Newbie in Town

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoyceOlive

Member Since 2014
Hi,my cats name is Whitey and he was diagnosed with diabetes mellitus last month.I joined this site shortly after and it has been extremely helpful to me.whitey was reading in the upper 300 range at the vets and he prescribed lantus ,high carb science diet,no home testing etc. When we tried to fill scrip it was 267 dollars at Walmart! We decided against and I started him on extreme diet change instead, to all canned low carb,crammed my brain full of as much info as I could,bought a human meter and started home testing also.Vet was not happy and I said I would get back to him.I also got some ketodiastix and caught his urine,he had no ketones but had the highest reading for glucose.I was still so worried that I was depriving him of getting better by diet change alone with no insulin,so I FINIALLY called vet and we decided to start him on prozinc three days ago.He was still in the high 300 range when we started and I was so tickled to get a BG reading of 180 yesterday mid cycle and today his urine came down halfway on the strip to green instead of dark brown!I am so glad I did the right thing and started the insulin shots,but I only am testing once a day mid cycle.He is getting 1 unit every 12 hours,should I really be testing in the am before I feed and shoot, I always let him eat and wait about 20 minutes?And can't I handle doing a curve when time comes?
 
Welcome to you and Whitey!

You definitely want to test before each shot, before eating. His numbers seem to be going down so you want to catch a lower than expected preshot if you get one, so you can lower the dose. The midcycle number is also important, to see how the insulin is working - how low it is taking him. And yes, no hurry for a curve. Just get numbers as you can so you get a clearer picture of how he is adjusting to the diet, the insulin and the dose.

We have put together a protocol for ProZinc:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077
 
Thank you for such prompt feedback,you people here are so wonderful.I will try to start to pretest tomorrow before shot..he will not be happy,I have 6 cats and they are all sooo hungry for their breakfast right when I get up,can't even get my coffee,lol.I also started a SS on a Google sheets app for my iPad.I feel bad that I have kind of kicked my vet to the curb,but I already paid him over 400 last month for extensive tests,and my other kitties need some things done also,they all had exams and shots the month before, and hubby is layed off right now.So I thought maybe I could do the curve in a couple weeks and perhaps let him do a fructosamine test later.I don't want to do anything that is too costly for awhile.loving this forum!
 
Thanks for info on SS, I will have to try on my laptop tomorrow..seems like it won't cooperate on my iPad,I had tried that link the other day and it would not work then either,so I went to App Store and got Google sheets app for free and just created an SS.But I checked out the color coded ones that you people are using and really want to do one like that, but wonder if anyone else has problem on iPad with it.I like the fact that they can be shared with others for help and feedback.
 
Yes I did install Google drive first,then sheets...on iPad.I also tried to upload a picture of Whitey and it wouldn't go thru either,so will try to on laptop later today,my husband is more computer savvy than me and he can assist.Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top