luna1234
Member Since 2014
Hi everyone!
I'm Crescent, still figuring out how to care for my 13-year-old tuxedo male named Zeus, who was diagnosed about a month ago. I've learned an awful lot by reading the material here and lurking on the boards - thanks for being a great resource even before I ask any specific questions!
So, I've switched over to low-carb wet food, have pretty much gotten the hang of BG testing, and am working with Lantus low and slow /relaxed protocol and am up to 2 units BID. Over the last few days I've been able to run more mid-cycle tests due to the snowstorm/weekend, and his +6h nadir tests are varying pretty widely from 94 to 280. Last night the PMPS was 141 so I fed, tested a couple hours later and he was up to 227, so I gave a half dose (1u.)
My sense is to stick at the same 2.0 dose (assuming a safe pre-shot test number), gather more data, and see if his numbers settle down a bit. But I'd love to get a sanity check from folks with more experience on this path! Spreadsheet link should be in my signature.
Thanks,
Crescent
I'm Crescent, still figuring out how to care for my 13-year-old tuxedo male named Zeus, who was diagnosed about a month ago. I've learned an awful lot by reading the material here and lurking on the boards - thanks for being a great resource even before I ask any specific questions!
So, I've switched over to low-carb wet food, have pretty much gotten the hang of BG testing, and am working with Lantus low and slow /relaxed protocol and am up to 2 units BID. Over the last few days I've been able to run more mid-cycle tests due to the snowstorm/weekend, and his +6h nadir tests are varying pretty widely from 94 to 280. Last night the PMPS was 141 so I fed, tested a couple hours later and he was up to 227, so I gave a half dose (1u.)
My sense is to stick at the same 2.0 dose (assuming a safe pre-shot test number), gather more data, and see if his numbers settle down a bit. But I'd love to get a sanity check from folks with more experience on this path! Spreadsheet link should be in my signature.
Thanks,
Crescent