Newbie Introduction!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
Hi - I'm Susie....mom to Elian, my handsome tuxedo sugar boy, K.C. tiger kitty, Justin tiger kitty and Remy - all black. I'm quite the chit chatter so it isn't easy for me to keep posts short but I'll try! But just to give some history: Elian was diagnosed December 16th. Initial BG was 461 and vet wanted to immediately start him on insulin. But then he got the fructosamine results back - 1.20, which is in the acceptable range. The vet wanted to take a few weeks and see if Elian could go into remission with just a diet change. The only problem was that I hadn't begun to research and learn yet and listened to him when he prescribed Purina DM canned and dry first, which none of my four boys would eat, and then Royal Canin wet and dry, which they all loved. (Chose to change all four of my boys at the same time.) STRIKE ONE For Dr. F.

Once I learned about dry food being nothing more than "kitty crack" I immediately took them all off and wanted to return the unused dry only to have the receptionist tell me that I need to stop reading the internet and listening to other people and that dry food is necessary - especially since many people work and can't be home to give canned food - it's more convenient. On another visit she told me that our generation of cats don't know from being carnivores, etc. and said to me "oh yeah, you're the one that's always on the internet. You need to stop." Additionally she told me that home glucose testing is torture for cats and there was no need for me to do it. Only people need to test. STRIKE TWO for Dr. F AND his office staff.

Well after two weeks of Elian getting more and more sluggish, hiding, eating and drinking like crazy and peeing outside the litter box I took him in this past tuesday and insisted that he be started on insulin. They kept him there for the day and when I picked him up they informed me that they STARTED him on 3 units of Lantus and were prescribing that just once per day. Everything I've read says to start low and go slow. Everything says to start at 1 unit twice per day. STRIKE THREE and you're out.

Thanks to my friend Caryl who posts here she informed me that he could've been overdosed, alerted me to how wrong the vet is in his treatment and introduced me to this board. I immediately interviewed another vet who not only is familiar with tight regulation protocol but practices it in both her practice and on her own diabetic cat. I was so relieved. And the best part is that she is now a part of my former vet's office who I absolutely adore and am very friendly with! I didn't go to her for this because she is actually more of a dog specialist (acupuncture, rehab, chiropractic, holistic - love her!) but had this cat specialist join her practice just recently. I am so relieved!

So with all of this said you will probably see me posting quite a bit because I am just at the beginning of the journey. Right now Elian's numbers are very high - but it's only been 3 days.The new vet said we will probably have to up him .5 after his first visit next week. I printed out a spread sheet but haven't figured out how to attach one here. Or how to add Elian's picture to my profile - it keeps telling me my picture is too large. :cry:
 
The spreadsheet instructions are here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130 The last post in that thread tells you how to upload the spreadsheet file to Google and how to publish your spreadsheet to share with others.

Instructions to create a profile is here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=79123 The profile here in User Control Panel doesn't hold much info so it's best to create a profile ion Google and just put the link to it in your signature :smile:

Glad you found a new vet who will treat your diabetic cat the right way :smile:

Lantus is a good insulin to use. Be sure to read the info stickies at the top of the Lantus group to understand how the insulin works for cats: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9
 
Hey there, welcome to the board! Sounds like you have a good vet now so I am looking forward to hearing more about you and Elian, and seeing posts from you.

Please check out the links squeem provided, ideally since it looks like you will be on the tight regulation protocol, and since that forum is the most watched by experts, we would like you to visit there, read the stickies and start posting!

I am assuming you have Elian on lantus and are home testing?
 
Hi. Thanks so much for the welcome my friend Caryl and her baby Alex told me how wonderful, knowledgeable and helpful everybody is here. Can't wait to get to know you all.

Yes Elian is on Lantus and yes I am home testing - today is only day 4. While I can tell he's beginning to feel better his numbers are still high. But we are taking it slow and he will meet with his new dr. this coming week. I went and met with her alone - didnt want to stress him with another outing so soon. But I'm guessing he's gonna like the cute, blonde doc much better than the somewhat old guy! Haha!
 
Thank you for the welcome - I did find my way here.....its just a matter of finding the time to figure how to maneuver around here! I keep hearing about starting a condo but don't know how. I just tried setting up a spreadsheet - have to see if the link is attached when I finalize this post! I still don't know how to put a picture of Elian on here so you can see my handsome man and will have to find time to add detailed profile information!
 
Your SS link is almost there.. Just go into your signature and delete the .eliansspreadsheet from the end of the link so it finishes in "=html" and it will work.

A "condo" is just another word for "topic".
So you go to the lantus forum and start a new topic every day.
In that post you create a subject line with the date, your cats name and its BG levels ie 1/13 Elian AMPS 343 .
Then in the body of the post you give us a short update on how he is doing and a link to the prior days "condo".
Pop over to the forum and you can see how people do it.


To add your picture.. Go into the user control panel, go into profile. Choose edit avatar and you can upload from there.
 
Susie and Elian said:
I just tried setting up a spreadsheet - have to see if the link is attached when I finalize this post!

There's an error message when one clicks on your SS link.

As Wendy pointed out, you need to remove the .Elian%27sSpreadsheet from the end of your link. The link to your SS is https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0AhIOidNt1e1tdFhUeTZYRkRaeTdnenctaVJDVG5uRHc&output=html

I think maybe you were trying to shorten the link by making a text link. Use this instead:

Code:
[url=https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0AhIOidNt1e1tdFhUeTZYRkRaeTdnenctaVJDVG5uRHc&output=html]Elian's Spreadsheet[/url]

Elian's Spreadsheet

I still don't know how to put a picture of Elian on here so you can see my handsome man and will have to find time to add detailed profile information!

If the picture is in an online photo album, you can just copy the URl of the picture and put it into a post here using the Img button that is above the message text box.

If the picture is on your computer, you can attach it to a post here like you would with an email message. When you create a new post or reply to one, at the bottom of the page is a box where you can attach a file from your computer.

A "condo" is just a new thread :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top