Newbie~ High keytones~ dosing? help appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Louieorangetabby

Member Since 2011
We're new to this! now in week 2. The vet told me that Louie had high keytones when he first diagnosed him, and suggested a 2 day treatment for $300 flushing out the keytones? not sure~ I decided against it since I could not afford it with all the other expenses to support a diabetic kitty~
as you can see by Louie's SS, the vet put him on high doses of insulin (Lantus), and then I found this community and reduced him back to 1 unit.....day two off the big doses and the lowest BG ever of 48. The vet told me to call the clinic if his levels were below 60.
this is still all so new to me~
any insights?~
should I be worried and increase Louie by a small amount when this happens? Just started taking a mid day test to see the nadir levels yesterday.
this is where I've been worried about the keytone issue, but I know nothing about it...I was concerned that this could harm Louie if I'm missing something important~
thanks,
Tracy
 
Louieorangetabby said:
We're new to this! now in week 2. The vet told me that Louie had high keytones when he first diagnosed him, and suggested a 2 day treatment for $300 flushing out the keytones? not sure~ I decided against it since I could not afford it with all the other expenses to support a diabetic kitty~
as you can see by Louie's SS, the vet put him on high doses of insulin (Lantus), and then I found this community and reduced him back to 1 unit.....day two off the big doses and the lowest BG ever of 48. The vet told me to call the clinic if his levels were below 60.
this is still all so new to me~
any insights?~
should I be worried and increase Louie by a small amount when this happens? Just started taking a mid day test to see the nadir levels yesterday.
this is where I've been worried about the keytone issue, but I know nothing about it...I was concerned that this could harm Louie if I'm missing something important~
thanks,
Tracy

Hi Tracy! Welcome.

Although I was wondering if you meant to post here in the Levemir forum. Not that you can't post here (there are some Lantus users here too) except that I see that you have already been posting on the Lantus forum and getting help there.

So I just wanted to confirm if this is where you wanted to post. It gets confusing to those giving you help if someone has multiple posts on different forums is all.
 
I'm SO new here and just learning about this online community! I meant to post in Lantus~ but thanks for the welcome!

Tracy
 
Hi Tracy,

Sorry I missed your PM earlier today. Looked at your spreadsheet....lovely numbers your getting off the dose reduction. BTW Musette was dxed with DKA and Diabetes in the same breath before I adopted her. One thing if no one as suggested it to you yet is testing for ketones at home. You can get Ketostixs in the pharmancy to test Louie's pee for ketones. I doubt though that you are going to have to worry too much about them now that his numbers are coming down nicely and he is eating well. They get dangerous when BGs are high, and kitty isn't eating well or drinking well.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top