newbie has received loads of advice and help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cathy S

Member Since 2012
Hello friends:
My 12 year old female stray Lotus developed pancreatitis last week and after four days in the hospital was released with diabetes
as well. My vet has prescribed Lantus but I am having a difficult time with the dosage/food/b/g readings. You can see my spread
sheet which Sue very kindly set up for me this afternoon. At present she is not eating a lot and very lethargic (although it is
very hot were I am and we do not have a/c. She is frightened of me now and runs everytime I come in the room. She is still on
antibiotics and bupe....(sp?) for pain. Just now I noticed that she was licking her lips a lot. I have seen my other cats do that when
they are going to throw up but she hasn't yet. She has stopped it now. I am going to give her the bupe a couple of hours early in
case she is in pain.
Any advice or help would be appreciated. I have read the gray starred stickies and they frighten the heck out of me because I am
not sure I am understanding them and no sure I can do it.
Many thanks
Cathy
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Cathy, welcome to Lantus Land, the greatest place you never wanted to be. :lol: :lol: Wow, Lotus has been through a lot and so have you. You might also give Lotus some pepcid (the people version, 2.5 mg twice a day, use the 10 mg tablets and cut into quarters) and subcutaneous fluids. Marje made a great video about giving subcutaneous fluids but I need to find the link. What antibiotic is she on? There are several kitties with pancreatitis now so there are much more knowledgeable people who will stop by.

I don't quite understand your spreadsheet. Some of the blood glucose values are way too low.

There is a TON of information in the stickys. It is definitely overwhelming. We've all been through it and will help you figure it out. Please ask any questions that you have. We will be happy to answer them.
Liz, Zener's other mom

ETA: Here is the subcutaneous fluids video.
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Hi, and Welcome. Your spreadsheet seems to be a mix of World numbers and U.S. numbers? I'm not sure.

My kitty J.D. was diagnosed with Cronic Pancreatitus in March. I gave him Buprenex a few times for pain and fluids a few times for dehydration, and I also gave him Ondansetron for nausea and Pepcid for acid tummy. He still gets the Ondansetron and Pepcid. As far as I understand it, the licking of the lips is from nausea, like sometimes when kitties will seem hungry and you give them the food and they sniff it and then walk away. J.D. was throwing clear bile in the early mornings about 2 hours before his breaksfast and that is from an acidy tummy, so he gets the Pepcid for that. I joined the Feline Pancreatitus Support Group and they helped me understand the meds.

I'm glad you're here.

I'm an early riser, so will be signing off now, but there will be people along to help you.
If you want to bump up your post to the top of the list for more attention, just do a Reply to it and write something, and then press the Submit button. If you don't understand something, just keep asking until you do.
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Hi Cathy and Lotus and welcome,

It is normal to be scared. There is so much to learn and the learning curve is steep. But you will be able to do it. Everyone here has been in your shoes. I know that some of the people here have had to deal with both pancreatitis and diabetes right off the bat, just like you are doing. Take your time reading the "Stickies", starting with the "New to the Group". Spend lots of time praising Lotus and getting her used to being tested and getting her insulin shots. Treats help a lot with the testing (many of us give freeze-dried 100% chicken treats; the cats all seem to love them and they will not raise blood glucose levels). We have a number of members here who are very good giving help with dosage. I know that some of them will be along soon. I will only say now that Lantus needs consistency. I see on your spreadsheet that you are jumping around with the dose. Lantus takes time to build a "shed" or "depot" in the cat's body, so it is important to stay with an initial dose for at least 5 or 6 days. When changes to dose are made, they are made in small increments, and each one is held for a specified amount of time. All of this is presented in the "Sticky" describing the tight-regulation Protocol. This would be a good place to begin your reading.

Ask as many questions as you need. The support you will get here is fantastic. So sit down and breathe! It will get easier and you will understand everything much better very soon.

Again, Welcome to Lantus Land!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Hi Cathy....Welcome! (I see that Ella posted some of the same things I have asked you!) ;-)
I am confused about the dose your are on...can you clarify?
Seems that the 1.50u brought low numbers?

I agree that licking her lips might mean nausea....but it seems that you and she have been through a lot lately, eh? She is probably frightened at all the new things going on added to not feeling so good....so the important thing here is to try to help her eat. Sometime baby food is attractive to a sick kitty....you really need to keep trying to get her to eat.

It's good that you are testing...was that a 20 you got the other day? What kind of meter are you using?

I am hoping that this post will bump you up to the top of the list and maybe you will find other readers who will be along to help you. Keep trying Cathy....you can do it. It just seems like a LOT to absorb at first...and it really is a stiff learning curve in the beginning.
But there are lots of wonderful and helpful people here and we will try to help you and answer all the questions you can think of, ok? :smile:
So maybe post and let us know what meter you are using and what you did when you got that 20 the other day....
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Welcome to Lantus Land!!

It sounds like Lotus is experiencing some nausea -- that's often what the lip-licking implies. As Dyana suggested ondansatron (Zofran) or maropitant (Cerenia) are two drugs which can help with nausea. You'll need to get them from your vet. It's important that Lotus eats otherwise, you could be running in to additional problems like hepatic lipidosis or diabetic ketoacidosis.

I would suggest you pick up Ketostix. These are strips that have a swatch on one end that you dip into Lotus' urine. The color on the strip lets you know whether Lotus is developing ketones. This is an ounce of prevention that is worth the small investment for the strips. Most pharmacies have them in stock.

With respect to testing, are you giving Lotus treats when you test? It's important to help Lotus to develop a positive association with testing and most cats will work for food!! Freeze dried chicken, cooked chicken, jerky type treats are all low carb and things that cats like. Cuddles, praise, brushing -- whatever works -- can also be part of the process. I test and then give Gabby her insulin shot while she's eating. She barely notices what I'm doing.

In looking at your spreadsheet, one thing I would point out is that Lantus likes consistency. You need to shoot as close to every 12 hours as possible. In addition, you need to be consistent with dose. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (the lowest point in the cycle), not on your pre-shot test value. As such, it's important to get a pre-shot test and to get at least one test between shots. You need to stick with your initial dose for 5 days in order for the insulin depot to form. Dose reductions occur when Lotus' numbers drop below 50. Given this last point, I'm not clear on why you gave syrup and gravy on 8/13.

I'd encourage you to read over the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. The will provide a great deal of information about Lantus and this forum.

Please let us know how we can help or if you have more questions.
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Thank you all for your posts. I think I messed up the spread sheet I am not good with technical things on the computer. I am in
Canada so it is in metric. I will give you a quick breakdown here and maybe that will more understandable.
She came home from hospital with a blood reading of 17.0 that was on August 12
August 13th at 7.48 a.m. it was 18.7 and I gave her one unit of insulin I think I this point this injection didn't make it all the way as
you all call them 'fur shots'
August 13th at 7.41 p.m. it was 27.4 and i gave her the one unit and then worried I phoned the vet. My vet is away so a tech checked with another vet and I was told to give her an additional half unit which I did.
the next morning at 6.14 a.m. her blood reading was 1.1 which I thought meant she was in hypo so I rubbed corn syrup on her
gums and basically let her eat as much Friskies chicken with gravy cat food and no insulin.
at 6.48 a.m. 30 minutes later it was 3.5
at 7.24 a.m. it was 7.0
at 9.13 it was 10.3
at 12.30 p.m. it was 5.4 I still had not given her any insulin and she was eating well (but apparently the wrong stuff)
At 7.30 p.m. the same day it was now 27.5 so I gave her one unit of insulin and again it was a fur shot.
this morning her reading was still 27.5 so I gave her 1/2 a unit because I didn't want to see the huge drop that I had seen the previous morning. At about 10.00 a.m. this morning it was around 15.3 and then at 1.30 this afternoon it had dropped to 13.2
She was not eating much and I was doing my best giving her Friskies chef's pate which I understand is low carb. She would lick at
it and that was all. She is still on antibiotics and bupe(sp) for pain. She has eaten a little more but has been very quiet and only a couple of times was her 'old self'.
I had no idea I was not doing the injections right until I saw the video that the lady and punkin made! I had reinserted the needle
when I didn't get enough. I had no idea was supposed to give her one unit every twelve hours. this is without regard to her blood
test right? Do I understand this the insulin brings down the blood sugars? and food brings it up? So what you are telling me is that
just keep track of the blood sugars but don't give her the insulin based on that just one unit regularly every 12 hours for about 5 days? My vet was telling me that if the test was under 10 not to give insulin and over 10 to give 1/2 unit and over 12 to give a full unit. considering they have got $3600.00 out of me in the past four months you would think I would be getting better information.
Thanks for all your information and I look forward to your next advice.
All the best,
Cathy
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

I'm really glad you're here. Have you tested Lotus tonight? What time zone are you in and when do you normally give the shot? Lantus should be given every 12 hours, very consistently. Same dose all the time too.
Liz
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Finally I think I am getting it. I gave her one unit of insulin at 8.00 precisely. Then checked her blood which was 21.2 so I know that
tomorrow no matter what the blood reading is she has to get one full unit so that she can 'fill up her insulin depot'.
You people have been the answer to my prayers tonight. Thank so much! Back to reading the stickies again. One thing I did do
was copy out the chart that shows world readings and us readings so I better understand the posts where people are using the us readings.
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Sorry Anne I didn't response to your question. I live in Victoria BC Canada and right now it is 8.24 p.m. Pacific Daylight Savings. I am an early riser as well namely because one of my cats (I have 6, two that live outdoors (adopted strays) and four that live indoors but go out in the yard when I am home and weather nice) anyway Erik starts pawing at my face for breakfast around 6.00 a.m. so I have to get up and feed them all. The two outdoor ones wait at my front door for breakfast also and dinner.
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Hi again, Cathy,

Liz hit the nail on the head! Give the same dose (1 unit for now) every 12 hours. You will have to arrange your schedule so that Lotus's shot schedule does not interfere with your work schedule. Keep the Lantus in the 'fridge. Do not shake it or roll it. Do not inject air into the vial (or the pen). Use Lantus with U-100 syringes. Get syringes that have 1/2-unit markings, because we make changes in dose in very small amounts (.25 of a unit) and it is easier to see the small doses with syringes that have 1/2-unit markings. When drawing the insulin into the syringe, draw out about 1 unit more than you need. Then gently and slowly twist the plunger to expel some insulin until you arrive at your dose. This "wastes" some insulin, but is much easier than trying to draw an exact dose. Most of us test, feed, and shoot within a 10-minute period. We find that it is easier to shoot the insulin when the cat is eating (head is in the bowl and the cat is occupied and therefore doesn't even notice the shot). Where you shoot is a matter of preference. My cat (Rusty) has very long hair, so I find it easiest to shoot in the scruff. I just pull up some hair to make the "tent" and to expose some skin. Then I shoot, holding the syringe as parallel to his body as I can. You want to shoot beneath the skin, not into muscle or blood vessels!

Hope this helps to avoid those dreaded "fur shots". (We all give fur shots occasionally; I used to be very good at giving fur shots!)

Good luck tomorrow morning. Where do you live?

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Your vet (and the vet techs) may not be familiar with how to dose modern insulins like Lantus. Do not jump around with the dose. Lantus dosing, as Sienne has said (above) is based on the lowest point in the cycle--the nadir--not on the pre-shot number. Generally speaking, if you get a number at preshot that is below 150, post here and ask for advice about whether or not to shoot (this will depend on your particular circumstances). In the meantime, do some reading about what to expect in a "typical " Lantus cycle. This information can be found in the "Stickies" (off hand I can't remember which one, but you will find it).
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

tried to change the spread sheet and it says 'saving' and is locked. This is what happened to me this afternoon. I am obviously not
doing something right or my computer is crap! will have to go to the help index now.
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

My sister is visiting Victoria right now. She thinks you have lovely flowers because of your sunny weather. :lol: :lol: I lived in Vancouver for 4 months in 2010, Sept to Dec. I saw lots of liquid sunshine.

Can you get another test on Lotus before you go to bed? We like to see a pre-shot test (before feeding) and a mid-cycle test to see how low she goes. Also do this test before feeding.

One more thing: if you could create a profile here are the instructions, that would be very helpful for the advice givers to quickly see what's going on with Lotus.
Liz
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

This is probably a Google Docs problem. Try again tomorrow. Or go out of Google Docs and log in again. The numbers are displayed correctly now on your spreadsheet (they are all in US values).

Ella
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

I hope your sister is having a wonderful time. If I can do anything for her please let me know. When do you think I should do the
second test? midnight or when. I can set my alarm clock. I will try to set up a profile right away.
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

I would do a test before you normally go to bed, say at +3. Is she eating?
Liz
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Cathy

You've gotten alot of great advice today. One thing I want to advise you is to have a no-shoot number. We recommend that anyone that is new and hasn't yet gotten much data on a dose, not shoot any number below 150. We can teach you how to learn to shoot that number and lower but we like Lotus to be on insulin a bit and to build up some patterns so we'll have an idea of what she might do in reaction to the dose you give her. So the 1u is great to stick with unless she goes below 150 at shot time. I would suggest if you get a 150 Preshot number, that you not feed her, and then post in the Lantus Tight Regulation Insulin Support Group for help. Once you have testing down and feel more comfortable, you might want to post there anyway.....lots more traffic and a lot of people around to help.

And just to summarize, here are the common treatments for pancreatitis that you can discuss with your vet:

1. fluids to support kitty; sometimes these kitties vomit and get dehydrated so ask the vet how much and how often. Liz gave you the link to the video I made.
2. ondansetron for nausea and cerenia for vomiting; pepcid AC 10 mg (1/4 once a day) if she has an acid tummy (throwing up clear or foamy fluid or hunching over like her tummy hurts)
3. buprenorphine for pain
4. syringes to assist feed her if she doesn't want to eat; be sure that if you syringe feed her, that you use a food that is different than her normal food so she doesn't develop an aversion
6. if you need an appetite stimulant, be SURE you have the nausea under control before you give it. There is nothing worse for a kitty to be nauseous and then have an appetite stimulant on board.

Insofar as testing, warm her ear with a rice sock that's been in the microwave just a few seconds or put a warm wash cloth in a baggy and warm her ear; massage it a little; when you poke, be sure the lancet is bevel side up and poke at an angel. When you've finished the test, put a compress on the ear to stop the bleeding and press hard so it doesn't bruise. I use baby wash cloths and get them cold and damp and Gracie has never had a bruise. Put Neosporin with Pain Relief Ointment (not cream) on her ears every time you test and be sure to alternate ears if you can.

We hope she feels better soon....she has a great mommy. We also hope to see you in the lantus ISG.
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Cathy --

One of the "tricks" with the World template spreadsheet is that you need to enter your numbers on the World tab. If you enter the metric numbers on the US side, they won't be automatically converted.

Cathy & Lotus said:
tomorrow no matter what the blood reading is she has to get one full unit so that she can 'fill up her insulin depot'.
That's not entirely correct. Being new to Lantus, we suggest that you do not give insulin on a pre-shot number that's lower than 150 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L). You need to have sufficient data collected in order to begin shooting lower numbers. If you do run into a lower pre-shot, please post. We'll help you decide what to do.

It sounds like the vet who was giving you information was treating Lantus they way other, shorter acting insulin works. Many other types of insulin base dose on the pre-shot value and will slide the dose based on what that number is. With Lantus, the dose is held constant because you base your dose changes on the nadir, not the pre-shot number. You also give the entire dose at one time -- you don't split up the injection. The reason for this is that if you give some insulin at your usual time and then a second dose several hours later, you then have 2 nadirs. When it comes time for your next shot, you could end up with the nadir from the later shot in one cycle occurring at the same time as the onset from your next shot. This could drive numbers down and make for a very difficult cycle.
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Anne, Marje and Sienne:Wow I can't believe you are taking all this time with me! thanks so much. Lotus is eating a little bit and seems less sleepy.
I will test her again at 11.00 p.m. (it is 9.34 here now)
I will NOT 'shoot' if she is under 2.8 (metric) 150 (US) until I post here to get more great advice.
thanks for great info on why you do not shoot between the 12 hour cycle.
I am feeling so much calmer and less stressed. I hope I can get some sleep tonight. I have to go to the hospital for therapy at 10.30
a.m. so will do my best to test her blood at 8.00 give her a shot IF not under 2.8 and then test again when I get home which is
usually around 11.30/12. so it will be just a bit later than +3 hours. One thing I am very grateful for is that I am home all day as I could have never done this when working full time.
Do you only feed them at the same time you give them the shot? Like twice a day? that seems like not very much food for a cat.
Or am I wrong in this as well?
when you can let me know many thanks
and a good night to you all from me, Lotus, Billy, Erik, Rosie, Opie and Willow.
(I would put my GAs but I have had so many in the past 30 odd years that it would fill a page. I loved them all and looked after them as best I could and I believe that I will be with them all one day.)
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

We test, feed, shoot, then feed at +1, +2, +3, +4 and +6. Zener is a bit of a grazer (don't you think :lol: ) and he's had appy issues and lost quite a bit of weight. He's back to a good weight now. Generally, you want to feed in the first half of the cycle and not in the last half. The idea is to have the food and Lantus balance out to keep the BGs as flat as possible. Definitely avoid feeding after +9 or +10. How is Lotus for appy and weight?

We agree: working really gets in the way of taking care of our kitties! :lol: I'm off to bed. Sleep well.
Liz, Zener's other mom, I sign my posts and Anne doesn't
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Hi Cathy and welcome. You have come to the right place.
I am also in Canada, Alberta. My cat was diagnosed with pancreatitis a few months ago.
I give him Ondansetron for nausea and pepcid for the acid tummy. I also give him SubQ fluids when needed.

You will probably not be able to find Neosporin for his ears in Canada. I use the Polysporin cream with pain relief.

Cathy S said:
I will NOT 'shoot' if she is under 2.8 (metric) 150 (US) until I post here to get more great advice.
150 US is 8.3 metric not 2.8
2.8 metric is actually only 50 US
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Cathy S said:
I will test her again at 11.00 p.m. (it is 9.34 here now). I will NOT 'shoot' if she is under 2.8 (metric) 150 (US) until I post here to get more great advice. Do you only feed them at the same time you give them the shot? Like twice a day? that seems like not very much food for a cat.

Hello and welcome to LL, Cathy!

I'm one of the LL'ers who post during your early-ish mornings (because I live in South Africa), so I'll most likely generally catch your (+3) - have you got that BG test yet?

I want to correct what I suspect is a typo on your part, with regards to the mmol/L (Metric) versus mg/dL (US) conversion: You MUST NOT SHOOT, for now, when you get a METRIC reading of 8.4 (which is a US reading of just over 150).

If you were to get a reading of 2.8 (US 50), you MUST POST HERE right away. A BG reading like that, or anything lower, and Lotus will need quite a lot of extra-attention, ok?

Regarding feeding schedules: You'll find as you read around more in LL (this group, Lantus Land Tight Regulation, is commonly abbreviated LL) that feeding schedules vary. We will have to get more data (BG test results) to see how sensitive Lotus is to food of varying carb percentages. For now, it's fine if you want to follow our common "TEST, SHOOT (If Safe), FEED" routine. On that point: I notice that you wrote you shot the insulin and THEN tested the BG. Please try to FIRST TEST, and THEN SHOOT. *If* you got a low BG reading, and you shot the insulin BEFORE knowing this, there's no way of getting the insulin back *out*, and you may run into some low numbers that could be tricky at this stage, ok?

Remember that your shot-time of 8:00 am and pm (YOUR time - and you see we are in very different time zones throughout LL, so YOUR *actual* times aren't that useful, it's better to post the (+ Hour) values, k?) will be called AMPS and PMPS, and every hour after AMPS/PMPS will be noted as (+1), (+2), and so on throughout each 12-hour cycle. Try to get used to posting the (+ Hour) values rather than your *actual time* values, ok?

Waiting for that BG update of (+3).

Hang in there! It gets easier :mrgreen:
Jane
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Hello Cathy and welcome to Lantus Land from someone who lives just across the water from you.

One of the things that someone sent me when I first started is an Excel file that contains the conversions from the US form of numbers to the Metric one. Left hand column is metric, and right hand is corresponding US number. It's color coded like the spreadsheets. I find it handy as a quick reference to translate what your BG meter is reading to what is posted here. I've attached the document for you.

It looks like you are already learning a lot and doing a great job with Lotus.
 

Attachments

Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

HEY!!!!! Hi there!

I am in Victoria too! Wendy and Neko pointed me over here to say hi!!!! We started our sugar dance on Jan 2 of this year. You are correct. THIS place is amazing and people are wonderful and you'll get tons of great advice Sure was a life saver for me, helped me thru a major depression earlier this year when things were just going really badly all around!!!

Whereabouts in Victoria are you? I'm up in Sidney. You've got all the great advice you need to get started already, but if you need anything else just PM me, or message me here on the board... more than happy to offer suggestions and insights!!! It's nice to have someone close and in the same time zone to help you out! I imagine we'll spend some long evenings together discussing our kitties!!!

Glad you found this place! Who is your vet? are you finding the correct syringes okay (took me ages!)....any questions just ask away!!!! Sounds like you have the testing down well. It IS overwhelming at first but it's amazing how quickly you and the kitty will get into a routine and it becomes second nature. It's also amazing how at first you are so focused on every blood test and so hoping for instant lower numbers, and stress about the high ones, and freak about anything under 150!! (by the way, I just use the regular spread sheet and take my metric numbers and multiply by 18 and enter that number in... works well)....

once you've been here a while and have enough data on your cat you'll be able to look at your SS and compare numbers and see what pattern your cat normall has (although in some cases they just keep us guessing ALL the time, my Rupert is the king of bouncing and diving at the moment!).... pretty soon you'll be a lot more relaxed and get used to what is going on.

Glad to have you here! are you enjoying this amazing August that we are having! Hope to chat soon, I'm no expert but I have been at this over 8 months now and feel I have a pretty good handle on most things. PM me if you want my phone number and need to chat in person or anything like that! I'm on line most of the day (govt worker!!!)
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Hi,
I noticed you didn't get a direct answer for feeding so I'm chiming in.

Many of us test before shot, making sure it's safe, and feed while giving the shot. It keeps them distracted.
( mine hates the shot)
Then I feed again before the +6 and I try to keep it as close to the +6 as I can. ( sometimes I wind up
with a little snack around the +7) but then I try to not feed until the next shot.
So if you can keep the meals smaller and give them in the first 6 hrs after the shot, you'll get numbers
not influenced by food for shot times.
I'm feeding 4-6 times a day. Little meals keep the blood sugar a little more stable by keeping it
more evened out thruout the day or night.
I am actually doing the same thing in the night cycle because I'm testing then too.

If you give food , just note it in your spreadsheet so you and everyone else knows the number is probably
food influenced. The window for the food to not be an influence is approximately 2 hrs.
My cat seems to take 2hr 15 minutes.

I don't think twice a day is good but that's me.
 
Lotus's number for 11.00 last night

was 14.5. She slept ok so did I. Believe it or not after I tested her at 11.00 p.m. I suddenly realized the only thing I had to eat that day was ice tea and coffee. No food! So I am eating Lean Cuisine frozen dinner at 11.30 p.m. Anyway right now, it is 7 minutes before 8.00 and I am going to prepare the breakfasts as the cats including Lotus are howling at the bedroom door for food. THAT is a good sign because she sure wasn't interested yesterday. I note the change in metric numbers. Forgive me my math and computer skills
are lacking. A lot of the new stuff like social media has passed me by and my learning curve as you have all said is going to be
steep. Back with the news in a moment. then will work on spread sheet.
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Cathy, do not shoot. You need to edit the subject line of the very first post of the thread for it to show up on the board. Actually, why not open a new thread for today with the subject line
8/16 Lotus AMBG 54 ???

Include this link to today's thread at the beginning:
url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=77188]Yesterday[/url]

Include a [ in front of the first url and it will look like this.
Yesterday

Liz
 
Re: Newbie seeks dosage advice and info for newly diagnosed

Hello. I am posting for moral support. Don't panic. Welcome to the board. :-D You have wonderful people watching over you here. One of the reasons your BG's are going so extreme is because of the 'irratic' dosing you have done in the past few days. Please continue to re-read all of the 'starred stickies' until the information absorbs. It takes a lot of time to 'get it' because you are dealing with so much new information and high emotion. It will get easier!

Every Cat is Different (ECID)...that is why everone here will tell you to take as many tests as you can each hour to fill your spreadsheet with data. A lot is necessary especially in the beginning because you have to get a handle on how Lotus will react to dosing. You are doing GREAT! You are here...and that is the important thing. This board will NOT let you down.

You have gotten very good information from some of the best people here. You are in great hands. Test test test every hour as many hours as possible until you find the 'sweet' dose for Lotus. Then you can bring it up or down. Again, ECID and the stickys advise what is good for most. My feline Stella is definitely different and I have to hold her dose for quite a lot longer than some to clear the wild ride of the bounce... so best of luck learning your little Lotus. Just be ready to not know and trust that you will know in the future. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top