Newbie diabetic. Just started insulin today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pineappleval

Member Since 2014
My 11 year old cat was diagnosed this week and started on insulin today. Vet started her on 3 units of ProZinc insulin, 2 times a day. I will satrt doing myself tomorrow. Im worried as the forums here are saying usually the vet starts low and goes slow on dose (her last blood sugar reading before insulin was about 275). The vet monitored her in office all day and she finally ate a drank a bit tonight and seems good. Im just worried about the 3 units 2 x a day...as i was not given anyway to home monitor levels...vet said to look for signs of problems and give her the honey if maybe overdosed...and to bring her in in a few weeks and she will do a blood glucose test again. Does this seem alright...Vet said after her insulin she was holding in the medium range not low or high.

Thank you for any insight.
 
That does sound like a lot of insulin, especially with the "lowish" number of 275. Most cats will start around 1u and increase/decrease from there. Are you home-testing yet or are you planning on home-testing? Also, what food(s) are you feeding her?
 
She just started eating after this first dose of insulin. Feeding her fancy feast wet, and a little dry that is grain free. Vet said to not worry so much at this point on changing her diet we just needed her eating again. She also had somme water on her own first time. After reading all the posts, im terrified 3 units will be too much.

When i insert the needle for the first time is it better to gently jab in quickly or do slow and press until it gets in skin?
 
I agree with your vet; if she's had a lack of appetite, the most important thing first is getting her to eat.

First, what length needles are you using? 5/16" or 1/2" (short or long, respectively)? I mostly use long but most people here use short. When I use the short needles, I have the most success (I.e. no "fur shots") when I push it in almost straight. With the long needles, they work much better if you glide them in at about a 20* degree angle.

You can practice with a used needle on a cut apple to help you see the depth of the needle tip and "feel" the penetration through the skin. Just angle it close to the side of the cut on the apple so you can also see through to the depth through the translucent apple "meat" and it should help you gauge the depth of penetration.
 
Hello and welcome to the message board. Would you share your first name and your cat's name with us please?

I'm Deb and my sugardude is Wink, that gorgeous tuxedo in the picture on my post.

Are you "tenting" the skin when you insert the needle? That helps you to get the insulin under the skin, not into muscle. You want to tent the skin, then insert the needle through the "door" of the tent.

Yes, 3 units is a large starting dose.

How much does your kitty weigh?

Basically, home testing requires a glucometer, test strips, lancets and some practice. Most of us here use human glucometers, and the Relion Confirm or Micro and the Relion Prime all have inexpensive test strips.

They are only available in the USA. Do you live in the US or elsewhere? We can suggest other meter choices if you tell us where you live.

By the way, the Fancy Feast classic pates are a very good low carb choice for our diabetic kitties. Wink loves those. Which grain-free food are you feeding?
 
For comparison purposes: I give Gracie about 1.2 units of ProZinc twice a day, her pre-shots are around 280 mg/dL, and she is eating Friskies pates (low carb). Each cat is different (ECID) and you're just starting out, but that may give you some idea of what may work.

As an FYI - grain free is not low carb. Legumes (peas, lentils, beans), fruits, and root vegetables (carrots, potatoes, beets) all provide carbohydrates which may elevate glucose levels.

There are very few low carb dry foods
- Evo Cat and Kitten (8% calories from carbohydrate)
- Young Again 0 Carb (5% calories from carbohydrate as we calculate it)
- Stella and Chewey's freeze dried

Generally speaking, wet food is better for the system - less strain on the kidneys, better hydration, and more filling due to the extra moisture.
 
Pineappleval said:
Mne is also newly diagnosed and just started her on insulin tosay, 3units of oro zinc 2x a day. First time ive ever injected anthing...have no idea if it is going in het at all. Vet didnot show, or ask me, to monitorlevels. She did that in her office over 1 day.

How soon will the catshow a difference that she is feeling better after starting insulan? She is starting to eat again, but i dont see any water intake yet. She is mostly sleeping all day and night. This is second day on 'juice' for her.

Can anyone calm my nerves?
Hi there!

Could you give us some more info please? You said your kitty isn't drinking any water correct? Have you changed the food to wet food only? When I did that food change to wet for my 3 kitties, they stopped drinking out of the water dish completely. They are getting all the water they need from the wet food and the extra tablespoon of water I add to each serving. I've only seen my kitties drink water out of the water dish about 6 times in the last year.

If you are still feeding dry food and your kitty isn't drinking any water, that is a problem. Is that what you are saying? Dry food and not drinking water?

In any case, please do some dehydration checks and report back here.

Dehydration checks
Do these 2 checks first, so you can report on them.
Moderate to severe dehydration test:
- does fur at the scruff of the neck stay tented, if pulled up and released?
Mild dehydration or more:
- press a finger onto gums and release; how many seconds before it pinks back up with blood again?
 
I have slowly been transitioning her from almost all dry (when she eventually got ill) to now, almost all wet with occasional dry treats or some no grain...but she has had only a few of the treats since she started on the insulin. Vet wanted us to just get her eating again....so anything was ok. She actually seems to prefer the wet now.

Today is day 2 for me giving her the insulin...she was at least awake and up for us this morning and not just lying in bed. I'm still unsure as to if I am doing the injection properly and if medication is getting in her :( I've watched a couple YOUTUBE "how to" video to reinforce the procedure...but it is still awkward and I'm not sure if it is correct. Can I expect her to feel better slowly over weeks or is this something that happens right away once the Prozinc is in her system?

My 11 year old cat is named, Curry and she is 11 pounds. She and I are often mirrors of each others personalities :). We live in Hawaii, so I'm not sure if we will find any of the EVO food available here, ay have to order via Internet. We do have a PETCO though.

I appreciate all the feedback and reading the forums....it is helpful to have this resource. My sister and one of her cats is going through the exact same thing and she will be participating here as well.
 
Glad that she likes the wet. You can pick up some wet low carb treats at PetCo. Lots of people like PureBites - freeze dried meat pieces. I am, however, a little concerned if she is on a wet low carb diet and still getting 3 units of insulin. When we switched Oliver to all wet, he went down 100 points overnight. If we had not been testing and just given our regulat dose, he would have hypoed.

I know we have thrown a lot of info at you, but the best way to find out how the insulin is working and if she is going low is to test at home. Can we teach you how?
 
I've been reading a bit on this site about the testing and what I feed her. and the insulin levels. Since her levels were not extraordinarily high and she went into remession (in the low 100s) before she even went on the meds (and at about 275 when we put her on the meds.)...I asked Dr. about monitoring to make sure it doesn't go too low...and she said to bring her back in a few weeks and she will do the test. I really trust this vet....she has a holistic view and is very good with Curry (I did just start using her as I moved to a new area). Dr. also tested her marker to check previous glucose levels and she said they were running high (she also showed an inflammed liver..from either an inflammed or infected pancreas).

Is testing uncomfortalbe for the cat...Curry is a formerly feral (when a baby and I rescued her), and a very skittish personality...not a lap cat so hard to get her to sit still for me to administer anything....yet she has a very sweet and gentle demeanor.
 
I know it is hard to get advice from people on the internet who don't agree with your vet, but we advise new diabetics not even to shoot under 200. I don't know when the the 275 came in the cycle, but if it was at the vet, sometimes numbers are 100 points higher there than at home, and if the food change brings her down more, we are talking about lower range numbers.

My theory is that I wouldn't give my child insulin every day without checking her levels and then go back to the doctor in a few weeks. I treated my 2 legged child the same way, testing daily.

You can get her ready by picking a place where you will test (a blanket or towel on the floor or table or bed). Take her there, play with her ears, give her praise and a treat and let her go. After a few times, add warming her ear. (put a lightweight sock filled with raw rice in the microwave until very warm or fill a pill bottle with very warm water. Hold next to her ear for a few seconds, praising and petting and treat. Increase the warming time. By the time you add the poking, she may be very interesting in being on her spot and getting treats.

Meanwhile watch her closely for any odd behaviors (hiding, howling, resting more than usual and hard to waken, wanting more food- they sometimes want food instinctively to bring themselves up when they drop low.

She is your cat and you have to be comfortable with her care. But we see numbers here daily that would be hypos if the bean wasn't testing and didn't know to reduce the dose. One on the PZI forum this am when the cat had been in the 300s at that time in the cycle before today, when he is at 70 today.
 
Do i give injection if she hasn't eaten a meal?

Can anyone tell me if i should still administer insulin if kitty has not had her meal? It is recommended to do injection 15-20 minutes after eating...so im wondering what to do if she hasn't eaten.

Also being new to giving injections, how do i know if im doing it right? Im so stressed about this, not sure about it, i have watched you tube videos, but still dont know if needle going in.

Thank you for any input.
 
Have you tested her?

If not, and you don't have any data on how she responds to insulin, skip for now.

Practice injecting an apple - the resistance to the needle feels similar. Ditto with practicing using the lancet.

The injection technique is 4 Ps:
Pull up the skin to make a tent.
Push in the needle smoothly into the hollowed area.
Push down the plunger.
Pull out the needle.
 
I'd suggest you ask the vet to give you a demo. The vet tech can probably do it at no charge. Lots of vets have you shoot the resident cat with a syringe filled with water so you don't have to transport yours.

Re not eating. Not eating anything? Not eating the new food? Not eating enough? Not eating anything is something you need to correct now. Offer the old food if she is balking at the new. Put some crumbles of dry on the wet. Add tuna juice or parmesan cheese on top. Warm the wet in the microwave until stinky. Put some warm water in the wet to make it seem like gravy.

If you'd give us more info about the issue, we could help more.
 
3 units of ProZinc 2X daily is way too much for a cat with an initial reading of 275!
That's my current dose of ProZinc on a cat whose initial reading was 511, and I worked my way up from one unit over a 3 week time period.
 
Re: Do i give injection if she hasn't eaten a meal?

Pineappleval said:
Also being new to giving injections, how do i know if im doing it right? Im so stressed about this, not sure about it, i have watched you tube videos, but still dont know if needle going in.

I normally do not feel anything when the needle goes in. I move it around a little, just to make sure it's in before I push the plunger in. On YouTube I saw one person who shaved part of their cat were the injection site is, just so they can be sure it's going in.
 
BJM said:
There are very few low carb dry foods
- Evo Cat and Kitten (8% calories from carbohydrate)
- Young Again 0 Carb (5% calories from carbohydrate as we calculate it)

How do these compare to Nature's Variety Instinct Originals? I am wondering if I should switch to Evo for my dry food.
I feed this specifically:
http://www.instinctpetfood.com/product/ ... od-chicken
Says "14% Vegetables and Fruits, Fortified with Vitamins and Minerals" and various places on the internet say it's 12% carbs or 17%, depending upon where you look, but if I can get Evo cat and Kitten from a local store as well, I should probably switch to that.
 
Actually, we don't encourage a water-depleted diet.

It puts a strain on the kidneys which may predispose a cat to renal failure or stones, makes it too easy for the cat to eat too much and become obese (which contributes to diabetes), does nothing for the teeth, and generally contains ingredients a true carnivore would never eat by choice. (When did you ever see a cat go rooting up a potato, sauntering out into a corn field for an ear of corn, etc,

See what Veterinarian Lisa Pierson who writes Cat Info says about appropriate diet. There's a terrific food chart there containing nutrition info for numerous North American canned food brands.
 
BJM said:
Actually, we don't encourage a water-depleted diet.

I know that. I also feed canned food 2X daily. I just want to know more about my dry options since I can't be home 24x7 to feed my cat canned food.
 
You don't have to; since you're already adding water to it, you can leave the wet food out. I leave out the wet food for Mikey and Henry usually until they finish it, which might be a couple of minutes or could be up to 12 hours if they're not particularly hungry. (In fact, there's less chance of contamination in wet food than there is in dry food.)
 
I put down canned food twice a day and leave it out.
None of the 15 cats has had a problem with that.
 
You can do a rough estimate of the carb content by adding up all the other ingredient percentages and subtracting from 100 to get the carbs. Not a perfect calculation by any means, but it gives you some idea.

Here is what the website has for GA on that Nature's Variety Instinct Chicken Meal dry food.
Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min): 49.0%
Crude Fat (min): 19.0%
Crude Fiber (max): 2.8%
Moisture (max): 10.0%
So, 100 - (49 + 19 + 2.8 + 10) percent non-carb ingredients 100% - 80.8% leaving 19.2% carbs

I just want to know more about my dry options since I can't be home 24x7 to feed my cat canned food.

There is an old website, not updated anymore, that has some of the dry cat foods listed. Please be cautious using this food chart, as it hasn't been updated since 2008 and pet food manufacturers change their cat food formulas frequently. You can't be sure that any of these carb numbers are still up-to-date and accurate. http://binkyspage.tripod.com/dryfood.html

Another option for food, is to freeze the wet food and leave out a portion to defrost when you are away. Non-stick muffin cups work well for this. Once frozen, pop out and store in a Ziploc bag for future use. We sometimes call these 'cat food cicles', sort of like frozen popsicles.

I can't leave food out all day for my kitties. They are Hoovers, Dysons, Shop-vacs and will demolish all the food left out for them in mere minutes. On the days I work, I give them their first breakfast when I get up and then a second serving 1-2 hours later before I need to leave. In the evenings, they get fed when I get my own dinner and a second serving 3-4 hours later before I go to sleep.

Just trying to think of other ideas for you, that other people here have used, that you might want to try.
 
Val,
Your thread got a little highjacked there. How are things going? Is she eating better? Are you feeling more comfortable with the injections?
 
Hi Sue, i am feeling a bit more confident with the injections (btw, no prob on the hijacing...all relevent info imglad to be reading).

Curry seems to be doinf pretty well. I did have to skip an injection one night as i missed her time for shot, and she threw up like she did at the start of this.

We are going in for a spot check on monday, so we can check her levels. Now im concerned that since her glucose has not been super high, and ive put her on mostly wet food...shw might get too low.

Does anyone know if there is an insulan that can be administered1x per day and last 24 hours instead of the prozinc 2x a day 12 hours apart? If so, any downside to using that one, like a bigger needle, lots more money, etc?

Valerie
 
Prozinc is the most flexible of the insulins in terms of dosage and schedule, but every insulin has to be given twice a day. Cats metabolize insulin faster than dogs or people. But you have a number of modifications you can make - lowering the dose, shooting more often. All of which you can do once you have a handle on his numbers.

So, for instance, if he is in the lower ranges at preshot, you shoot less than usual. Or if the insulin dose is taking him low, reduce. If he is high and flat, you'd increase. You can manage this IF you are testing. How about asking the vet to show you how to test? or we can teach you.
 
Another vet trip today

Aloha,

Had to take cat back to vet as she started not eating, throwing up and ver lethergic. Her glucose was at 268, but that was without food for about 24 hours and no insulin for about the same time. Vet hydrated her, said to keep her on 3 units of Prozinc...but dont give her the insulin unless she has eaten. She also gave her something to coat her stomach.

She was doing pretty well after starting on insulin earlier this month...had a healthy apetite and seemed back to regular self, then started all these things like at start when she was diagnosed. Do diabetic cats have this up and down health while adjusting to the juice?

I just need to get her eating.
 
Ups and downs are common, especially if there are any other medical issues.

To really know what is going on with your cat, you need to test the blood glucose.

We suggest using an inexpensive human glucometer with pet-specific reference numbers. One many of us use is the WallMart Relion Confirm, or Confirm Micro, which is also sold at American Diabetes Wholesale as as the Arkray USA Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini (same manufacturer - Arkray USA). It uses a tiny blood droplet and the cost is significantly lower for test strips (like $0.36 each).

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Newbie diabetic ill and dont know what to do

We took kitty to. Vet again today because:

Hasnt eaten in 3 days, seems repulsed by smell
Very. Weak, cant even cover up pee in herbox
Cant give her insulin Since she is not eating
Dry heaves several times a day
Head over water bowl much of the time


Today the vet did the following:

Gave her insulin (she first had glucose reading of 298 , that is without food for 3 days, after insulin, it went down to 78)
Vet forced fed her
Vet gave her fluids subcutaneously
Gave her metoclopramide syrup for stomach

Vet indicated she is fighting something else, but dont know specefics of what it is. Vet did not give her apatite stimulant.

Since ive had her home she is just as bad, no eating, weak, dryheaves, seems to be doing poorly.

Has anyone been thru this? What can i do? I feel ver sad and helpless.
 
Are you able to test her?

Head over the bowl seems like she's wanting to drink a lot of water. I've never experienced dry heaves before, though. Usually when a cat is diabetic, they will want to eat a lot of food, and drink a lot of water until their blood glucose #s become more regulated, and then they start to slow down. A cat can't go a few days without eating, unless there's really seriously something wrong with her/him. I would suggest getting your cat back to the vet and having that cat get tested, and possibly have an overnight stay to make sure he/she's stable. Not eating, dry heaves, head over the bowl, repulsed by smells... They all don't sound good at all. I wish you tons of luck, and am sending tons of healing vines, and positive thoughts for your kitty.
 
You don't give an appetite stimulant when a cat is nauseaus; you give something for the nausea.

Do you know what the med was?

For upset stomach, Pepcid AC (famotidine), 1/4 tablet, 20-30 minutes before eating may be helpful.

After 2 days of not eating, the risk of hepatic lipidosis becomes quite high. Fat breakdown for calories overwhelms the liver making the cat even less likely to eat, and disrupts digestion severely enough the cat can die.
 
Did the vet test for pancreatitis?

you need to get her to eat - here are some tips to entice her:

nticing your cat to eat
Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat:
sometimes in order to get a cat to eat you even have to resort to dry it is more important that they eat. there are a couple low carb dry foods -- Innova Evo Cat & Kitten 8%, Nature's Variety Raw Instinct chicken 7%, and Young Again zero Carb 0%.
making a buffet to give him choices
heating food
Sprinkle food with :
FortiFlora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
parmesan cheese, other cheeses
smashed crumbles of dry food
bonito/tuna flakes (Asian markets or Asian food section in grocery stores)
Freeze dried treats (Halo, pure bites) -- crumble into dust over food. Chicken or liver flavours.
pour a little water from tuna in water over food (I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats and it shouldn't contain soy -- check labels)
powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.
Small amounts of buttery cookies, white cake, butter, mayonnaise, cheesy poof chips (any forbidden food that they love)
Olives/olives juice
Other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
trader joe tuna for cats
baby food -- beechnut or Gerber Stage 2 -- you want a baby food that is only a protein + broth (although the Gerber contains cornstarch). It should have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
kentucky fried chicken KFC
deli meats ie turkey /chicken
plain cooked (boiled or baked) chicken breast (or beef, ham, turkey, pork, steak, bacon)
Raw - whole meats, rinsed well or partially baked
canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
chicken broth -- low sodium
olive oil/ warm milk (sparingly), kitty milk, cream, ice cream
Selection of canned foods (buy a can of everything!)

If enticements don't work, you should consider:
assist feeding ( syringe or make little meatballs and place in mouth)
and/or talking to your vet about appetite stimulants ( mirtazapine or cyproheptidine)
 
Kitty not eating

Wow, that is a great list of food enticements...thank you.

Right now she heaves even at smell of food. Weve had to start feeding her with suringe...and not much at that.
Going back to vet tomorrow. There was a pancrease possible issue before she started insulin, then she seemed to be doing well on the juice. Unfortunately food has never been her thing...so really hard to entice her. Altho when she was on the juice she had a great apetite.

She is only off the juice since she isnt eating...dont want her glucose count going too low. Dr. Will check tomorrow.

She still has serious dry heaves 3-4 times a day, and adding to her weakened condition.
 
My previous cat died of kidney failure. He used to dry heave over his food in his last few weeks. Kidney failure and diabetes are related. Not trying to diagnose your cat, but I hope your vet has looked at your cats kidney function.

Hugs to you, it's hard having a sick pet.
 
Hi, I'm new to this site and have joined because I found lots of useful information to follow up with the vet about.
My 10 year, 7kg maine coon Charlie has been diagnosed Diabetic. He has shots of insuline 3 units twice a day. I have cleaned up his diet and of course he is in wet-cat-food-heaven! Expecially after being fed dry food for years.
It has been 3 weeks now and I feel he is showing some improvement, however his neuropathy in his back legs is not good. I read on a post here that some people are giving their cats Methylcobalamin vitamin B12 to help with that. I am going to ask my vet for some this week.

All my best to all of you and sweet kitties. Keep on lovin them.
 
Another vet visit and bad news

As my cat stopped eating on feb 26, she has been into vet many times, for fluids, forced feeding, bg check, etc. vet believes the liver is inflammed. Her BG levels without insulin or food have stayed at around 300....so we are foregoing insulin since she is not eating, and focusing on getting food in her for fear hapatic lipidosis takes hold. Her regurgitation has been dry only so the little food we do get in her is staying down.

The vet mentioned milk thistle and something called same (natural remedies to add to her food). Anyone tried. That with positive results?

This is all overwhelming, sad and scary.
 
A small amount of insulin will bring the glucose level down by allowing the cells to take it in. If they can't take in glucose, the body breaks down fat, which goes to the liver to be broken down. This can overwhelm the liver, leading to hepatic lipidosis. Remind the vet of this.

Insulin bringing down the glucose a bit may also stimulate some hunger and interest in eating.


Yes, on the milk thistle = see Marin and Denmarin products
 
Not improving

Curry went to vet today for an IV of flyids and nutrients and more forced feeding. Vet thought ivmight get her feeling better so she might take more food. She has not had insulin since feb. 27 as we are trying to deal with inflammed liver.

Vet saidher tummy felt hard so took xray and found bowels blocked up to intestine. Poor kitty on the iv also got an enema, which unblocked her. But, here at home tonight she had a very stressful day...as the vet said...so dont know if she is better. Altho, she surly must be more comfortable.

It is not a good situation, my significant other has pretty much detached himself from the situation emotionally. Is there any hope here? Can she get past this?

Iam so sad and hurt for her so much. Any words of advise would be appreciated.
 
Yes, I would say there is hope. Did the vet give any specific details of what was wrong?
My civi Joey had problems over the weekend. Vomiting and very lethargic. Would not eat and when syringe fed vomited.
He is doing a lot better now, keeping food down but not eating that much on his own. I am syringe feeding now.
 
Big {{{{{hugs}}}}} to you Val.

Yes, Curry can get past this and feeling better. There is hope.

To help with the constipation, you might want to add some Miralax ( generic is polyethelene glycol 3350) to the food you give to Curry. It's tasteless so should not make a difference in eating or not. It does help to keep the poop softer and easier to pass. My Wink gets 1/8 teaspoon once a day, since he's prone to constipation.

My vet told me to increase as needed until the poops get soft, and then decrease the dose a bit. It's ok to even give twice a day with the Miralax. If the poops get too soft, then back off on the dose. One of my civies needs a twice daily dose.

I sprinkle it on top of the food and it gets eaten just fine. With Curry not eating, you may need to mix the Miralax in with a bit of food and syringe feed. Please give extra water, as this is an osmotic laxative and draws water from other parts of the body. I combine this laxative with an equal amount of plain psyllium husk powder. The laxative draws the water to the intestinal system and the psyllium holds the water there.
 
Any idea to elinate smell?

Curry has been so sick, she has not been grooming herself. Afterforced feedings, and the enema at the vet...she has. Some pretty. Unpleasant odors. Happening. Any suggestions for the poop dried and matted fur and somthing to overall deoderize?
 
Depending on the severity:

1) an actual bath using either a little Dawn dish washing liquid or a pet specific cleanser. If you've got a spray attachment, those can be very helpful at loosening gunk. You should be prepared to shower afterwards as you may get wet. You should wear long sleeves and long pants in case your kitty fights you.

2) being "mom cat" - take a warm, damp wash cloth and swab down the necessary areas daily or more often. If you set up with a small tub of warm water, a stack of wash clothes, and an empty tub or bag, you may be able to swab down several areas going through a cloth at a time, setting it aside when soiled, and moving on to a fresh cloth. Afterwards, wash the batch of clothes.
 
And a trick I just recently learned about bathing is to put a towel down in the tub so their claws have something to dig into.
 
Curry has been doing a bit better, she started eating some on her own, is a bit more alert, using box and covering it up...this all started on the weekend. She has not gone back on the juice, but we have been checking BG and last time we checked it was about 175. She is still getting hydrated at vets, as she isnt really drinking on her own. She even started grooming again.

Unfortunately thru all of this her back legs have been getting weak, and when i came home today she is not really able to walk anymore...this morning she was walking but with difficulty. I will take her in to vet first thing in a.m. Im thinking this is a neuropathy...and desparatly hoping it is reversible.

She only went OTJ due to treatment of liver and she wasnt eating.

I could use any words of encouragement or advice.

TY for listening.
 
{{{{{Big long hugs}}}}} for you Val.

It's hard when you are the only caregiver or the other people in your home are not supportive of what you are doing for your cat.

The weakness in the back legs could be neuropathy or low potassium is another reason for this. I do think a vet visit is in order.

Would it be possible for you to learn how to give the sub-q fluids yourself at home? I've done this for a couple of cats and it's pretty easy. We even have a great how to video. This video was made by member Marje and Gracie and has some great tips.

What food is Curry eating now?
Do you add some water to her food to help keep her hydration levels up?
 
Mostly she has been on the high protein a/d canned mixed with water and milk thisle (for liver issues) through a syringe. Now that she is starting to eat back to thr FF classisc with a tiny amount of water.

I think imgoing to keep letting vet administer the sub q flyids for now. I understand if it is neuropathy it can be reversed with Methyl B-12. Anyone know about this?
 
I understand if it is neuropathy it can be reversed with Methyl B-12. Anyone know about this?
Yes, when I picked up my kitty Wink from the shelter, he had horrible diabetic neuropathy. He was walking entirely down on his hocks, could not jump, could not run, could barely get up and down the stairs, had to stop every 2-3 steps to rest, had that typical plantigrade stance. He had the neuropathy in his back legs only, but it can affect the front legs too.

The high blood glucose levels will do nerve damage but the Methyl B12 can cross over to the nervous system and help to improve the diabetic neuropathy. It will take time to heal.

I started my Wink on the Methyl B-12 and also got his BG (blood glucose) levels better regulated and switched him from high carb food to low carb food. The neuropathy improved dramatically and he went OTJ (off-the-juice, insulin being the juice) in a couple of months.

He still has that "waddle" when he runs and always will. He walks mostly up on his tiptoes now except when he's really tired, runs and jumps everywhere and plays with the other kitties and plays with the laser pointer and feather teasers. I haven't kept up with the Methyl B12 since his dramatic improvement and he is still doing fine a year later.

A couple of Youtube videos with cats showing the diabetic neuropathy.
Tootsie http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfSWO8a1PlQ
Dreamsicle http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JvrTWiTDg0
 
Doing much better

Curry is doing significantly better. No longer forced feeding or dermal hydration. Her BG was at 100 (up from 85 a week ago) ...primarily because she has. Lost so much weight and hasnt been eating. We will keep monitoring BG to see if it goes back up and have to go back on insulin. And, weakness in hind legs is gone.

I hope this (liver issue and other problems) isnt result ofgoing on insulin to begin with. I cant imagine repeating this past month and i dont think her body could take anymore.

It is so nice not to see her hanging her head over the water dish for days on end. Now that she is somewhat stable we have to go back and address the diabetes.

This forum has been a great help for education, support and critcal information.

Btw: my vet said methyl B-12 not available and would have to try and get
It on the Mainland. She did give her a regular B-12 shot though.

Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top