Newbie needing to take charge after Hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlie’s Mumma

Member Since 2023
Hi, So my cat Charlie who turns 14 in November and that's also 2yrs since being a sugar baby. I've been managing ok with it have been petrified and failed a few attempts at testing =( he is on 2 units of Optisulin and has FF pate diet. Last night he had a bad hypoglycemic episode for the first time this included loss of eye sight, aimless walking unable to sit still and getting stuck, I managed to get this under control with golden syrup and gravy from wet food. His levels were 3.7 hour and half after insulin then another 40mins later he dropped to 3.1 I then unfortunately killed all my strips so wasn't able to test further but stayed awake and watched him all night started to turn corner at the peak 6hour mark. I took him to the vet this morning which was zero help they told me to keep him on the 2 units which almost killed him so he hasn't had any insulin this morning. So I'm ready to take the reins and do his full care rather then pour my money down the drain on a zero care vet!
Few Questions =)
1. When should I test him after being checked at the vets his level was 18 at 8.30am
2. What is the ideal level range for him to be at and should I record this down and do a curve
3. The vets often wanted a sample to test urine is that for glucose and infection? is that something I can be doing at home also?
4. Would there be any recommendations for cleaning his teeth apart from chicken necks?

Anything else I've missed please add on more information the better as I'm ready!!

Thank you so much for your magical help
 
Hi, So my cat Charlie who turns 14 in November and that's also 2yrs since being a sugar baby. I've been managing ok with it have been petrified and failed a few attempts at testing =( he is on 2 units of Optisulin and has FF pate diet. Last night he had a bad hypoglycemic episode for the first time this included loss of eye sight, aimless walking unable to sit still and getting stuck, I managed to get this under control with golden syrup and gravy from wet food. His levels were 3.7 hour and half after insulin then another 40mins later he dropped to 3.1 I then unfortunately killed all my strips so wasn't able to test further but stayed awake and watched him all night started to turn corner at the peak 6hour mark. I took him to the vet this morning which was zero help they told me to keep him on the 2 units which almost killed him so he hasn't had any insulin this morning. So I'm ready to take the reins and do his full care rather then pour my money down the drain on a zero care vet!
Few Questions =)
1. When should I test him after being checked at the vets his level was 18 at 8.30am
2. What is the ideal level range for him to be at and should I record this down and do a curve
3. The vets often wanted a sample to test urine is that for glucose and infection? is that something I can be doing at home also?
4. Would there be any recommendations for cleaning his teeth apart from chicken necks?

Anything else I've missed please add on more information the better as I'm ready!!

Thank you so much for your magical help
Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA)
Thanks Bron

While we're waiting for Bron ,I assume you are from Australia?
Can you set up what we call our signature and our Spreadsheet
Tap on the blue link
Here is the link so you can set up your signature and spreadsheet
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.

The signature is at the end of everyone's post in gray ,information about our cats
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Also almost all of us use human meters that's what our numbers are based on


Just to show you about the Spreadsheet
Don't be nervous about the spreadsheet
About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers



You can look at any members spreadsheet to see what it looks like, it's at the end of everyone's signature just tap on it
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to you both.
After a symptomatic hypo, cats are often very sensitive to insulin. I completely disagree with your vet about the dose. You definitely need to reduce the dose. Do you live in the US and are you using 1/2 unit syringes.?
I would reduce the dose to 1.5 units twice a day.
To answer your questions
When should I test him after being checked at the vets his level was 18 at 8.30am
Are you going to be hometesting the blood glucose? I would really recommend you do. If you don’t have a glucose meter, I would buy a human one. If you are in the US you can buy an inexpensive one at Walmart called the ReliOn premier. You will also need size 26 or 28 gauge lancets and some test strips and cotton balls to hold behind the ear to test.
The routine for testing is to test before you Feed and before you give any insulin in the morning and at night.
So test, feed, then give the insulin dose. Then you can test during the cycle to see how low the dose is taking Charlie.
I would test around +4 and +6….that is 4 hours and 6 hours after the dose is given.
After dropping so low, Charlie will most likely bounce up high so don’t be surprised if his BGs are high for a couple of days. Don’t increase the dose if you see those higher numbers.
What is the ideal level range for him to be at and should I record this down and do a curve
The ideal range iin a human meter is 50 to 120 or if you are in another country and I suspect you are because you are using world numbers…2.8 to 6.6
I would recommend you look at setting up one of our spreadsheets and enter the data so we can help you. I will give you the link below.
The vets often wanted a sample to test urine is that for glucose and infection? is that something I can be doing at home also?
If you are hometesting the BGs you don’t need to do a urine test for glucose. For infection you could drop off a urine to the vet. Is he showing any symptoms such as frequently?
Would there be any recommendations for cleaning his teeth apart from chicken necks?
I clean my cats teeth with a tooth brush but chicken necks do a reasonable job. There are also some things you can add to the water which are supposed to help. We can talk more about this later.
Here is the link to the spreadsheet, signature and other things.do you have a hypo kit set up?
HELP US HELP YOU
 
If you are using Optisulin you are probably in Australia. I live in Australia also
You won’t be able to get 1/2 unit syringes in Australia. Are you using a pen or syringes?
If you are using a pen, you will need to buy some syringes from a pharmacy or online. These are the syringes you will need:
U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes like these

upload_2023-9-25_15-6-59.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-9-25_15-6-59.jpeg
    upload_2023-9-25_15-6-59.jpeg
    41.7 KB · Views: 793
If you are using Optisulin you are probably in Australia. I live in Australia also
You won’t be able to get 1/2 unit syringes in Australia. Are you using a pen or syringes?
If you are using a pen, you will need to buy some syringes from a pharmacy or online. These are the syringes you will need:
U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes like these

View attachment 67674
yes in Australia and using those exact needles as felt they worked better then a pen =)
 
Hi and welcome to you both.
After a symptomatic hypo, cats are often very sensitive to insulin. I completely disagree with your vet about the dose. You definitely need to reduce the dose. Do you live in the US and are you using 1/2 unit syringes.?
I would reduce the dose to 1.5 units twice a day.
To answer your questions

Are you going to be hometesting the blood glucose? I would really recommend you do. If you don’t have a glucose meter, I would buy a human one. If you are in the US you can buy an inexpensive one at Walmart called the ReliOn premier. You will also need size 26 or 28 gauge lancets and some test strips and cotton balls to hold behind the ear to test.
The routine for testing is to test before you Feed and before you give any insulin in the morning and at night.
So test, feed, then give the insulin dose. Then you can test during the cycle to see how low the dose is taking Charlie.
I would test around +4 and +6….that is 4 hours and 6 hours after the dose is given.
After dropping so low, Charlie will most likely bounce up high so don’t be surprised if his BGs are high for a couple of days. Don’t increase the dose if you see those higher numbers.

The ideal range iin a human meter is 50 to 120 or if you are in another country and I suspect you are because you are using world numbers…2.8 to 6.6
I would recommend you look at setting up one of our spreadsheets and enter the data so we can help you. I will give you the link below.

If you are hometesting the BGs you don’t need to do a urine test for glucose. For infection you could drop off a urine to the vet. Is he showing any symptoms such as frequently?

I clean my cats teeth with a tooth brush but chicken necks do a reasonable job. There are also some things you can add to the water which are supposed to help. We can talk more about this later.
Here is the link to the spreadsheet, signature and other things.do you have a hypo kit set up?
HELP US HELP YOU

Yes ill definitely be doing home testing and everything else myself wont be going back to that clinic!
I usually give him insulin 2hours after feed is that still ok to do along with the testing? (sorry if dumb question I want to ensure I'm covering everything)
will definitely be setting up spreadsheet situation to keep track.
Urine hasn't increased and I can usually tell when that's happening as he was a crystal urine cat prior to this.

I reckon Charlie would let me with a baby tooth brush but will look into water options also

Tool kit list is happening right now!! As I had to do a mad dash to find high food for him.

thank you so soo soooo much
 
There are no dumb questions here except the one you do not ask!
The routine for giving Optisulin insulin and testing is test, feed, shoot…one after the other. You don’t wait to give the insulin for feeding with Optisulin. The only time you don’t follow that routine is when the preshot BG is too low to shot…then you test, stall, dont feed and then test again 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. And post and ask for help. Make sense?

Here is a link to using Optisulin. You will find it is also called glargine, Lantus and otero biosimilar insulins.
new to the group
Dosing methods


Do you have a glucose meter yet? I would not buy a pet meter if you haven’t got one yet. They are very expensive to run. A human meter is cheaper and you can buy the test strips on eBay. Abbott has a good meter called the freestyle Optium neo meter.
Here is a link to INFORMATION FOR AUSSIE CAREGIVERS
 
Just did his testing took half hour as we had to give him a break from being pricked. Tried all the tips of sock sweet spot light and still no luck.
But after many attempts we got a reading of 23.1 so very high hopefully it’s just because of his night last night and no insulin today.
I’ve given him 1 unit tonight, this journey is so emotionally draining I wish so much I could be a master for him.
 
Just did his testing took half hour as we had to give him a break from being pricked. Tried all the tips of sock sweet spot light and still no luck.
But after many attempts we got a reading of 23.1 so very high hopefully it’s just because of his night last night and no insulin today.
I’ve given him 1 unit tonight, this journey is so emotionally draining I wish so much I could be a master for him.
Well done with the testing. What meter are you using?
I’m not surprised with that high reading after the lows last night. He is most likely bouncing. Here is an explanation about bouncing.
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
By the way if you are going to try teeth cleaning make sure you get cat toothpaste as human toothpaste is toxic/poisonous for cats.
Try first by rubbing the teeth with a rag to get him used to having something in his mouth. Start off with very small amounts of time and reward him afterwards. It will take time.
 
Hiya I had amazing success this morning with testing!! So huge happy dance I did it solo with using the just the lancet in the sweet spot, his levels this morning was 20.7 so a little better than night before.

I’m using a contour next but have been told it’s an older style so will be looking at getting a new one.
I’ve found a beef toothpaste with a few brush options but trying not to go to nuts dealing with everything at once
 
Hiya I had amazing success this morning with testing!! So huge happy dance I did it solo with using the just the lancet in the sweet spot, his levels this morning was 20.7 so a little better than night before.

I’m using a contour next but have been told it’s an older style so will be looking at getting a new one.
I’ve found a beef toothpaste with a few brush options but trying not to go to nuts dealing with everything at once
Great! Would you like to set up a spreadsheet so we can see the data?
Try and get a test in about +5 or+6 so we can see how low the dose is taking Charlie. The dosing for optisulin is based on how low the dose takes the cat.
Is the beef toothpaste for cats and dogs?
 
I’m definitely going to set up spreadsheet :) I’ve been taking photos atm.
I’ll check those tomorrow as I’m home all day
It was saying for both dog and cat so want to research more on it all.
 
Waving from Canada. Welcome.

Rover had a hypo like the one Charlie had. It was very scary. We gave him a lot of corn syrup, called the ER vet and told them we were coming, then raced across town to the clinic.

Glad you were home to catch Charlie's hypo and glad you joined the forum. It is the best place you never thought you would ever be.
 
Waving from Canada. Welcome.

Rover had a hypo like the one Charlie had. It was very scary. We gave him a lot of corn syrup, called the ER vet and told them we were coming, then raced across town to the clinic.

Glad you were home to catch Charlie's hypo and glad you joined the forum. It is the best place you never thought you would ever be.
Hi yes I’m very excited to be guided by these magical people!! hypo was beyond scary no vets near me and the one he usually goes to are horrible with zero care, so I’m here taking the reins!!
 
Hi Bron and Sheba :) I’m not sure you will get this but I’ve just checked Charlie’s levels he is 7.5!!
So haven’t done his shot to be careful to throw him into another hypo
 
Yes that’s correct on shots.
I’ve only tested before meal and shot this morning and then tonight’s test
What would the cycle testing be over night?
Is that +6?
 
Yes that’s correct on shots.
I’ve only tested before meal and shot this morning and then tonight’s test
What would the cycle testing be over night?
Is that +6?
I would get a +4 and +6 and see what they were. If they were low you might need to test more. It if they were ok you would not need to test more.
Do you have some high carb food at home now? And honey?
 
I’ll have to set alarm as I’m yet to catch up from hypo night and hate for hypo to happen again:(
Yes have both still on the ready

so to ensure I don’t muddle it again it’s give him 1unit insulin then in 4hours check and then 6hours check.
If below 4BG give high carb/syrup?
 
I’ll have to set alarm as I’m yet to catch up from hypo night and hate for hypo to happen again:(
Yes have both still on the ready

so to ensure I don’t muddle it again it’s give him 1unit insulin then in 4hours check and then 6hours check.
If below 4BG give high carb/syrup?
Because we don’t have any BG data for Charlie ( we don’t know how low even the 1 unit is taking him at the moment) and he had the symptomatic hypo yesterday, and you fed him so the pre shot is food influenced…I would just give him 1/2 unit tonight BUT go back to 1 unit tomorrow and stay with the I unit unless he drops under 90 (5).
 
Given him 1/2 shot and will go back to 1 unit tomorrow and then will test the +4 and +6 after the test,feed,shoot in the morning.

I've just set up his spreadsheet with all data I have since the hypo =)
thank you so much again
 
Given him 1/2 shot and will go back to 1 unit tomorrow and then will test the +4 and +6 after the test,feed,shoot in the morning.

I've just set up his spreadsheet with all data I have since the hypo =)
thank you so much again
I would give him a snack of normal low carb food at +3 and +6.
The SS you have set up is the US SS. You need to set up the world one and it will automatically translate over to the US SS.
I have asked @Bandit's Mom to help you with the SS so she will be along at some point and she will do the transfer for you. She will contact you.
The preshot BG go into the AMPS and PMPS columns. Then the squares after that are the +1 to the +12 places you put the BGs.
So tonight you need to stack the 7.5 and the 9.8 in the PMPS column, not after it. Does that make sense?
 
Snack tomorrow or tonight I’m thinking tonight to be safe?

OMG I’m so sorry definitely feeling like I’m failing at every turn I thought I had clicked the right one :( thank you for sending the message for it to fix
Ah yes that makes sense how to enter
 
Snack tomorrow or tonight I’m thinking tonight to be safe?

OMG I’m so sorry definitely feeling like I’m failing at every turn I thought I had clicked the right one :( thank you for sending the message for it to fix
Ah yes that makes sense how to enter
I would give the snacks tonight and every cycle. Diabetic Cats need to be fed more than twice a day.
You are not failing…it is all new to you….when I joined, I couldn’t even set up my spreadsheet!
 
I've tested him today and at +3 and +6 those hadn't changed. Should I continue to test every 3hours or just wait for meal time?

Thanks again ladies =)
 
I was having a fight with the spreadsheet again lol hopefully Im back on it =)
He was the same at +3 and +6 and I've just checked at +9.15 which he is now 13.9 figured it wouldn’t hurt to do every 3hours today to get a good read
phew what a day of testing!!!
 
Every cat is different (ECID) bit cats often drop lower at night. Also he was probably high this morning because of the blue BGs last north. He probably isn’t used to the more normal num ears any more and his bouncing a bit…his body has to get used to more normal numbers again. Monitor tonight as he might go lower.
 
Or am I best to skip tonight check morning and do a curve 3/4hour test

Sorry to be a pain :( I need Learner plates
Charlie’s Mumma, please don’t stop asking questions! I’m brand new here too, and I’m learning so much. You are asking questions I haven’t thought of yet, and I get to learn along. The awesome, knowledgeable, welcoming people on this board have already helped me immensely. First, if you’re like me, you’re numb when you hear the diagnosis, then you panic at so much to learn especially when you get to the part you read about (or experience!) hypoglycemia, and googling to find answers (which only leads to more confusion and overload), and finally, you stumble here. Refugee finds haven! You will find hope, knowledge, and how to cope with it all. It’s marvelous.
 
Thank you for those beautiful words. Yes it’s been a huge learning curve and loads of anxiety of trying to do best for fur babies but I think after 2weeks of intense learning on the fly feeling less overwhelmed each day. The people here are beyond amazing and Mr Charlie wouldn’t be here that’s for sure
Hope your journey is going well also and your babies are thriving
 
Hi Ally, Are you able to get any tests in during the cycles?With the preshots all the colours of the rainbow and at other times you are skipping the dose, I am guessing Charlie is dropping low during the cycles.
If you can get a before bed test in each night and during the day, try and get a test in at some point. Is that doable?
 
Hey Bron :) Will up testing this week to try figure where he sits in between shots, he is getting semi better with it even came and sat with me at the time although I think that was for his treat the testing is still in testing stages of normality:/
Have been focusing on offering him little bits of pate through the day and he seems much more eager for food lately too which he hadnt been. Hopefully on the less rocky road with this journey for Charlie
 
Hi Ally, if you could get a few more consistent tests in during the cycles, that will tell us a lot more about what is happening with the dose:)
Any time during the cycles is OK if that is all you can manage, although the times from +3 to +7 will tell us more.
 
Awesome will definitely do those times over the next few days to gauge where he is at with it all. One more to go today his +3 and his PM shot were exactly the same very interesting.

thank you again Bron and watch this space/sheet
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top