Sent: Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:04 am
by Rick B
So now @12:45 AM I fed Mr Grey wet LowCarb and then @ +12 I took a BGL it was 453, I am now torn weather to give him a 6 U shot as vet suggested earlier today, or a small 1U shot to continue twice daily with low carb wet food and frequent BGL testing for a week to establish a new Lantus "base line" which goes against vet's dose, or STOP Lantus for a week while feeding low carb wet and frequent BGL testing for a new base line. Vet from the DX start did not put Mr Grey on Low carb wet with testing so I never knew what his BGL was since I changed his diet to low carb wet. In my newly developed opinion, it seems that although his DX BGL was 564 two weeks ago, we should have went a week on low carb wet and home testing before starting Lantus. Do you agree ? Can I start from scratch with this idea ? and then Re-start Lantus low dosage ?
Sienne/Gabby said:
Just to make you aware, we have a convention about making sure that dose-related questions are posted on the board. This protects you from someone giving you well-intentioned but potentially problematic advice. While I spend lots of time working with Lantus kitties, I want to do some consulting with the most experienced Lantus users. It's not that I find Mr. Gray's situation overly challenging, it's that I have some concerns. His BG numbers are high. I would not stop his insulin. That could result in all sorts of health complications.
What I would encourage you to do, is to post your note on the Lantus board. What I'm thinking is that if you want to re-start at a better dose, you use the formula I provided in my initial post. Do you have an idea of your cat's ideal weight?
I'd also recommend getting a spreadsheet set up. This will give you a place to keep your test data and by linking the spreadsheet to your signature (the instructions are in the link), we will be able to follow what you're doing. The Lantus board is very numbers driven so having the information available to everyone is the best way for us to help you.
Sent: Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:38 am
by Rick B
Mr Grey weighs 12 lbs. Being at 10u @ week # 2 his lowest home test BG was 239, reading these forums, receiving advice, not detecting any signs of hypo, and my newly home testing (when i can get a blood drop), has indeed made me question my vet's course of action prescribed. It's made me confront him resulting in his over the phone dosage lowering to 6u starting yesterday.
I just tried @7:00 am to get a BG from grey but after too many failed attempts his ears were too sensitive so I fed him wet no grains and he's sleeping now. At 11 am I will give Lantus I guess as my vet said 6U.
I will start a spread sheet, wish I was better at drawing blood. I might buy a different lancet pen today. I'm very interested in knowing his BG and its frustrating me that it's not that easy yet for me to home test.
Sienne/Gabby said:
Based on an ideal weight of 12 lbs, your starting dose would be 1.36u. You could round down or up (1.25u vs. 1.5u). If you are eliminating all high carb food and kibble, I would drop the dose back.
Sent: Sun Dec 30, 2012 3:48 pm
by Rick B
Talking to my pharmacist friend , she was reading the Lantus feline guide somewhere online and some other resources and she had me dose him at 2u. + 2 BG 386.Do you think that was a wise choice I made ?
Thanks, Rick
Sienne/Gabby said:
I think 2u is fine. Just get some tests. It would be best if your friend who's a pharmacist sent you the links to the materials she's reading. There are some dated materials around. The links we sent you in your thread on Health are what's current. It would be best if you started a new thread either on Health or the Lantus board re. dosing so everyone can follow along.
Sent: Sun Dec 30, 2012 6:34 pm
by Rick B
Thanks I will start a new thread as you have suggested.
Mr. Grey was so happy today, the happiest I've seen him since my vet started him on Lantus. He was playing with the other two cats, his reflexes were fast, all in all he just looked better. He even tried to sneak out side. Could this be from a 24 hour break from Lantus then the reduction in dose ?
Sienne/Gabby said:
I just heard back from one of the most experienced Lantus/Lev user on the Board. She also suggested using the weight based formula for your initial dose. It's your call if you want to stick with the 2.0u or if you want to drop the dose a bit.
The other suggestion she made was based on the lab values you posted. The ALT level is considerably outside of the normal range of 20 - 100. There is an over-the-counter supplement, denamarin, that's used to support liver function. You can get it from your vet or through Vetmarket or Amazon. Possibly, your friend who's a pharmacist could track it down for you. I'd suggest getting this started ASAP.