newbie Louie +9 BG 168~ 11/4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Louieorangetabby

Member Since 2011
I'm relieved to see Louie's levels go down since last weeks crazy high numbers with the high doses (vet prescribed). It has been quite a journey these first days as newbies! thanks for the support!
Tracy & Louie
 
Re: newbie Louie 11/4 AMPS 178

Hi guys .. nice looking number this morning louie! And that 48 :o bet that surprised you :lol: Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: newbie Louie 11/4 AMPS 178

Great start for Louie! You are really getting the hang of things. Hopefully you can do a full curve (every 2 - 3 hours for 12 hours) soon and get an idea of Louie's pattern. That will ease your mind a lot. Then you will be able to tell for the most part where he is headed based on your preshots and +2 or +4.

Have a wonderful day Tracy!!
 
Re: newbie Louie 11/4 AMPS 178

Louie is looking gooooooooodddddddd! :-D
wow on the 48 yesterday! Now you see the importance of the mid-cycle tests. I hope you can get that curve this weekend.
 
Re: newbie Louie LO at lunchtime +6 test

So glad I came home at lunch to test Louie....freaked out to see LO reading on monitor! He scarfed up a big lunch and I even gave him a teaspoon of some higher carb tender nibbles I had on hand. I'm worried~ off to pick up some Keytone test strips. Every time I think I'm kind of understanding this, I get the rug pulled out from under my feet!
Louie is moving slower than usual but still hungry and responsive....he was outside to greet me when I drove home today.
I'll test in a couple hours~
Tracy & Louie
 
Re: newbie Louie 11/4 AMPS 178

Please re-test ASAP. It may have been a wonky reading. If it's accurate, the reading is under 20. That's too low to leave Louie alone. I'm at work and can't hang out with you. This could be a dangerous situation which is why we're urging you to re-test.
 
Re: newbie Louie 11/4 AMPS 178

tracy, just so you know, anything under 50 requires staying with the kitty, giving them high carbs and retesting every 15-20 minutes or so. hopefully you saw Sue's response, but if not, hopefully Louie was safe with what you gave him.

the concern is that when we pull up BG with high carbs they can wobble and go back down after a little while. you have to ensure that they are safely past their nadir and going to stay above 50. A lo is something under 30, which is serious.

before you shoot tonight, please post and ask for advice. this dose is too high, and i can see you had a 48 yesterday & reduced from it. we don't want louie to have a crisis - he needs much less insulin.

btw, always edit the subject line of your first post of the day - that is the subject line that's visible from the Lantus forum and people will monitor that forum page to see if anyone needs help.

if you see this, can you get a test the second you walk in the door at home? or if anyone is home now, have them test him? then post back here so we don't worry.
 
Re: newbie Louie 11/4 AMPS 178

Is there someone online who can walk her through this Sienne? I have done hypos but not with Lantus.

I caught Tracey with a pm before she left.
 
Re: newbie Louie 11/4 AMPS 178

When you get a reading of "LO" re-test immediately to make sure it isn't a fluke.
If it is for real, you should IMMEDIATELY rub karo on the gums and feed some HC gravy mixed with karo - and retest every 15 minn until the BG is at 50.
 
Re: newbie Louie up to 198

Thanks everyone! Just tested Louie and he's up to 198. I'll keep testing and monitoring....not leaving him this afternoon!
Tracy & Louie
 
Re: newbie Louie up to 198

thanks for updating us! we do look out for each other and you got everyone to stand up and pay attention with that LO!

hope you have a good afternoon.

ps, you do still need help with the dose, even though he's up nicely now.
 
Re: newbie Louie up to 198

Thanks everyone! I'll be testing him again and posting~ ready to reduce insulin dose according to his readings in the next hours!
I'm getting how responsive everyone is here!
Tracy & Louie
 
Re: newbie Louie up to 198

:-D heehee - you can see sienne & sandy check from work and many people keep on eye on the forum. except in the middle of the night there's usually someone on.

can you tell us what you did that got him up to 198? when you got the LO, you gave him a big lunch (how much?) of what kind of food? and a teaspoon of higher carb tender nibbles - not sure what that is. is that a dry food?

it's only just now been one hour since you posted - how long was it from the LO to the 198, and what + was the LO?

the freestyle lite is what i use too - it's a good one. i thought maybe you had an off-brand meter and we could doubt the LO, but probably not. although you can get individual strips that are bad, so if you get a number that makes you :o always retest immediately with a new strip.
 
I'm relieved to see Louie's 168 +9 reading. He seems much more himself. I'll test again in 2 hours to see about his dose tonight~
He ate a can of FF tender beef plus a little more at lunch after that LO reading. Gave him tender nibbles wet food (with gravy~ more high carb) because I was so freaked out by the LO reading. He was not looking all that great either~I will indeed check again if I get a reading like that. But since he went down to 48 yesterday mid day, I am getting that the insulin needs to be reduced.
Louie is off all dry food after a difficult week of transitioning! All the other kitties (4) are trying to adjust and show up more often for food since the free-feeding dry food is gone! I realize that I never really knew how much they ate on a day to day basis! big wake up call~
thanks for the concern today folks~
Tracy & Louie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top