Puddles' Person
Member Since 2014
My 8-year old kitty Donut was started on BCP (bovine) PZI today, just a half-unit to start which probably will need to be increased. I know this varies greatly and is a dumb question but how soon can we expect to see any lowering of her BG? Her BG before the shot was 318. I've tested her so far at +1 and +3 and there has been no real movement. I plan to test her again at +6 and several times tomorrow and for the next few days. I have read that PZI is a slow-acting and gentle insulin, so don't want to have ridiculous expectations but would like to know a little about what to expect. She has recently had pancreatitis and I'm not sure (nor is vet) whether she is actually over it. Until a cat is under good BG control, will they continue to lose weight? She doesn't eat, drink or pee to excess so I'm confused about that as I read those are "classic" diabetes symptoms. How often should I be testing her during these first few day? Also, does a cat ever have "side effects" from insulin? I am really stressing about my lack of knowledge and don't know what I'd do without the advice on this board. Thank you so much for any and all suggestions and sorry if my questions seem naïve.
Molly and Donut
Molly and Donut