Newbie Dose Question AMPS 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fiestyaries

Member Since 2017
I need to post an introduction as soon as I get time. Chance was diabetic in 2014 and went into remission with diet change. Now has triaditis and switched from Novolin to Lantus on Wednesday. His numbers went down and this morning he is at 80. He gets 1.5u 2x day. Should I reduce this morning dose to 1u or .5 since he is at 80? The vet isnt open yet and I wont be home all day and cant monitor glucose but worried to give it at 80 and have to leave for work soon?
 
I need to post an introduction as soon as I get time. Chance was diabetic in 2014 and went into remission with diet change. Now has triaditis and switched from Novolin to Lantus on Wednesday. His numbers went down and this morning he is at 80. He gets 1.5u 2x day. Should I reduce this morning dose to 1u or .5 since he is at 80? The vet isnt open yet and I wont be home all day and cant monitor glucose but worried to give it at 80 and have to leave for work soon?
Do not shoot. Hold on. Let me see if someone is on line to give dosing advise.
 
I don't see anyone. Let me tag a couple a people to see if they can chime in. Since you cannot monitor and I don't have any data (spreadsheet) it might be best to skip this shot and wait for those with more experience to get eyes on this. :bighug:
@Gill & George @Wendy&Neko @Bobbie And Bubba @Marje and Gracie @Jill & Alex (GA)

I have to leave for work. I hope someone pops in soon.

Error on the side of safety.
 
If you shoot any insulin now, because Lantus is a depot insulin(a portion of it goes to work straight away and a portion is slow release) the first part of the cycle can work out the same as it would if you shoot the full dose.


I can't see a ss and in the absence of the data, I would say the safest thing to do would be to skip the dose altogether. (as long a sno history of DKA and if Chance is feeling otherwise OK and eating normally)

I would encourage you to get a ss set up, and if you can pop in some of the data you may have had on Novolin, and any tests you've gathered with Lantus so far, we can help you a bit more with the dose.
Ideally you will get to a point where you will be able to shoot these lower numbers safely, I did TR and shot anything over 50, but it took time to get to a point where I had enough data to know it was safe to do that.
 
Sorry im trying to get ready and do this. He is eating normally and seems bright and alert. This weeks history - Novolin 1.5 unit - 6/11 amps 174, 6/12 amps 203, 6/13 amps 159, started Lantus in pm. 6/14 amps 110, pmps 105, 6/15 amps 119. Please bear with me still learning language. No infections. I dint know what dka is.
 
Make sure she eats before you leave and leave some food out for her to munch on.
Can you grab another test before you leave to make sure her BG is coming up.
They can in some cases continue to drop past the 12hr mark.
If she were to still be dropping you might want to give her a little higher carb food, just to bump her numbers up a little as you are not going to be around.
 
Sorry im trying to get ready and do this. He is eating normally and seems bright and alert. This weeks history - Novolin 1.5 unit - 6/11 amps 174, 6/12 amps 203, 6/13 amps 159, started Lantus in pm. 6/14 amps 110, pmps 105, 6/15 amps 119. Please bear with me still learning language.
thanks for that, you are doing great, I take it from the info above that you have no midcycle tests? so we don't know how low the dose was getting Chance.

Looking at those numbers, I think there is a chance that the 1.5u may be a little bit too high for him. But without any tests in the midcycle I can't say for sure.

I really think it's important to give some food to your kitty before you leave and check BG again before leaving to see if she is rising, if he is overdosed, he could continue to drop for quite a bit after his regular shot time, not shooting is not a gaurantee that he won't get too low.

In this case I might opt to give him some High carb food (higher than 10%carb), and leave some high carb out for him too. I really do feel nervous about you having to leave for work.
 
Apparenrlt this didnt post so im updating. I just tested again. He is at 110. He has plenty of food out and had treats after the first test. I can try and run home in the afternoon but now im really late and have to go. I will ck back in when i get to work. Thanks everyone.
 
I just got home and tested. He is at 92. I didn't give him any insulin this morning and I don't think I should now either. I have been updating my spreadsheet but it is taking me a while so it is not 100% done. Please jump in and let me know your thoughts. He is eating. I will be able to test again when I get home this evening.
 
He is at 92. I didn't give him any insulin this morning and I don't think I should now either.

Was that 92 at pmps/pmbg?

As long as he is feeling well, eating, and hasn't got a history of DKA. Skipping is a reasonable option.
There's not enough data to know if it is safe to shoot when he is that low (though on Lantus, once you do build the data on TR we would shoot anything over 50(human meter), on slgs anything over 90(human meter).
The fact that he is still low at pmps, after a no shot may well indicate that his depot was overfull, as the depot drains you may see the numbers come right up.
Based on what's happened today, I feel that it's quite likely that the 1.5u is a little too much of a dose for him.
Can you tell me how much he weighs? and if that's a good weight for him?
 
Thanks for all the help. He weighs 11.4 and we are trying to get weight onto him. He was down to 9,7 on 5/29 when he was in the hospital anf is steadily gaining. His good weight is 14-15 lbs.
 
Am I interpreting the info right, he fell out of remission when he had the pancreatic attack?
how long has he been on the pred? When did he start? Have you been taking the dose down?
sorry lots of questions.
 
Its ok. Hes a complicated case. Yes he fell out of remission with the IBD and p attack. I will add all that to my ss report including labs tonight/tomorrow. He was started on 1.25 mg of pred in April when the diagnoses was given. His sugar levels were high at the hospital on that dose. He was upped to 2.5 last sat and his numbers have been better. They wanted to get the inflammation down. The feeling was that if they could get the inflammation pain and pancreas to settle down that the diabetes might eventually go into remission. I know its a fine line with the pred & diabetes but we had to get his IBD/panc treated. I also have no knowledge of him having DKA.
 
I just wanted to add my welcome you. I see you have your hands full, but it's not at all uncommon here to have cats with multiple issues, so we can help you with the juggling act. We have/had lots of kitties here on Pred (including my Harvey). Sometimes it is just necessary, and you have to work your way around it with the insulin dosage.

It's great that you got your SS up and running. That is an amazing tool to help you figure out how the insulin is affecting Chance. Remember, Lantus dosing is determined by how low your cat goes on it, so getting mid-cycle tests is very important. Equally important are the preshot tests, because you need to be sure it's safe to shoot. BGs are not predictable, especially in an unregulated cat. You just don't know for sure that his BG isn't too low to shoot unless you test EVERY TIME you give a shot. We have had people here before that shot blind, and there were several that ended up with trips to the ER as a result. Not all those incidents ended happily. Not trying to scare you, but want you to understand why we stress getting those tests in.

Here is a post we put together to help new members get acclimated to the board, kind of an FAQ: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/updated-tips-for-new-members.173572/

Lantus is very different from your previous insulin, so we highly recommend you read all the stickies at the top of the Lantus & Levemir page and ask lots of questions. The only dumb question is the one you don't ask!

We're glad you found us!
 
Thank you Tricia. I have been trying to read but its so overwhelming with all the info but I am trying. I got home and tested him at 7:45 and he was at 133. I updated his ss with info from the vets write ups. I dont have all the labs correct because Im having a hard time figuring out what numbers to use. Im going to test again in 1/2 hour and see where he is at.
 
Thank you Tricia. I have been trying to read but its so overwhelming with all the info but I am trying. I got home and tested him at 7:45 and he was at 133. I updated his ss with info from the vets write ups. I dont have all the labs correct because Im having a hard time figuring out what numbers to use. Im going to test again in 1/2 hour and see where he is at.

The info is very overwhelming. These people with this board will help you learn. They have pointed out specific links and areas for me to refer to. Even though I have read all of the stickies so many times over, it is so much, it really helps when people pull out specifics that go along with a current happening - and I learn to relate it with the information. This is a great thing that you found this message board. I have been finding myself with a big smile, in disbelief at what all I have learned in a short time :)
 
Here are todays levels so far: 6:30am-80, 8am-110. 1pm-92, 7:45pm-133, 10:45pm -110. He is eating/drinking normally. Based on this I am inclined not to dose and test again in the morning. I only have 4 test strips left I went through quite a few today and will have to get more tomorrow. I have updated my ss as well.
 
Hello and welcome from me too.

Good plan to skip tonight. I'd get some more strips as soon as possible and not shoot until you do have more. It's always good to have an extra bottle of strips in a "hypo kit", so you know you've got backup.
 
Hello and welcome from me too.

Good plan to skip tonight. I'd get some more strips as soon as possible and not shoot until you do have more. It's always good to have an extra bottle of strips in a "hypo kit", so you know you've got backup.

I am a freak out person - I did have 600 backup but I am down to 400 backup, because of Mouzer's long hours of green testing haha
When I get down to 200 strips in the backup area and my having 100 I am working in, in other words, when I get down to 300 left, I am buying more :D
I see how fast we can go through those things, when a kitty jumps up and does something so not like themselves.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top