Newbie help for OLZY

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smashembro

Member Since 2018
Hi my story sounds very similar to many on here. My cat Olzy 13yr has been diagnosed with diabetes for about 8months.
I’m from New Zealand and Basically I feel the vets down here understand very little about diabetes. My cat is currently on 16ui of caninsulin twice a day! Yes u read right! His BG curves currently sit around 30mmol down to 22mmol then end up at 30 again by end of day.
I feel like we’re getting no where and the vet is only interested in uppering his dose 1 or 2ui at a time!
We started at 2ui x2 per day and increase monthly after each curve. I changed vet and she found a rotten tooth, took it out and lowered dose to 11ui x2 per day. But is now on the increase again even though he dropped to 22mmol after extraction.
It’s been a headache and against their recommendation I’ve bought a human BG meter to start testing.
Where /how do I start?
Olie looks so sluggish at times. Keeping to cold surfaces and hugging the water bowl.
The first test I did just produced a “HI”
Even tho the meter goes to 33mmol.
I’ve started on 8ui x2 a day.
Looking back at the vet his lowest level on a curve was 9mmol at 7ui x2 a day about 6 months ago.
Any advice would be appreciated!!!!
 
Oh my goodness! That is a tremendous dose. There are a few of us with cats with conditions that require a dose like that such as acromegaly, but it's rare. I'm glad you are going to home test. That will be the key to this mystery.

Please tell us what are you feeding him? Does he still seem excessively hungry and thirsty?
 
Oh my goodness! That is a tremendous dose. There are a few of us with cats with conditions that require a dose like that such as acromegaly, but it's rare. I'm glad you are going to home test. That will be the key to this mystery.

Please tell us what are you feeding him? Does he still seem excessively hungry and thirsty?

He does seem very hungry at times. But also leaves his food at times to slowly consume over a hr. drinks a lot still.
On initial research I put him on real fresh cat meat straight away. Carb free just beef lamb chicken cuts from supermarket pet deli. My vet has forced me onto the diabetic brands a couple of times but I’ve gone off them time and time again because of diabetic cat websites rubbishing them. And the glucose curves worsening afterwards.
 
Welcome! As Janet said there are some conditions that require a high dose(my cat is one of them), but before we worry about that let’s get the testing going and sort out any other things that might be going on. The best place to do that is the Main Feline Health Forum. Come over there and tell us about Olzy and we’ll do all we can to help.
 
He does seem very hungry at times. But also leaves his food at times to slowly consume over a hr. drinks a lot still.
On initial research I put him on real fresh cat meat straight away. Carb free just beef lamb chicken cuts from supermarket pet deli. My vet has forced me onto the diabetic brands a couple of times but I’ve gone off them time and time again because of diabetic cat websites rubbishing them. And the glucose curves worsening afterwards.
Ok so the meats you are giving him have added vitamins to make it a balanced complete food, right? It's not the meat alone, correct? And no dry food, correct?

Have you attempted your own tests yet?

If you need help setting up the spreadsheet let us know and someone can help.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.
 
Hi thanks guys. Sorry still trying to learn to navigate around this website.
I’ll try post there.
The meat is mixed and has cartilage and crushed bone but nothing added as such.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top