Thank you SO MUCH for all your help!

SUSAN/Toney
Riverside, CA
 
Re: spreadsheet

First column is date.
Column labeled AMPS is for the morning (AM) pre-shot.
Column labeled PMPS is for the evening (PM) pre-shot.
Units is dose of insulin given
AMBG = morning blood glucose if not on insulin
PMBG = evening blood glucose if not on insulin

Columns labelled +# represent the hours since the shot was given; you enter any mid-cycle, in-between shot tests in the column which represents how many hours it has been since the prior shot. Members are in different time zones, so rather than trying to convert for that, we reference how long it has been since the shot was given.
 
Just had to post to all - Toney hasn't needed any insulin for two days now, his glucose levels are normal AND LAST NIGHT HE STARTED WALKING. Its the methylcobalamin. I'm SO glad I knew the shots the vet gave me looked like the cyanocobalamin and asked them and then didn't listen to them and gave the M-B-12 anyway. They told me to give 250mcgs and I said NO, its 250mgs. They insisted but didn't even know, had to look it up online. So I gave 4000mcgs for 2 days and the third day, he started WALKING. I'm lowering to 3000mcgs once he gets better and then when do I stop giving it? I was so tired from being up for 4 nights with him hypo, I slept 20 hours so only now could post this. THANKS ALL

SUSAN/Toney
Riverside, CA
 
The neurapathy is a side effect of uncontrolled diabetes, so once he's walking normally, you probably can taper off to nothing. It is water soluble, so if he doesn't need it, it will be excreted through the renal system.

Just keep an eagle eye out for signs of infection - dental (look at the mouth weekly for redness & tartar), bladder (frequent, small volume pee spots), and respiratory (goop in eyes, nose, coughing sneezing).Those elevate glucose and may bring a return of the neurapathy.
 
I am still pretty sure its not the methylcobalamin - it takes 4-6 weeks. Could be just that his blood sugar is way better and so not damaging his nerves.

What do you mean "normal" for his blood sugar? Can you give us some numbers? (Normal cats levels by the way are 40-130.)

Wendy

PS coloured row at the top (above the horizontal blue row) is just a key to remind you what the colours mean ie black is when blood sugar is over 500, red is when blood sugar is 400-500 etc.
 
I don't know, I've never seen neuropathy reverse itself this quickly and I worked as a vet tech. This is amazing. He didn't reverse like this when his glucose went down before giving him the M-B-12.

SUSAN/Toney
Riverside, CA

Wendy&Tiggy said:
I am still pretty sure its not the methylcobalamin - it takes 4-6 weeks. Could be just that his blood sugar is way better and so not damaging his nerves.

What do you mean "normal" for his blood sugar? Can you give us some numbers? (Normal cats levels by the way are 40-130.)

Wendy

PS coloured row at the top (above the horizontal blue row) is just a key to remind you what the colours mean ie black is when blood sugar is over 500, red is when blood sugar is 400-500 etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top