tpr
Member Since 2012
Hello everyone,
I am brand new to the forum and have been advised from some AMAZING people from the health site to pose my questions here as well.
My cat, Ella is not on tight regulation as she is still eating m/d dry. I just learned about the benefits of canned food today and will attempt a switch when I am available to properly monitor her. In the meantime it was suggested that I share my story here as I may need some advice for her morning dose depending on her reading
Long story short: This morning Ella had a bg of 59 on my Alpha trak meter. I panicked and skipped the dose. If you look at her SS you will see that she goes up from there and at her +12 preshot she was at 486mg. I have no idea what tomorrow will bring.
Please read my orignal post below which may give you a glimpse as to why she almost crashed. FYI: As of last Monday she was bumped up from 3u to 4u. I will most likely be looking for support in the morning so I'm being proactive with this tonight
Original post
My 9 year old cat Ella was diagnosed with acute pancreatitis in Decemeber. She was hospitalized for what seemed like the longest four days of my life. Since then she's become diabetic and we still haven't been able to get her regulated. She is currently on four units of Lantus twice a day and her numbers have been slowly decreasing over the last month. Before her injection last night, I noticed that there was a lump under her skin where I normally inject (scruff). I did not see redness and when I touched it, Ella didn't seem uncomfortable so it may just be scar tissue?!
We injected her 4 units to the left of the lump and I began to panic, thinking that perhaps the insulin has not been able to absorb properly because I have been injecting in the same place. This morning she was begging for food (more than ususal) and seemed agitated. I fed her, she ate well, and then checked her blood glucose level and she was at 3.3! This is the lowest that she has ever been! I didn't give her the insulin shot and offered some wet food which she also ate. She currently eats dry hills m/d and I have wet m/d for emrgencies if I have to syringe her when she is sick.
I tested her bg an hour later and she was at 8.5. She is sleeping comfortably right now but I'm not sure if I should have given her a decreased shot when she went up to 8.5.
I will continue to test her bg throughout the day but was seeking advice regarding doses from expereinced pet owners.
Now with these numbers it important to know that her insulin might not have been absorbed properly this whole time.
My vet told me that I could use the scruff for up to a year without rotation. She had a fever a few days ago, with diahrea and has been lethargic. I took her to the vet on Friday and she gave me Fortiflora to help stop the diahrea. She had some yesterday but no poo in the litter box today so perhaps it is working. Temp went down too. Last night I tested her because of her lethragy and she was at 17.6 and her glucose strips showed high glucose in the evening which is why I was very surprised with this morning number of 3.3. I'm assuming the insulin hasn't been absorbed properly. I apologize for the long winded email but I guess my question is: should I have given her a decreased dose when she went up to 8.5? She is on a long acting insulin and it was an hour after her required dose so I just trust my intuition but am curious as to what others think.
Thank you so much for taking the time to read my posting
Looking forward to your comments.
Tamara
I am brand new to the forum and have been advised from some AMAZING people from the health site to pose my questions here as well.
My cat, Ella is not on tight regulation as she is still eating m/d dry. I just learned about the benefits of canned food today and will attempt a switch when I am available to properly monitor her. In the meantime it was suggested that I share my story here as I may need some advice for her morning dose depending on her reading
Long story short: This morning Ella had a bg of 59 on my Alpha trak meter. I panicked and skipped the dose. If you look at her SS you will see that she goes up from there and at her +12 preshot she was at 486mg. I have no idea what tomorrow will bring.
Please read my orignal post below which may give you a glimpse as to why she almost crashed. FYI: As of last Monday she was bumped up from 3u to 4u. I will most likely be looking for support in the morning so I'm being proactive with this tonight
Original post
My 9 year old cat Ella was diagnosed with acute pancreatitis in Decemeber. She was hospitalized for what seemed like the longest four days of my life. Since then she's become diabetic and we still haven't been able to get her regulated. She is currently on four units of Lantus twice a day and her numbers have been slowly decreasing over the last month. Before her injection last night, I noticed that there was a lump under her skin where I normally inject (scruff). I did not see redness and when I touched it, Ella didn't seem uncomfortable so it may just be scar tissue?!
We injected her 4 units to the left of the lump and I began to panic, thinking that perhaps the insulin has not been able to absorb properly because I have been injecting in the same place. This morning she was begging for food (more than ususal) and seemed agitated. I fed her, she ate well, and then checked her blood glucose level and she was at 3.3! This is the lowest that she has ever been! I didn't give her the insulin shot and offered some wet food which she also ate. She currently eats dry hills m/d and I have wet m/d for emrgencies if I have to syringe her when she is sick.
I tested her bg an hour later and she was at 8.5. She is sleeping comfortably right now but I'm not sure if I should have given her a decreased shot when she went up to 8.5.
I will continue to test her bg throughout the day but was seeking advice regarding doses from expereinced pet owners.
Now with these numbers it important to know that her insulin might not have been absorbed properly this whole time.
My vet told me that I could use the scruff for up to a year without rotation. She had a fever a few days ago, with diahrea and has been lethargic. I took her to the vet on Friday and she gave me Fortiflora to help stop the diahrea. She had some yesterday but no poo in the litter box today so perhaps it is working. Temp went down too. Last night I tested her because of her lethragy and she was at 17.6 and her glucose strips showed high glucose in the evening which is why I was very surprised with this morning number of 3.3. I'm assuming the insulin hasn't been absorbed properly. I apologize for the long winded email but I guess my question is: should I have given her a decreased dose when she went up to 8.5? She is on a long acting insulin and it was an hour after her required dose so I just trust my intuition but am curious as to what others think.
Thank you so much for taking the time to read my posting
Tamara