hollymayb
Member
Hi Everyone,
My name is Holly & DH is Sean & DB cat is Max (7 yrs, 11.5 lbs) & civilian Leo (4 yrs, 14 lbs). Max was diagnosed a month ago, and we still don't have him anywhere near regulated. We're worried, confused & frustrated. Please help if you can. I'll try to be concise while including all the pertinent info.
Long story short, Max showed all the signs of DB, but we didn't put it all together until his hind legs became weak. Vet did full blood panel, ex-rays & urine, the only problem was BG of around 480. The vet put Max on Lantus, starting at 1 unit, twice a day. After an unsuccessful home curve (we were having problems getting samples) we had the vet do one in the office. This is all within the space of 4 days. The vet's idea of a curve was to pump him full of insulin until his BG was within the safe range, and told us to give him 5 units, twice a day, and had us up to 6 units, twice a day, about a week after diagnosis.
After the shock of the diagnosis wore off, I started doing some research online, and found that our vet was going about things much differently than was recommended by this site & others. After witnessing what we now think were a number of small seizures, we confronted the vet about his recommended dosage, and asked if Max might be experiencing Somogyi rebound. The vet didn't know what that was. Max tested as low as 60, and as high as 460 in the same day.
We stopped seeing the vet, & interviewed some others. Unfortunately, all recommended a high fibre diet, and didn't know what a rebound was. We decided to go rogue. Maybe not the best idea, but it seemed to us that our vet's advise could kill our cat, so we couldn't do much worse for now, until we find a better vet.
We have him on a very high quality low-carb (grain-free) kibble, with high protein wet food when he gets his shots (1 Tbs). We reduced his insulin to 2 units, twice a day but quickly increased to 3.5 because we were scared by the high readings (490ish). We did a full curve with readings every hour after 2 weeks @ 3.5 units twice a day. Here are the results:
Time BG Insulin (Units)
6/7/2010 8:00:00 24.6 3.5 Gave 1 tbs wet food, then ate a little dry food & drank. Active, alert & affectionate.
6/7/2010 9:00:00 21.1 0 Ate some dry food before & after test. Drank. Alert but lazy.
6/7/2010 10:00:00 17.6 0 Ate after test. Same.
6/7/2010 11:00:00 15.6 0 Alert. Under couch.
6/7/2010 12:00:00 15.4 0 Napping by the window
6/7/2010 13:00:00 14.3 0 Napping on test table.
6/7/2010 14:00:00 15.6 0 Ate & drank a little Used litter box. Small amount of urine & large, loose, very smelly stool.
6/7/2010 15:00:00 16.7 0 Ate & drank a little napping by the patio door
6/7/2010 16:00:00 21.1 0 Ate & drank a little napping in various places
6/7/2010 17:00:00 22.7 0 walking around & sitting
6/7/2010 18:00:00 23.3 0 Ate & drank a little. Same. Used litter box. Some urine,
6/7/2010 19:00:00 23.6 0 Alert & aggressive.
6/7/2010 20:00:00 25.8 4 Gave 1 Tbs wet food Alert & active
We decided to raise his insulin to 4 units twice a day because he still wasn`t getting low enough at his nadir. We`re doing another curve today, but the results are not looking good. (I`ll post below) We know advise can`t replace a vet, but we can`t see an alternative right now. Our best option for a new vet is a clinic 1 hr away, and we will try it if we can`t get Max regulated soon. Symptom wise, Max has made a remarkable recovery- his eating & drinking habits are back to normal, and his personality is back to being the sneaky but lovable guy we hadn`t seen in so long. His rear legs are still weak though.
Any advise is greatly appreciated!! Do you think we have him on too much insulin (are we seeing a rebound?) or too little? I know some of you will say we need to stop guessing and take him to a vet, but we've already spent $2000 in vet bills, not including DB supplies, and even if we knew of a knowledgeable vet, we can't afford to go for another couple weeks. Here's today's curve so far:
Time BG Insulin (Units)
8:00:00 21.2 (381) 4 @home gave 1 Tbs wet food & treat. Drank water. Excited, alert, vocal, affectionate.
9:00:00 15 (270) 0 ate & drank a little Grumpy, alert, relaxing by window.
10:00:00 15.6 (280) 0 active, alert, prowling, resting.
11:00:00 15.7 (282) 0 hiding under couch
12:00:00 13.9 (250) 0 ate & drank a little napping & resting on shelves
13:00:00 13.7 (246) 0 alert, hanging out
14:00:00 14.2 (255) 0 napping
15:00:00 15.6 (280) 0 used little box- small amount of urine napping & hanging out
16:00:00 16.3 (293) 0 napping
17:00:00 16.4 (295) 0 napping
Thanks in advance,
Holly, Sean, Max & Leo
My name is Holly & DH is Sean & DB cat is Max (7 yrs, 11.5 lbs) & civilian Leo (4 yrs, 14 lbs). Max was diagnosed a month ago, and we still don't have him anywhere near regulated. We're worried, confused & frustrated. Please help if you can. I'll try to be concise while including all the pertinent info.
Long story short, Max showed all the signs of DB, but we didn't put it all together until his hind legs became weak. Vet did full blood panel, ex-rays & urine, the only problem was BG of around 480. The vet put Max on Lantus, starting at 1 unit, twice a day. After an unsuccessful home curve (we were having problems getting samples) we had the vet do one in the office. This is all within the space of 4 days. The vet's idea of a curve was to pump him full of insulin until his BG was within the safe range, and told us to give him 5 units, twice a day, and had us up to 6 units, twice a day, about a week after diagnosis.
After the shock of the diagnosis wore off, I started doing some research online, and found that our vet was going about things much differently than was recommended by this site & others. After witnessing what we now think were a number of small seizures, we confronted the vet about his recommended dosage, and asked if Max might be experiencing Somogyi rebound. The vet didn't know what that was. Max tested as low as 60, and as high as 460 in the same day.
We stopped seeing the vet, & interviewed some others. Unfortunately, all recommended a high fibre diet, and didn't know what a rebound was. We decided to go rogue. Maybe not the best idea, but it seemed to us that our vet's advise could kill our cat, so we couldn't do much worse for now, until we find a better vet.
We have him on a very high quality low-carb (grain-free) kibble, with high protein wet food when he gets his shots (1 Tbs). We reduced his insulin to 2 units, twice a day but quickly increased to 3.5 because we were scared by the high readings (490ish). We did a full curve with readings every hour after 2 weeks @ 3.5 units twice a day. Here are the results:
Time BG Insulin (Units)
6/7/2010 8:00:00 24.6 3.5 Gave 1 tbs wet food, then ate a little dry food & drank. Active, alert & affectionate.
6/7/2010 9:00:00 21.1 0 Ate some dry food before & after test. Drank. Alert but lazy.
6/7/2010 10:00:00 17.6 0 Ate after test. Same.
6/7/2010 11:00:00 15.6 0 Alert. Under couch.
6/7/2010 12:00:00 15.4 0 Napping by the window
6/7/2010 13:00:00 14.3 0 Napping on test table.
6/7/2010 14:00:00 15.6 0 Ate & drank a little Used litter box. Small amount of urine & large, loose, very smelly stool.
6/7/2010 15:00:00 16.7 0 Ate & drank a little napping by the patio door
6/7/2010 16:00:00 21.1 0 Ate & drank a little napping in various places
6/7/2010 17:00:00 22.7 0 walking around & sitting
6/7/2010 18:00:00 23.3 0 Ate & drank a little. Same. Used litter box. Some urine,
6/7/2010 19:00:00 23.6 0 Alert & aggressive.
6/7/2010 20:00:00 25.8 4 Gave 1 Tbs wet food Alert & active
We decided to raise his insulin to 4 units twice a day because he still wasn`t getting low enough at his nadir. We`re doing another curve today, but the results are not looking good. (I`ll post below) We know advise can`t replace a vet, but we can`t see an alternative right now. Our best option for a new vet is a clinic 1 hr away, and we will try it if we can`t get Max regulated soon. Symptom wise, Max has made a remarkable recovery- his eating & drinking habits are back to normal, and his personality is back to being the sneaky but lovable guy we hadn`t seen in so long. His rear legs are still weak though.
Any advise is greatly appreciated!! Do you think we have him on too much insulin (are we seeing a rebound?) or too little? I know some of you will say we need to stop guessing and take him to a vet, but we've already spent $2000 in vet bills, not including DB supplies, and even if we knew of a knowledgeable vet, we can't afford to go for another couple weeks. Here's today's curve so far:
Time BG Insulin (Units)
8:00:00 21.2 (381) 4 @home gave 1 Tbs wet food & treat. Drank water. Excited, alert, vocal, affectionate.
9:00:00 15 (270) 0 ate & drank a little Grumpy, alert, relaxing by window.
10:00:00 15.6 (280) 0 active, alert, prowling, resting.
11:00:00 15.7 (282) 0 hiding under couch
12:00:00 13.9 (250) 0 ate & drank a little napping & resting on shelves
13:00:00 13.7 (246) 0 alert, hanging out
14:00:00 14.2 (255) 0 napping
15:00:00 15.6 (280) 0 used little box- small amount of urine napping & hanging out
16:00:00 16.3 (293) 0 napping
17:00:00 16.4 (295) 0 napping
Thanks in advance,
Holly, Sean, Max & Leo