Louieorangetabby
Member Since 2011
We're new to this! now in week 2. The vet told me that Louie had high keytones when he first diagnosed him, and suggested a 2 day treatment for $300 flushing out the keytones? not sure~ I decided against it since I could not afford it with all the other expenses to support a diabetic kitty~
as you can see by Louie's SS, the vet put him on high doses of insulin (Lantus), and then I found this community and reduced him back to 1 unit.....day two off the big doses and the lowest BG ever of 48. The vet told me to call the clinic if his levels were below 60.
this is still all so new to me~
any insights?~
should I be worried and increase Louie by a small amount when this happens? Just started taking a mid day test to see the nadir levels yesterday.
this is where I've been worried about the keytone issue, but I know nothing about it...I was concerned that this could harm Louie if I'm missing something important~
thanks,
Tracy
as you can see by Louie's SS, the vet put him on high doses of insulin (Lantus), and then I found this community and reduced him back to 1 unit.....day two off the big doses and the lowest BG ever of 48. The vet told me to call the clinic if his levels were below 60.
this is still all so new to me~
any insights?~
should I be worried and increase Louie by a small amount when this happens? Just started taking a mid day test to see the nadir levels yesterday.
this is where I've been worried about the keytone issue, but I know nothing about it...I was concerned that this could harm Louie if I'm missing something important~
thanks,
Tracy