Susie and Elian
Member Since 2013
Hi - I'm Susie....mom to Elian, my handsome tuxedo sugar boy, K.C. tiger kitty, Justin tiger kitty and Remy - all black. I'm quite the chit chatter so it isn't easy for me to keep posts short but I'll try! But just to give some history: Elian was diagnosed December 16th. Initial BG was 461 and vet wanted to immediately start him on insulin. But then he got the fructosamine results back - 1.20, which is in the acceptable range. The vet wanted to take a few weeks and see if Elian could go into remission with just a diet change. The only problem was that I hadn't begun to research and learn yet and listened to him when he prescribed Purina DM canned and dry first, which none of my four boys would eat, and then Royal Canin wet and dry, which they all loved. (Chose to change all four of my boys at the same time.) STRIKE ONE For Dr. F.
Once I learned about dry food being nothing more than "kitty crack" I immediately took them all off and wanted to return the unused dry only to have the receptionist tell me that I need to stop reading the internet and listening to other people and that dry food is necessary - especially since many people work and can't be home to give canned food - it's more convenient. On another visit she told me that our generation of cats don't know from being carnivores, etc. and said to me "oh yeah, you're the one that's always on the internet. You need to stop." Additionally she told me that home glucose testing is torture for cats and there was no need for me to do it. Only people need to test. STRIKE TWO for Dr. F AND his office staff.
Well after two weeks of Elian getting more and more sluggish, hiding, eating and drinking like crazy and peeing outside the litter box I took him in this past tuesday and insisted that he be started on insulin. They kept him there for the day and when I picked him up they informed me that they STARTED him on 3 units of Lantus and were prescribing that just once per day. Everything I've read says to start low and go slow. Everything says to start at 1 unit twice per day. STRIKE THREE and you're out.
Thanks to my friend Caryl who posts here she informed me that he could've been overdosed, alerted me to how wrong the vet is in his treatment and introduced me to this board. I immediately interviewed another vet who not only is familiar with tight regulation protocol but practices it in both her practice and on her own diabetic cat. I was so relieved. And the best part is that she is now a part of my former vet's office who I absolutely adore and am very friendly with! I didn't go to her for this because she is actually more of a dog specialist (acupuncture, rehab, chiropractic, holistic - love her!) but had this cat specialist join her practice just recently. I am so relieved!
So with all of this said you will probably see me posting quite a bit because I am just at the beginning of the journey. Right now Elian's numbers are very high - but it's only been 3 days.The new vet said we will probably have to up him .5 after his first visit next week. I printed out a spread sheet but haven't figured out how to attach one here. Or how to add Elian's picture to my profile - it keeps telling me my picture is too large. :cry:
Once I learned about dry food being nothing more than "kitty crack" I immediately took them all off and wanted to return the unused dry only to have the receptionist tell me that I need to stop reading the internet and listening to other people and that dry food is necessary - especially since many people work and can't be home to give canned food - it's more convenient. On another visit she told me that our generation of cats don't know from being carnivores, etc. and said to me "oh yeah, you're the one that's always on the internet. You need to stop." Additionally she told me that home glucose testing is torture for cats and there was no need for me to do it. Only people need to test. STRIKE TWO for Dr. F AND his office staff.
Well after two weeks of Elian getting more and more sluggish, hiding, eating and drinking like crazy and peeing outside the litter box I took him in this past tuesday and insisted that he be started on insulin. They kept him there for the day and when I picked him up they informed me that they STARTED him on 3 units of Lantus and were prescribing that just once per day. Everything I've read says to start low and go slow. Everything says to start at 1 unit twice per day. STRIKE THREE and you're out.
Thanks to my friend Caryl who posts here she informed me that he could've been overdosed, alerted me to how wrong the vet is in his treatment and introduced me to this board. I immediately interviewed another vet who not only is familiar with tight regulation protocol but practices it in both her practice and on her own diabetic cat. I was so relieved. And the best part is that she is now a part of my former vet's office who I absolutely adore and am very friendly with! I didn't go to her for this because she is actually more of a dog specialist (acupuncture, rehab, chiropractic, holistic - love her!) but had this cat specialist join her practice just recently. I am so relieved!
So with all of this said you will probably see me posting quite a bit because I am just at the beginning of the journey. Right now Elian's numbers are very high - but it's only been 3 days.The new vet said we will probably have to up him .5 after his first visit next week. I printed out a spread sheet but haven't figured out how to attach one here. Or how to add Elian's picture to my profile - it keeps telling me my picture is too large. :cry: