Newbie Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose2192

Member Since 2016
Hello everyone!

I'm new to the group since I have a newly diagnosed (1.5 weeks ago) kitty.

So a bit of background. My Sammy is 14.5 years old. At 2 years old he almost died from Urinary Crystals. A full week at the vets and a script for Science Diet C/D food and I've had a healthy cat. Until now.

A couple of weeks ago I thought to myself "Is he losing weight?". Then the food begging started. I couldn't really tell with the water since he's always drank a ton of water since being on the SD C/D food. Fast forward to week before last and I was on vacation from work. So I made a vet appointment for Sammy. All they had open was that Tuesday. But on Monday morning, I caught him peeing out of his litter box. Always a cause for alarm in a kitty that never does that. Last time was 12 years ago. I called and they said to bring him right in and leave him and let them do some testing.

Diagnosis: Diabetes and a UTI. So that Friday (yes, it took that long, I was a bit irritated. No test results until late Tuesday then they had to order the insulin), I received my lessons on shots. Saturday morning was my first shot and it was a nightmare. Since then both Sammy and I have gotten better. He hates the liquid UTI meds way more than the shots. We were prescribed Royal Canin Glycobalance, which is for Diabetes as well as being an S/O food, which is the same as the C/D food.

My question is feeding. I also have a 4 year old cat in the house, Frankie. I've always been a free feeder. However, I'm finding that after Sammy's shot, when I give him the wet food, he basically only drinks the liquids out of it. I am also giving him the Fancy Feast all chicken treats. They are little bits of flattened chicken in a small pouch. They contain nothing else and it's a small portion. The reason for that is if I put that in the food, he'll eat more.

So here is the question. I generally get home around 5pm and I give him his shot at around 8pm. If I take the food up when I get home, possibly he will eat more? I know he needs to eat a decent meal after his shot. He is eating normally during the day (finally!) and no longer running to the kitchen if he thinks there is a possibility of any food being eaten by his humans.

Thank you! I know it was a long read but I'm very concerned about the evening feeding after the shot.
 
We have a very successful protocol. We use a slow acting, long lasting insulin like Lantus, Levemir or ProZinc. We test at home so we know wheat dose is safe to give and how the insulin is working. And we feed wet low carb food. A vet explains why it is best here: www.catinfo.org. She also has a food chart so you can give him food between 8-10 % carbs and below. Lots of use feed Fancy Feast classics. You can add warm water to it and make a gravy so he likes the texture. BUT learn to home test and be confident doing it before you switch to a lower carb. It can drastically reduce the blood glucose levels in some cats. We can teach you how to do it.

What insulin are you using? (With some, it is important that he eat before the shot. With others, you can shoot while he is eating.).
 
I am using Vetsulin 40 units, 2 cc's once a day. Thanks for your response. There is so much information here at this site!
 
I think you mean 2 units twice a day. Are you home testing? We recommend you to test, especially if there is a food change in progress. Infection also raises the blood sugar so another reason to be testing as treating the infection does bring the glucose levels down. Most people test using a cheap human meter, if you are in the US a lot of people use the Relion brand from Walmart. You need a meter which takes a small amount of blood and with cheap strips as they will be one of your biggest expenses. With vetsulin it is important that the cat eat before the shot as it can drop the blood glucose quite quickly. The routine is test, feed, shoot. The pre meal test needs to be when he is without food for at least 2 hours.

How much does Sammy weigh and what should he weigh?
Does he have any other health problems?
How is he otherwise? Drinking, Peeing? Pooping?

When cats are unregulated they tend to be hungry as the body can't use the food properly and some cats are very stubborn about food changes but it can be done, gradually adding more of the new to the old.

When you have a chance can you add information to your signature so we don't ask the same questions over and over.

Have a read of the various sticky threads on the board, they are full of useful information and come back to us with any questions.

Welcome to the board!
 
I'll talk to the vet when he gets retested about testing him at home. While I think he has improved, he is not well yet. I just found two more corners where he is peeing out of the box. Matter of fact, he hasn't used the box at all, so I have ordered a new one and will put it in a different place. He had a UTI (we just finished up that medicine) so he may think "the box hurt him" and is avoiding it. He even pooped out of it today so he doesn't want to be near that box.

He only weights 9 pounds right now. He was about 18, which was about 3 pounds too many. He should weigh around 15.

They told me once a day for the insulin and for him to eat directly afterwards.

This is all so very concerning. And confusing. But really concerning.
 
They told me once a day for the insulin and for him to eat directly afterwards.
They've not given you the right advice. Vetsulin tends to hit quite hard and fast so it's important to have food ready for it to work on when it kicks in. Because of this one should do the preshot test, feed and then wait 20-30 minutes before giving the insulin (not least of all to make sure the cat is eating OK before giving the insulin dose! :)).


Mogs
.
 
Thank you for your reply. I will discuss all this with them on Saturday. Generally, he's eating now as I'm giving the shot. I pick up his food 3 hours before shot time and he gets the wet food at shot time so his face is already stuck in it. However, that's not really a good answer. I have a LOT of questions for them on Saturday morning. I also think his insulin will need to be adjusted. While I have seen improvement, he is still drinking out of the toilet (my cat NEVER drinks out of the toilet) and he's still a little food beggar, though not quite as bad. He can actually rest a bit now, which he really wasn't doing before.
 
You might like to print this out and discuss with your vet http://www.vetsulin.com/PDF/Vetsulin-Feline-Tech-Bulletin.pdf I do recommend you get a meter and start testing at home, you don't need permission from the vet. I told my vet that I tested because I wouldn't recommend any of my patients to be on insulin and not test. Most vets support home testing but not many owners seem to do it. It helps to keep your cat safe as they can throw unexpected numbers or you can catch a hypo in the early stages, or avoid it. It can take time to get the right dose and it is important not to change doses too quickly as glucose levels can vary day to day even when everything else is strictly controlled.

Are you still shooting only once a day? Vetsulin lasts about 10 hours, in some cats less than that in others a little more but if you only shoot once a day then for 12 hours a day your cat is not getting insulin in their system so the sugar levels end up like a roller coaster which is not good for the cat and likely to make him feel unwell. 2 units per 24 hours split across 2 doses is a very reasonable starting dose but at the lower end of the scale. You should also test for ketones regularly using urine testing strips which can be bought from anywhere that sells diabetic supplies. I use keto-diastix, anything more than a trace of ketones needs contact with a vet.

Other things you need to make sure you discuss
Eating and drinking - appetite and type of food, drinking - how much, drinking out of the toilet is a reflection of the thirst that accompanies high sugar levels.
Urine habits and poop - how much, consistency, smell
Weight - I weigh my cat once a week or so, ask your vet for an ideal weight so you know when to adjust the food intake.
Activity levels and habits - hiding or doing anything out of the ordinary
Grooming and condition of coat.

There are sticky threads you should read, guidance on how to get started with home testing, setting up a spreadsheet. We can help with all of these things and once you get started it isn't as daunting as it sounds!

At some point you will need to do a curve once you are used to testing, it gives very useful information on how the cat responds to the insulin and helps with dosing decisions. It is also cheaper that curves at the vet and as vet stress can raise the glucose levels you get a more realistic picture.

Hope this helps.
 
Last edited:
he is still drinking out of the toilet (my cat NEVER drinks out of the toilet)
When Saoirse's polydipsia was at its worst I used to put out water for her in two Pyrex 1-pint pudding bowls. Maybe something similar might help with the 'inappropriate libations'. :)


Mogs
.
 
You should also test for ketones regularly using urine testing strips which can be bought from anywhere that sells diabetic supplies. I use keto-diastix, anything more than a trace of ketones needs contact with a vet.
As an addendum to Alexi's great advice about testing for ketones, if ever your kitty seems 'off', isn't eating, or has some infection or other illness and gets trace ketones then that's a reason to contact the vet straight away for advice. (They're more vulnerable at such times.)


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top