jt and trouble (GA)
Member Since 2009
THANKS Susanne!
It's 0.3% crude fibreCarbs are very rarely listed on packaging or product websites, and even then they may be listed as 'NFE' (nitrogen-free extract). Can you have another look at the analysis on the food and find the value for (crude) fibre please, Elizabeth, and post it here. Then we can calculate the carbs in the food for you.
Mogs
.
Sometimes the server gets very sluggish and it can take a while for messages to appear.Sorry some of my replies are out of synch, not sure why I don't see some messages for a while despite refreshing
Thanks for the additional food analysis info, Elizabeth.The Convalescence stuff says 76% moisture, 11.2% protein, 7.8% fat, then ash etc no carbs.
NO do not mix saline with insulin. Unless I'm misunderstanding what you are saying.Crikey so much reading!
I have some saline from the vets. Is it ok to take 1 of saline and 1 of insulin into the syringe and then give her 1 of the mix, while I am waiting for the new syringes? I will ask the vet to swap the 1.0 syringes for 0.5 tomorrow but if they aren't willing to let me change the dose I will need to order online and I don't want to OD her in the meantime.
Yep I was ordering the VetUK ones.@Elizabeth and Bertie
- Are these the syringes Elizabeth should get if her vet does not have ones with half unit markings , they list needle size and CC so which ones would she order,There is a drop down box to choose which ones you want
- @Critter Mom
@Diana&Tom
- You are viewing:
- Home
- Cat
- Cat Medications
- SOL-VET U-40 Insulin Syringes
In Stock FREE Shipping Eligible
SOL-VET U-40 Insulin Syringes Rx
1. Product
– Please Select – 3/10cc, 29G, 1/2 inch, with 1/2 Unit Markings, 100ct – $15.87 3/10cc, 30G, 1/2 inch, with 1/2 Unit Markings, 100ct – $15.87 1/2cc, 29G, 1/2 inch, with 1/2 Unit Markings, 100ct – $15.87 1/2cc, 30G, 1/2 inch, with 1/2 Unit Markings, 100ct – $15.87 1cc, 29G, 1/2 inch, 100ct – $15.87 1cc, 30G, 1/2 inch, 100ct – $15.87
2. Enter Quantity
Starting at$20.00$15.87
Free shipping
over $49!*
* Most orders ship within one business day after approval
4.3
6 ReviewsWrite a Review
100%
of respondents would recommend this to a friend
Q&A
4
Answered QuestionsAsk a Question
Questions?
Email us at customerservice@vetrxdirect.com
or please call us at
1-866-761-6578
SOL-M/Sol-Vet U-40 Insulin Syringes for Dogs and Cats
If your dog or cat has diabetes and requires at-home insulin injections, you will need insulin syringes to administer the medication. The Sol-Vet U-40 insulin syringes are designed for easy, accurate dosing labeled with half unit, bold dosage markings and a transparent barrel. Needles are ultra sharpened for injection comfort. Available in 29G & 30G needle sizes, and 3/10 cc,1/2cc & 1cc syringe sizes. Packaged in 100ct boxes. Use only with U-40 insulin. This product requires a prescription from a veterinarian.
https://www.vetrxdirect.com/product/view/sol-m-u-40-insulin-syringes-for-dogs-and-cats-rx
Or should she order one of the ones below that were listed in the UK information
SYRINGES
Caninsulin and Prozinc are U40 insulins; that means they have 40 units of insulin per ml of liquid. They are used with corresponding U40 syringes.
Syringes are usually far cheaper to buy online than from your vet. You could use the Caninsulin or Prozinc branded syringes, but many UK'ers use the generic U40 syringes as they are very much cheaper. However, these are all 0.5ml which, while the same size as the Caninsulin syringes, are larger than the (0.3ml) Prozinc syringes.
There are some generics made by VetUK, and there are also 'Sol-Vet' syringes, which cost a little more. (Some UK folks consider that the Sol-Vet U40's have clearer markings and sharper needles):
VetUK U40 syringes: https://www.vetuk.co.uk/veterinary-...nsulin-syringe-with-needle-box-of-100-p-11335
Sol-Vet U40 syringes: https://www.petdrugsonline.co.uk/sol-m-u40-insulin-caninsulin-syringes-0-5ml
https://www.viovet.co.uk/SOL-V-Insu...u-bmMgyt3OomMGToKpkmtKE0G7ktXXvhoCklAQAvD_BwE
Yep I was ordering the VetUK ones.
Hey her legs are working again! I mean not running anywhere but they don't look like she's about to topple over any more. I'll test her again in a mo. She's been a grazer so far but has a tendency to gobble up wet food in one sitting so it should be easier to regulate her once she's switched over. I've done so much reading today and had so little sleep that I don't really know what to do immediately. I'll test her before I go to bed to be sure she's not through the roof, and then assuming she's measuring high enough tomorrow I guess I'll just have to give her the 1 unit and test the curve for myself, and then speak to the vet once they're open about swapping the syringes I've already paid for. If that's a bad plan I'm sure one of you incredibly helpful people will let me know. I've done my signature and started a spreadsheet, such as it is at present. If someone could tell me what dosage method I'm using I'd appreciate it because I can't think straight any more.
Thank you all so much for being here at the start of this very stressful and confusing adventure. I'm sorry if I have appeared to ignore or misunderstand anyone, or have failed to read something I should have done before posting.
I assume that's a pet meter you are using?Yep I was ordering the VetUK ones.
Hey her legs are working again! I mean not running anywhere but they don't look like she's about to topple over any more. I'll test her again in a mo. She's been a grazer so far but has a tendency to gobble up wet food in one sitting so it should be easier to regulate her once she's switched over. I've done so much reading today and had so little sleep that I don't really know what to do immediately. I'll test her before I go to bed to be sure she's not through the roof, and then assuming she's measuring high enough tomorrow I guess I'll just have to give her the 1 unit and test the curve for myself, and then speak to the vet once they're open about swapping the syringes I've already paid for. If that's a bad plan I'm sure one of you incredibly helpful people will let me know. I've done my signature and started a spreadsheet, such as it is at present. If someone could tell me what dosage method I'm using I'd appreciate it because I can't think straight any more.
Thank you all so much for being here at the start of this very stressful and confusing adventure. I'm sorry if I have appeared to ignore or misunderstand anyone, or have failed to read something I should have done before posting.

Never heard of that one. I'd be concerned about contaminating the insulin.Crikey so much reading!
I have some saline from the vets. Is it ok to take 1 of saline and 1 of insulin into the syringe and then give her 1 of the mix, while I am waiting for the new syringes? I will ask the vet to swap the 1.0 syringes for 0.5 tomorrow but if they aren't willing to let me change the dose I will need to order online and I don't want to OD her in the meantime.
Hi Diane, I 've got quite confused with being advised not to change her food. I still have her dry food down but she is eating the new wet food in preference. I put her down some Bozita (Tetra chicken) half an hour ago when she ran out of the convalescent stuff and she has absolutely wolfed it down. Her level was 19.1 an hour ago, that's +13 hours since her insulin and only up 1mmol, 343 up from 325 at +8 (am I doing this right?!). I'm loath to let her have any additional carbs given that she has another 9 hours to wait till her next insulin. I'm of a mind just to keep her on the lower carb diet as we are only just starting and I will be with her and monitoring as much as she will let me tomorrow. She also eats a full meal of it as opposed to grazing which she does with dry, which I think I've gathered will make it easier to tolerate the big hit of insulin and level out over the following hours but that might be totally wrong. I will amend my signature to reflect that and anyone who wants to offer advice is welcome to.I assume that's a pet meter you are using?
Elizabeth what food are you feeding Lily as of now so members can know, in your signature you have combo? Please explain Thanks Elizabeth
Thank you for this. I'll see what curve I get tomorrow as long as people agree that's OK to do, and then adjust if things are not as we'd like. Her numbers did not reflect the hypo I was worrying about so I will try to get a clearer picture of the effect of the insulin tomorrow. I think she had just gone downhill very rapidly before treatment started and was too weak to have any interest in food or to move around much. The improvement in her back legs is dramatic enough to back that up I think.Feline diabetes is a steep learning curve but you will get a handle on it quite quickly. And there is a whole world of people here who have done their research and diligence to help you.
Never heard of that one. I'd be concerned about contaminating the insulin.
I have not had a chance to read through all the posts so cannot comment on reducing to 0.5 units.
But to do so with full unit syringes, take a used syringe and play with it. Fill with coloured water until you have what you think is 0.5 units. You will have to eyeball it. A pair of pound shop reading glasses or a magnifier helps. Then place that coloured water syringe aside and use it as a guide.

Elizabeth, I didn't know she was eating any dry food.Hi Diane, I 've got quite confused with being advised not to change her food. I still have her dry food down but she is eating the new wet food in preference. I put her down some Bozita (Tetra chicken) half an hour ago when she ran out of the convalescent stuff and she has absolutely wolfed it down. Her level was 19.1 an hour ago, that's +13 hours since her insulin and only up 1mmol, 343 up from 325 at +8 (am I doing this right?!). I'm loath to let her have any additional carbs given that she has another 9 hours to wait till her next insulin. I'm of a mind just to keep her on the lower carb diet as we are only just starting and I will be with her and monitoring as much as she will let me tomorrow. She also eats a full meal of it as opposed to grazing which she does with dry, which I think I've gathered will make it easier to tolerate the big hit of insulin and level out over the following hours but that might be totally wrong. I will amend my signature to reflect that and anyone who wants to offer advice is welcome to.


I'm not convinced of the accuracy of this meter so I'm taking three measurements each time which she is loving as you can imagine. A fair exchange for a bowl of food though. Pre-breakfast she was between 13 and 15. She's very happy this morning, moving well, stomach has reacted very well to the food, and she was shouting for more which is glorious to hear.
Someone on a local community group has offered me her Lantus because she doesn't use it any more. Still in date, still in the fridge. I think God loves my Lily!
This is good news! And a bg of 13 - 15 isn’t bad at all. How long after insulin was this and at what dose? If you can get even a couple more tests in during the cycle it would help to see how the dose is working. Do you have plenty of strips? - that’s something to keep on top of, you don’t want to run out.
Ref the Lantus - it is generally considered a better insulin for cats than Caninsulin but I’d discuss it with the vet first if I were you. They may be ok with it but if it hasn’t actually been officially prescribed by them they may not take responsibility for its use in Lily.
This is before breakfast, and 24 hours after her last insulin shot of 1 unit. The same local lady is a type 1 diabetic and has been moved onto a continuous monitoring device so she's give me her entire stock of hundreds of strips. Unfortunately they expired in June so I think will need to get some more ASAP. That's why I'm doing three at once, unsure of their accuracy.
Yep I totally agree on the Lantus, just amazed I had a resource for it. I'm going to give her the unit of Canansulin in 20 minutes now she's devoured about 200g of food (came back asking for more twice) and then start monitoring after an hour if she'll let me. Downside of improved condition was a resistance to being restrained!
Thanks! She's eaten SO MUCH since she bucked up her ideas last night. Every time I go into the kitchen she's right there with those big eyes! I'll order some zero carb food at some point soon.we crossed post. Yes temptations will make her BG higher they are full of carbs. But if shes not eating then...I would try something like freeze dried meat . Since you are testing just give the freeze dried a little more temptations a little less.
I thought the same but now I think maybe she's been ill all this time...I dont remember if I told you this so please excuse if I'm repeating my self.
My Trouble was a dry food addict. Its all he knew. His life was miserable before he came to us. Mostly surviving on dog kibble.
He likely had diabetes when he first came to live with us. I didnt know this. He got sick and thats when we learned he was diabetic. Long story short...I took away his dry food and is numbers went down 100 points almost over night. Thats why you need to test MORE when removing dry or high carb food. Lucky for me (not so much Trouble) his numbers were so high that 100 points didnt make a dent in his blood sugar. But suffice to say dry food should be a NO NO for ANY diabetic. I dont even feed it to my non-diabetic Zoe.
Many Vets say the dry food is good for teeth. I disagree Its not worth the alternative IMHO
I thought the same but now I think maybe she's been ill all this time...
154 at AM+2.5. Only 1 test managed because despite a rice sock she wasn't giving enough for the strips and was very wriggly when I tried to massage more up her ear so that might not be accurate but it's a pretty good drop. I'm going out for some lunch for an hour and will test again when I get back. She's still after more food!
Unfortunately they neglect to say that it's pants for the urinary tract and the pancreas.Many Vets say the dry food is good for teeth.
truedat MogsUnfortunately they neglect to say that it's pants for the urinary tract and the pancreas.
Mogs
.
So am I DianaPlease update us when you can, Elizabeth - am worried about Lily.
Are you going to call your vet and see what he says about lowering her dose
so you can shoot twice a day?
I think I may have a monitor accuracy problem because she is now reading both 10.5 (189) and one minute later 7.3 (131). I would like to give her a lower dose. She is hungry and active so I have given her some food now to stop her sugar dropping further. I have some higher carb food (Sheba pouches) and have given her a bit of that for now. I have another four pouches of that.
I am just talking to the out of hours vet now. They are happy that at +5.5 hours her levels are OK but that we can't get any more curve info because I've fed her. They have said as long as she doesn't drop to below 3.5 at the nadir she is fine and to try again with 1 unit tomorrow, measure as long as I can as long as she doesn't go down to that point and then we will know what to advise on Monday.
Three possible reasons for the strong lethargic reaction:She's a lot more subdued now and lying in a funny position again so I'll test her now I think just to see what's going on.
I will order strips today. Thank you for waiting while I monitored and spoke to the vet, and sorry for worrying you.I think you also need to get some fresh strips asap and hope they are more reliable. Those numbers are ok but the 7 is still going down so I would continue to monitor and make sure she doesn’t drop much further - it’s all very well for the vet to say she’s ok at 3.5 but I wouldn’t want to go quite that low myself whilst still getting the hang of all this.
I will order strips today. Thank you for waiting while I monitored and spoke to the vet, and sorry for worrying you.
Thank you for that info Mogs. I will ask the vet about a slower acting insulin I think. My partner's brother is diabetic and says it does take a long time for the horrible feeling to wear off if he goes too far one way or the other.
Ah thank you - we do worry quite easily here!I will order strips today. Thank you for waiting while I monitored and spoke to the vet, and sorry for worrying you.
Thank you for that info Mogs. I will ask the vet about a slower acting insulin I think. My partner's brother is diabetic and says it does take a long time for the horrible feeling to wear off if he goes too far one way or the other.
Yes, be cautious regarding strips. You can use yourself as a control and test your blood glucose. The same numbers range applies. Forewarning: fingertips hurt a lot more than cat's ears.Unfortunately they expired in June so I think will need to get some more ASAP.
OK good to know. The emergency vet explained quite well about her still producing a certain amount of her own insulin and that being how remission can occur, once she's settled a bit. I'm really hoping that's why her morning pre-shot levels are reducing, although that's probably wishful thinking as it's so early!Ah thank you - we do worry quite easily here!
Yes see what the vet says about another insulin but most will say that you need to give Caninsulin a longer trial before making any switch...
The food will never lost carb content. You have to look on their website or email and ask unfortunately they don’t make it easyNooo, just it has no mention of any carbs, sugars, anything I would recognise.
