Newbie Dose Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

kmoses

Member Since 2011
Hello All, I have introduced my 8 year old tabby, Krismas in the general Health board and got the go-ahead to post on the Lantus board. I already have received wonderful replies regarding comparison of the Alphatrak and human glucometers, and reference to a cat specialty clinic in my area, so thank you all so much. I read the stickies and the protocol and am trying to set up a spreadsheet, have received directions and links, but am having technical problems and it may take another day or so. So, here is Krismas' basic data.
Med Hx: 8 yr old spayed female, weight 11 lbs, adopted at three years as stray, front declaw. Recent (six months) immunizations and dental. Had near fatal reaction (swelling, breathing difficulties) to immunization 8/10, received antihistamine shot and recovered. Receives antihistamines before all immunizations and does not receive any except reqired by law. Otherwise healthy until Dx diabetes 9/30/2010 following acute episode 9/1/2010 of vomiting, lethargy, not eating, treated with Lantus 1 unit bid starting 10/2/2010, Purina DM dry and wet. Labs done 9/10, abdominal ultrasound, chest and abdomen x-ray, urinalysis and culture, cystocentesis, PL1/CF Index, analysis of fecal culture, all had negative results, with exception of bronchial pattern on chest x-ray, leading to dx 10/6/10 of asthma, treated with Accolate 20 mg in divided doses AM and PM. Emergency hospitalizations 10/2, 11/23, and 12/26 with dehydration and constipation, treated by fluids and enemas. Lantus increased by new vet to 2.0 10/30.

NOTE: I use the Alphatrak monitor, discussion results from the board indicate there is significant difference in reading "trends" between feline calibrated Alphatrak (AT) and most human calibrated monitors, in that AT reading may average about 30 points higher than readings on human monitors.
So, those of you used to human monitor readings may wish to mentally subtract 30 points from my reported readings to fit into your own frame of reference.

10/2-10/29/2010, BG readings ranged from 350-250 from my own spot checks and what I recall from vet. I was not able to complete a 'curve' independently because I could not do the tests thogh had no prob with shots, relied on vet to do it weekly, and did not write down results. During this time kittie was eating mainly dry DM, would not eat canned, though I was trying out various wet foods.

Changed vets 10/30, new vet doubled dose to 2.0 units. I did spot checks AMPS and usually +6 hrs about 3 days a week. Results ranged from AMPS average of 250 to +6 average reading of 100 (nadir). This pattern continued till Jan 2011, Kittie's hospitalizations prompted me to learn more, get over my 'block' about home testing. Vet was satisfied with kittie's status and did not expect to do curves more than monthly. I started kittie on twice daily doses of salt free chicken broth, canned pumpkin, and boiled slippery elm bark decoction, and dehydration and constipation was greatly relieved. No more hospitalizations.

Jan 2011 I found California vet's tight regulation protocol, read more on food issue, realized probable impact of dry food and that greater control and even remission might be possible. Over next six weeks I spoke with over thirty vets and vet techs from north and west Chicago suburban clinics regarding tight reg, not one acknowledged even being aware of it (including the cat specialist who diagnosed Krismas), and all but two indicated they had only worked with few diabetic cats if any, most had been euthanized soon after diagnosis or had died within two years.

By March kittie was eating only canned food I had found in Binky's food list (Fancy Feast classic series, Wellness Core, EVO canned). Early March I was doing curves and could successfully test every time. I gave CA dr's protocol to local vet and asked her to review it and provide advice regarding dosing for tighter reg.

Data from 3/14, data taken Mon and Wed, curves done Fri and week's data phoned into vet Sat at 8:00am
3/14 AMPS 267 TX 2.0 LANTUS +6 BG 140 PMPS 234 TX 2.0 lANTUS
3/16 AMPS 204 TX 2.0 " +6 BG 125 PMPS 212 TX 2.0
3/18 AMPS 212 TX 2.0 +3 BG 234 +6 BG 178 +9 BG 98 PMPS 275 TX 2.0
3/21 AMPS 187 TX 2.0 +6 BG 103 missed pmps and tx, fell asleep-rats!
3/22 AMPS 347 TX 2.0 +6 BG 256 PMPS 268 TX 2.0
3/23 AMPS 256 TX 2.0 +6 BG 206 PMPS 279 TX 2.0
3/25 AMPS 212 TX 2.0 +3 BG 198 +6 BG 176 +9 BG 101 PMPS 243 TX 2.0
3/26 Vet rec increasing dose to 2.5 bid, which I did starting 3/26 AMPS about one hour later than usual (no data taken Sat or Sun)
3/28 AMPS 172 tx 2.5 +6 BG 98 PMPS 298 TX 2.5

3/29 Tuesday AM find Kitty lying flat with glazed expression in front of food bowl, BG 36 I thought HYPO rubbed gums w/ Karo, fed, withheld shot, called vet. Kitty revives, +3 BG 407, +6 387, +6 376, +9 369, vet not called back, call emergency vet who says since kitty NOW alert, eating/drinking/pooping/not obviously distressed, not emergency, call reg vet. I am thinking what the h***, leave reg vet more messages, call University of Illinois at Champaign and talk to vet at the vet school lab clinic who explains more about how Lantus works and that it might be rebound which I had dimly suspected but assumed that happened only if I missed a dose. She would be glad to see kitty but it is a four hour drive downstate and I am not sure kitty is in shape for that. PMPS BG 352, TX 2.0, I spend night on internet, read about rebound, check on kitty, 6 hours after PM shot BG 298, find Lantus group, what I read there ties in with what U of I vet talked about, it is obvious that this is where we need to be.

3/30 AMPS 275 TX 2.0 Vet calls back says cats dont have rebounds since she could not find articles on it, to continue at TX 2.5 to lower high readings, never returned further calls. +3 BG 278 +6 BG 241 +9 BG 215 PMPS 304, TX 2.0

3/31 AMPS 267 +6 BG 206 PMPS 255 TX 2.0
4/1 AMPS 191 +3 BG 189 +6 BG 173 +9 BG 164 PMPS 266 TX 2.0 kitty looking good, seems to be back to where she was before the incident

I am thinking we are probably reaching or in phase 3 and am for holding the dose at 2.00. My reference is Table 3B (using Alphatrak) from the University of Queensland protocol I printed from the board sticky. Her nadirs seem to be around +9 hours but something is happening between +9 and these relatively PMPS readings, and from what I read on the board stickies, I need to be testing +10 and +11 starting tomorrow. I am thinking to test AMPS, +6, +9, +10, +11, and PMPS, how does this sound? I can't think of anything else I can refine regarding her food, she eats low carb wet food well but not excessively unless she is actively sick. Her drinking is really a good parameter to watch since she does not drink plain water unless her blood sugar goes well over 200. I have other questions but enough bending your ear.

I promise I will keep to data in the future, I think I had to cathart, it is a luxury beyond description to talk to the level of expertise I have read here, rather than being met with silence or gentle but persistent hints from friends and family to put her down and end this. Thanks, Kathy and Krismas
 
Hi guys!! So glad you decided to make the jump over here to Lantus Land!! I'm not one of the dosing experts, but I'm sure someone will be along shortly with some help on getting the SS set up and with dosing recommendations. You've provided us with a lot of very detailed information in your post, which will be very helpful and will speed things up! We don't tend to have folks on during the wee hrs overnight, so you may not get a full response until tomorrow morning. But don't worry... you'll definitely have advice soon.

Until then, I'd encourage you to read through our condos (our word for our daily posts) and look at some of our spreadsheets to see how things work (or in my Willie's case the past couple cycles, apparently don't work! :lol: ). You will likely find a cat with similar patterns to Miss Krismas', and reading their condos/spreadsheets may give you some insights on how to proceed.

Glad to hear you have some vet recommendations.. we went through a terrible time when first diagnosed, and Willie has an underlying skin condition that complicated everything. We finally have a team of vets... family vet, dermatologist, cardiologist, internal med specialist, and one of our vets here, Dr. LIsa, that we use to consult on things like test results. It took alot of effort (and some pointed conversations and even some tears!) to get here, but I finally feel like I have a handle on what Willie needs and how to get that for him.

Based on everything you've written, all I can say is... you have done a most wonderful job. Krismas is on the path to better health because you are willing to stand up and be her advocate and not simply follow what admittedly inexperienced vets are blindly throwing out there. The changes I've seen in Willie over the past four months have been nothing short of miraculous... it is like the clock has been turned back 10 years (and he is somewhere between 14 and 16!).

If you want, you can set up an avatar with a picture of Krismas, or you can attach one to your post. I'm sure everyone, like me, will be most anxious to meet her!!

Welcome again to the LL family!! :) Have a great weekend!
 
i'll second what Christie said - you've reached the right place now and can take a sigh of relief. i had nothing like what you've experienced but i still felt relieved when i realized here were people who know feline diabetes inside and out. my vet is super but he has limited experience with feline diabetes. They only have one other cat with diabetes in their 3-vet practice. i'm staying with him but relying here for advice on managing the diabetes.

You'll want to get a spread sheet set up as soon as possible. Here's a lot of the basic info, including how to set up a spreadsheet, that's a great first stop: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

Welcome!
 
Hi Kathy,
Just wanted to say Welcome! and we're so glad you're here. You have done an amazing job so far. The vet thing is very disappointing. I had to change vets after my first one told me she would not be my vet if I insisted on changing to a canned diet and off the Royal Canin high fiber dry! Also, tried to dissuade me from home testing by saying "You don't really want to hurt your kitty, do you?" Grrrrrr....4 months later and I'm still angry about it. Anyway, I have a wonderful, cooperative vet now, and thank goodness, this forum of the kindest, most caring, and experienced folks you'll every meet.

Good luck with the spreadsheet and picture of Krismas. Look forward to seeing her!
 
Hi Kathy.

I posted on your thread on Health.

It looks like you decided on holding Krismas dose at 2.0u. I'd encourage you to not draw a conclusion based on only two tests at +9. What is likely happening, based on those few data points, is a bounce.

For the sake of clarity, I want to differentiate between Somogyi rebound vs. a bounce. The entire phenomenon of chronic, Somogyi rebound is controversial in the human diabetes literature which is where it originated. The data on this are decades old and have not been replicated in any convincing manner. Further, Somogyi has not been researched in long-acting types of insulin like Lantus. To further add to the issue, it has not been reliably demonstrated in felines.

However, we do see bounces all the time. A bounce occurs when a cat's BG levels drop into a range that is lower than what the cat is used to or the drop is fast. As a result, the liver releases a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones and these drive BG numbers up. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

I would need to see more data in order to better evaluate where Krismas is at with respect to dose (i.e., whether he's at Phase 3).

What are you currently feeding? You mentioned Purina DM. Has this changed.

Also, please let me know if you are still interested in a vet recommendation.
 
Thank you everyone for your kind welcome, your cats are adorable, I will work today to get Krismas' chart and pic up, but I am a cyber-dinosaur and not done much more than basic email and word processing, this is the first message board I have joined, but am I glad I did! Sienne, Gabby et al, I did receive your message and replied, I called the Chicago cat clinic and have an appt for an exam and BG test so I can compare my Alphatrak with new strips to that vet's equipment. The AT came within 20 points of the prior vet's reading when kitty read 350 but that was a few months ago. I am not making any actual decisions regarding dosing, I just fell back to the 2.0 level as a conservative response after being freaked out by her very low 36 and swing up to 407 in the morning a few days ago. I am here for dosing advice, learning and support and am confident in the board's experience which is so much greater than mine. I have read that the pancreas and liver normally work together to main BG levels and now am realizing that even smaller dose changes can cause swings in BG readings, it sounds as though the Somogyi effect and bounces are basically the same physiological mechanism, but differ in severity? My terminology will get refined as I learn from you. Kitty is still giving variation in her readings, her AMPS was 360 an hour ago. I agree more data is needed. I will post her day's data tonight.
She does not eat any dry food now, about five days a week I usually feed her Fancy Feast classic flavors which I vary, the other two days either Wellness Core or EVO. Is it OK to vary the wet foods, or should I feed her the same thing daily for a while?
I am working to maintain a strict dosing schedule and keep elements of her routine stable, the better to clarify effects of the Lantus. Thankfully, her asthma seems well controlled on the Accolate, though I wonder whether that meds has an effect on the diabetes, I could not find anything relating the two online.
I am just grateful that kitty acts fine, she is alert and affectionate, went through her morning routines as usual. She is a people loving cat and when she withdraws under the bed or in the closet she is either not feeling well or is afraid (as in going to the vet, which she has come to hate). She is curled on my arm purring and grooming me as I write this.
Thank you all, Kathy and Krismas
 
I didn't get your reply to my PM. Sometimes you need to make sure that you've "Submitted" a post -- whether a PM or a post to the board. Otherwise, they disappear. I assume when you referred to the Chicago cat clinic you meant Cat Hospital of Chicago. (There's also City Cat which is downtown.)

I don't think Accolate is a steroid. It looks like it's a new generation drug for asthma/allergy treatment that doesn't contain a steroid. It does have a number of interactions with other drugs so you should be sure to check on that info. Also, it's reportedly hard on the liver so you will want to make sure your vet checks liver values on a regular basis.

Varying food is fine. As long as you're feeding low carb (LC) and Krismas will eat it, it's fine.
 
Krismas and I have an appt 4/14 at the Cat Hospital, with Dr Pohl, I gave you and Gabby as referral sources. Accolate is a newer asthma drug, the vet who prescribed it indicated it is not a steroid, but I will talk to Dr Pohl about blood tests for checking liver, kidney function etc. It has now been 6 months and I would feel better to have updated info. Thanks again for your timely referral and all the info, they sounded very nice over the phone. Thanks, Kathy and Krismas
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top