Newbie Elian AMPS 343, +9 435

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
Hi everybody - hope you'll bear with me...Elian and I are new to all of this. We are 6 days in for insulin - he is on Lantus. I took him to a cats only vet with the hope that he would know what he's doing but the one day he kept Elian at his office to do a curve he gave him 3 units and sent him home prescribing 3 units once per day. Thank goodness for my friend Caryl who many of you know - she informed me that this is dangerous. So I immediately put him on 1 unit BID, interviewed a new vet who not only knows about Tight Regulation but actually practices it. I will take Elian to meet her this week.

WIth that said - Elian's BG numbers have remained high all week - mostly high 300's with the low (other than at vet's office) being 266 yesterday. My question is - he is not due for his +12 injection for another hour. Would it have been all right to give him his injection early? When I first tested him 2 hours ago? Does anybody ever give a small dose in between the 12 hours or is that an absolute never? And lastly, should I start to up him by .5 on my own or wait until we see the vet? I will call tomorrow to make the appointment and hope to get him in ASAP.

I am feeling much more relaxed - am able to do his BG readings almost effortlessly and injections are no problem at all. But while others are worried about hypo from low numbers I am concerned about consistent high numbers. But I do understand that his body is getting used to the insulin. He is eating only Fancy Feast Classic and gets a Halo beef treat after each poke. I also started adding miralax last night along with water because I'm concerned that he hasn't "pooped" - keeping an eye on that, too.

Thanks for any help you can offer.
 
Hi Susie-

Welcome to LantusLand! This is definitely the best place for you to be with your kitty. I'll leave the more technical questions for more experienced eyes, but it is awesome that you have testing and shots down so well!

I can say that giving a small dose between shots would not be a good idea. Lantus likes the consistency of a 12/12 shooting schedule, so bouncing around and adding extra injections could bring about all sorts of issues, rather than solve any.

I'm sure you'll get lots of info tonight...just keep asking questions. Everyone here is very generous with their knowledge and support!

Amy
 
Hey, Susie and WELCOME!

We actually use Levemir, similar to Lantus, but not exactly. Glad you had a friend to help get you started on the right foot. I second what Amy told you about the L's liking that 12-hour dosing instead of giving little 'boosts' in between.

I know you're concerned about the higher numbers. Believe me - most of us have been there. You're right, it may take some time to get him into better numbers. All any of us can do is take it one cycle at a time.

Keep reading and asking LOTS of questions.

Have a great evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Welcome to LL! You're in the right place. I got an error when I tried to open Elian's spreadsheet. I don't know if that's a problem with my computer or your spreadsheet. Good job on the testing and shooting! Is Elian on wet food? Generally the dose is only increased by 0.25u.
Liz, Zener's other mom (I sign my posts and Anne doesn't)
 
Hi guys glad to see your condo here tonight. You are doing awesome with the testing and shots, that is the hard part and glad to hear you are comfortable with it. It definetly will take a little while before you see consistent numbers. As I told you on fb we increase in increments of .25. I hope the new vet goes well for you. Great that you are on the FF diet too! You definetly need to keep on a 12/12 schedule with lantus. Try to read all of the star stickies at the top of the page to become familiar with everything. It is a lot to take in but you are doing great so far! It would be very helpful to set up a spreadsheet also. TAke care!
 
Susie --

Your spreadsheet isn't loading. Please make sure you have the "share" settings indicating that anyone with the link can open the SS. Without the SS, we're blind with regard to providing any dose information.
 
Hi Susie! Welcome to Lantus Land! This is the best place ever to ask questions, get advice and information, and be a part of a cat community like none other! There are amazing people on this board that have great information. Beware, it can be a tiny bit overwhelming at first, but no worries...lots of people around to help. Sleep well and we'll see you around!

Deborah & Shasta
 
Thank you for the warm welcome everybody! Not sure what I did wrong with the spreadsheet - will try to get it right tomorrow when I'm back on my laptop. I did fill it in although its only been 6 days.

I thought my guy was starting to get some " life" back into him although he's never been active like my other three but all he's doing is laying around. He's right here next to me now - breaks my heart. I want to see him happy and active. I was excited that he actually wrestled with his brother Justin last night. Then today he's all mopey and hiding in my closet. I'm taking it one day at a time and I have faith that he'll be okay before I know it.

Again - thanks for the welcome and for being here for support and info.
 
I can go to sleep a bit more relaxed - Elian was up to 435 at +7 and 447 PMPS. Gave him his insulin and at +2 he's down to 356. Am looking forward to the day that he's at a normal number.
 
Welcome Susie and Elian

As his depot fills and you get to a better dose for him, he will start to feel better and eventually be like his old self.

Let us know how we can help!
 
Welcome! :YMHUG:

You're doing great so far. I wanted to offer a saying around here: "It's more of a marathon than a sprint." So, don't worry too much about the initial high numbers; this board is positively filled with well-informed members who can help you get his numbers down. You're in good hands. :-D
 
Can't believe I'm having trouble trying to figure out how to get my spreadsheet into my signature correctly. Also haven't figured out how to get all of the other info in there. But I'll keep trying. :YMSIGH:
 
Susie and Elian said:
Can't believe I'm having trouble trying to figure out how to get my spreadsheet into my signature correctly. Also haven't figured out how to get all of the other info in there. But I'll keep trying. :YMSIGH:

You want to share the link to the published version. To do this, in the Google spreadsheet (and not the browser) go to File -> Publish to the web. Make sure "Automatically republish when changes are made" is checked and "Get a link to the published data" is set to html. Copy the link shown in the box (it should start with something along the lines of "https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?") and use that to share in your signature.
 
You might want to also create a profile about Elian to share in your signature with us. And one last thing: on the Lantus board, it's best to start a new topic (or "condo") every day with a link back to the previous day's topic. It's almost like daily journaling of your cat's numbers and health. :-D
 
Thanks KPassa - I hope I got the link to my spreadsheet working now but how do I link previous posts to my daily? Like I keep saying on the LantusLand board on FB - it's not easy maneuvering here!!!! So much easier to just post a post there! And how do I put a picture of Elian in my profile? It keeps telling me that my pics need to be smaller - I've tried several times but can't get it to work. I would love to share a picture of all of my handsome boys!
 
The spreadsheet link still isn't working. See your thread from today.

To link to your previous condo/thread:
  • Go to your "old" condo and copy the url location from the window in your browser;
  • In your new condo, in the text box, click on the URL button that's above the text box. This will insert the code
  • In between the two sets of brackets, paste the location from your browser. It will look like this: the http info is in here
  • You're done!
  • If you want to make it fancy, you would insert the . You would then set he code to look like this: whatever you want to call the link - for example, Yesterday's Condo. The term, Yesterday's Condo will then be a clickable link.

If you have a photo on a photo sharing site like Picasa,, you need to use the setting for a thumbnail to include it in your avatar. If you need more help with this, try Tech Support.
 
And how do I put a picture of Elian in my profile? It keeps telling me that my pics need to be smaller - I've tried several times but can't get it to work. I would love to share a picture of all of my handsome boys!

Susie,
You need to reduce an avatar thumbnail down to 90 x 90 pixels or smaller, and I think the max file size is 9.77 kb....tiny. If you have a photo editing program on your pc, you can do that yourself. Otherwise, there are websites you can use to resize it.

Here's one some people have used:
http://www.shrinkpictures.com/create-avatar/

Carl
 
Hey! you made it here after all. Good for you! If you're still having trouble with the technical stuff I'll walk you through it in a day or two when my head is a little better. I'm glad you came here though. It may be easier to post on FB but the wealth of knowledge is so much more extensive here on the boards and you can almost always find someone to help or just commiserate OR share in your joy. We have all been through "it". And we all have gotten through it. You and E will too!

xoC (and Alex too)
 
Hi guys .. just wanted to add in my "welcome" as well! Glad you have found a vet that you feel comfortable with and that is up to date on dealing with feline diabetes ..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top