will and shishi
Member Since 2010
Hello FDMB members
Its great to be here, and I would like to thank you ahead for your time. I am new here and open to suggestions.
I adopted Shishi when she was 3 months old at a shelter. Shes a Grey and white DSH now at 10 years old, spayed and weighs at 13lbs. Free fed since adopted, but diet changed when diagnosed with diabetes.
She was diagnosed with diabetes on Feb 01 2010, and she has been on lantus since. Her diet is hills prescription m/d wet 1/2 can 2x daily, and hills prescription m/d dry 1/8 cup 2x daily. Number of meals in a day is 4.
She gets injections 2x daily with wet food, and is currently on 4 units. She is on lantus u-100 and I use u-100 needles. She gets injections at the back between shoulder blades.
Im not sure if you want me to convert to mg/dl for FDMB but all of my equipment is in mmol/l and I'm used to mmol/l up here in Canada.
At the time of diagnosis, she had PO and PU and neuropathy, she was on 1 unit of lantus, 2x daily. Pre injection BG was all over the place 6 - 18 mmol/l, About a month down the road (March 2010) Pre injection BG was more steady 5.5 - 9 mmol/l and the vet and I established that 1unit is the right dose for shishi. PO and PU and neuropathy was under control at this time.
Cost is a issue with test strips. During March we decided we would test BG every 4 days instead of 2-4x a day. Everything was fine until end of March when her preshot BG is around 11-19 mmol/l
From then it was increased to 2 units and still preshot BG is around 11-19 mmol/l.
2 weeks later it was increased to 3 units and same story. At this time we thought it might be somogyi rebound, took her off lantus for 4 days.
Preshot BG during the 4 days with no lantus was around 15-19 mmol/l, she was then put back on 1 unit and monitored closely. Preshot BG with 1 unit was 15-19mmol/l, we estabilshed she was not on rebound. I also used a new bottle of insulin to rule out possible insulin contamination.
As the weeks went by, increasing 1 unit every 2 or 3 weeks, she was eventually put on 6 units of lantus, and sometimes there are wild swings in BG, but they never last for long. And the trend of 16-21mmol/l pre injection kept coming.
Somewhere around June she started to exibit PO and PU, and we tested urine for concentration, it was less than normal. Antibiotics were given because of hints of a kidney infection. I could not afford the ultrasound.
Antibiotics were given for 6 weeks and urine tested again, and it was just enough to be concentrated. Her kidney infection seems to be the right diagnosis. But PO and PU still evident even when urine is concentrated.
A month later her urine is not concentrated again. Vet advised it was a kidney infection again, but wants to wait a bit to give antibiotics.
Around End of July we tried to see if it was rebound again, and we stopped insulin for 1 week. During this week the same deal happened. Pre injection BG was 15-21mmol/l, but this time she would start to not eat, and I can see neuropathy setting in, and lethargy was present.
I took her to the vet and had her urine done to make sure there are no ketones, I was assured by the vets that stopping 1 week of insulin was not going to induce ketoacidosis. She tested negative for ketones, which was reassuring. She has never tested positive for ketones ever.
So we started her on 1 unit of lantus again, and monitored closely curves were done and Preshot BG is around 18-21. Somogyi was again ruled out, Shishi started to feel better and was eating and neuropathy and lethargy subsided. we explored the possibility of poor injecting technique, and I brought all my equipment and did it in front of 2 technicians at the vet. My technique was good.
So as the weeks went by,increasing by 1 unit every 2 weeks. slowly increasing to 5 units now, and here we are today. Still unregulated and still PU and PO but no neuropathy and no lethargy. The game plan is now to have her go up to 10 units slowly, hoping we wont get there.
And this is why I have came to you guys for help. To see if you have any other advice or to tell me if this is normal, or what my other options are so I can better ask my vet. So I thank you all again for your time and advice.
Its great to be here, and I would like to thank you ahead for your time. I am new here and open to suggestions.
I adopted Shishi when she was 3 months old at a shelter. Shes a Grey and white DSH now at 10 years old, spayed and weighs at 13lbs. Free fed since adopted, but diet changed when diagnosed with diabetes.
She was diagnosed with diabetes on Feb 01 2010, and she has been on lantus since. Her diet is hills prescription m/d wet 1/2 can 2x daily, and hills prescription m/d dry 1/8 cup 2x daily. Number of meals in a day is 4.
She gets injections 2x daily with wet food, and is currently on 4 units. She is on lantus u-100 and I use u-100 needles. She gets injections at the back between shoulder blades.
Im not sure if you want me to convert to mg/dl for FDMB but all of my equipment is in mmol/l and I'm used to mmol/l up here in Canada.
At the time of diagnosis, she had PO and PU and neuropathy, she was on 1 unit of lantus, 2x daily. Pre injection BG was all over the place 6 - 18 mmol/l, About a month down the road (March 2010) Pre injection BG was more steady 5.5 - 9 mmol/l and the vet and I established that 1unit is the right dose for shishi. PO and PU and neuropathy was under control at this time.
Cost is a issue with test strips. During March we decided we would test BG every 4 days instead of 2-4x a day. Everything was fine until end of March when her preshot BG is around 11-19 mmol/l
From then it was increased to 2 units and still preshot BG is around 11-19 mmol/l.
2 weeks later it was increased to 3 units and same story. At this time we thought it might be somogyi rebound, took her off lantus for 4 days.
Preshot BG during the 4 days with no lantus was around 15-19 mmol/l, she was then put back on 1 unit and monitored closely. Preshot BG with 1 unit was 15-19mmol/l, we estabilshed she was not on rebound. I also used a new bottle of insulin to rule out possible insulin contamination.
As the weeks went by, increasing 1 unit every 2 or 3 weeks, she was eventually put on 6 units of lantus, and sometimes there are wild swings in BG, but they never last for long. And the trend of 16-21mmol/l pre injection kept coming.
Somewhere around June she started to exibit PO and PU, and we tested urine for concentration, it was less than normal. Antibiotics were given because of hints of a kidney infection. I could not afford the ultrasound.
Antibiotics were given for 6 weeks and urine tested again, and it was just enough to be concentrated. Her kidney infection seems to be the right diagnosis. But PO and PU still evident even when urine is concentrated.
A month later her urine is not concentrated again. Vet advised it was a kidney infection again, but wants to wait a bit to give antibiotics.
Around End of July we tried to see if it was rebound again, and we stopped insulin for 1 week. During this week the same deal happened. Pre injection BG was 15-21mmol/l, but this time she would start to not eat, and I can see neuropathy setting in, and lethargy was present.
I took her to the vet and had her urine done to make sure there are no ketones, I was assured by the vets that stopping 1 week of insulin was not going to induce ketoacidosis. She tested negative for ketones, which was reassuring. She has never tested positive for ketones ever.
So we started her on 1 unit of lantus again, and monitored closely curves were done and Preshot BG is around 18-21. Somogyi was again ruled out, Shishi started to feel better and was eating and neuropathy and lethargy subsided. we explored the possibility of poor injecting technique, and I brought all my equipment and did it in front of 2 technicians at the vet. My technique was good.
So as the weeks went by,increasing by 1 unit every 2 weeks. slowly increasing to 5 units now, and here we are today. Still unregulated and still PU and PO but no neuropathy and no lethargy. The game plan is now to have her go up to 10 units slowly, hoping we wont get there.
And this is why I have came to you guys for help. To see if you have any other advice or to tell me if this is normal, or what my other options are so I can better ask my vet. So I thank you all again for your time and advice.