Newbie - freaked out over HUGE Montior differences

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onyx & Klepto

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone.

I'm a little worried right now. 3 hours ago I gave Onyx .5U and her AMPS was 438...I thought she would be coming down, so I did a +3 test and it came back 484! She's NEVER been that high. I was then immediately afraid of keytones (hadn't gotten urine today), so I got out the Nova Max Plus I just got yesterday and tried it. It said her BG was 354. That's a huge difference from 484! Does anyone know which monitor is more reliable? 10 minutes later I checked the Relion again and it was then 464.

The Nova Max also said her keytones were .6, which is borderline according to the package. She's been eating/drinking like mad today as well, but otherwise seems to be feeling just fine.

Should I be freaking out right now? I was expecting a number in the 200s, not this.
 
Just stick with one meter. The accuracy is +/- 20%
484 minus 20% is 387
354 plus 20 % is 424
So the two meters are within the accuracy.
 
It doesn't matter how high it is when its over 200 mg/dL. High is high. It means the glucose isn't regulated yet. It didn't get unregulated in a day; it won't get controlled in a day, either.

Just stick with 1 meter.
 
ok. i only used the nova max for BG because the relion was so high and i was hoping it was an error. i purchased it strictly to test keytones if i cant get urine. and i didnt expect anything to be regulated yet. i just never expected it to get higher.
 
I know it's so hard to see those high numbers when you start testing - I couldn't help having the feeling of "I want to FIX this NOW!" Hang in there - you've only been giving Onyx insulin steadily for a few days now, so it takes a bit of time to find the right dose. Diabetes doesn't happen overnight and neither does getting kitties regulated - but getting any insulin is already way better than getting none. The tests you're getting now may not show numbers you like, but that's all part of the process of finding the right dose. You're doing what you should to look after her and the numbers will start to come down!
 
thanks Amy. i appreciate that. i had no idea how hard this would be and I feel like Im doing everything wrong, like the fur shot yesterday. i think i might have to get some wine tonight and RELAX!
 
I am glad the new syringes are working out better.. do they have half unit markings though?

Deep breaths and keep testing for ketones. If you see trace - give her lots of fluids and try and get her to drink a lot - tuna water, broth etc. any more than trace, call your vet.

Can you start getting a before bed test (2-3hours after pmps). We want to check she isnt dropping low at night.


Wendy
 
Hi Wendy.

Yes, the new syringes have both 1/2 and whole unit markings. They're so much better. I was also reading some other posts about air bubbles, so I'll being doing that tonight as well, since I'm always getting air bubbles I can't get rid of.

She's actually been drinking lots today, so that shouldn't be a problem. But I'll stay on top of it. I've been trying to check her keytones once a day, but sometimes she gets ahead of me, or sneaks in when I can't hear her. The ketoacidosis is what I'm most afraid of right now, so seeing the .6 on the Nova Metere has me nervous. The urine ones were all negative so far.

I've gotten 2 overnight shots in the 4.5 days I've been home testing, both were higher than her PMPS. I set my alarm lastnight to do a +3, but she was hiding way under the bed and wouldn't come out. I will do my best tonight. I need a trick to get her out of there when she goes under. I'll figure something out.

Thanks, Wendy.
 
He might be in the middle of a bounce .... but I think its time for you to move over to Lantus Land (the tight regulation board) , we may need to do some more aggressive dosing and I want their thoughts on it since they are very experienced with dosing advice - and its a great sense of community. Many of the people you know here also post there for their own cats! http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9


Heres how to post
Every day ( or as often as you want/need/are able) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos"
- The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 07/25 Onyx AMPS 438 +3 484 Add a ? icon if you have a question. You can update your subject as you get a reading, or whenever is convenient

- The contents of your post have a quick update on how Onyx is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions - plus a link to your previous post ie : Today Onyx was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But his BGs are still high and my nova max meter is showing 0.6 ketones.. what do i do??

For your first post include "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!
 
Okay, Wendy. I'll do that. I was planning to do it in a few days (after you and Deb bringing it up yesterday), but I can do it now if you think it makes the most sense.

Thank you.

:smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top